DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method of claims 13-17 is directed to a method of use and not a method of making. This is not found persuasive because the preamble “A method of preparing ultraviolet-absorbing resin” is implied to be a method of making the composition and not a method of using the composition. The term “preparing” means that the following steps in the method would be directed to forming the composition and not using the composition. The steps recited in claim 13 are directed to a method of use and not a method of making. Therefore, the preamble and the steps in the method claims contradict each other and the scope is confusing. Nevertheless, it is noted that the product can be used by a materially different method such as extrusion or injection molding. In regard to Applicant’s assertions of lack of burden, Examiner notes that in light of the different classification, the burden is established.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/5/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagato et al. (US 20100180938).
Nagato discloses a coating composition for forming a protective layer on a cover layer. Concerning claims 1 and 2, Nagato discloses the coating composition comprises a curable fluorine-containing resin that has the claimed repeat units at a content of 200 parts solution (50% by mass solids, resulting in 100 parts resin, 100 parts solvent), an isocyanate curing agent at a content of 4 parts, 21 parts UV absorber, and 150 parts solvent, which is the total of the 50 parts additional solvent and 100 parts from the solution (Example 6; para. 0167 and 0018-0098). When converted to weight percent, the total number of parts is 275 parts, resulting in 45 wt% fluorine-containing resin, 7.6 wt% of an isocyanate curing agent, 1.5 wt% of a UV absorber, and the balance being solvent. Regarding claim 3, the isocyanate curing agent is one of the claimed compounds (para. 0055-0058). With respect to claim 4, the UV absorber is one of the claimed materials (para. 0070-0080). Concerning claims 7-9, the resulting film has a thickness of 1 to 500 microns (para. 0103) and since the composition is the same as that claimed, the resulting optical properties under the specified testing conditions would be intrinsic to the disclosure of Nagato.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagato et al. (US 20100180938) in view of Miyazaki et al. (US 4943614) and BASF Tinuvin® 900 Technical Sheet (Hereafter “The Tinuvin sheet”).
Nagato discloses the above, including the solvent that can be one that can be third class solvent or a mixture of solvents that can somewhat attack the substrate wherein a primer is disposed between the top layer comprising the coating composition set forth above and the solvents can include methyl ethyl ketone (para. 0094-0095 and 0059-0062). However, Nagato is silent to xylene and the addition of a light stabilizer.
Miyazaki discloses fluorocarbon-based coating composition, wherein a solvent is added to the composition for efficiency for the coating process and such solvents include xylene and ketones (col. 4, lines 13-25). The specific combination of solvents is determined by considering the state of the substrate, operation environment, evaporation rate, and the like (col. 4, lines 13-25). As such, for at least the efficiency of the coating process, evaporation rate, state of the substrate, and the operating environment, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a xylene or xylene/methyl ethyl ketone solvent.
The Tinuvin sheet discloses a combination of a benzotriazole and a HALS light stabilizer at the content as claimed allows for protection against cracking, blistering, delamination, and color change (pp. 1-2). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a light stabilizer at the content as claimed in combination with a benzotriazole UV absorber, in order to provide the coating protection against cracking, blistering, delamination, and color change.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art is silent to a UV-absorbing structure having each layer formed from the composition as claimed with each layer having the composition having different isocyanate curing agents.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Memmer et al. (US 4557977), Reiners et al. (US 20130184400), and Lyu et al. (CN 113372771).
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783