DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (see, e.g., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0127928). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14, 20, and all dependent thereon, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20: These claims are directed to devices – an “anchor UE,” a “network node,” and a “companion UE,” respectively. Each of these claims makes reference to “a Layer 3 multipath relay.” It is unclear if the term “multipath relay” refers to an operation (in which case the configuration is received for identifying the source in a multipath relaying operation, wherein the operation includes all of the devices), or if the term refers to a device (i.e. one of the three devices, including potentially the claimed device). The Examiner notes that if the relay is interpreted as a device, it is unclear how the relay could include each of the three claimed interfaces (e.g. claim 1, lines 8-12). For purposes of examination, the “Layer 3 multipath relay” is interpreted as either: (1) a relaying operation including the anchor UE, companion UE, and network node; or (2) one of the anchor UE, companion UE, and network node, including the respective interfaces.
These claims are separately indefinite because they are each directed to a device that places limitation on an entity outside of the device. For instance, the “anchor user equipment” of claim 1 attempts to limit based on an interface (i.e. “a second Uu”) between a different UE and the network. In this respect, for purposes of examination, each of these claims is interpreted as a system that includes the anchor UE, companion UE, and network node, with respective interfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
10. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2024/0172084 A1 (hereinafter “Xu`084”)1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xu`084, in view of the non-patent literature document titled UE Aggregation (hereinafter “RWS-210451”)2.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 20: Xu`084 teaches an anchor user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
receive an indication or configuration for identifying a rendering source in a Layer 3 multipath relay, wherein the Layer 3 multipath relay includes: a first Uu interface for communication with a network node, a sidelink interface for communication with a companion UE; and a second Uu interface for communication between the network node and the companion UE (see, e.g., figure 3-6, [0131], [0259]-[0261], [0428], [0429], [0437], [0448]; also reference claims 1, 5; note reception of configuration information for multi-path relaying of rendered video data from a source) and
communicate with one or more of the network node or the companion UE via the Layer 3 multipath relay and in accordance with the indication or configuration (see, e.g., figure 3-6, [0131], [0259]-[0261], [0428], [0429], [0437], [0448]; also reference claims 1, 5; the configuration leads to multipath communication).
Xu`084 does not explicitly state the terms “anchor UE,” “companion UE,” and/or wherein the source is identified. To the extent these features are not inherent to the system of Xu`084, they are nevertheless taught in RWS-210451 (see, e.g., pp. 1-3; note data from a source could be dispatched at an anchor and routed with a cooperative UE; note also overlapping teachings with respect to receiving configuration parameters for multi-path communication). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of RWS-210451, such as the signaling and/or configuration functionality, within the system of Xu`084, in order to improve flexibility and reliability for data transmission.
The rationale set forth above regarding the anchor user equipment of claim 1 is applicable to network node and companion user equipment of claims 14 and 20, respectively.
Regarding claims 2 and 15: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source includes an indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source in accordance with one or more of a first link condition associated with the first Uu interface, a second link condition associated with the second Uu interface, or a third link condition associated with the sidelink interface (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0171], [0275], [0357]; and/or RWS-210451 p. 2; note path quality consideration). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 2.
The rationale set forth above regarding the anchor user equipment of claim 2 is applicable to network node of claim 15.
Regarding claims 3 and 16: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source includes an indication or configuration for identifying one or more of the network node, the companion UE, or the anchor UE as the rendering source (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0131], [0259]-[0261], [0428], [0429], [0437], [0448]; and/or RWS-210451 see, e.g., pp. 1-3). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 3.
The rationale set forth above regarding the anchor user equipment of claim 3 is applicable to network node of claim 16.
Regarding claim 4: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source includes a configuration for measuring one or more of a first communication link associated with the first Uu interface, a second communication link associated with the second Uu interface, or a third communication link associated with the sidelink interface (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0171], [0192], [0255], [0275], [0357]; and/or RWS-210451 p. 2; note path quality consideration). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 4.
Regarding claim 6: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source includes an indication or configuration for selecting one or more of the network node, the companion UE, or the anchor UE as the rendering source in accordance with one or more of a measurement of a first communication link, a measurement of a second communication link, or a measurement of a third communication link (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0056], [0194], [0255], [0325], [0335]; and/or RWS-210451 see, e.g., pp. 2; note path quality consideration). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the indication or configuration for selecting one or more of the network node, the companion UE, or the anchor UE as the rendering source includes an indication or configuration for comparing, to a threshold, one or more of the measurement of the first communication link, the measurement of the second communication link, or the measurement the third communication link (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0056], [0194], [0255], [0325], [0335]; and/or RWS-210451 see, e.g., pp. 2; note path quality consideration). The motivation for modification set forth above regarding claim 1 is applicable to claim 7.
11. Claims 5, 8-10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu`084, alternatively in view of RWS-210451, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0184860 A1 (hereinafter “Xu`860”).
Regarding claim 5: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches measuring latency and/or signal strength, but does not explicitly state measuring SINR, and therefore does not explicitly state “wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to measure one or more of the first communication link, the second communication link, or the third communication link, are configured to cause the UE to measure one or more of a latency or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise (SINR) of one or more of the first communication link, the second communication link, or the third communication link.” However, this feature is taught by Xu`860 (see, e.g., [0183], [0274]-[0275]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Xu`860, such as the signaling and/or analysis functionality, within the system of Xu`084 alternatively modified by RWS-210451, in order to prioritize flows.
Regarding claims 8 and 17: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 substantially teaches the UE set forth above regarding claim 1, but does not explicitly state wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive a priority associated with identifying the rendering source. However, this feature is taught by Xu`860 (see, e.g., [0191]-[0197]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Xu`860, such as the signaling and/or analysis functionality, within the system of Xu`084 alternatively modified by RWS-210451, in order to prioritize flows.
The rationale set forth above regarding the anchor user equipment of claim 8 is applicable to network node of claim 17.
Regarding claim 9: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 and Xu`860 further teaches wherein the priority is associated with one or more of a capability of the network node, a capability of the companion UE, or a capability of the anchor UE (see, e.g., Xu`860 [0191]-[0197]; also Xu`084: [0171], [0192], [0255], [0275], [0357]; and/or RWS-210451 p. 2; note path quality consideration). The motivations for modification set forth above regarding claims 1 and 8 are applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 10: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 and Xu`860 further teaches wherein the indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source includes an indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source in accordance with the priority and one or more of a measurement of a first communication link, a measurement of a second communication link, or a measurement of a third communication link (see, e.g., Xu`860 [0191]-[0197]; also Xu`084: [0171], [0192], [0255], [0275], [0357]; and/or RWS-210451 p. 2; note path quality consideration). The motivations for modification set forth above regarding claims 1 and 8 are applicable to claim 10.
12. Claims 11-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu`084, alternatively in view of RWS-210451, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0400643 A1 (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claims 11 and 18: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to receive the indication or configuration for identifying the rendering source, are configured to cause the UE to receive an indication identifying the rendering source via one or more of downlink control information, medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling, or radio resource control signaling (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0128], [0192], [0255]).
Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 does not explicitly state receiving via DCI, MAC-CE, and RRC signaling. To the extent this feature is not inherent to Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451(by virtue of the RRC signaling taught therein and/or the alternative claim language), these features are nevertheless taught in Yang (see, e.g., figures 5, 9, [0063], [0096], [0133]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Yang, such as the signaling functionality, within the system of Xu`084 alternatively modified by RWS-210451, in order to transmit control information.
The rationale set forth above regarding the anchor user equipment of claim 11 is applicable to network node of claim 18.
Regarding claims 12 and 19: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit, to one or more of the companion UE or the network node, an indication of a selection of the rendering source (see, e.g., Xu`084: [0056], [0194], [0255], [0325], [0335]; and/or RWS-210451 see, e.g., pp. 2). To the extent the feature of UE indication transmission is not inherent to Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 (by virtue of the multi-path setup), this feature is nevertheless taught in Yang (see, e.g., figures 5, 9, [0063], [0096], [0133]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate features from the system of Yang, such as the signaling functionality, within the system of Xu`084 alternatively modified by RWS-210451, in order to transmit control information.
The rationale set forth above regarding the anchor user equipment of claim 12 is applicable to network node of claim 19.
Regarding claim 13: Xu`084 modified by RWS-210451 and Yang further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the indication of the selection of the rendering source, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the indication of the selection of the rendering source via one or more of uplink assistance information or medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) signaling (see, e.g., Yang figures 5, 9, [0063], [0096], [0133]). The motivations for modification set forth above regarding claims 1 and 12 are applicable to claim 13.
Relevant Art
13. The following prior art not relied upon in this Office action is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS SLOMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
1 Xu`084 was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted December 19, 2025 (U.S. Patent Application Publications, cite no. 1).
2 RWS-210451 was cited in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement submitted December 19, 2025 (Non-Patent Literature Documents, cite no. 1).