DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the amendment and remarks filed July 7, 2026, in reply to the non-final Office action mailed April 7, 2026. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Claims 1–19 are pending and are rejected.
Correction of the Record
The heading of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the non-final Office action (item 5) inadvertently identified the primary reference as "Yun (US 2017/0318694)." The body of that rejection relied on Cushen (US 2022/0418156), and Applicant responded on that basis. The error was typographical and did not affect the substance of the rejection. That rejection is withdrawn for the reasons below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1–11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claims 12–19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Cushen (with Longhurst as to claims 12–19) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. Cushen discloses that neither the lower temperature components 17 nor the cold plate heat sink hybrid devices are submerged (Cushen, para. 0036), and that the primary coolant level only partially covers component 17 (Cushen, para. 0058). Cushen therefore does not disclose a peripheral device submerged within the first cooling medium as now recited in claim 1, or the cold plate encapsulated by the first cooling medium as now recited in claim 12. Those rejections are withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Campbell et al. (US 2010/0118494), Malouin et al. (US 2023/0156959), Chrysler et al. (US 2005/0151244), and Hou (US 5,983,997), as set forth below. The new grounds of rejection were necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Claim Interpretation
During examination, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. MPEP 2111. The specification uses "submerged" and "encapsulated" interchangeably to describe components surrounded by the first cooling medium (spec., para. 0039), and the claims are interpreted accordingly. The term "heat sink" in claim 1 is given its ordinary meaning of a structure that receives heat from the first cooling medium; claim 1 does not require the heat sink to be the cold plate, which is separately recited in claim 9. The phrase "configured to receive a second cooling medium" is interpreted as a capability of the recited internal fluid circuit. See MPEP 2114.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell et al. (US 2010/0118494 A1, hereinafter "Campbell").
Re claim 1: Campbell discloses a method of cooling an assembly (hybrid immersion cooled environment 400, FIG. 4; para. 0030) including at least one heat-generating electronic device (primary heat generating components, para. 0030–0031) and at least one peripheral heat-generating device (secondary heat generating components, para. 0030, 0035) encapsulated within a container (liquid sealed enclosure 402 that contains the electronics board and all electronics components, FIG. 4; para. 0033), the method comprising: cooling the at least one peripheral heat-generating device with a first cooling medium (second coolant 560, FIG. 6; the second coolant cools the secondary components through direct immersion, para. 0035), wherein the at least one peripheral heat-generating device is submerged within the first cooling medium (the electronic components are submerged in the second coolant, para. 0035; level of second coolant 560 above board 405, FIG. 6); cooling the at least one heat-generating electronic device with a cold plate (cold plate 420, FIG. 4; para. 0031) having an internal fluid circuit configured to receive a second cooling medium (first coolant circulates through the cold plates via conduit 432, 434, 436, 438, FIG. 4, para. 0031–0032; first coolant as it exits the cold plate(s), para. 0034); and cooling the first cooling medium via a heat sink (the first coolant cools the second coolant via extended surfaces on the external surfaces of the tubing and cold plates, para. 0035; extended surfaces 495, FIG. 4).Re claim 2: Campbell discloses circulating the first cooling medium within the container (free convection or submerged pump, para. 0037; pump 600 moving second coolant 560, FIG. 6, para. 0039).Re claim 4: Campbell discloses cooling the at least one heat-generating electronic device with the first cooling medium (the electronic components, including those cooled by the cold plates, are submerged in the second coolant, para. 0035).Re claim 5: Campbell discloses transferring heat from the at least one heat-generating electronic device to a body of the cold plate and from the body of the cold plate to the second cooling medium within the fluid circuit (cold plates 420 coupled to the primary components remove heat into the first coolant circulating through them, para. 0031, 0034).Re claim 7: Campbell discloses the at least one heat-generating electronic device directly mounted to a printed circuit board and the cold plate thermally coupled to the printed circuit board (primary components mounted on electronics board 405, cold plates 420 coupled to those components on the board, FIG. 4; para. 0031).Re claim 8: Campbell discloses positioning a portion of the fluid circuit in overlapping arrangement with the at least one heat-generating electronic device (cold plate 420, through which the first coolant circulates, is positioned over the primary component, FIG. 4; para. 0031).Re claim 9: Campbell discloses conducting heat from the first cooling medium to a body of the cold plate and transferring heat from the body of the cold plate to the second cooling medium (the first coolant cools the second coolant via the external surfaces of the cold plates, para. 0035).Re claims 10 and 11: Campbell discloses that the first and second coolants may comprise water, refrigerants, dielectrics or oils (para. 0036), and thus discloses the first cooling medium being a dielectric fluid (claim 10) and the second cooling medium being a refrigerant (claim 11).
Claims 1–3 are rejected, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malouin et al. (US 2023/0156959 A1, hereinafter "Malouin").
Re claim 1: Malouin discloses a method of cooling an assembly (liquid-in-liquid cooling system 200, FIG. 2A; para. 0047) including at least one heat-generating electronic device (high power electronic component 204, para. 0047) and at least one peripheral heat-generating device (low power electronic component 202, para. 0045, 0047) encapsulated within a container (components mounted on board 201 within vessel 210 holding dielectric liquid 212, para. 0047; components encapsulated in a protective layer of dielectric liquid, para. 0058), the method comprising: cooling the at least one peripheral heat-generating device with a first cooling medium, wherein the at least one peripheral heat-generating device is submerged within the first cooling medium (dielectric first liquid 212 immersing and cooling the low power components, para. 0004, 0045, 0047; dielectric liquid immersing the electronics, para. 0063); cooling the at least one heat-generating electronic device with a cold plate having an internal fluid circuit configured to receive a second cooling medium (cooling module 206 on component 204 includes fluid channels 207a, 207b through which conductive liquid 214 flows, para. 0047; cooling module configured as a closed cold plate module in which fluid passes through a closed structure, para. 0009; microchannel, pin fin and other cold plate technologies, para. 0050); and cooling the first cooling medium via a heat sink (heat exchanger arranged within or adjacent to the vessel to transfer away heat from the dielectric liquid, para. 0054, 0068; heat exchanger 548 removing heat from dielectric liquid 541, FIG. 5D, para. 0076).Re claim 2: Malouin discloses circulating the first cooling medium within the container (dielectric liquid circulated within the vessel by pump 224, FIG. 2C, para. 0054; pump 424, FIG. 4C, para. 0068; pump 544, FIG. 5D, para. 0076).Re claim 3: Malouin discloses the first cooling medium being cooled via the heat sink at a location upstream from the at least one peripheral heat-generating device relative to a direction of flow of the first cooling medium (heat exchanger 548 removes heat from dielectric liquid 541, which is then directed back into the vessel containing the immersed electronic components, FIG. 5D, para. 0076; heat exchangers 528, 538, FIGS. 5B–5C, para. 0074–0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell. Campbell discloses the method of claim 2, wherein pump 600 circulates the second coolant within enclosure 402 (para. 0037, 0039), and the second coolant is cooled via the extended surfaces of the cold plate as it moves across the secondary heat generating components and the extended surfaces in a closed circulation loop (para. 0039; FIG. 6). Campbell does not expressly state that the second coolant is cooled at the cold plate at a location upstream from the secondary components relative to the direction of flow. Campbell teaches that the purpose of the submerged extended surfaces is to cool the second coolant so that it in turn cools the secondary components by direct immersion (para. 0035). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the recirculating flow of Campbell so that the second coolant passes the cold plate surfaces before reaching the secondary components, in order to deliver the coolest available fluid to the immersion-cooled components, consistent with Campbell's stated purpose (para. 0035, 0039). Such an arrangement is a predictable use of known elements according to their established functions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Chrysler et al. (US 2005/0151244 A1, hereinafter "Chrysler"). Campbell discloses the method of claim 5, the cold plate 420 being coupled to the primary component (FIG. 4; para. 0031), but does not expressly disclose the at least one heat-generating electronic device being directly mounted to a surface of the cold plate. Chrysler teaches an electronic chip 99 in direct contact with cooling plate 101 (para. 0032), the chip being bonded directly to the cooling plate so that the thermal bond thickness can be virtually zero (FIGS. 1, 4; para. 0035–0036). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to directly mount the primary component of Campbell to a surface of the cold plate, as taught by Chrysler, in order to minimize the thermal resistance between the component and the cold plate (Chrysler, para. 0035–0036).
Claims 12, 14–16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Malouin.
Re claim 12: Campbell discloses an assembly (hybrid immersion cooled environment 400, FIG. 4; para. 0030) comprising: a fluid-tight container having an interior (liquid sealed enclosure 402, FIG. 4; para. 0033, 0038); at least one heat-generating electronic device arranged within the container (primary heat generating components on board 405 within enclosure 402, FIG. 4; para. 0031, 0033); at least one peripheral heat-generating device arranged within the container (secondary heat generating components, para. 0030, 0033, 0035); a cold plate thermally coupled to the at least one heat-generating electronic device (cold plate 420, FIG. 4; para. 0031), the cold plate having an internal fluid circuit configured to receive a second cooling medium (first coolant circulates through the cold plates via conduit 432, 434, 436, 438, para. 0031–0032, 0034); and wherein the interior of the container is filled with a first cooling medium (second coolant 560, para. 0035; FIG. 6) such that the at least one heat-generating electronic device and the at least one peripheral heat-generating device are encapsulated by the first cooling medium (the electronic components are submerged in the second coolant, para. 0035; FIG. 6), the fins and extended surfaces of the cold plate being submerged in the first cooling medium so that the first coolant cools the second coolant through the external surfaces of the cold plate (para. 0035; extended surfaces 495, FIG. 4). Campbell does not expressly disclose the cold plate being encapsulated by the first cooling medium, disclosing instead that the second coolant at least partially submerges the cold plate (abstract; para. 0035). Malouin teaches a liquid-in-liquid cooling system (200, FIG. 2A) in which low power electronic components 202 and a high power electronic component 204 are mounted on a board 201 within a vessel 210 holding a dielectric first liquid 212, and a cooling module 206 mounted on the high power component includes fluid channels 207a, 207b through which a conductive second liquid 214 flows (para. 0047), the cooling module being configurable as a closed cold plate module in which the second liquid passes through a closed structure contacting the component through a thermal interface material (para. 0009, 0050), wherein the dielectric fluid surrounds the cooling module (para. 0049), such that the closed cold plate module is encapsulated by the dielectric first liquid together with the electronic components (para. 0058), the first and second liquids being distinct media (para. 0028, 0034). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the enclosure of Campbell such that the cold plate is encapsulated by the second coolant, as taught by Malouin, in order to maximize the external cold-plate surface in contact with the second coolant and thereby maintain better cooling of the second coolant, which Campbell identifies as the purpose of submerging the cold-plate surfaces (Campbell, para. 0035), and because Malouin teaches that surrounding a closed cold plate module carrying a second liquid with the dielectric bath is a known arrangement that additionally protects the electronics against leakage of the second liquid (Malouin, para. 0055–0058).Re claim 14: Campbell as modified discloses a printed circuit board, the at least one heat-generating electronic device being directly mounted to the printed circuit board and the cold plate being thermally coupled to the printed circuit board (primary components mounted on electronics board 405, cold plates 420 coupled to those components, Campbell, FIG. 4; para. 0031).Re claim 15: Campbell as modified discloses a movement mechanism for moving the first cooling medium within the container (pump 600, Campbell, FIG. 6; para. 0037, 0039).Re claim 16: Campbell as modified discloses at least a portion of the internal fluid circuit positioned in overlapping arrangement with the at least one heat-generating electronic device (cold plate 420, through which the first coolant circulates, positioned over the primary component, Campbell, FIG. 4; para. 0031).Re claim 19: Campbell as modified discloses the first cooling medium being a dielectric fluid (Campbell, para. 0036; Malouin, dielectric first liquid 212, para. 0028, 0047).
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Malouin as applied to claim 12, and further in view of Chrysler.Re claim 13: Campbell as modified discloses the assembly of claim 12 but does not expressly disclose the at least one heat-generating electronic device being directly mounted to the cold plate. Chrysler teaches an electronic chip 99 in direct contact with, and bonded directly to, cooling plate 101 (para. 0032, 0035–0036; FIGS. 1, 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to directly mount the heat-generating component of Campbell as modified to the cold plate, as taught by Chrysler, in order to minimize the thermal resistance between the component and the cold plate (Chrysler, para. 0035–0036).Re claim 18: Campbell as modified discloses the assembly of claim 12 but does not describe the internal geometry of the cold plate's fluid circuit. Chrysler teaches a cold plate (cooling plate 101, FIGS. 1–4; para. 0032) wherein the internal fluid circuit includes a first manifold (inlet manifold 111), a second manifold (outlet manifold 112), and at least one fluid passage connecting the first manifold and the second manifold (microchannels 114) (the cooling plate encloses an inlet plenum 111, an outlet plenum 112, and a plurality of microchannels 114 connecting them, para. 0048; channels 114 and manifolds 111 and 112, para. 0032; microchannels 114 receive fluid from inlet manifold 111 at one end and deliver it to outlet manifold 112 at the opposite end, para. 0033), coolant entering and leaving through inlet tube 131 and outlet tube 132 (para. 0032, 0037). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cold plate of Campbell as modified with an internal fluid circuit having inlet and outlet manifolds connected by fluid passages, as taught by Chrysler, because Chrysler teaches that microchannels fed from an inlet manifold and collected at an outlet manifold greatly increase the surface area exposed to the cooling fluid and enhance heat transfer (Chrysler, para. 0020, 0033).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Malouin as applied to claim 12, and further in view of Hou (US 5,983,997, hereinafter "Hou").Re claim 17: Campbell as modified discloses the assembly of claim 12 but does not describe the internal geometry of the cold plate's fluid circuit. Hou teaches a cold plate 10 for cooling electronic components 100 seated on bosses 24 formed in the plate (FIG. 2; col. 4, ll. 5–26), wherein the internal fluid circuit includes a single continuous path, namely a fluid channel 20 extending between a fluid inlet 12 and a fluid outlet 14 (col. 4, ll. 5–6), through which the coolant passes in sequence from the inlet through channel sections 22a, 22c, 22b and 22d of a serpentine path 32 and onward along a sequential path 29 (col. 4, l. 66 – col. 5, l. 19; FIG. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cold plate of Campbell as modified with an internal fluid circuit including a single continuous path, as taught by Hou, in order to provide more uniform cooling and avoid uneven cooling of similar components such as computer chips, which can cause imbalance and failure of the system being cooled (Hou, col. 4, ll. 58–65).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Zhengfu J. Feng, whose telephone number is 571-272-2949. The examiner can normally be reached Mon – Fri 10AM -6PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, JAYPRAKASH GANDHI, can be reached at 571-272-3740. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center.
/ZHENGFU J FENG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841 September 28, 2026