DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-10, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Itakura (US 2003/0070484 A1) (hereinafter Itakura).
Regarding claim 1, Itakura teaches a sensor (see Abstract) comprising:
a primary sensing part comprising a single primary electrode or multiple primary electrodes [movable electrodes 1a-1b] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the single primary electrode comprises a first material and a second material electrically coupled to the first material, the first material being different from the second material [only further limits a singular primary electrode],
wherein the multiple primary electrodes comprise two or more primary electrodes, at least some of the multiple primary electrodes comprising one primary electrode material or different primary electrode materials [movable electrodes 1a-1b inherently comprising electrode material that are either the same or different] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the multiple primary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connection, or each of the multiple primary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple primary electrodes to form separate electrical connections [movable electrodes 1a-1b electrically coupled to one another] (Para [0026-0027], see Fig. 2);
a secondary sensing part comprising a single secondary electrode or multiple secondary electrodes [fixed electrodes 2a-2b] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the single secondary electrode comprises a third material and a fourth material electrically coupled to the third material, the third material being different from the fourth material [only further limit a singular secondary electrode],
wherein the multiple secondary electrodes comprise two or more secondary electrodes, at least some of the multiple secondary electrodes comprising one secondary electrode material or different secondary electrode materials [fixed electrodes 2a-2b inherently comprising electrode material that are either the same or different] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the multiple secondary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connecting point, or each of the multiple secondary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple secondary electrodes to form separate electrical connecting points [signal generator outputs signals for applying voltages to fixed electrodes 2a-2b] (Para [0030], see Fig. 2); and
one or more electrical measurement units [acceleration output signal Gout X] (Para [0029], see Fig. 2) each electrically coupled to:
the single primary electrode and a ground, or one primary electrode of the multiple primary electrodes and another primary electrode of the multiple primary electrodes, or the common electrical connection of the multiple primary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connections of the multiple primary electrodes and the ground, or the single secondary electrode and the ground, or one secondary electrode of the multiple secondary electrodes and another secondary electrode of the multiple secondary electrodes, or the common electrical connecting point of the multiple secondary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connecting points of the multiple secondary electrodes and the ground [coupled to movable electrodes 1a-1b] (see Fig. 2),
wherein the primary sensing part and the secondary sensing part are free from electrical connection with each other (see Figs. 1-2);
wherein the single primary electrode or at least one of the multiple primary electrodes is configured to be attached to a movable object [movable electrodes 1a-1b], and the single secondary electrode or at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes is configured to be fixed to a stationary object or another movable object [fixed electrodes 2a-2b] (Para [0021-0023], see Figs. 1-2);
wherein the primary sensing part is arranged to be spaced apart from the secondary sensing part within an electrostatic interaction range [differential capacitance formed between each of movable electrodes 1a and 1b and the fixed electrodes 2a and 2b] (Para [0022], see Figs. 1-2); and
wherein the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes and the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes are arranged to move relatively to each other to generate one or more electrical signals measurable by the one or more electrical measurement units, the generated one or more electrical signals being representative of at least one quantifiable parameter of relative motion between the primary sensing part and the secondary sensing part [acceleration detection circuit 20 detects acceleration along the X axis based on a change in a differential capacitance formed between each of movable electrodes 1a and 1b and the fixed electrodes 2a and 2b] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the sensor is a self-powered sensor, or an externally powered sensor [sensor is inherently either self-powered or externally powered] (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the one or more electrical measurement units, and the single primary electrode or the multiple primary electrodes are arranged in at least one of the following configurations: the one or more electrical measurement units being electrically coupled: between the ground and the single primary electrode; or between the ground and the multiple primary electrodes at the common electrical connection; or between the ground and at least some of the multiple primary electrodes at the respective separate electrical connections; or between one or more of the multiple primary electrodes and another one or more of the multiple primary electrodes [Gout X coupled between movable electrodes 1a-1b] (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein each of the one or more electrical measurement units is configured to condition or measure or both condition and measure the generated one or more electrical signals; and each of the one or more electrical measurement units has either: single-ended inputs comprising: an input and the ground, or differential inputs comprising: a non-inverting input and an inverting input [op amp 21a] (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Ikatura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising one or more built-in potential difference multipliers, wherein the one or more built-in potential difference multipliers is: electrically coupled to the single primary electrode or the multiple primary electrodes; or electrically coupled to the single secondary electrode or the multiple secondary electrodes [op amp 21a or gain circuit 23b] (Para [0029], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Ikatura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the one or more built-in potential difference multipliers comprises one of the following: one or more components coupled in series, each component comprising: a first portion including a metal, or a semiconductor, or a ferroelectric material, or a pyroelectric material, or a functionalized material; and a second portion including another metal, or another semiconductor, or another ferroelectric material, or another pyroelectric material, or another functionalized material, wherein the second portion is adjacent to the first portion; or one or more diodes coupled in series; or one or more semiconductor junctions coupled in series; or one or more energy storage devices coupled in series [op amp 21a having semiconductor junctions] (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Ikatura teaches a method for determining at least one quantifiable parameter of relative motion between a movable object and a stationary object or another movable object (see Abstract), the method comprising:
providing a sensor as claimed in claim 1 (see Rejection of Claim 1 above) comprising:
a primary sensing part comprising a single primary electrode or multiple primary electrodes [movable electrodes 1a-1b] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the single primary electrode comprises a first material and a second material electrically coupled to the first material, the first material being different from the second material [only further limits a singular primary electrode],
wherein the multiple primary electrodes comprise two or more primary electrodes, at least some of the multiple primary electrodes comprising one primary electrode material or different primary electrode materials [movable electrodes 1a-1b inherently comprising electrode material that are either the same or different] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the multiple primary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connection, or each of the multiple primary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple primary electrodes to form separate electrical connections [movable electrodes 1a-1b electrically coupled to one another] (Para [0026-0027], see Fig. 2);
a secondary sensing part comprising a single secondary electrode or multiple secondary electrodes [fixed electrodes 2a-2b] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the single secondary electrode comprises a third material and a fourth material electrically coupled to the third material, the third material being different from the fourth material [only further limit a singular secondary electrode],
wherein the multiple secondary electrodes comprise two or more electrodes, at least some of the multiple secondary electrodes comprising one secondary electrode material or different secondary electrode materials [fixed electrodes 2a-2b inherently comprising electrode material that are either the same or different] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2),
wherein the multiple secondary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connecting point, or each of the multiple secondary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple secondary electrodes to form separate electrical connecting points [signal generator outputs signals for applying voltages to fixed electrodes 2a-2b] (Para [0030], see Fig. 2); and
one or more electrical measurement units [acceleration output signal Gout X] (Para [0029], see Fig. 2) each electrically coupled to:
the single primary electrode and a ground, or one primary electrode of the multiple primary electrodes and another primary electrode of the multiple primary electrodes, or the common electrical connection of the multiple primary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connections of the multiple primary electrodes and the ground, or the single secondary electrode and the ground, or one secondary electrode of the multiple secondary electrodes and another secondary electrode of the multiple secondary electrodes, or the common electrical connecting point of the multiple secondary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connecting points of the multiple secondary electrodes and the ground [coupled to movable electrodes 1a-1b] (see Fig. 2),
wherein the primary sensing part and the secondary sensing part are free from electrical connection with each other (see Figs. 1-2);
attaching the single primary electrode or at least one of the multiple primary electrodes to the movable object [movable electrodes 1a-1b]; attaching the single secondary electrode or at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes to the stationary object or the other movable object [fixed electrodes 2a-2b] (Para [0021-0023], see Figs. 1-2), with the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes positioned facing towards the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes such that the primary sensing part is spaced apart from the secondary sensing part within an electrostatic interaction range [differential capacitance formed between each of movable electrodes 1a and 1b and the fixed electrodes 2a and 2b] (Para [0022], see Figs. 1-2); and
measuring, by the one or more electrical measurement units, one or more electrical signals generated in the sensor, wherein the generated one or more electrical signals are representative of the at least one quantifiable parameter of relative motion between the primary sensing part and the secondary sensing part [acceleration detection circuit 20 detects acceleration along the X axis based on a change in a differential capacitance formed between each of movable electrodes 1a and 1b and the fixed electrodes 2a and 2b] (Para [0021-0022], see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Ikatura as applied to claim 14 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the movable object comprises a vibrational beam or a reciprocating movable object, wherein the stationary object comprises a base supporting the vibrational beam or a holder of the reciprocating movable object [sensor element 10a with movable beam having electrodes 1a, 1b and corresponding holder] (see Fig. 1), and wherein measuring the one or more electrical signals comprises measuring the one or more electrical signals representative of at least one of a position variation amplitude or a frequency of the vibrational beam or the reciprocating movable object with respect to the stationary object or the other movable object near the vibrational beam or the reciprocating movable object [detects acceleration along the X axis based on a change in a differential capacitance formed between each of movable electrodes 1a and 1b and the fixed electrodes 2a and 2b] (Para [0022]).
Regarding claim 18, Ikatura as applied to claim 17 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein attaching the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes to the movable object comprises attaching the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes to the vibrational beam or the reciprocating movable object [movable electrodes 1a, 1b attached to beam] (see Fig. 1); wherein attaching the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes to the stationary object comprises attaching the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes to the base supporting the vibrational beam or the holder of the reciprocating movable object [fixed electrodes 2a, 2b attached to supporting base] (see Fig. 1); and wherein the method further comprises arranging the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes facing to the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Ikatura as applied to claim 18 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein arranging the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes facing to the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes further comprises arranging the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes between the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes to form a structure of interdigital electrodes [1a, 2a and 1b, 2b] (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (WO 2019/013704 A1) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 3, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the different primary electrode materials and the different secondary electrode materials have different work functions, or different ferroelectric properties, or different electret properties, or different pyroelectric properties. Zhang teaches relative motion electrodes having different electrode materials having different work functions, such as a first n-type semiconductor coated with a low work function metal (Pg. 4) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura with Zhang such that the different primary electrode materials and the different secondary electrode materials have different work functions, or different ferroelectric properties, or different electret properties, or different pyroelectric properties, in order to improve electrostatic interaction between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 4, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the first material, the second material, the third material, the fourth material, the primary electrode material, or the second electrode material comprises one of the following: a metal; a semiconductor; a ferroelectric material; an electret; or a pyroelectric material [semiconductor material] (Para [0024]). Itakura fails to teach wherein the different primary electrode materials, or the different secondary electrode materials comprise at least one of the following: a metal, a semiconductor, a ferroelectric material, an electret, or a pyroelectric material. Zhang teaches relative motion electrodes having different electrode materials having different work functions, such as a first n-type semiconductor coated with a low work function metal (Pg. 4) It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura with Zhang such that the different primary electrode materials, or the different secondary electrode materials comprise at least one of the following: a metal, a semiconductor, a ferroelectric material, an electret, or a pyroelectric material, in order to improve electrostatic interaction between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 8, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the single primary electrode or the multiple primary electrodes each has a front surface, the front surface being a surface arranged to be respectively positioned facing to the single secondary electrode or each of the multiple secondary electrodes; and/or wherein the single secondary electrode or the multiple secondary electrodes each has a frontal surface, the frontal surface being a surface arranged to be respectively positioned facing to the single primary electrode or each of the multiple primary electrodes (see Figs. 1-2). Itakura fails to teach wherein the front surface is coated with passivation layers and the frontal surface is coated with passivation layers. Zhang teaches relative motion electrodes having surfaces coated with passivation layers (Pg. 4-5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura with Zhang such that the front surface and frontal surface are coated with passivation layers, in order to protect the electrodes.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the one or more electrical measurement units, and the single secondary electrode or the multiple secondary electrodes are arranged in at least one of the following configurations: the one or more electrical measurement units being electrically coupled: between the ground and the single secondary electrode; or between the ground and the multiple secondary electrodes at the common electrical connecting point; or between the ground and at least some of the multiple secondary electrodes at the respective separate electrical connecting points; or between one or more of the multiple secondary electrodes and another one or more of the multiple secondary electrodes. Itakura additionally teaches wherein the acceleration detection circuit 20 detects acceleration along the X axis based on a change in a differential capacitance formed between each of movable electrodes 1a and 1b and the fixed electrodes 2a and 2b (Para [0022]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura such that the change in differential capacitance is measured at electrodes 2a and 2b instead of electrodes 1a and 1b, by arranging the one or more electrical measurement units being coupled between one or more of the multiple secondary electrodes and another one or more of the multiple secondary electrodes, for the predictable result of detecting acceleration along the X axis.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masaki et al. (US 2014/0327337 A1) (hereinafter Masaki).
Regarding claim 11, Itakura as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for further comprising: one or more tertiary sensing parts each comprising a single tertiary electrode or multiple tertiary electrodes, wherein the single tertiary electrode comprises a fifth material and a sixth material electrically coupled to the fifth material, the fifth material being different from the sixth material, wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes comprise two or more tertiary electrodes, at least some of the multiple tertiary electrodes comprising one tertiary electrode material or different tertiary electrode materials, wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connecting node, or each of the multiple tertiary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple tertiary electrodes to form separate electrical connecting nodes, wherein the single tertiary electrode or at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes is configured to be fixed to the stationary object or the other movable object and is arranged spaced apart from the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes when fixed to the stationary object or the other movable object; wherein the one or more electrical measurement units each is electrically coupled to: the single tertiary electrode and the ground, or one tertiary electrode of the multiple tertiary electrodes and another tertiary electrode of the multiple tertiary electrodes, or the common electrical connecting node of the multiple tertiary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connecting nodes of the multiple tertiary electrodes and the ground; wherein the primary sensing part is arranged to be spaced apart from the one or more tertiary sensing parts within the electrostatic interaction range; and wherein the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes and the single tertiary electrode or the at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes are arranged to move relatively to each other to generate one or more subsidiary electrical signals measurable by the one or more electrical measurement units.
Masaki teaches a relative motion sensor comprising multiple primary electrodes [2], multiple secondary electrodes [6A,7A] , and multiple tertiary electrodes [6B,7B], wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes comprise two or more tertiary electrodes comprising an electrode material or different electrode materials [inherent] and are coupled to one another to form a common electrical connecting node (see Fig. 1), wherein one or more electrical measurement units are electrically coupled to the two tertiary electrodes, wherein the primary sensing part is arranged to be spaced apart from the one or more tertiary sensing parts and are arranged to move relative to teach other to generate one or more subsidiary electrical signals measurable (Para [0038-0049, see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura with Masaki such to further comprise: one or more tertiary sensing parts each comprising a single tertiary electrode or multiple tertiary electrodes, wherein the single tertiary electrode comprises a fifth material and a sixth material electrically coupled to the fifth material, the fifth material being different from the sixth material, wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes comprise two or more tertiary electrodes, at least some of the multiple tertiary electrodes comprising one tertiary electrode material or different tertiary electrode materials, wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connecting node, or each of the multiple tertiary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple tertiary electrodes to form separate electrical connecting nodes, wherein the single tertiary electrode or at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes is configured to be fixed to the stationary object or the other movable object and is arranged spaced apart from the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes when fixed to the stationary object or the other movable object; wherein the one or more electrical measurement units each is electrically coupled to: the single tertiary electrode and the ground, or one tertiary electrode of the multiple tertiary electrodes and another tertiary electrode of the multiple tertiary electrodes, or the common electrical connecting node of the multiple tertiary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connecting nodes of the multiple tertiary electrodes and the ground; wherein the primary sensing part is arranged to be spaced apart from the one or more tertiary sensing parts within the electrostatic interaction range; and wherein the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes and the single tertiary electrode or the at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes are arranged to move relatively to each other to generate one or more subsidiary electrical signals measurable by the one or more electrical measurement units, in order to generate relative movement detection in multiple phases.
Regarding claim 13, Itakura in view of Masaki as applied to claim 11 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising one or more built-in potential difference multipliers [op amp 21a or gain circuit 23b] (Itakura Para [0029], see Fig. 2). Itakura in view of Masaki fails to teach wherein the one or more built-in potential difference multipliers is electrically coupled to the single tertiary electrode or the multiple tertiary electrodes. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify Itakura in view of Masaki such that the one or more built-in potential difference multipliers is electrically coupled to the single tertiary electrode or the multiple tertiary electrodes, in order to condition the signal from the tertiary electrodes.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura in view of Masaki, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding claim 12, Itakura in view of Masaki as applied to claim 11 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the single tertiary electrode or the multiple tertiary electrodes each has a fore surface coated with passivation layers, the fore surface being a surface arranged to be respectively positioned facing to the single primary electrode or each of the multiple primary electrodes. Zhang teaches relative motion electrodes having surfaces coated with passivation layers (Pg. 4-5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura in view of Masaki with Zhang such the single tertiary electrode or the multiple tertiary electrodes each has a fore surface coated with passivation layers, the fore surface being a surface arranged to be respectively positioned facing to the single primary electrode or each of the multiple primary electrodes, in order to protect the tertiary electrodes.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (A novel rotation detection method based on the capacitance principle and triboelectric effect, 2021) (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 15, Itakura as applied to claim 14 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the movable object comprises a rotor of a motor or a bearing or a joint of two mechanical parts, wherein the stationary object comprises a stator of the motor, or a holder of the bearing, or an arm connected to the joint; and wherein measuring the one or more electrical signals comprises measuring the one or more electrical signals representative of at least one of a rotational speed or an eccentricity of the rotor or the bearing or the joint or gaps between the movable object and the stationary object. Wang teaches a relative motion sensor wherein an electrode is attached to a rotor of a motor, another electrode is attached to the stator of the motor, and the electrodes interact to measure one or more electrical signals representative of a rotational speed of the rotor (see Abstract, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Itakura with Wang such that wherein the movable object comprises a rotor of a motor or a bearing or a joint of two mechanical parts, wherein the stationary object comprises a stator of the motor, or a holder of the bearing, or an arm connected to the joint; and wherein measuring the one or more electrical signals comprises measuring the one or more electrical signals representative of at least one of a rotational speed or an eccentricity of the rotor or the bearing or the joint or gaps between the movable object and the stationary object, in order to detect rotational speed of a rotor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is the inclusion of the limitations regarding wherein the sensor further comprises: one or more tertiary sensing parts each comprising a single tertiary electrode or multiple tertiary electrodes, wherein the single tertiary electrode comprises a fifth material and a sixth material electrically coupled to the fifth material, the fifth material being different from the sixth material, wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes comprise two or more electrodes, at least some of the multiple tertiary electrodes comprising one tertiary electrode material or different tertiary electrode materials, wherein the multiple tertiary electrodes are electrically coupled to one another to form a common electrical connecting node, or each of the multiple tertiary electrodes is electrically coupled to one or more of the multiple tertiary electrodes to form separate electrical connecting nodes, wherein the one or more electrical measurement units is each electrically coupled to: the single tertiary electrode and a ground, or one tertiary electrode of the multiple tertiary electrodes and another tertiary electrode of the multiple tertiary electrodes, the common electrical connecting node of the multiple tertiary electrodes and the ground, or the separate electrical connecting nodes of the multiple tertiary electrodes and the ground, and wherein the method further comprises: attaching the single tertiary electrode or at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes to the stationary object or the other movable object, with the single tertiary electrode or the at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes positioned facing towards the single primary electrode or the at least one of the multiple primary electrodes such that the primary sensing part is spaced apart from the one or more tertiary sensing parts within the electrostatic interaction range, and the single tertiary electrode or the at least one of the multiple tertiary electrodes is arranged spaced apart from the single secondary electrode or the at least one of the multiple secondary electrodes when fixed to the stationary object or the other movable object; measuring, by the one or more electrical measurement units, one or more subsidiary electrical signals generated in the single tertiary electrode or each of the multiple tertiary electrodes; and determining the eccentricity of the rotor in two or more different directions based on the generated one or more subsidiary electrical signals and the generated one or more electrical signals, in combination with the rest of the limitations found in claims 14-15, from which it depends upon.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855