DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 & 9, in response to applicants argument that Mohajer-Iravani et al. (US 2010/0188171 A1), hereinafter Ira, does not disclose wherein a resonant frequency of the coupling structure is greater than a resonant frequency of the first coupling rod, this is not persuasive because Ira discloses, in figure 12, the coupling structure, 1208, including main coupling sections 1204 formed by wall sections 1206 & a separate rod 1201, that “determines the coupling value” (Para [0066]) between adjacent resonators 1200 & 1202 of the coupling structure 1208. The resonant frequency follows the “same trend as the coupling, so a stronger coupling results in a higher resonant frequency” (Para [0043]). Each coupling section, in combination, to form the coupling structure 1208 would result in a “greater range of coupling values between the resonators” (Para [0066]) and, additionally, a greater resonant frequency than just a single coupling rod section 1201 between adjacent resonators 1200 & 1202 of the coupling structure. Thus, a resonant frequency of the coupling structure is greater than a resonant frequency of the first coupling rod is disclosed, as required by the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 10,777,869 B2), hereinafter Kim, in view of Mohajer-Iravani et al. (US 2010/0188171 A1), hereinafter Ira, and further in view of Tiihonen (US 2012/0007697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses, in figure 2 & 4A, a coupling structure for cavity filters, the coupling structure comprising:
a first coupling rod (coupling rod 51), both ends of the first coupling rod being coupled to two adjacent cavity filters (coupling rod 51 is coupled to cavity filters of resonant elements 34 and 36, respectively), respectively; and
a second coupling rod (coupling tuning rod 61), the second coupling rod being cross-coupled to the first coupling rod (Col. 6 & 8, Lines 55-58 & 57-58, “notch substrate 51 is installed for a cross-coupling between the fourth resonant element 34 and the sixth resonant element 36…notch tuning pin 61 is installed to be insertable into the tuning hole structure 51b formed at the notch substrate 51”), but fails to disclose both ends of the second coupling rod being grounded, and wherein a resonant frequency of the coupling structure is greater than a resonant frequency of the first coupling rod.
However, Ira discloses, in figure 1 & 12, and a resonant frequency of the coupling structure is greater than a resonant frequency of the first coupling rod (Para [0043], “the resonant frequency for resonators coupled using the coupling device 100 [1208] can be significantly higher than the resonant frequency of each individual resonator 102 [1200], 104 [1202]…the resonant frequency follows the same trend as the coupling, so a stronger coupling results in a higher resonant frequency”…i.e., the stronger coupling of the coupling rod 1201 and iris 1204 between resonators 1200 & 1202 of the coupling structure 1208 in combination results in a higher resonant frequency for the coupling structure 1208).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the resonant frequency characteristics of Ira in the coupling structure Kim, to achieve the benefit of implementing a coupling structure with strong inter-resonator coupling for the realization of wideband electrical components (Ira, Para [0043]).
In combination, Kim and Ira fail to disclose both ends of the second coupling rod being grounded.
However, Tiihonen discloses, in figure 2, both ends of the second coupling rod being grounded (Para [0026], “tuning element [215] is grounded from its ends”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grounding of Tiihonen in the second coupling rod of Kim and Ira, to achieve the benefit of effectively adjusting the coupling between the resonators of the coupling structure (Tiihonen, Para [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim, Ira, and Tiihonen disclose the coupling structure of claim 1, and Kim continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 4A, wherein the second coupling rod forms a cross coupling in the first coupling rod (Col. 6 & 8, Lines 55-58 & 57-58, “notch substrate 51 is installed for a cross-coupling between the fourth resonant element 34 and the sixth resonant element 36…notch tuning pin 61 is installed to be insertable into the tuning hole structure 51b formed at the notch substrate 51”).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, Ira, and Tiihonen disclose the coupling structure of claim 2, and Kim continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 4A, wherein the first coupling rod comprises:
a first coupling body (coupling body extending to resonator portions and consisting of through holes 51a and 51c); and
a second coupling portion (middle coupling portion comprising through hole 51b), the second coupling portion being formed in the middle of the first coupling body (second coupling portion is formed in the middle, see figure 4A), wherein the second coupling portion includes a through hole therethrough (through hole 51b) and wherein the second coupling rod passes through the through hole and being perpendicular to the first coupling body (Col. 8, Lines 57-58, “notch tuning pin 61 is installed to be insertable into the tuning hole structure 51b formed at the notch substrate 51”…and perpendicular to the first coupling body).
Regarding claim 4, Kim, Ira, and Tiihonen disclose the coupling structure of claim 2, and Ira continues to disclose, in figure 12, wherein the resonant frequency of the coupling structure is related to a length of the second coupling rod (Para [0093], “The coupling and resonant frequency decrease by increasing the length of the coupling device”).
Regarding claim 6, Kim, Ira, and Tiihonen disclose the coupling structure of claim 3, and Kim continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 3A, wherein a cross-sectional shape of the second coupling rod is the same as or different from a shape of the through hole (cross-sectional shape of the second coupling rod is slightly different from a shape of the through hole 51b, see figure 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Ira, and Tiihonen disclose the coupling structure of claim 3, and Kim continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 4A, wherein an outer edge of the second coupling portion protrudes from an edge of the first coupling body (outer edge of the second coupling portion constituting the through hole 51b protrudes from an edge of the first coupling body constituting through holes 51a and 51c).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses, in figure 2, 4A, & 10, a filtering device, comprising:
a plurality of cavity filters (Col. 5, Lines 29-31, “Each cavity of the housing 20 has a resonant element 32…34…36…at a central position of each cavity”); and
a coupling structure (51 & 61) including:
a first coupling rod (coupling rod 51), both ends of the first coupling rod being coupled to two adjacent cavity filters (coupling rod 51 is coupled to cavity filters of resonant elements 34 and 36, respectively), respectively; and
a second coupling rod (coupling tuning rod 61), the second coupling rod being cross-coupled to the first coupling rod (Col. 6 & 8, Lines 55-58 & 57-58, “notch substrate 51 is installed for a cross-coupling between the fourth resonant element 34 and the sixth resonant element 36…notch tuning pin 61 is installed to be insertable into the tuning hole structure 51b formed at the notch substrate 51”),
wherein each cavity filter has a coupling window connected with an adjacent cavity filter (figure 10 discloses the cavity filters with resonating elements 32, 34, &36 depicted with a coupling window connected with an adjacent cavity filter), and the coupling structure is mounted to the coupling window to couple two adjacent cavity filters (Col. 6, Lines 57-61, “a window having a shape from which an appropriate portion is removed to allow a notch substrate 51 to be installed is formed at the partition wall 204 for separating the cavity of the fourth resonant element 34 from that of the sixth resonant element 36”), but fails to disclose both ends of the second coupling rod being grounded, and wherein a resonant frequency of the coupling structure is greater than a resonant frequency of the first coupling rod.
However, Ira discloses, in figure 1 & 12, wherein a resonant frequency of the coupling structure is greater than a resonant frequency of the first coupling rod (Para [0043], “the resonant frequency for resonators coupled using the coupling device 100 [1208] can be significantly higher than the resonant frequency of each individual resonator 102 [1200], 104 [1202]…the resonant frequency follows the same trend as the coupling, so a stronger coupling results in a higher resonant frequency”…i.e., the stronger coupling of the coupling rod 1201 and iris 1204 between resonators 1200 & 1202 of the coupling structure 1208 in combination results in a higher resonant frequency for the coupling structure 1208).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the resonant frequency characteristics of Ira in the coupling structure Kim, to achieve the benefit of implementing a coupling structure with strong inter-resonator coupling for the realization of wideband electrical components (Ira, Para [0043]).
In combination, Kim and Ira fail to disclose both ends of the second coupling rod being grounded.
However, Tiihonen discloses, in figure 2, both ends of the second coupling rod being grounded (Para [0026], “tuning element [215] is grounded from its ends”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the grounding of Tiihonen in the second coupling rod of Kim and Ira, to achieve the benefit of effectively adjusting the coupling between the resonators of the coupling structure (Tiihonen, Para [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 & 10-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER J PERENY/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843