Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8 of Remarks, filed April 24th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Unreal Engine Forum, referring to a post made to Unreal Engine’s public forum, information about the forum post and how to access it are provided below and in the notice of references cited.
Applicant asserts that the prior art leveraged to make the 102 rejections of claims 1-20, the official documentation for the 2022.1 version of Unity, shorthanded to UD, does not teach the new amended portion of claim 1, which has incorporated a portion of dependent claim 8’s content regarding a physics information node. Specifically, the amended portion of the claim states (user) “interfaces, wherein the user input comprises a selection of a physics information node; displaying, in response to the selection of the physics information node, real-time physics properties of objects in the 3D environment, “. Applicant acknowledges the citation provided from claim 8 which teaches the method “GetAccelerationEvent” and argues that as GetAccelerationEvent is a polling request to receive physics information about a particular frame, and not a node that receives real-time physics properties of objects in the 3D environment. GetAccelerationEvent returns the acceleration reading from the most recent frame, the provided screenshot from UD cited in claim 8 reading “Returns specific acceleration measurement which occurred during the last frame.” It is conceded that the “last frame” is not strictly real-time, or current, physics information and reports info from the recent past.
UD/API/Packages and feature sets/Visual Scripting, cited in claim 1, teaches “Visual scripting is a workflow that uses visual, node-based graphs to design behaviors rather than write lines of C# script. Enabling artists, designers and programmers alike, visual scripting can be used to design final logic, quickly create prototypes, iterate on gameplay and create custom nodes to help streamline collaboration. Visual scripting is compatible with third-party APIs, including most packages, assets and custom libraries,” UD teaches that visual scripting can stand in for lines of C# scripts, and that it is flexible enough to support even third-party APIs. Thus, the implication is that existing unity API calls such as GetAccelerationEvent are usable as nodes in the visual scripting environment. That being said as GetAccelerationEvent does not report live info, only the most recent frame, it is not argued that GetAccelerationEvent can definitively be made into a node. It is conceded that GetAccelerationEvent is not itself an example of a callable API method in C# that reports real-time physics information, and although it could be argued that GetAccelerationEvent could be a node as it is not a real-time physics information reporting method it will is not argued that is a node.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 11 and 16 are considered moot. Applicant argues that the changes made to claims 1 that are also made to claims 11 and 16 allow claims 11 and 16 to be allowable along with claim 1. As claim 11 is the system claim encompassing both claim 1’s method preamble and claim 16’s non-transitory computer readable storage medium preamble, where all have identical body content and are rejected together by addressing claim 11 as seen below, the arguments regarding claim 11 and 16 being allowable as claim 1 is allowable are moot as a new ground of rejection for all is provided below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to dependent claims 2-10, 12-15, 17-20 have been considered but are moot. Applicant argues that since claim 1/11/16 have received the same amendment to make them allowable this would allow their dependents to be similarly allowable. As the independent claims are rejected under new grounds of rejection, the argument that the dependents are allowable based on the allowance of the independents is rendered moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the content found in the Unity Documentation, which is the official software documentation for the game engine Unity. The documentation and the software are authored by Unity Technologies. Specifically, we cite the various sections of the Unity 2022.1 Documentation, here on out referred to as UD. As the UD is divided into two halves, a user manual and a scripting API reference, the 2022.1 user manual for documentation is referred to as UM, and the scripting API reference will simply be called API, in view of the Unreal Engine Forum, referring to a date marked post on Unreal Engine’s public forum titled Animation is in place but player can’t move around.
Regarding independent claims 11, 1, 16
The Unity Documentation teaches:
A system of creating physics-based content, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory communicatively coupled to the at least one processor and comprising computer-readable instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (UD/UM/Working in Unity/Installing Unity/System requirements for Unity 2022.1:
As shown above, a processor/CPU is required along with an operating system, since an OS needs memory to be stored on and use memory is also a requirement which teaches all system components in the application.) establishing a set of physics controller nodes, wherein the set of physics controller nodes are configured to refine physics simulations in a three-dimensional (3D) environment; (UD/UM:
“Use the Unity Editor to create … 3D games, apps and experiences”;
UD/UM/Physics:
"Unity helps you simulate physics in your Project to ensure that the objects correctly accelerate and respond to collisions, gravity, and various other forces … You can achieve some basic physics goals with the user interface,” Note: Here we see the documentation teach that the editor can make physics simulations in a 3D environment, and that it can do so using a user interface, more on which is discussed below.) presenting user interfaces configured to implement visual scripting based on the set of physics controller nodes; (UD/API/Packages and feature sets/Visual Scripting:
“Visual scripting is a workflow that uses visual, node-based graphs to design behaviors rather than write lines of C# script. Enabling artists, designers and programmers alike, visual scripting can be used to design final logic, quickly create prototypes, iterate on gameplay and create custom nodes to help streamline collaboration.” Note: Unity’s node-based visual scripting workflow is an example of a user interface, as it provides a visual means for users to interface with the editor’s functions. It teaches the application’s UI that uses “visual scripting based on the set of physics controller nodes”. As stated in the quote Unity’s visual scripting is node based, and nodes come from C# script, scripts for Unity are detailed in the Scripting API Reference. UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Rigidbody “Control of an object's position through physics simulation. Adding a Rigidbody component to an object will put its motion under the control of Unity's physics engine. Even without adding any code, a Rigidbody object will be pulled downward by gravity and will react to collisions with incoming objects if the right Collider component is also present. The Rigidbody also has a scripting API that lets you apply forces to the object and control it in a physically realistic way”
Note: The methods shown above come from our scripting API reference and are therefore also usable nodes for visual scripting. We can see the nodes contain physics nodes such as AddForce, AddTorque, etc… We can also see the methods are for Rigidbody, which is described as “control of an object’s position through physics simulation”, or in other words how the physics simulation perceives objects. Since we have access to nodes which control forces in a physics simulation this teaches the application’s “physics controller nodes”) customizing the physics simulations by utilizing the set of physics controller nodes based on user input received via the user interfaces; (Note: The UD teaches the physics controller nodes and the visual scripting UI which they exist in as shown in the most recent citation. These physics nodes taught in unity apply forces on objects in a physics simulation, meaning we can customize the physics simulation with the nodes via user input from our visual scripting UI, teaching this portion of the claim.) and creating content based on the customized and optimized physics simulations. (UD/UM: “Use the Unity Editor to create … 3D games, apps and experiences” UD/UM/Physics: "Unity helps you simulate physics in your Project…” These teach that Unity can make custom content based on physics simulations, and as our previous citation teaches the customization of the physics simulation this claim portion is taught by the UD.)
While the Unity Documentation teaches that the visual scripting allows lines of C# script to be represented as nodes it does not directly point to an instance of a physics information node. The ability for the Unity Engine to contain physics information nodes can be seen on the Unreal Engine forum where users share real world uses and questions about the Unreal engine. Specifically, it is taught that the user interfaces, wherein the user input comprises a selection of a physics information node; (Unreal Engine forum Animation is in place but player can’t move around @Benergy 9/37 “Just go to your character’s blueprint, find or add the “Tick” event and execute “Print String”. Then add a “Get Velocity” node and drag the vector output to the string input of “Print String”. A “ToString” conversion node should be added automatically.” @anon11178689 3/37
Note: The Unreal Engine Forums teach a “get velocity” node, which when connected to a “tick” event. A tick event, or tick, in the context of unreal engine, video games, physics engines, etc… refers to the interval at which the engine is updated, it is the smallest unit of simulated time at which events and updates can happen. In other words, when it is taught that the Get Velocity node, which reports the physics information of velocity, is tied to the tick event the physics information will get reported for every tick, meaning it will report real time information as quickly as the engine is able to update. While user @benergy responds to the original poster specifically stating that Get Velocity is a node, referring to a node in a visual scripting environment, the screenshot including the Get Velocity node from original poster @anon11178689 provided above shows the node in a visual scripting environment.) displaying, in response to the selection of the physics information node, real-time physics properties of objects in the 3D environment; (Unreal Engine Forum Animation is in place but player can’t move around @Benergy 9/37 teaches that not only is the Get Velocity node tied to tick events, meaning it will get the velocity live every time the engine updates, but it is further taught it is tied to “print string”, a common operation in engines, programming languages, etc.. which will take an input value and display it, thus teaching the displaying, in response to the selection of a physics information node, real-time physics properties of objects, in this case a character model.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Unity Documentation with Unreal Engine Forum in which a set of physics node that allows for a physics simulation to be interacted with via a visual scripting environment allows for the real-time physics information to be reported.
There are several reasons that would motivate one to do so, when designing something that uses a physics simulation there are many cases where one may wish for the simulation to run in real time as opposed to being pre rendered, when doing so a user may wish to see specific details about how their simulation is working as they interact with it, allowing for visual scripting nodes to live report physics information provides an easily accessible way for users to do this.
Regarding Claims 12, 2, 17, dependent on 11, 1, 16
The Unity Documentation teaches,
The system of claim 11, the operations further comprising: implementing dynamic changes in a speed and direction of an object in the 3D environment and managing an acceleration of the object using an acceleration controller node in the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Rigidbody.AddForce:
Above we see the node/method AddForce, which is for Rigidbodys. UD/API/UnityEngine/Class/Rigidbody states a rigidbody is “control of an object’s position through physics simulation”, or in other words how the physics simulation views the objects. Here we see AddForce can apply forces along the direction of the vector parameter, and that if the acceleration mode is enabled it “allows the type of force to be changed to an Acceleration”, which teaches the application’s acceleration controller node.
Regarding claims 13, 3, 18, dependent on 11, 1, 16
The system of claim 11, the operations further comprising: simulating realistic impacts and movements by applying instantaneous forces to an object in the 3D environment using an impulse node in the set of physics controller nodes. (” UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Rigidbody.AddForce:
The physics node documentation for AddForce details a mode parameter which specifies the “Type of Force to apply” as seen above under the Parameters table. In the Description we see if the impulse mode is selected it “Interprets the parameter as an impulse”, or in other words the force we are introducing will be an impulse, teaching this application’s impulse node.)
Regarding claims 14, 4, 19, dependent on 11, 1, 16
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The system of claim 11, the operations further comprising: implementing sustained movements or interactions by applying continuous forces to objects in the 3D environment using a force controller node in the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Rigidbody.AddForce:
The AddForce node, when not modified by a mode parameter will default to the approach that “Force is applied continuously” to objects, teaching the application’s force controller node.)
Regarding claims 15, 7, 20, dependent on 11, 1, 16,
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The system of claim 11, the operations further comprising: projecting a ray and facilitating line-of-sight interactions and distance measurements in the 3D environment using a ray cast node in the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/UM/Graphics/Cameras/Camera Tricks/Rays from the Camera:
UD/API/Unity Engine/Classes/RaycastHit:
The above Rays from the Camera manual section teaches not only the use of ray casting but leveraging it specifically with nodes like ScreenPointToRay and ViewportPointToRay to cast rays from a “camera”, as we are able to use nodes to cast rays from a point of view, line of sight, or “camera” this teaches the ability to “facilitate line of sight interactions” as it is called in this application. In the RaycastHit image above we see a RaycastHit object is returned on every ray cast, in the properties table we see it will return with info on distance, teaching the application’s distance measurement via a ray cast node.)
Regarding claims 5, dependent on claim 1,
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: implementing movements and behaviors by directly controlling a velocity of an object in the 3D environment using a velocity controller node in the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Rigidbody.AddForce:
Above we again see the AddForce node/method, which as we have seen previously applies forces to objects in a physics simulation. We cans see in the description if the VelocityChange mode is enabled it “interprets the parameter as a direct velocity change”, teaching this application’s velocity controller node.)
Regarding claims 6, dependent on claim 1,
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting collisions between objects and triggering particular responses in the 3D environment using a collision event node in the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/UM/Physics/Built-in 3D Physics/Collision/Introduction to collision:
UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Collider.OnCollisionEnter(Collision):
As shown in the intro to collision section of the manual above the “scripting system can detect when collisions occur and initate actions using the OnCollisionEnter function”. Above we see the OnCollisionEnter function in our scripting API, showing it is usable as a node. As the OnCollisionEnter node/function allows for responses to collisions to be triggered when detected it teaches the application’s collision event node.
Regarding claim 8, dependent on claim 1,
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
displaying information about collision events in the 3D environment using a collision information node in the set of physics controller nodes (UD/API/Classes/Collision:
Above we see the Collision node/object that is created whenever a collision occurs which provides us with all the vital information about the collision we would need to know like the object hit, the contact points, the total impulse applied in the contact, etc… This shows the UD’s information returned node Collision teaches the applications collision information node.); or displaying information about objects hit by a ray in the 3D environment using a ray hit information node in the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/API/Unity Engine/Classes/RaycastHit:
Similarly to our collision class, the RaycastHit node/structure shown above provides us with relevant information about a ray hit such as distance, what was hit, texture of the collision surface, impact point on the object, surface that was hit, etc... This teaches the application’s ray hit information node.)
Regarding claim 9, dependent on claim 1,
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: implementing switches between local and world space references in applying forces, accelerations, and velocities to objects in the 3D environment using the set of physics controller nodes. (UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Transform:
UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Rigidbody.AddForce:
Here we see examples of various Transform and InverseTransform nodes/methods which allow for the switching between local and world space. In the re provided image of AddForce, which can be modified to control acceleration, velocity, and impulses, we see what provides the core “force” with direction is the vector we provide it. Meaning that since we can switch vectors between local and world space we can also “forces, accelerations, and velocities” as the application states.)
Regarding claim 10, dependent on claim 1,
The Unity Documentation teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: implementing real-time visualizations of the physical simulations during creating the content.
(UD/UM/Physics/Built-in-3D Physics/Collision/Physics Debug Visualization:
UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/PhysicsVisualizationSettings:
In the image above we see the UD teach that physics simulation aspects like collisions, forces, impulses, inertia, center of mass, etc… can all be visualized with the Physics Debug Visualization setting enabled. The visualizations occur in the scene, UD/UM/Working in Unity/Create Gameplay/Scenes: “Scenes are where you work with content in Unity. They are assets that contain all or part of a game or application”. Here we learn scenes are a part of content creation in Unity, and viewable during the live content creation process. Since we can see physics information visualized in the scene, this teaches the ability to see real time physics information visualized during creating the content.
UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Gizmos:
UD/API/UnityEngine/Classes/Gizmos.DrawLine:
Above we see the documentation for Gizmos, tools for visual debugging, that visualize info in the “Scene view”, the same live view we can see our collision info in if physics debug visualization is enabled. Under static methods we see physics related info like rays can be displayed using gizmos via nodes/methods like DrawRay. DrawLine will display vector from point to point, and as the different force types all come from AddForce, which uses a vector, all force types can be visualized with this Gizmo. The many options the UD presents for visualization of physics in the scene, which is where you “work with content in Unity” and see a live state of your content teach the application’s real-time visualization of physics simulations during the content creation.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN GREGORY HAKALA/Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617