DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12523071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 16 of ‘256 has all the limitations of claims 1 and 15 of the instant applicant, but also contains additional limitations.
Claim 1 is rejected on the grounds of claim 1 of ‘256.
Claims 2-14 is rejected on the grounds of claims 3-15 of ‘256.
Claim 15 is rejected on the grounds of claim 16 of ‘256.
Claim 16-19 is rejected on the grounds of claims 17-19 of ‘256.
Claim 20 is rejected on the grounds of claim 20 of ‘256.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190292817 to Tomaszewski.
Regarding claim 1, Tomaszewski discloses:
A vehicle latch assembly (fig 3), comprising: a remote cinching actuator (30); and a vehicle latch (fig 3), the vehicle latch comprising: a latch housing (18); a claw (60) pivotally mounted to the latch housing (fig 3); a cinching lever (50) pivotally mounted to the latch housing (fig 3); a push out lever (104) pivotally mounted to the cinching lever; and wherein the remote cinching actuator is operably coupled the cinching lever by a cable (32), wherein actuation of the remote cinching actuator causes rotation of the cinching lever and during rotation of the cinching lever, the push out lever travels in one of a bypass path (fig 8 to fig 9) wherein the push out lever does not contact the claw (fig 9) and a push out path (fig 9-13) wherein the push out lever contacts the claw and provides an opening force to the claw (see figs 10-13).
Regarding claim 15, Tomaszewski discloses:
A method (fig 15) opening a vehicle latch (fig 3) of a vehicle latch assembly (fig 2), comprising: actuating a remote cinching actuator (30) of the vehicle latch assembly when a pawl (62) of the vehicle latch is in a disengaged position (fig 10) with respect to a claw (60) of the vehicle latch and the claw of the vehicle latch is in a latched position (fig 10), wherein the remote cinching actuator is operably coupled a cinching lever (50) of the vehicle latch by a cable (32) and actuation of the remote cinching actuator causes rotation of the cinching lever (see movement between figs 9-13) and during rotation of the cinching lever, a push out lever (104) rotatably mounted to the cinching lever travels in a push out path (figs 10-13) wherein the push out lever contacts the claw and provides an opening force to the claw (see movement of figs 10-13).
Regarding claim 16, Tomaszewski discloses:
The method of claim 15, wherein actuation of the remote cinching actuator when the pawl of the vehicle latch is in an engaged position (fig 5) with respect to the claw of the vehicle latch causes rotation of the cinching lever and during rotation of the cinching lever, the push out lever rotatably mounted to the cinching lever travels in a bypass path (figs 4-5) wherein the push out lever does not contact the claw (fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190292817 to Tomaszewski in view of US 20120098279 to Singh.
Regarding claim 2, Tomaszewski does not explicitly disclose:
The vehicle latch assembly as in claim 1, wherein the push out lever is spring biased towards the bypass path by a push out lever spring. The vehicle latch assembly as in claim 1, wherein the push out lever is spring biased towards the bypass path by a push out lever spring.
However, Singh teaches that it is well known in the art for a push out lever (42) to be spring biased (via 52). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Singh into Tomaszewski at least because doing so would provide additional safety by biasing the lever in a favorable position to prevent accidental actuation of the lever.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 and 17-20 are rejected under double patenting, but would be allowable if the double patenting rejection is resolved.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675