DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2014/0159908 A1 hereinafter Hong), in view of Barsoukov et al. (US 6,832,171 B2 hereinafter Barsoukov).
As to claims 1, 10, Hong discloses in Fig. 1, a processor-implemented method (control unit 140 as processor implementing the method, para. [0043]) comprising:
monitoring a plurality of direct current (DC) resistance values of a battery for a predefined time period during one of a constant power charging or discharging window of the battery (monitoring DC isolation resistances R_Leak(+), R_Leak(-) in high-voltage Li-ion battery over sequential measurement modes/periods during applied DC power V_DC, paras. [0030]-[0036], [0048]-[0058]; Figs. 3-6);
determining the plurality of DC resistance values of the battery at a plurality of timestamps corresponding to the predefined time period (determining resistances using voltages V1, V2 at different circuit configurations as timestamps in mode sequences, paras. [0037]-[0042]; Eqs. 1-7, 9-14);
determining a deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values by comparing the determined plurality of DC resistance values with a plurality of predefined DC resistance values associated with a reference battery (determining deviations by comparing measured resistances to predefined diagnosis resistances e.g., known R3/R4 = 500 kΩ or reference values in error ranges for healthy states, paras. [0059]-[0065], [0072]-[0078]; Eqs. 15-16);
detecting a persistent short circuit in the battery in response to the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values being greater than a threshold value (detecting faults/shorts as insulation breakdown/leakage if deviations exceed preset error ranges/thresholds, paras. [0066]-[0071]; low resistance indicates persistent short, para. [0004]);
and estimating, in response to detecting the persistent short circuit in the battery, a short resistance of the battery based on a value of power supply in the constant power charging or discharging window and a magnitude of the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values with respect to the plurality of predefined DC resistance values (estimating short/leakage resistance R_Leak, R_Diag using equations incorporating power supply V_DC and deviation magnitudes e.g., voltage differences, paras. [0044]-[0047]; Eqs. 15-16).
Hong does not disclose monitoring the plurality of DC resistance values specifically during a constant power charging or discharging window; determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window; estimating the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power window; using an electrochemical-thermal model for estimation; and curve-based deviation determination.
However, Barsoukov discloses in Figs. 1-4, monitoring the plurality of DC resistance values specifically during a constant power charging or discharging window (monitoring DC internal resistance R(DOD) during steady current flow/constant current discharge window for Li-ion batteries, Col. 3, lines 1-30; Col. 4, lines 1-20; Figs. 1-2; steady current analogous to constant power for stable conditions); determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window (determining R(DOD) = [V(DOD) - V_OCV(DOD)] / I_average at measurement points/timestamps during discharge, Col. 3, lines 40-60; Col. 5, lines 1-15); estimating the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power window (estimating impedance/resistance deviations tied to discharge current/power, using reference database, Col. 4, lines 20-50; Col. 6, lines 1-30); using an electrochemical-thermal model for estimation (electrochemical model incorporating temperature/DOD/aging for resistance estimation, Col. 2, lines 50-67; Col. 5, lines 20-40); and curve-based deviation determination (comparing measured impedance to reference database/curves for deviations indicating faults/aging, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the method of Hong and provide monitoring the plurality of DC resistance values specifically during a constant power charging or discharging window (monitoring DC internal resistance R(DOD) during steady current flow/constant current discharge window for Li-ion batteries, Col. 3, lines 1-30; Col. 4, lines 1-20; Figs. 1-2; steady current analogous to constant power for stable conditions); determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window (determining R(DOD) = [V(DOD) - V_OCV(DOD)] / I_average at measurement points/timestamps during discharge, Col. 3, lines 40-60; Col. 5, lines 1-15); estimating the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power window (estimating impedance/resistance deviations tied to discharge current/power, using reference database, Col. 4, lines 20-50; Col. 6, lines 1-30); using an electrochemical-thermal model for estimation (electrochemical model incorporating temperature/DOD/aging for resistance estimation, Col. 2, lines 50-67; Col. 5, lines 20-40); and curve-based deviation determination (comparing measured impedance to reference database/curves for deviations indicating faults/aging, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3), as taught by Barsoukov for enhanced accuracy in detecting battery degradation and faults through impedance monitoring during operational conditions.
As to claim 2, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses detecting that the persistent short circuit is not present in the battery, in response to the determined deviation of the plurality of DC resistance values being less than the threshold value (Hong: detecting no fault if deviations within thresholds, paras. [0066]-[0071]).
As to claim 3, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the monitoring of the plurality of DC resistance values in the constant power charging or discharging window comprises initiating the monitoring from a preset cell voltage value for a preset duration (Hong: initiating at preset V_Bat >200V for mode sequences, paras. [0029], [0037]; Barsoukov: during steady current window at preset DOD/voltage, Col. 3, lines 1-30).
As to claim 4, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the reference battery corresponds to a healthy battery with the plurality of predefined DC resistance values during the predefined constant power charging or discharging window (Hong: healthy reference values e.g., R3/R4, paras. [0059]-[0065]; Barsoukov: healthy reference database during discharge, Col. 4, lines 20-50).
As to claim 5, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the estimating of the short resistance of the battery comprises determining, using an electrochemical-thermal model, the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power and the magnitude of the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values with respect to the plurality of predefined DC resistance values at predefined reference operating conditions (Hong: equation-based estimation with V_DC/deviations, Eqs. 15-16; paras. [0044]-[0047]; Barsoukov: electrochemical-thermal model with current/power/deviations at references, Col. 2, lines 50-67; Col. 5, lines 20-40).
As to claim 6, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the detecting of the persistent short circuit in the battery comprises: determining a first curve based on the plurality of predefined DC resistance values with respect to the corresponding timestamp of the plurality of timestamps; generating a second curve based on the determined plurality of DC resistance values with respect to the corresponding timestamp of the plurality of timestamps; determining a deviation value between the determined first curve and the generated second curve; and detecting the persistent short circuit in the battery, in response to the determined deviation value being greater than the threshold value (Hong: comparing values over modes, paras. [0068]-[0071]; Barsoukov: curve-based comparisons over timestamps for deviations, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the plurality of DC resistance values corresponds to a ratio of voltage and current applied to the battery at each timestamp of the plurality of timestamps; and the plurality of predefined DC resistance values corresponds to a ratio of voltage and current applied to the reference battery at each timestamp of the plurality of time stamps (Hong: V/I ratios, Eqs. 1-16; paras. [0037]-[0042]; Barsoukov: R as V/I, Col. 3, lines 40-60).
As to claim 8, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the battery corresponds to a rechargeable Lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery (Hong: Li-ion, para. [0003]; Barsoukov: Li-ion, Col. 1, lines 10-20).
As to claim 9, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses further comprising displaying an alert on a display of the battery-based device in response to the estimated short resistance being less than a threshold short resistance value (Hong: alerting for low resistance faults, para. [0080]).
As to claim 11, Hong discloses in Fig. 1, a device (apparatus with control unit, paras. [0029]-[0047]; Fig. 1), comprising:
one or more processors (control unit 140 as processor, para. [0043]);
and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: (memory storing instructions, paras. [0043], [0079]);
monitor a plurality of direct current (DC) resistance values of the battery for a predefined time period during one of a constant power charging or discharging window of the battery (monitoring DC isolation resistances R_Leak(+), R_Leak(-) in high-voltage Li-ion battery over sequential measurement modes/periods during applied DC power V_DC, paras. [0030]-[0036], [0048]-[0058]; Figs. 3-6);
determine the plurality of DC resistance values of the battery at a plurality of timestamps corresponding to the predefined time period (determining resistances using voltages V1, V2 at different circuit configurations as timestamps in mode sequences, paras. [0037]-[0042]; Eqs. 1-7, 9-14);
determine a deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values by comparing the determined plurality of DC resistance values with a plurality of predefined DC resistance values associated with a reference battery (determining deviations by comparing measured resistances to predefined diagnosis resistances e.g., known R3/R4 = 500 kΩ or reference values in error ranges for healthy states, paras. [0059]-[0065], [0072]-[0078]; Eqs. 15-16);
detect a persistent short circuit in the battery in response to the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values being greater than a threshold value (detecting faults/shorts as insulation breakdown/leakage if deviations exceed preset error ranges/thresholds, paras. [0066]-[0071]; low resistance indicates persistent short, para. [0004]);
and estimate, upon detecting the persistent short circuit in the battery, the short resistance of the battery based on a value of power supply in the constant power charging or discharging window and a magnitude of the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values with respect to the plurality of predefined DC resistance values (estimating short/leakage resistance R_Leak, R_Diag using equations incorporating power supply V_DC and deviation magnitudes e.g., voltage differences, paras. [0044]-[0047]; Eqs. 15-16).
Hong does not disclose monitoring the plurality of DC resistance values specifically during a constant power charging or discharging window; determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window; estimating the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power window; using an electrochemical-thermal model for estimation; and curve-based deviation determination.
However, Barsoukov discloses in Figs. 1-4, monitoring the plurality of DC resistance values specifically during a constant power charging or discharging window (monitoring DC internal resistance R(DOD) during steady current flow/constant current discharge window for Li-ion batteries, Col. 3, lines 1-30; Col. 4, lines 1-20; Figs. 1-2; steady current analogous to constant power for stable conditions); determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window (determining R(DOD) = [V(DOD) - V_OCV(DOD)] / I_average at measurement points/timestamps during discharge, Col. 3, lines 40-60; Col. 5, lines 1-15); estimating the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power window (estimating impedance/resistance deviations tied to discharge current/power, using reference database, Col. 4, lines 20-50; Col. 6, lines 1-30); using an electrochemical-thermal model for estimation (electrochemical model incorporating temperature/DOD/aging for resistance estimation, Col. 2, lines 50-67; Col. 5, lines 20-40); and curve-based deviation determination (comparing measured impedance to reference database/curves for deviations indicating faults/aging, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the device of Hong and provide monitoring the plurality of DC resistance values specifically during a constant power charging or discharging window (monitoring DC internal resistance R(DOD) during steady current flow/constant current discharge window for Li-ion batteries, Col. 3, lines 1-30; Col. 4, lines 1-20; Figs. 1-2; steady current analogous to constant power for stable conditions); determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window (determining R(DOD) = [V(DOD) - V_OCV(DOD)] / I_average at measurement points/timestamps during discharge, Col. 3, lines 40-60; Col. 5, lines 1-15); estimating the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power window (estimating impedance/resistance deviations tied to discharge current/power, using reference database, Col. 4, lines 20-50; Col. 6, lines 1-30); using an electrochemical-thermal model for estimation (electrochemical model incorporating temperature/DOD/aging for resistance estimation, Col. 2, lines 50-67; Col. 5, lines 20-40); and curve-based deviation determination (comparing measured impedance to reference database/curves for deviations indicating faults/aging, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3), as taught by Barsoukov for enhanced accuracy in detecting battery degradation and faults through impedance monitoring during operational conditions.
As to claim 12, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses detecting that the persistent short circuit is not present in the battery, in response to the determined deviation of the plurality of DC resistance values being less than the threshold value (Hong: detecting no fault if deviations within thresholds, paras. [0066]-[0071]).
As to claim 13, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the monitoring of the plurality of DC resistance values in the constant power charging or discharging window comprises initiating the monitoring from a preset cell voltage value for a preset duration (Hong: initiating at preset V_Bat >200V for mode sequences, paras. [0029], [0037]; Barsoukov: during steady current window at preset DOD/voltage, Col. 3, lines 1-30).
As to claim 14, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the reference battery corresponds to a healthy battery with the plurality of predefined DC resistance values during the predefined constant power charging or discharging window (Hong: healthy reference values e.g., R3/R4, paras. [0059]-[0065]; Barsoukov: healthy reference database during discharge, Col. 4, lines 20-50).
As to claim 15, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the estimating of the short resistance of the battery comprises determining, using an electrochemical-thermal model, the short resistance based on the value of power supply in the constant power and the magnitude of the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values with respect to the plurality of predefined DC resistance values at predefined reference operating conditions (Hong: equation-based estimation with V_DC/deviations, Eqs. 15-16; paras. [0044]-[0047]; Barsoukov: electrochemical-thermal model with current/power/deviations at references, Col. 2, lines 50-67; Col. 5, lines 20-40).
As to claim 16, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the detecting of the persistent short circuit in the battery comprises: determining a first curve based on the plurality of predefined DC resistance values with respect to the corresponding timestamp of the plurality of timestamps; generating a second curve based on the determined plurality of DC resistance values with respect to the corresponding timestamp of the plurality of timestamps; determining a deviation value between the determined first curve and the generated second curve; and detecting the persistent short circuit in the battery, in response to the determined deviation value being greater than the threshold value (Hong: comparing values over modes, paras. [0068]-[0071]; Barsoukov: curve-based comparisons over timestamps for deviations, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3).
As to claim 17, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the plurality of DC resistance values corresponds to a ratio of voltage and current applied to the battery at each timestamp of the plurality of timestamps; and the plurality of predefined DC resistance values corresponds to a ratio of voltage and current applied to the reference battery at each timestamp of the plurality of time stamps (Hong: V/I ratios, Eqs. 1-16; paras. [0037]-[0042]; Barsoukov: R as V/I, Col. 3, lines 40-60).
As to claim 18, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses wherein the battery corresponds to a rechargeable Lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery (Hong: Li-ion, para. [0003]; Barsoukov: Li-ion, Col. 1, lines 10-20).
As to claim 19, Hong, as modified by Barsoukov, discloses further comprising displaying an alert on a display of the battery-based device in response to the estimated short resistance being less than a threshold short resistance value (Hong: alerting for low resistance faults, para. [0080]).
As to claim 20, Hong discloses in Fig. 1, a processor-implemented method (control unit 140 as processor implementing the method, para. [0043]) comprising:
determining a plurality of direct current (DC) resistance values of a battery at a plurality of timestamps corresponding to a predefined time period during one of a constant power charging or discharging window of the battery (determining resistances using voltages V1, V2 at different circuit configurations as timestamps in mode sequences during applied DC power V_DC, paras. [0037]-[0042]; Eqs. 1-7, 9-14; paras. [0030]-[0036], [0048]-[0058]; Figs. 3-6);
determining a deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values by comparing the determined plurality of DC resistance values with a plurality of predefined DC resistance values associated with a reference battery (determining deviations by comparing measured resistances to predefined diagnosis resistances e.g., known R3/R4 = 500 kΩ or reference values in error ranges for healthy states, paras. [0059]-[0065], [0072]-[0078]; Eqs. 15-16);
and detecting a persistent short circuit in the battery in response to the determined deviation of the determined plurality of DC resistance values being greater than a threshold value (detecting faults/shorts as insulation breakdown/leakage if deviations exceed preset error ranges/thresholds, paras. [0066]-[0071]; low resistance indicates persistent short, para. [0004]).
Hong does not disclose determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window; and curve-based deviation determination.
However, Barsoukov discloses in Figs. 1-4, determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window (determining R(DOD) = [V(DOD) - V_OCV(DOD)] / I_average at measurement points/timestamps during steady current discharge window, Col. 3, lines 40-60; Col. 5, lines 1-15; steady current analogous to constant power); and curve-based deviation determination (comparing measured impedance to reference database/curves for deviations indicating faults/aging, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to modify the method of Hong and provide determining the plurality of DC resistance values at a plurality of timestamps during the constant power window (determining R(DOD) = [V(DOD) - V_OCV(DOD)] / I_average at measurement points/timestamps during steady current discharge window, Col. 3, lines 40-60; Col. 5, lines 1-15; steady current analogous to constant power); and curve-based deviation determination (comparing measured impedance to reference database/curves for deviations indicating faults/aging, Col. 3, lines 20-40; Fig. 3), as taught by Barsoukov for enhanced accuracy in detecting battery degradation and faults through impedance monitoring during operational conditions.
Conclusion
/TUNG X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/23/2026