DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-31 are presented for examination, of which, claims 30-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 35 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected election. Because applicants provided no arguments, the Election is considered without traverse. For claims 23 and 24 Applicant has requested a rejoinder. Claims 30-31 have been canceled.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Non-Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: corresponding claims filed on 06-17-2026.
Domestic Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) (International) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06-19-2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0074431 (hereinafter, “Nguyen”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0136432 (hereinafter, “McNamara”).
As per claim 1, Nguyen discloses a power management system for powering a primary group of power consumers and a secondary group of power consumers, the primary group of power consumers including a data center including a plurality of first computing units, the secondary group of power consumers including a plurality of second computing units whose power consumption is adjustable to ensure the first computing units are continuously powered, the first computing units in communication with a network for providing cloud services to remote client computers, the first computing units having an energy priority over the second computing units, the power management system comprising:
power sources including a first power source and a second power source, the first power source including an electricity grid for powering the primary group of power consumers, the second power source being configured to alternatively power the plurality of first computing units and the second computing units; and (Fig’s 1, 5, 8-9 illustrate a plurality of power sources that includes utility power sources 102a-c, generator, Uninterruptible power sources (UPSs) that provide power to data center load comprising computer systems. Also, ¶s [0051]-[0065])
a monitoring and control system configured to: (Fig’s 1, 5, 8-9 illustrate a monitoring system 301)
receive status inputs including:
an operational status and/or an operational cost of each of the power sources; and (monitoring system monitors the power supplied for specific waveform patterns; ¶ [0050])
power consumption metrics of the primary group of power consumers and/or the secondary group of power consumers; and (power monitoring system may use one or more lines 214 to receive data regarding power consumption at the load 208; ¶ [0076])
output a control signal to electrically decouple the primary group of power consumers from the first power source, (At least Fig’s 1, 5, 8-9 illustrate where the power monitoring system 210 is coupled to one or more switching devices and directs the switching devices to selectively route power to the loads)
to power the primary group of power consumers by the second power source as a function of the operational status and/or operational cost of each of the power sources. (Fig’s 1, 5, 8 illustrate where the power monitoring system 210 is coupled to one or more switching devices and directs the switching devices to selectively route power to the loads when the specific waveform pattern is detected. Stated differently, the power monitoring system is responsible to “to switch the source of power to data center load 126 from a first high-voltage power source to a second high-voltage power source” based on the specific waveform criteria that is being monitored. ¶s [0066]-[0072])
Nguyen does not distinctly disclose decrease a power consumption by the secondary group of power consumers.
However, McNamara explicitly discloses that. In particular, McNamara discloses the following:
power sources including a first power source and a second power source, the first power source including an electricity grid for powering the primary group of power consumers, the second power source being configured to alternatively power the plurality of first computing units and the second computing units; and (Fig’s 5-8 illustrate how local stations provide power to flexible datacenters 200a through 200d. These local stations are powered either though grid power, renewable power (i.e., wind and solar), generator power)
an operational status and/or an operational cost of each of the power sources; (monitor power system conditions; ¶ [0033])
power consumption metrics of the primary group of power consumers and/or the secondary group of power consumers; and (monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available; ¶ [0039])
output a control signal to electrically decouple the primary group of power consumers from the first power source, (¶ [0125]-[00135] disclose the invention where the flexible datacenter may enable delivery of power from any of the “selected alternate power source to at least one of the computing systems” )
decrease a power consumption by the secondary group of power consumers; and (The control system may alter the amount of total power provided from any power source to the computing systems 100 in the flexible datacenter 200. For instance, the datacenter control system 220 may cause one or more computing systems 100 to switch to a lower power mode of operation. As an example, the datacenter control system 220 may decrease the power supply to one or more computing systems 100 to 75% full power, 50% full power, 25% full power or another quantity; ¶ [0114])
to power the primary group of power consumers by the second power source as a function of the operational status and/or operational cost of each of the power sources. (¶ [0125]-[00135] disclose the invention where the flexible datacenter may enable delivery of power from any of the “selected alternate power source to at least one of the computing systems” based on power available)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nguyen and McNamara because both references are in the same field of endeavor. McNamara’s teaching of dynamic power management would enhance Nguyen's system by fostering an environment that adjust power based on the ground conditions thus enhancing power distribution for a datacenter.
As per claim 2, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system the power management system further comprises:
a power switching system configured to alternatively supply electricity from the first power source or the second power source to the computing units, (McNamara: computing systems can be configured to switch between behind-the-meter power and grid power or another power source under the direction of a control system; ¶ [0033] & ) & (Nguyen: Fig’s 5-8 illustrate how local stations provide power to flexible datacenters 200a through 200d. These local stations are powered either though grid power, renewable power (i.e., wind and solar), generator power and monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available; ¶ [0039])
the monitoring and control system configured to:
receive status inputs including:
an operational status of the electricity grid indicating an availability of electricity from the electricity grid to power the data center; and (McNamara: controlled granular ramping allows a local station to avoid negative power market pricing and to respond quickly to grid directives. Local stations may include a station capable of controlling power direction and supply and may be referred to as substations or station controls; ¶ [0034]) & (Nguyen: monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available; ¶ [0039])
an operational cost of the electricity grid indicating a price of electricity from the electricity grid; and (McNamara: controlled granular ramping allows a local station to avoid negative power market pricing and to respond quickly to grid directives. Local stations may include a station capable of controlling power direction and supply and may be referred to as substations or station controls; ¶ [0034]) & (Nguyen: monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available; ¶ [0039])
output a control signal to the power switching system to switch from the first power source to the second power source to supply electricity to the computing units based on the status inputs, at least some of the electricity generated by the second power source being redirected from the secondary group of power consumers to the first group of power consumers in response to the control signal. (McNamara: computing systems can be configured to switch between behind-the-meter power and grid power or another power source under the direction of a control system; ¶ [0033] ) & (Nguyen: Fig’s 5-8 illustrate how local stations provide power to flexible datacenters 200a through 200d. These local stations are powered either though grid power, renewable power (i.e., wind and solar), generator power and monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available; ¶ [0039])
As per claim 3, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein, the power management system further comprises: a third power source, the third power source being a renewable energy source, a power switching system configured to alternatively supply electricity from the first power source, the second power source or the third power source to the computing units, the monitoring and control system configured to: receive status inputs including: an operational status of each of the first power source and the third power source indicating an availability of electricity from each of the first power source and the third power source to power the data center; and an operational cost of each of the first power source and the third power source indicating a price of electricity from each of the first power source and the third power source; and output a control signal to the power switching system to switch from the first power source and/or the third power source to the second power source to supply electricity to the computing units based on the status inputs, at least some of the electricity generated by the second power source being redirected from the secondary group of power consumers to the first group of power consumers in response to the control signal. (McNamara: computing systems can be configured to switch between behind-the-meter power and grid power or another power source under the direction of a control system; ¶ [0033] & (Fig’s 1, 5, 8-9 illustrate a plurality of power sources that includes utility power sources 102a-c, generator, Uninterruptible power sources (UPSs) that provide power to data center load comprising computer systems. Also, ¶s [0051]-[0065] ) & (Nguyen: Fig’s 5-8 illustrate how local stations provide power to flexible datacenters 200a through 200d. These local stations are powered either though grid power, renewable power (i.e., wind and solar), generator power and monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available; ¶ [0039])
As per claim 6, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the secondary group of power consumers are cryptocurrency miners and the status inputs include a revenue generated by the cryptocurrency miners secondary group of power consumers per unit of electrical energy. (McNamara: ¶s [0035], [0059], [0143] )
As per claim 7, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the second power source being a power generation module configured to consume natural gas and continuously generate an electrical output sufficient to alternatively power the plurality of first computing units and the second computing units, wherein the status inputs include a price of natural gas per unit and power generated per unit of natural gas by the power generation module. (McNamara: Fig. 5 illustrates on or more local power source stations that may generate power using “natural gas”. ¶[ [002] Further, Fig 5 further illustrates where a control system may switch the power source to computer systems based on market “price” for which the local power source station in generating power. ¶s [002]-[003], [0039], [0058], [0120] )
As per claim 11, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the second power source has a power output at least as great as a maximum power consumed by the data center. (Nguyen: backup power source to select to supply power to the data center load; ¶s [0168]-[0169], [00180] disclose the invention where backup power is supplied to the datacenter such that “meet[s] anticipated consumption”. ¶ [0129] ) & (McNamara: select an alternate power source for power delivery to a datacenter control system ¶ [0136] or offload power ¶ [0143])
As per claim 12, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the power management system further comprises: a power switching system configured to alternatively supply electricity from the first power source or the second power source to the computing units, the monitoring and control system being configured to, in a first condition, direct the power switching system to cause the second power source to power the cryptocurrency miners secondary group of power consumers and to cause the first power source to power the data center. (McNamara: select an alternate power source for power delivery to a datacenter control systems ¶ [0136] that include “blockchain miner” applications, such as, Bitcoin, Litecoin and Ethereum; ¶s [0035], [0059]) & (Nguyen: backup power source to select to supply power to the data center load; ¶s [0168]-[0169], [00180] )
As per claim 13, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the monitoring and control system is configured to, in a second condition, direct the power switching system to electrically decouple the second power source from the secondary group of power consumers, to electrically decouple the first power source from the data center, and to direct the second power source to power the data center. (McNamara: select an alternate power source for power delivery to a datacenter control systems ¶ [0136] that include “blockchain miner” applications, such as, Bitcoin, Litecoin and Ethereum; ¶s [0035], [0059]) & (Nguyen: backup power source to select to supply power to the data center load; ¶s [0168]-[0169], [00180] )
As per claim 14, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the monitoring and control system is configured to, in a third condition, direct the power switching system to electrically decouple the second power source from the secondary group of power consumers, to electrically decouple the first power source from the data center, and to direct the second power source to power the data center and to provide power to the first power source. (McNamara: select an alternate power source for power delivery to a datacenter control systems ¶ [0136] that include “blockchain miner” applications, such as, Bitcoin, Litecoin and Ethereum; ¶s [0035], [0059]) & (Nguyen: backup power source to select to supply power to the data center load; ¶s [0168]-[0169], [00180] )
As per claim 23, Nguyen as modified discloses a method of dynamically controlling, by the power management system a supply of power to the power consumers powered by a power production system, the method comprising performing, by the power management system, the following steps: measuring and/or receiving metrics of the power sources while powering the power consumers determining, from the metrics of the power sources, the operational status and/or the operational cost of each of the power sources; and decreasing a power consumption of the second computing units and powering the first computing units by the second power source based on the operational status and/or the operational cost of each of the power sources. (A datacenter control system of a flexible datacenter may monitor available computational operations in multiple auctions simultaneously to determine when to bid for computational operations based on the cost of power available and competing bids; ¶s [0039], [0058], [0110]-[0113])
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0074431 (hereinafter, “Nguyen”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0136432 (hereinafter, “McNamara”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0060531 (hereinafter, “Stowell”).
As per claim 4, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the second power source being a power generation module configured to consume natural gas and continuously generate an electrical output sufficient to alternatively power the plurality of first computing units and the second computing units, (McNamara: local station that is power by natural gas; ¶ [002])
Nguyen as modified does not distinctly disclose a power management system further comprising a carbon capture system configured to receive exhaust gas from the second power source, capture carbon from the exhaust gas and release oxygen from the exhaust gas into the atmosphere.
However, Stowell discloses a power management system further comprising a carbon capture system configured to receive exhaust gas from the second power source, capture carbon from the exhaust gas and release oxygen from the exhaust gas into the atmosphere. (Fig. 10 illustrates a system for capturing carbon gases and releasing oxygen)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nguyen as modified and Stowell because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Stonell’s teaching of carbon capture would enhance Nguyen's as modified system by removing harmful chemicals while releasing oxygen, thus mitigating any environment impacts when operating power plants.
3. Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0074431 (hereinafter, “Nguyen”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0136432 (hereinafter, “McNamara”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0060531 (hereinafter, “Stowell”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2025/0235818 (hereinafter, Wang”).
As per claim 5, Nguyen as modified does not distinctly disclose a power management system wherein the carbon capture system captures at least about 75% of the carbon from the exhaust gas.
However, Wang explicitly discloses a power management system wherein the carbon capture system captures at least about 75% of the carbon from the exhaust gas. (¶ [0205])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nguyen as modified and Wang because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Wang’s teaching of removal of at least 75% of the carbon would enhance Nguyen's as modified system operating an efficient carbon capture, thus further mitigating any environment impacts when generating power.
Claim 16, 19, 22, 24-27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2015/0074431 (hereinafter, “Nguyen”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0136432 (hereinafter, “McNamara”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0265095 (hereinafter, “Han”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0060531 (hereinafter, “Stowell”).
As per claim 16, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system having the following:
the second power source being a power generation module configured to consume natural gas and continuously generate an electrical output to power the first computing units and the second computing units. (McNamara: Fig. 5 discloses one or more local stations for generating power in which ¶ [0084] discloses a local station generating power using gas.)
a power distribution system configured to distribute the electrical output generated by the first and second power sources to the first computing units and the second computing units; and (McNamara; Fig’s 1-3) & (Nguyen: Fig’s 1-3)
receive metrics of the first and second power sources; (McNamara: local conditions may result in less power generation; ¶ [0062] )
receive real-time power consumption metrics for the first computing units, the first computing units configured for consuming variable power during operation; and (McNamara: inter alia: control system 220 may take steps to control power supplied to the flexible datacenter based on the desired power consumption level; ¶s [0062], [0076]-[0081] and make adjustments as needed, Therefore, to a PHOSITA adjusting power consumption to the data center based power consumption needs suggests that i) power consumption needs are monitored and ii) power consumption is variable)
output a control signal to vary a power consumption of the second computing units based on a difference between the real-time power consumption metrics for the first computing units and the power consumption of the first computing units. (McNamara: ¶ [0062] discloses the need to “dynamically reduce or withdraw power delivery to one or more computing systems” based on the power conditions at the local station result in less power generation. Therefore, some of the computer units have their power adjusted while power to other computer units would remain the same due to power supply availability changes.
Nguyen as modified does not disclose where first computing units together having a rated power consumption defined by a cumulative sum of maximum power consumptions of the first computing units.
However, Han explicitly discloses that. In particular, Han discloses the following:
wherein the first computing units each have a maximum power consumption, the first computing units together having a rated power consumption defined by a cumulative sum of maximum power consumptions of the first computing units, (Fig. 2 illustrates a plurality of nodes that include a chassis for determining “total power consumption, based on rated power consumption” ¶ [0073])
the second power source being a power generation module configured to continuously generate an electrical output to power the first computing units and the second computing units; (Fig. 2 illustrates a plurality of PSUs for power one or more nodes)
the power management system further comprising:
a power distribution system configured to distribute the electrical output generated by the first and second power sources to the first computing units and the second computing units; and (Fig’s 1-3 discloses allocation for power consumption by a chassis to one or more node systems)
the monitoring and control system being configured to:
receive metrics of the first and second power sources; (rated power consumption; ¶ [0073])
receive real-time power consumption metrics for the first computing units, the first computing units configured for consuming variable power during operation; and (detection module that is configured to detect actual power consumption of each node; ¶ [0078])
output a control signal to vary a power consumption of the second computing units based on a difference between the real-time power consumption metrics for the first computing units and the rated power consumption of the first computing units. (at least ¶ [0078] discloses where the chassis is configured to re-allocate, for each node, the reserved total power consumption and the preset power consumption of the node, based on a rate of change in the actual power consumption of the node and/or a power consumption utilization ratio that is a ratio of the actual power consumption of the node to the preset power consumption of the node.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nguyen as modified and Han because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Han’s teaching of cumulative power based on rated power consumption would enhance Nguyen's as modified system by adjusting power controls that are fine tuned to specific equipment, thus enhancing power allocation that is more granular.
Nguyen as modified does not distinctly disclose a carbon capture system configured to receive exhaust gas from the first and second power source, capture carbon from the exhaust gas and release oxygen from the exhaust gas into the atmosphere.
However, Stowell discloses a carbon capture system configured to receive exhaust gas from the first and second power source, capture carbon from the exhaust gas and release oxygen from the exhaust gas into the atmosphere.. (Fig. 10 illustrates a system for capturing carbon gases and releasing oxygen)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nguyen as modified and Stowell because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Stonell’s teaching of carbon capture would enhance Nguyen's as modified system by removing harmful chemicals while releasing oxygen, thus mitigating any environment impacts when operating power plants.
As per claim 19, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system wherein the second computing units include a subset of first interruptible computing units and a subset of second interruptible computing units, the varying of the power consumption of the set of second computing units including turning on and off the subset of second interruptible computing units. (Nguyen: Fig. 5 disclose a plurality of UPSs where according to at least power feed from UPS may be selectively routed ¶s[0080], [0116], [0121]-[0131]
As per claim 22, Nguyen as modified discloses a power management system further comprising a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system 1(Nguyen; air moving device; ¶ 0106) configured to consume the electrical output generated by the first power source and/or the second power source, the monitoring and control system configured to: receive metrics of the HVAC system; and output the control signal to vary the power consumption of the set of second computing units based on: the difference between the real-time power consumption metrics for the set of first computing units and the rated power consumption of the set of first computing units; and real-time power consumption metrics for the HVAC system. (Hann: at least ¶ [0078] discloses where the chassis is configured to re-allocate, for each node, the reserved total power consumption and the preset power consumption of the node, based on a rate of change in the actual power consumption of the node and/or a power consumption utilization) & (McNamara: ¶ [0062] discloses the need to “dynamically reduce or withdraw power delivery to one or more computing systems” based on the power conditions at the local station result in less power generation. Therefore, some of the computer units have their power adjusted while power to other computer units would remain the same due to power supply availability changes. ratio that is a ratio of the actual power consumption of the node to the preset power consumption of the node.) & (Nguyen: backup power source that can temporarily supply backup power to the facility in the event that a power feed from an external power source is lost; ¶ [005])
As per claim 24, Nguyen as modified discloses a method of controlling, by the power management system a power consumption of the power consumers, the method comprising performing, by the power management system, the following steps:(a) measuring and/or receiving metrics of the power sources and metrics of [[a]]the power consumers, the first computing units each having a maximum power consumption, the set of first computing units together having a rated power consumption defined by a cumulative sum of the maximum power consumptions of the first computing units;(b) determining a target power production framework that includes a target power delta for each of a plurality of devices associated with the power sources, the target power deltas being based on the metrics of power sources;(c) determining an optimal power consumption distribution model for distributing the target power deltas of the target power production framework to the power consumption system based on the target power production framework and the metrics of power consumption system, the optimal power consumption distribution model taking into account a varying power consumption of the first computing units to vary a power consumption of the second computing units;(d) altering a power state of the second computing units to achieve the optimal power consumption distribution model; and(e) periodically repeating (a) to (d) to update the power state of the second computing units based on changes of the metrics of the power production system and changes of metrics of the power consumption system. (McNamara: ¶ [0062] discloses the need to “dynamically reduce or withdraw power delivery to one or more computing systems” based on the power conditions at the local station result in less power generation. Therefore, some of the computer units have their power adjusted while power to other computer units would remain the same due to power supply availability changes ) & (McNamara: inter alia: control system 220 may take steps to control power supplied to the flexible datacenter based on the desired power consumption level; ¶s [0062], [0076]-[0081] and make adjustments as needed, Therefore, to a PHOSITA adjusting power consumption to the data center based power consumption needs suggests that i) power consumption needs are monitored and ii) power consumption is variable) & (Han: ¶ [0078] discloses where the chassis is configured to re-allocate, for each node, the reserved total power consumption and the preset power consumption of the node, based on a rate of change in the actual power consumption of the node and/or a power consumption utilization ratio that is a ratio of the actual power consumption of the node to the preset power consumption of the node.)
As per claim 25, Nguyen as modified discloses a method of controlling wherein the second computing units are cryptocurrency miners, the cryptocurrency miners each having a respective rated power consumption defining a maximum amount of power the cryptocurrency miner is designed to consume, the altering a power state of the second computing units including increasing the power consumption of at least some of the cryptocurrency miners above the respective rated power consumption. (McNamara: ¶ [0062] discloses the need to “dynamically reduce or withdraw power delivery to one or more computing systems” based on the power conditions at the local station result in less power generation. Therefore, some of the computer units have their power adjusted while power to other computer units would remain the same due to power supply availability changes ) & (McNamara: inter alia: control system 220 may take steps to control power supplied to the flexible datacenter based on the desired power consumption level; ¶s [0062], [0076]-[0081] and make adjustments as needed, Therefore, to a PHOSITA adjusting power consumption to the data center based power consumption needs suggests that i) power consumption needs are monitored and ii) power consumption is variable) & (McKnamara: ¶ [0035] blockchain miner) & (Han: ¶ [0078] discloses where the chassis is configured to re-allocate, for each node, the reserved total power consumption and the preset power consumption of the node, based on a rate of change in the actual power consumption of the node and/or a power consumption utilization ratio that is a ratio of the actual power consumption of the node to the preset power consumption of the node.)
As per claim 26, Nguyen as modified discloses a method of controlling wherein the second computing units are cryptocurrency miners, the second computing units including a subset of first cryptocurrency miners and a subset of second cryptocurrency miners, the altering a power state of the second computing units including turning on and off the subset of second cryptocurrency miners. (McKnamara: ¶ [0035] blockchain miner may be turned on/off) (McNamara: ¶ [0062] discloses the need to “dynamically reduce or withdraw power delivery to one or more computing systems” based on the power conditions at the local station result in less power generation. Therefore, some of the computer units have their power adjusted while power to other computer units would remain the same due to power supply availability changes ) & (McNamara: inter alia: control system 220 may take steps to control power supplied to the flexible datacenter based on the desired power consumption level; ¶s [0062], [0076]-[0081] and make adjustments as needed, Therefore, to a PHOSITA adjusting power consumption to the data center based power consumption needs suggests that i) power consumption needs are monitored and ii) power consumption is variable) & (Han: ¶ [0078] discloses where the chassis is configured to re-allocate, for each node, the reserved total power consumption and the preset power consumption of the node, based on a rate of change in the actual power consumption of the node and/or a power consumption utilization ratio that is a ratio of the actual power consumption of the node to the preset power consumption of the node.)
As per claim 27, Nguyen as modified discloses a method of controlling wherein the determining an optimal power consumption distribution model includes distributing the target power deltas of the target power production framework to the power consumption system to achieve a power production of the power production system above a predetermined threshold. (Nguyen: available UPS 518 capacity that would be meet anticipated consumption during the potential interruption meets or exceeds a predetermined threshold; ¶ [0129]) & (Han: the power consumption utilization ratio needs to be above 80%; ¶ [0057])
As per claim 29, Nguyen as modified discloses a method of controlling wherein the determining an optimal power consumption distribution model includes distributing the target power deltas of the target power production framework to the power consumption system to maximize a power production of the power production system. (Han: maximize the effective utilization ratio of the integral chassis, reduce the unused power consumption, and reduce operating cost.¶ [0042] by having the power consumption utilization ratio needs to be above 80%; ¶ [0057] & ¶ [0078] discloses where the chassis is configured to re-allocate, for each node, the reserved total power consumption and the preset power consumption of the node, based on a rate of change in the actual power consumption of the node and/or a power consumption utilization)) & (McNamara: modulate power delivery to flexible datacenter 200. Specifically, power delivery may be dynamically adjusted based on conditions or operational directives. ¶ [0056])
Allowable Subject Matter Over 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 17, 20, 28, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
With respect to any newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See MPEP §714.02 and § 2163.06. For example, when responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov
1 The recitation of the HVAC system is merely an intended/filed of use for which the power management is applied to. Therefore, it does carry patentable weight. Nonetheless, Nguyne explicitly discloses an air moving devices are shown in the rejection which is similar in function to an hvac.