DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is made Final in response to applicant’s Amendments / Request for Reconsideration filed 9/1/26. Claims 1-61 are cancelled; claims 62 and 65 are amended; claim 89 is added. Claims 62-89 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “ Obvious to try ” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
3. Claims 62-87, 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morales et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0318666) in view of Nielson et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0059093) and further in view of Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0159986).
As per claims 62-64, 77-85, 89 Morales et al. teaches a golf club head 100, comprising: a body 130, defining an interior cavity and comprising: a sole portion 132, positioned at a bottom region of the golf club head 100, the sole portion 132 having a sole surface area (inherent); a crown portion 131, positioned at a top region of the golf club head 100, the crown portion having a crown surface area (inherent); a forward region; a rearward region, opposite the forward region; a heel region 134; and a toe region 133, opposite the heel region 134; a face portion, coupled to the body 130, at the forward region of the body 130, and comprising a strike face 120 and an interior surface 126, opposite the strike face;
Morales et al. fails to expressly teach a rear weight port located proximate the rearward region of the golf club head, wherein the weight port is configured to receive a weight. However, analogous art reference Nielson et al. teaches this feature to be known in the art – Fig.’s 43A-44B; paragraphs [0231]-[0239]. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a rearward weight assembly as taught by Nielson et al. into the golf club of Morales et a. The motivation to combine is to move CG rearward to promote a forgiving golf club. The proposed combination has a reasonable expectation as Morales expressly contemplates using “discretionary weight” to modify CG (paragraph [0065]). Additionally, the weight assembly will not frustrate the intended purpose of the primary reference.
Morales et al. does not teach the claimed top opening with an insert therein. However, Chao et al. teaches the following to be known in the art: wherein a top region 24 comprises an opening 48 having a peripheral edge 54 configured to receive a crown insert 52, and the crown insert 52 is formed of a non-metal material, wherein the crown insert is made of a fiber-reinforced polymer (paragraphs [0043]-[0046]; Fig.’s 1-7). Hence, at the time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the inserts into the golf club of Morales et al. As Chao recognizes – “By strategically selecting the number, size and location of the openings, a substantial increase in the club head’s MOI’s can be achieved” (paragraph [0042]). The proposed modification has a reasonable expectation of success. The crown is not integral to the primary purpose of Morales. Chao teaches wherein the nonmetal material comprises “carbon fiber epoxy resin, carbon fiber reinforced plastic, polyurethane or quasi-isotropic composites” (paragraph [0046]). These materials are known to be low weight and have small densities, but the numeric values are not expressly disclosed. However, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) per MPEP 2144.07. Here, known composite materials such as Nylon or PPS, with densities between about 1 g/cm3 to about 2 g/cm3 are known golf club body section materials suitable for their low weight. This provides weight savings, enabling discretionary weight to be repositioned to more desired areas. As extrinsic evidence, examiner cites to paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0041]-[0042] of DeShiell et al. (US Pub. No. 2004/0116207). One ordinary skill in the art, at time of applicant’s effective filing, would find it obvious to select said materials with low densities to free up discretionary weight to be positioned at peripheral portions, thereby improving the forgiveness of the club. Moreover, increased club head speed can be achieved with the reduced weight. Such modification has a reasonable expectation. These known material species comport with the genus/generic non-metal materials contemplated by Morales at paragraph [0032].
Regarding the areal weight of the crown and sole portions, Morales inherently teaches an areal weight, but is silent as to these values. However, Nielson et al., directed to the analogous art of golf clubs, teaches the following to be known in the art: an areal weight of the crown portion of the golf club head is less than about 0.35 g/cm2 over more than about 50% of an entire surface area of the crown portion; an areal weight of the sole portion of the golf club head is less than about 0.35 g/cm2 over more than about 50% of an entire surface area of the sole portion (paragraph [0447]). Hence, at the time of applicant’s effective filing, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize light weight crown and sole materials to reduce the overall weight of the golf club, which will expectantly increase swing speed. The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success since Morales discloses a wide range of volumes (paragraph [0027]) and contemplates wherein the body is of a “lightweight material” (paragraph [0032]) including suggestions of numerous composite materials Id.
Regarding the claimed CG properties, Morales et al. inherently comprises a club cg, but is silent as to its positional values. However, examiner again cites to Nielson for its teaching of the following: a center of gravity (CG) with an x-axis coordinate on an x-axis, of a coordinate system centered at a geometric center of the strike face, between about -5 mm and about 5 mm and a y-axis coordinate on a y-axis, of the coordinate system centered at the geometric center of the strike face, between about 25 mm and about 50 mm, and a z-axis coordinate on a z-axis, of the coordinate system centered at the geometric center of the strike face, less than 2 mm, wherein the x-axis is parallel to a ground plane when the golf club head is in an address position on the ground plane, the x-axis extends in a heel-to-toe direction, negative values on the x-axis are heelward of the geometric center of the strike face and positive values on the x-axis are toeward of the geometric center of the strike face, wherein the y-axis is parallel to the ground plane when the golf club head is in the address position on the ground plane, the y-axis extends in a forward-to-rearward direction, negative values on the y-axis are rearward of the geometric center of the strike face and positive values on the y- axis are forward of the geometric center of the strike face, and wherein the z-axis is perpendicular to the ground plane when the golf club head is in the address position on the ground plane, the z-axis extends in a bottom-to-top direction, negative values on the z-axis are below the geometric center of the strike face and positive values on the z-axis are above of the geometric center of the strike face (paragraphs [0134], [0388], [0405], [0436]; Fig.’s 28-29). Hence, at the time of invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the club cg of Morales within the ranges taught by Nielson et al, as a rearward cg position promotes increased launch conditions, which contribute heavily to the carry distance. The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success because weighting systems and club mass distribution, which Nielson et al. utilizes to adjust CG, can be incorporated into the golf club of Morales via routine manufacturing techniques.
Morales teaches a 42 mm x 33mm rectangular grid centered about face center point 29/129 (See paragraphs [0043], [0070] teaching point 29/129 as the “geometric center” of the face; See also paragraph [0108] teaching the “grid” height and width). It is further noted, per MPEP 2144.01, "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). One ordinary skill in the art would reasonably infer that position 3C corresponds to the geometric face center 29/129 in view of Fig.’s 8-9. Within the 42mm 33mm rectangular grid expressly taught by Morales, there is inherently a “central region” comprising a 40mm x 20 mm rectangular grid, generally recognized in annotated Fig. 9 below. This region comprises portions from regions 150, 160 and 170 of the faceplate of Morales. As such, Morales is construed as teaching a central region defined by a forty millimeter by twenty-millimeter rectangular area region centered on geometric center 129 of the strike face and elongated in a heel to toe direction
Morales further teaches wherein: the face portion has a thickness that varies (“variable face thickness (VFT)”) (Fig.’s 6-9; paragraphs [0066]-[0069]) and wherein the face portion further comprises a face opening and a strike plate that covers the face opening, wherein the strike plate is bonded or glued to the face opening and defines the strike face (Fig.’s 6-7; paragraphs [0067], [0073])
Within the claimed central region, Morales et al. provides CT times at 9 defined positions 2B, 2C, 2D, 3B, 3C, 3D, 4B, 4C, 4D that are less than 257 microseconds (Table 1). Admittedly, this does not necessarily (i.e. inherently) read on the claim limitation requiring the entire central region to be no more than 257 microseconds. Neither does Morales expressly teach wherein within the central region, no less than 60% of the strike face has a CT of at least 235 microseconds (with respect to claim 62); within the central region, no less than 35% of the strike face has a CT of at least 240 microseconds (with respect to claim 62), wherein the CT at the center of the strike face is at least 243 microseconds (with respect to claim 62); in at least one point location on the strike face above the center of the strike face, on a y-z axis plane containing the y-axis and the z-axis, within 10 mm from the center of the strike face, it has a CT that is higher at the center of the strike face (with respect to claim 62), a CT at a first location, heelward of the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds;a CT at a second location, toeward of the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a third location, above the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a location within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face is at least 245 microseconds (claim 62); wherein the CT at any location on the strike face within five millimeters of the center of the strike face is greater than 240 microseconds (with respect to claim 77); wherein more than 20% of the strike face within the central region has a CT of at least 245 microseconds (with respect to claim 78); wherein at least 60% of the strike face within the central region has a CT of at least 240 microseconds (with respect to claim 79); wherein the CT at any location on the strike face within five millimeters of the center of the strike face is greater than 240 microseconds (with respect to claims 80 and 83); wherein within the central region more than 20% of the strike face has a CT of at least 245 microseconds (with respect to claims 81 and 84); and wherein within the central region at least 60% of the strike face has a CT of at least 240 microseconds (with respect to claims 82 and 85); wherein: the first location is within five millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face; the second location is within five millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face; and the third location is within five millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face (claim 89). However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05. Here, Morales expressly teaches wherein the CT can be normalized and adjusted based on the thickness profile of the striking plate, contributing to more consistent ball flight characteristics imparted on the ball after impact (See paragraphs [0004], [0100], [0110], [0113]). Moreover, prior to applicant’s invention, the USGA updated their regulations for face plate CT to allow for a maximum CT of up to 257 micro-seconds in an Impact Area defined as a rectangle with a width of 42.67 mm being centered about a face center. See NPL reference USGA Notice to Manufacturers dated 1/11/16 entitled “SPRING EFFECT AND DYNAMIC PROPERTIES” cited as extrinsic evidence. In conjunction with this, examiner further notes paragraph [0005] of Morales et al. – “Accordingly, there is a need in the art for a golf club head having improved flexibility and consistency, while remaining within USGA conformance limits on characteristic time.” The express purpose of Morales is to provide a conforming golf club with “improved flexibility”. Flexibility is referring to the CT – See paragraph [0002]. One ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the CT of the striking face 120 via routine experimentation, including within the claimed ranges for several beneficial reasons, including: to comply with USGA conforming requirements (paragraph [0005]), “increased ball speed” [0113], and “increased consistency for off-center shots” (paragraph [0112]). Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed ranges and no specific purpose for operability has been established in relation to the claimed range. For example, at paragraph [0243] of applicant’s PG Pub. Specification (i.e. PG Pub. No. 2024/0416189), the golf club is permitted to have CT values “20 microseconds lower than the regulated CT threshold”. The proposed modification of optimizing the face CT as claimed is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success because the face thickness can be adjusted to provide the modifications, without compromising the primary purpose of Morales et al. There are many other variables that are known to effect face CT, including sole and crown thickness profiles. A person ordinary skill can use these various variables to provide any desired CT value in the central region. Moreover, Morales expressly contemplates average CT of the face plate 20 to be “greater than 240” microseconds (paragraphs [0064], [0101]).
With respect to COR, the central region inherently comprises a coefficient of restitution, but Morales does not expressly disclose this value. However, one ordinary skill in the art would understand the central region COR to correspond generally proportionally with the CT, as COR was the previous USGA testing parameter used to measure and regulate the face trampoline effect. The teachings by Morales establishing CT as a result effective variable (see above) are equally applicable to the COR. As such, in view of In re Aller, one ordinary skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide an optimal COR of “at least 0.80” from routine experimentation, for the expected purpose of improving ball speed, carry, and overall distance of a hit ball. These are known results dictated by the flex of the face (e.g. COR).
Morales teaches a volume between about 350 cm3 and about 500 cm3 (paragraph [0027]); wherein within the central region, a maximum thickness of the face portion is no more than about 4 or 3.3 mm (See paragraph [0085] showing a sufficiently specific range of thicknesses for 150 within the maximum claimed range) and a minimum thickness of the face portion is no less than 2.4 or 1.8 mm (See paragraph [0093] showing a sufficiently specific range of thicknesses for 170 within the minimum claimed range); wherein at least a portion of the strike plate has a thickness less than 2 mm Id.
Lastly, and regarding the claimed inertial properties, Morales inherently teaches a moment of inertia about a head center of gravity z-axis (Izz), and a moment of inertia about a head center of gravity x-axis (Ixx), wherein the head center of gravity z-axis is an axis that passes through the center of gravity and is parallel to the z-axis of the coordinate system centered at the geometric center of the strike face, and the head center of gravity x-axis is an axis that passes through the center of gravity and is parallel to the x-axis of the coordinate system centered at the geometric center of the strike face, a summation of Izz and Ixx and a ratio of Ixx/Izz. Morales does not expressly disclose the numeric values of Izz or Ixx and thus fails to expressly disclose wherein a summation of Izz and Ixx is between about 790 kg-mm2 and about 1100 kg-mm2; and a ratio of Ixx/Izz is at least 0.55 and Ixx is no less than 305 kg-mm2. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches wherein Izz and Ixx values that meet the claimed ranges/ratio are known in the art – paragraphs [0438]-[0442]. Hence, at the time of invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the club inertia of Morales within the ranges taught by Nielson et al, as increased inertia creates a forgiving club due to its resistance to twisting for off-center hits. The proposed modification is considered to have a reasonable expectation of success because weighting systems and club mass distribution, which Nielson et al. utilizes to adjust MOI, can be incorporated into the golf club of Morales via routine manufacturing techniques.
With respect to claim 65, Morales teaches a hosel extending from the heel region of the head (Fig.’s 1-2, 7), but fails to expressly discloses an adjustable shaft angle assembly as claimed. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches the following to be known in the art – an adjustable shaft angle assembly coupled to the hosel, wherein the adjustable shaft angle assembly is configured to be coupled to a shaft and adjustable to change an angle of the shaft, when coupled to the adjustable shaft angle assembly, relative to the golf club head (paragraphs [0171]-[0173]; [0278], [0411]-[0421]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add an adjustable lie/loft assembly as taught by Nielson to the golf club of Morales. The rationale to combine is to provide tailored customization of the lie/loft of the club suitable to the particular swing a golfer.
With respect to claim 66, Morales teaches a frame and the frame comprises the face opening (Fig. 2). Modifying reference Chao et al., cited above for the opening in the top region, further teaches wherein the face opening and opening in the top region are part of a frame portion of the club head (Fig. 3). The rationale to combine is the same as stated above.
With respect to claims 67-68, Morales teaches wherein the frame comprises one or more aluminum, but does not expressly disclose wherein the frame comprises one or more aluminum alloys that is a 7000 series aluminum alloy. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches this material to be known for use in golf club heads – paragraph [0426]. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an aluminum alloy as claimed for the frame of Morales. The rationale to combine is to utilize a lightweight and durable material capable of withstanding repeated impacts with a golf ball.
With respect to claims 69 and 71-75, Morales teaches wherein the frame/body comprises a cup and the cup comprises a portion of the forward region of the body (paragraph [0031], [0067]). Admittedly, it is unclear if the cup structure is expressly taught to be used in conjunction with a strike plate / face that is bonded or glued to the face opening. However, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine these golf club features. The rationale to combine is to facilitate construction of multiple pieces of the golf club head using known connecting means. By using multiple pieces, different materials for each component can be used to optimize performance of the golf club. Morales teaches wherein the frame main body comprises a metal material (paragraphs [0032], [0038]) and further teaches wherein the cup component is bonded to the frame main body (paragraph [0067]). For the cup embodiment, it is unclear what the material of the cup portion is. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches aluminum alloy 700 series to be known for use in golf club heads – paragraph [0426]. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an aluminum alloy as claimed for the frame of Morales. The rationale to combine is to utilize a lightweight and durable material capable of withstanding repeated impacts with a golf ball
With respect to claim 70, Morales teaches wherein the frame further comprises one or more titanium alloys or one or more steel alloys (paragraphs [0032], [0038]).
With respect to claim 76, Morales teaches wherein at least a portion of the body is a titanium alloy (paragraphs [0032], [0038]), but does not expressly teach wherein the titanium alloy further comprises molybdenum, vanadium, and aluminum, and wherein the titanium alloy has a tensile strength of at least 958 MPa. However, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) per MPEP 2144.07. Within the art, Ti-8Al-2.5Mo-2Cr-1V-0.5Fe is known to be suitable for its rigidity, malleability and light weight. A person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select this material as it will provide a durable and lightweight golf club head that can be swung fast and withstand repeated impacts with a golf ball.
With respect to claim 86, Morales teaches wherein a minimum thickness of the strike plate is no less than 2.4 mm (paragraph [0093]), a maximum thickness of the strike plate is no more than 5.0 mm (paragraph [0085]), and the strike plate is made of a fiber-reinforced polymer material (paragraph [0037]).
With respect to claim 87, Morales does not expressly teach a slot as claimed. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches the following to be known in the art: a slot located in the forward region of the golf club head and formed in the sole portion of the golf club head, wherein the slot retains at least one weight 9340 (Fig. 19B). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a slot and weight in the sole portion of Morales as taught by Nielson. The rationale to combine is to allow CG adjustment and mitigate gear effect for off-center hits.
4. Claim 88 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morales et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0318666) in view of Nielson et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0059093) and further in view of Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0159986) and further in view of Shear (US Pub. No. 2011/0151997)
With respect to claim 88, Morales does not expressly teach a slot as claimed. However, analogous art reference Shear teaches the following to be known in the art: a slot 40 located in the forward region of the golf club head and formed in the sole portion of the golf club head, wherein the slot is a through-slot that is open to an exterior of the golf club head and open to the interior cavity (paragraphs [0050]-[0051]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a slot to the golf club of Morales. The rationale is set forth in Shear – provided “longer distance” and “reduction in error” for thin or impacts at bottom of the face (paragraph [0048]).
Double Patenting
6. Claims 62-68, 70, 76-85, 86-87 and 89 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 9 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,865 in view of Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0159986) and further in view of Nielson et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0059093).
Patented claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 9 and 11 substantially teach the elements of claims 62-64, 66, 77-85 and 89. The elements not taught include a crown insert, a weight port, a CT value higher than the CT at the center of the strike face in at least one point location above the center of the strike face, on a y-z axis plane containing the y-axis and the z-axis within 10mm from the center of the strike face, a CT at a first location, heelward of the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 243 microseconds; a CT at a second location, toeward of the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a third location, above the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a location within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face is at least 245 microseconds, and Ixx value within the claimed range.
Chao et al. teaches a crown insert 52 formed of a non-metal material, wherein the crown insert is made of a fiber-reinforced polymer (paragraphs [0043]-[0046]; Fig.’s 1-7). Hence, at the time of applicant’s effective filing, one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the inserts into the patented golf club. As Chao recognizes – “By strategically selecting the number, size and location of the openings, a substantial increase in the club head’s MOI’s can be achieved” (paragraph [0042])
Analogous art reference Nielson et al. teaches that it is known to provide a weight port at a rear portion of a golf club configured to receive a weight – Fig.’s 43A-44B; paragraphs [0231]-[0239]. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a rearward weight assembly as taught by Nielson et al. into the golf club of the patented golf club. The motivation to combine is to move CG rearward to promote a forgiving golf club.
Nielson further teaches Ixx values that meet the claimed range – paragraphs [0438]-[0442]. Hence, at the time of invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the club inertia of the patented golf club within the ranges taught by Nielson et al, as increased inertia creates a forgiving club due to its resistance to twisting for off-center hits.
Regarding the CT value at the at least one point location, a CT at a first location, heelward of the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a second location, toeward of the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a third location, above the geometric center of the strike face and within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face, is greater than 240 microseconds; a CT at a location within ten millimeters of the geometric center of the strike face is at least 245 microseconds, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05. Here, within the art CT has been recognized as a result effective variable. For example, Morales, cited here as an extrinsic reference, expressly teaches wherein the CT can be normalized and adjusted based on the thickness profile of the striking plate, contributing to more consistent ball flight characteristics imparted on the ball after impact (See paragraphs [0004], [0100], [0110], [0113]). Moreover, prior to applicant’s invention, the USGA updated their regulations for face plate CT to allow for a maximum CT of up to 257 micro-seconds in an Impact Area defined as a rectangle with a width of 42.67 mm being centered about a face center. See NPL reference USGA Notice to Manufacturers dated 1/11/16 entitled “SPRING EFFECT AND DYNAMIC PROPERTIES” cited as extrinsic evidence. In conjunction with this, examiner further notes paragraph [0005] of Morales et al. – “Accordingly, there is a need in the art for a golf club head having improved flexibility and consistency, while remaining within USGA conformance limits on characteristic time.” The express purpose of Morales is to provide a conforming golf club with “improved flexibility”. Flexibility is referring to the CT – See paragraph [0002]. One ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the CT of the striking face 120 via routine experimentation, including within the claimed ranges for several beneficial reasons, including: to comply with USGA conforming requirements (Morales - paragraph [0005]), “increased ball speed” Morales - [0113], and “increased consistency for off-center shots” (Morales paragraph [0112]). Further, the applicant does not place criticality to the claimed ranges and no specific purpose for operability has been established in relation to the claimed range. For example, at paragraph [0243] of applicant’s PG Pub. Specification (i.e. PG Pub. No. 2024/0416189), the golf club is permitted to have CT values “20 microseconds lower than the regulated CT threshold”.
With respect to claim 65, the patented golf club fails to expressly discloses an adjustable shaft angle assembly as claimed. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches the following to be known in the art – an adjustable shaft angle assembly coupled to the hosel, wherein the adjustable shaft angle assembly is configured to be coupled to a shaft and adjustable to change an angle of the shaft, when coupled to the adjustable shaft angle assembly, relative to the golf club head (paragraphs [0171]-[0173]; [0278], [0411]-[0421]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add an adjustable lie/loft assembly as taught by Nielson to the patented golf club. The rationale to combine is to provide tailored customization of the lie/loft of the club suitable to the particular swing a golfer.
With respect to claims 67-68 and 70, analogous art reference Nielson teaches the materials 7000 series aluminum and titanium alloy to be known for use in golf club heads – paragraph [0147], [0426]. At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an aluminum alloy and titanium alloy as claimed for the frame of the patented golf club. The rationale to combine is to utilize a lightweight and durable material capable of withstanding repeated impacts with a golf ball.
With respect to claim 76, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) per MPEP 2144.07. Within the art, Ti-8Al-2.5Mo-2Cr-1V-0.5Fe is known to be suitable for its rigidity, malleability and light weight. A person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select this material as it will provide a durable and lightweight golf club head that can be swung fast and withstand repeated impacts with a golf ball.
With respect to claim 86, patented claim 1 teaches a face thickness profile that reads on the claimed range, but fails to expressly teach wherein the strike plate is made of a fiber-reinforced polymer material. However, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) per MPEP 2144.07. Within the art, a fiber-reinforced polymer material is known to be suitable for its rigidity, light weight and ease of manufacture. A person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select this material as it will provide a durable and lightweight golf club head that can be swung fast and withstand repeated impacts with a golf ball.
With respect to claim 87, the patented golf club does not expressly teach a slot as claimed. However, analogous art reference Nielson teaches the following to be known in the art: a slot located in the forward region of the golf club head and formed in the sole portion of the golf club head, wherein the slot retains at least one weight 9340 (Fig. 19B). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a slot and weight in the sole portion of the patented golf club as taught by Nielson. The rationale to combine is to allow CG adjustment and mitigate gear effect for off-center hits.
7. Claim 88 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 9 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,048,865 in view of Chao et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0159986) and further in view of Nielson et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0059093) and even further view of Shear (US Pub. No. 2011/0151997)
With respect to claim 88, the patented golf club does not expressly teach a slot as claimed. However, analogous art reference Shear teaches the following to be known in the art: a slot 40 located in the forward region of the golf club head and formed in the sole portion of the golf club head, wherein the slot is a through-slot that is open to an exterior of the golf club head and open to the interior cavity (paragraphs [0050]-[0051]). At time of applicant’s effective filing, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add a slot to the golf club of the patented invention. The rationale is set forth in Shear – provided “longer distance” and “reduction in error” for thin or impacts at bottom of the face (paragraph [0048]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner concedes that applied art does not expressly teach the claimed CT values at the claimed locations. The primary issue is whether a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use routine experimentation of the golf club head of Morales to produce the claimed CT values. Applicant argues Morales seeks to normalize CT across the face and thus teaches away from the claimed CT values. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Morales does aspire to provide normalization of high CT values that still conform to USGA standards. However, applicant has assigned too restrictive a view of a “normalized” CT profile. Notably, Morales expressly permits a CT range up to 115 seconds (paragraph [0064]). At paragraph [0110], Morales teaches that an exemplary club head has a CT range of 97 seconds. Also, the claimed CT profile does not require large variances in CT values. A CT profile with CT values between 243-246 ms at the claimed locations would read on the permitted ranges of CT of the claimed invention. In sum, the claimed CT profile does not require values that a person ordinary skill in the art would consider teaching away from a “normalized” CT profile in the context of the disclosure of Morales.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711