DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks:
1/ Claims 1, 13, and 35 are independent
2/ claims 1-11, 13-20, and 35 are pending
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, and 35 under the combination of prior arts have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13-15 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US pg. no. 20230308563) further in view of Croy (US pg. no. 20140068035), further in view of Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143).
Regarding claim 1. Li, discloses an apparatus (fig. 1 management server) comprising one or more processors and one or more memories storing instructions (fig. 1 management server comprises memory and processor) that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to: generate a group configuration data structure associated with one or more devices ([0059-0060] The management server 100 adds devices included in the group creation request to a group and assigns a group identifier in operation S120 that corresponds to generate a group configuration data structure. [0060] The management server 100 transmits the group identifier to the devices included in the group in operation S130; fig. 4, S120 add device included in group creation request to a group and assign group identifier. Correlating and associating devices to the group by group identifier corresponds to generating group configuration data structure) ,the group configuration data structure comprising a group configuration identifier and one or more device identifiers each associated with a device of the one or more devices (fig. 4, S120-S130 adding devices included in group and transmitting a group identifier (group configuration identifier) of the group to devices included in the group (identifier of the devices in the group associated by group ID corresponds to device identifiers); mapping configuration data of an application to the group identifier (S140); transmitting the configuration data of the application to at least one device included in the group (S150)) transmit, to each device of the one or more devices and based at least in part on the group configuration data structure, shared group configuration data comprising the group configuration identifier and the one or more device identifiers (fig. 4, S120-S130 adding devices included in group; transmitting a group identifier (group configuration identifier ) of the group to devices included in the group; mapping configuration data of an application to the group identifier; and transmitting the configuration data of the application to at least one device included in the group. Identifier of the device corresponds to device identifier; [0062] The management server 100 transmits the configuration data (shared group configuration data) of the application to devices in the group in operation S150. When a push method is designated, the management server 100 may push the configuration data to devices 200-1, 200-2, . . . , and 200-n belonging to the group).
Li inherently discloses receive, from one or more devices located within a network proximity, shared group configuration data ([0033] discloses the management server 100 may periodically check a configuration of a device (group configuration data) and the configuration data of the application. If the checked configuration of the device is different from the policy, the management server 100 may push the configuration data defined in the policy to the corresponding device; [0047] group identifier may be checked and the configuration data may be requested periodically; [0062] the management server 100 may push the configuration data of the application to devices 200-1, 200-2, . . . , and 200-n belonging to the group. When detecting a change in the configuration data, the management server 100 may push the changed configuration data to devices belonging to the group. The management server 100 may periodically check device configurations and the configuration data of the application, and push the configuration data defined in the policy to the corresponding device when the checked configurations are different from the policy).
But, Liang does not explicitly disclose:
receive, from one or more devices located within a network proximity, shared group configuration data;
responsive to determining that a device conflict exists associated with the shared group configuration data, select as current shared group configuration data received shared group configuration data associated with a most recent update timestamp; and
transmit the current shared group configuration data to each device located within the network proximity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Croy discloses receive, from one or more devices located within a network proximity, shared group configuration data ([0085] In step 310 Configuration management system 115 may passively detect the change by periodically requesting a network synchronization to poll the configurations of each device within network 100, with the results of this poll being compared with a stored configuration set representing the configuration of each device within the network before the synchronization request).
responsive to determining that a device conflict exists associated with the shared group configuration data ([0059] the provisioning activity involves configuring one or more resources within network 100 appropriately such that they can communicate. The configuration data that enables the devices communicate corresponds to shared group configuration data) and, select as current shared group configuration data received shared group configuration data associated with a most recent update timestamp (([0084 and 0087-0089] Firstly in step 300 the configuration of one or more of the devices within network 100 is made (the configuration data used corresponds to group configuration data)... [0085] In step 310 Configuration management system 115 may passively detect the change by periodically requesting a network synchronization to poll the configurations of each device within network 100, with the results of this poll being compared with a stored configuration set representing the configuration of each device within the network before the synchronization request... [0087] In step 330 configuration management system 115 makes a determination as to whether the new configuration of network 100 has the potential to compromise or is likely to compromise (corresponds to conflict detected) the delivery of one or more services provided by network 100 (determining that a conflict exists associated with configuration data)); and
transmit the current shared group configuration data to each device located within the network proximity ([0084 and 0087-0089] Firstly in step 300 the configuration of one or more of the devices within network 100 is made... [0085] In step 310 Configuration management system 115 may passively detect the change by periodically requesting a network synchronization to poll the configurations of each device within network 100, with the results of this poll being compared with a stored configuration set representing the configuration of each device within the network before the synchronization request... [0087] In step 330 configuration management system 115 makes a determination as to whether the new configuration of network 100 has the potential to compromise or is likely to compromise (detected conflict) the delivery of one or more services provided by network 100. …[0088] If configuration management system 115 determines that the new network configuration is likely to compromise the delivery of any services provided by network 100, then in step 350 configuration management system 115 takes further action… [0089] In step 360 configuration management system 115 may take action to roll back the network configuration changes that were made in step 300. This may be achieved by applying the configuration (transmitting configuration to each device) of a stored network model representing the network before change was made (most recent update time)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Liang with Croy. the modification would allow effective version management to enable consistency in configuration data among distributed network nodes. The modification would allow resolving metadata inconsistency efficiently.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose:
Shared group configuration data stored locally on each device of the one or more devices, the shared group configuration data comprising membership data identifying devices associated with a group and common data associated with the group;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oki inherently discloses what Li discloses that is receive, from one or more devices located within a network proximity shared group configuration data([0036] discloses during the initiation process, the example cluster control circuitry 202 transmits cluster information (shared configuration data) e.g., , the configuration of the cluster (common data) , the number of hosts (membership data), to one or more of the example hosts 112a-112d to store in the example datastore 120…the cluster control circuitry 202 may transmit the cluster information to each of the hosts 112a-112c (stored at each device); [0042] discloses control circuitry 204 of FIG. 2A obtains cluster information from one or more of the hosts 112a-112d to determine the cluster state of all the connected hosts…control circuitry 204 transmits an information request to the connected hosts. If the host is part of a cluster (e.g., the cluster 102), then the host will return the cluster information (e.g., which hosts are part of the cluster (membership information),) to the backup control circuitry 204 (e.g., via the interface 200);
Oki further explicitly discloses shared group configuration data stored locally on each device of the one or more devices, the shared group configuration data comprising membership data identifying devices associated with a group and common data associated with the group ([0036] discloses during the initiation process, the example cluster control circuitry 202 transmits cluster information e.g., , the configuration of the cluster (common data) , the number of hosts (membership data), to one or more of the example hosts 112a-112d to store in the example datastore 120…the cluster control circuitry 202 may transmit the cluster information to each of the hosts 112a-112c (stored at each device); fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Oki. The modification would allow distributed storage of cluster configuration and state information for a highly available, strongly consistent, failure independent and persistent distributed datastore that results in more effective backups and/or restores so that the central server can utilize the clusters using up-to-date system state information.
Regarding claim 10. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 1.
Lim further discloses, wherein the one or more memories store instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to further cause the apparatus to: generate a user interface configured to render display of at least a portion of the current shared group configuration data; and cause display of the user interface via a display device (fig. 3 discloses generated user interface configured to render display of at least a portion of the current shared group configuration data and displaying via display device) .
Regarding claim 13. The combination discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that are operable, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus, to cause the apparatus to:
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected on the analysis of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 13.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected on the analysis of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 15. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 14.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected on the analysis of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 35. In the combination Li discloses an apparatus comprising one or more processors and one or more memories storing instructions that are operable (fig. 1 management server), when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to:
All other limitations of claim 35 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 and are rejected similarly.
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lim (US pg. no. 20230308563), Croy (US pg. no. 20140068035), and Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143), further in view of Krishnappa (US pg. no. 20090113034).
Regarding claim 2. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each device of the one or more devices is configured to store an update timestamp associated with a most recent creation or update of shared group configuration data.
However, in the same filed of endeavor, Krishnappa discloses wherein each device of the one or more devices is configured to store an update timestamp associated with a most recent creation or update of shared group configuration data ([0026] at preconfigurable time intervals, the cluster monitor 104 may update the information written on the lock disk with the current status with a time stamp).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Krishnappa. The modification would allow time logging configuration changes to roll back to the correct configuration event when the system need to roll back configuration.
Regarding claim 3. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 2
Krishnappa discloses, wherein determining that a device conflict exists comprises:
receiving first shared group configuration data from a first device of the one or more devices ([0055] discloses at step 418, the newly formed cluster may register with the quorum server and/or may write cluster details on the lock disk. The member nodes of the cluster may start sending node heartbeats to the cluster monitor);
receiving second shared group configuration data from a second device of the one or more devices ([0055] the member nodes of the cluster may start sending node heartbeats to the cluster monitor); and
determining one or more of: a membership conflict exists when the first shared group configuration data comprises one or more device identifiers that do not match with those contained in the second shared group configuration data ([0003] Clusters may also be used to address problems of data ownership and data consistency when failures occur in a cluster. A dynamic cluster involves changes in the membership of the cluster over time. Such changes may occur as a result of failures and dynamic cluster membership management involves tracking the membership of a cluster. Failure events may include node failures in a network, unresponsive nodes or processes, process failures, events preventing a node from operating in a cluster, or other events that can lead to a non-functioning cluster. Changes in the cluster may occur when members rejoin or new members join the cluster, affecting the relationship between cluster participants. [0004] One solution for dynamic cluster membership is a centralized master and slave topology, for example a star topology; [0018] The cluster monitor may periodically check the consistency of package configuration information on disk device with that of the local memory device. The package information stored locally in xml file may be distributed to member nodes in the cluster system and to each of cluster monitors in the network, as and when the information gets changed or updated locally);
Claim(s) 4-6, 11, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lim (US pg. no. 20230308563), Croy (US pg. no. 20140068035), and Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143), further in view of Yore (US pg. no. 20220248139).
Regarding claim 4. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose: wherein the group configuration data structure is mapped to a physical enclosure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Claffey discloses wherein the group configuration data structure is mapped to a physical enclosure([0133] Once the trigger has been detected, the method proceeds to block 404, where configuration information is retrieved. By retrieving configuration information, the status of other devices in the playback system can be determined to influence how the audio portions are allocated to playback devices. The configuration information may be saved as one or more state variables which are shared amongst playback devices and control devices forming the playback system. The state variables may be stored as a single data structure (configuration data structure) or stored as multiple data structures. Various information may be obtained from the configuration information including one or more of: [0134] The identifier of devices in the system. For example, the configuration information may store that devices 110l and 110m both have the name “Master Bedroom” (physical enclosure); [0066] The media playback system 100 can comprise one or more playback zones, some of which may correspond to the rooms in the environment 101. The media playback system 100 can be established with one or more playback zones, after which additional zones may be added, or removed to form, for example, the configuration shown in FIG. 1A. Each zone may be given a name according to a different room or space such as the office 101e, master bathroom 101a, master bedroom 101b, the second bedroom 101c, kitchen 101h, dining room 101g, living room 101f, and/or the balcony 101i; [0128] a “playback device associated with a room” may be a playback device which is intended to remain in substantially the same position after configuration. The reference to “room” in this context is not limited only to rooms but is used to refer an associated playback location may not be a room in a conventional sense, such as a patio or a deck, or be a combination of two or physical rooms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Claffey. The modification would allow grouping devices with respective zone to efficiently manage the group and apply differential configuration for corresponding group for efficient configuration distribution and management.
Regarding claim 5. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 4.
Yore further discloses, wherein the group configuration data structure further comprises one or more of a physical enclosure identifier, or metadata associated with the physical enclosure (([0133] Once the trigger has been detected, the method proceeds to block 404, where configuration information is retrieved. By retrieving configuration information, the status of other devices in the playback system can be determined to influence how the audio portions are allocated to playback devices. The configuration information may be saved as one or more state variables which are shared amongst playback devices and control devices forming the playback system. The state variables may be stored as a single data structure (configuration data structure) or stored as multiple data structures. Various information may be obtained from the configuration information including one or more of: [0134] The identifier of devices in the system. For example, the configuration information may store that devices 110l and 110m both have the name “Master Bedroom” (physical enclosure identifier)).
Regarding claim 6. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 4.
Yore discloses, wherein the physical enclosure is one or more of a conference room, a room, an auditorium, an audio playback zone, or a building ([0133] Once the trigger has been detected, the method proceeds to block 404, where configuration information is retrieved. By retrieving configuration information, the status of other devices in the playback system can be determined to influence how the audio portions are allocated to playback devices. The configuration information may be saved as one or more state variables which are shared amongst playback devices and control devices forming the playback system. The state variables may be stored as a single data structure (configuration data structure) or stored as multiple data structures. Various information may be obtained from the configuration information including one or more of: [0134] The identifier of devices in the system. For example, the configuration information may store that devices 110l and 110m both have the name “Master Bedroom” (physical enclosure)).
Regarding claim 11. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more devices comprise an audio capture device, a microphone;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yore discloses, wherein the one or more devices comprise an audio capture device, a microphone ([0054] The playback device may comprise a microphone array. The non-transitory computer-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, can instruct the playback device to: cause the second playback device to emit a sound; receiving the sound via the microphone array; and determine a position of the playback device relative to the another playback device based on the received sound and the first subset and the second subset are based on the position. Such a device can automatically determine whether it is positioned as the left or right device in stereo pair, for example, and update the audio allocation to reflect this);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Yore. The modification would allow grouping different items of devices to designated location to provide location based service and using microphone to receive voice command.
Regarding claim 16. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 13.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected based on the analysis of claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 17. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected based on the analysis of claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 18. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected on the analysis of claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lim (US pg. no. 20230308563), Croy (US pg. no. 20140068035), and Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143), further in view of Li (US pg. no. 20220038389).
Regarding claim 7. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose: wherein the update timestamp is associated with one or more of a subsequent update of shared group configuration data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li discloses wherein the update timestamp is associated with one or more of a subsequent update of shared group configuration data ([0061] the second timestamp is indicating a moment at which configuration data (shared group configuration data) locally stored is last updated. “Locally stored” refers to storage performed by the client of the target application. [0062] In some embodiments, each time the configuration data is acquired, the client may locally store the configuration data and correspondingly record the moment at which the configuration data is last updated in the configuration database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Li. The modification would allow moment information to an event to differentiate age of an event to make determination on subsequent event as a result enabling efficient management of dynamic system with sequential events.
Regarding claim 19. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 13.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected on the analysis of claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 8-9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lim (US pg. no. 20230308563), Croy (US pg. no. 20140068035), and Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143), further in view of Oki (US pg. no. 20240104143).
Regarding claim 8. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 1.
But, the combination does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, prior to receiving the shared group configuration data, the one or more memories store instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to further cause the apparatus to:
receive, from one or more devices located within a network proximity, a respective device type and respective device identifier;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oki discloses wherein, prior to receiving the shared group configuration data, the one or more memories store instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to further cause the apparatus to: receive, from one or more devices located within a network proximity, a respective device type and respective device identifier ([0060] At block 404, the example backup control circuitry 204 (FIG. 2A) determines and/or generates a list of hosts that the server management circuitry 103 has access to. For example, the backup control circuitry 204 may access identifiers (e.g., IP addresses) of hosts that the server management circuitry 103 stored in the example database 108 (FIG. 1) and that correspond to connected hosts. The original data of hosts and host identifier received for registration of the hosts in database 108 corresponds to receiving); and
request, from the one or more devices, the shared group configuration data (fig. 4 and [0062] transmit request for cluster information to host; and obtain response from host about cluster information (shared group configuration data) backup control circuitry 204 determines cluster information (shared group configuration data) based on the response from the host. For example, if the response identifies hosts in a cluster, the backup control circuitry 204 determines that the hosts are part of the cluster).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of the combination with Oki. The modification would allow getting device information to include devices in grouping. The modification would allow effective device information exchange.
Regarding claim 9. The combination discloses apparatus of claim 8.
Oki discloses, wherein the respective device identifier and device type is received from each device based at least in part on a multicast protocol or a unicast protocol ([0062]backup control circuitry 204 determines cluster information based on the response from the host. For example, if the response identifies hosts in a cluster, the backup control circuitry 204 determines that the hosts are part of the cluster).
Regarding claim 20. The combination discloses non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 13.
All other limitations of the claim are similar with and are rejected on the analysis of claim 8 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445