Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OK; Seungbok, (Hereinafter, “Seungbok”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200196398 A1 in view of YILMAZ NAMIK et al. (Hereinafter, “Yilmaz”) in the Patent Application Publication Number Publication Number WO2014090864A1 (Publication Date: 2014-06-19).
Regarding claim 1, Seungbok teaches an induction device
an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus with improved object detection algorithms; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-3; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing an example of an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3) comprising:
a wireless power transmission circuit [1] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-2);
a current sensor [250] (controller 250 as the current sensor as it detects current) (a controller 250; Paragraph [0054] Line 4; The controller 250 may detect the resonance current flowing through the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 and may determine, based on the detected value, which coil of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 the object is disposed; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-5); and
at least one processor (controller 250 has the processor) connected to the wireless power transmission circuit [1] and the current sensor (Figure 2 shows processor (controller 250 has the processor) connected to the wireless power transmission circuit [1] and the current sensor; The controller 250 may control operations of the first inverter IV1 and the second inverter IV2 and the first semiconductor switch Si to the fourth semiconductor switch S4. In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 1-8),
wherein the at least one processor (controller 250 has the processor) is configured to:
output first power (That is, when the driving mode of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus is set as the wireless power transmission mode by the controller 250, at least one of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 is driven to wirelessly transmit the power to the object; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-6) for detecting an external device (object) through the wireless power transmission circuit (The number of working coils driven under the control of the controller 250 may also be determined and an amount of transmitted power or heating intensity of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus may vary depending on the number of driven working coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-5; The controller 250 may detect the resonance current flowing through the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 and may determine, based on the detected value, which coil of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 the object is disposed; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-5),
identify a first phase of a first current by measuring the first current flowing
through a transmission coil of the wireless power transmission circuit (In some implementations, the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus may include a controller configured to adjust a frequency and a phase of a switching signal provided to each of inverters based on the position of the object, thereby improving output control algorithms; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-6) using the current sensor [250] while outputting the first power (That is, as shown in FIG. 13, when the power levels required by the objects are different from one another and the object is disposed over a plurality of areas, the controller 250 may control the frequency and the phase of each of the switching signals to correspond to the power levels required by the objects as well as controlling the turn-on and the turn-off of each of the semiconductor switches with respect to the object requiring the high power level, thereby adjusting the output of each of the working coils; Paragraph [0243] Line 1-9),
in a first state where the external device is proximity, identify a phase
value (As described above, the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may improve the output control algorithm by synchronizing or desynchronizing the frequencies and the phases of the switching signals provided to each inverter based on the position of the object. Further, through the improvement in output control algorithm, the heating efficiency or the wireless power transmission efficiency with respect to the object may be improved; Paragraph [0244] Line 1-8).
Seungbok fails to teach wherein in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identify a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold, wherein the first state where the external device is in not proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is not on, not vertically above, or not near the induction device, and wherein the second state where the external device is in proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is on vertically above, or near the induction device.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identify a phase
delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current (The induction heating cooktop (1) of the present invention comprises a current detection circuit (12) situated in the resonant circuit (6), connected in series to the induction coil (4), that converts the coil current (I L ) transferred from the induction coil (4) to the vessel (K) into voltage data in the non-conduction times wherein the power switch (7) is in the turned-on position and provides the coil current (I L ) to be monitored and the control unit (11) that determines whether or not the vessel (K) is present on the induction coil (4) or whether
alignment of the vessel (K) on the induction coil (4) is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I L ), converted into voltage data received from the current detection circuit (12) and the resonance voltage (Vce) generated on the collector node (9) with a threshold phase difference time (Tthreshold) recorded in its memory; Page 5 Line 13-21),
and
identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the
identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27; The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 6 Line 13-16),
wherein the first state where the external device is in not proximity corresponds to a
state where the external device is not on, not vertically above, or not near the induction
device (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I L ) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I L ) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission
to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27), and
wherein the second state where the external device is in proximity corresponds to a
state where the external device is on vertically above, or near the induction device (The control unit determines the absence of the vessel on the induction coil or that the vessel has been slid from over the induction coil more than permitted and interrupts the induction coil current if the period of the logical-1 output signal of the logical AND gate is smaller than the threshold signal time recorded in its memory; Page 3 Line 30-32). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel as the external device placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and to identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold detect the position of the vessel as the external device placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
Regarding claim 2, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
wherein the at least one processor [250] is further configured to (As described above, the controller 250 may continually detect whether another object is disposed above the working coils that are not driven even after the object is detected; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-4),
identify a first external device corresponding to a first phase value identify a second external device corresponding to a second phase value (As described above, the controller 250 may continually detect whether another object is disposed above the working coils that are not driven even after the object is detected; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-4; In detail, the object may include a plurality of objects and each of the objects may be disposed above one of the working coil portions; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-3; That is, the controller 250 may adjust the frequency and the phase of the first switching signal SS1 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1500 W) required by the first object T1, may adjust the frequency and the phase of the second switching signal SS2 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1000 W) required by the second object T2, and may adjust the frequency and the phase of the third switching signal SS3 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1300 W) required by the third object T3; Paragraph [0207] Line 1-9).
However, Seungbok fails to teach identify the external device corresponding to a phase delay value when the where the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than the designated threshold.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein identify the external device corresponding to a phase delay value when the where the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than the designated threshold (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27; The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 6 Line 13-16). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify the external device corresponding to a phase delay value when the where the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than the designated threshold detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and heats cookware efficiently, properly detects sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
Regarding claim 3, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
further comprising memory configured to store a plurality of phase values respectively corresponding to a plurality of external devices (As described above, the controller 250 may continually detect whether another object is disposed above the working coils that are not driven even after the object is detected; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-4; In detail, the object may include a plurality of objects and each of the objects may be disposed above one of the working coil portions; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-3; That is, the controller 250 may adjust the frequency and the phase of the first switching signal SS1 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1500 W) required by the first object T1, may adjust the frequency and the phase of the second switching signal SS2 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1000 W) required by the second object T2, and may adjust the frequency and the phase of the third switching signal SS3 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1300 W) required by the third object T3; Paragraph [0207] Line 1-9).
However, Seungbok fails to teach that memory configured to store a plurality of phase delay values of external devices.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein memory configured to store a plurality of phase delay values of external devices (The control unit determines whether or not the vessel is present on the induction coil or whether or not alignment of the vessel on the induction coil is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time between the coil current detected by the current detection circuit and converted into voltage data and the resonance voltage formed between the collector and emitter of the power switch with a threshold phase difference time recorded in its memory; Page 3 Line 16-19). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to include memory to store a plurality of phase delay values of external devices detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6).
Regarding claim 4, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
wherein the at least one processor [250] is further configured to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase value from among the plurality of external devices by using the plurality of phase values (In this case, the controller 250 may receive apparatus information related to the object through communication with the corresponding object seated in a driving area (i.e., above the working coil). The apparatus information received from the object may include, for example, object information on types of objects, the charging mode, and an amount of required power; Paragraph [0119] Line 1-7; In this case, the controller 250 may releases the synchronization of a timer provided therein and may independently (i.e., individually) adjust the frequency and the phase of each of switching signals to correspond to the power level required by each of objects (i.e., the power level required for heating or charging each of objects); Paragraph [0206] Line 1-6).
Seungbok teaches to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase value.
However, Seungbok fails to teach that to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase delay value.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase delay value (The control unit determines whether or not the vessel is present on the induction coil or whether or not alignment of the vessel on the induction coil is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time between the coil current detected by the current detection circuit and converted into voltage data and the resonance voltage formed between the collector and emitter of the power switch with a threshold phase difference time recorded in its memory; Page 3 Line 16-20; Phase difference time is the phase delay between the signal). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase delay value detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
.
Regarding claim 5, Seungbok fails to teach an induction device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify the phase delay, based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state where the external device is not in proximity and a first crossing point value of the measured first current.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein the at least one processor [11] in Figure 2 is further configured to identify the phase delay, based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state where the external device is not in proximity and a first crossing point value of the measured first current (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-26; The first comparator (15) generates logical-1 output signals (S1) between the zero crossing (ZC) points of the coil current (I.sub.L) in the non-conduction (turned-on) times of the power switch (7) when the induction coil (4) transfers energy to the vessel (K) (Figure 4). The second comparator (16) generates logical-1 output signals (S2) in situations where the resonance voltage (Vce) is equalized with the DC-line voltage (Vdc) and turns to positive with respect to the DC-line voltage (Vdc) by comparing the resonance voltage (Vce) with the DC-line voltage (Vdc) (Figure 4). The AND gate (17) generates logical-1 output signal (S3) in the case when the output signals (S1, S2) of both the first comparator (15) and the second comparator (16) are logical-1 (Figure 5). The duration of the logical-1 output signal of the AND gate (17) is equal to the phase difference time (T) of the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce). The AND gate (17) generates logical-0 signal when the output signal of at least one of the first comparator (15) and the second comparator (16) is logical-0. The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 1-16; Figure 4 and 5 shows the phase delay is identified based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state where the external device is not in proximity and a first crossing point value of the measured first current). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify the phase delay, based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23)
Regarding claim 6, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
wherein the at least one processor [250] is further configured to output the first power for detecting the external device (object) through the wireless power transmission circuit [1], based on a designated resonance frequency (The resonance current may be applied to the first working coil AWC1 and the second working coil AWC2 through the above configuration and the object disposed above the working coils may be inductively heated or may wirelessly receive the power; Paragraph [0186] Line 1-5; Accordingly, the controller 250 may adjust the frequency and the phase of each switching signal independently (i.e., through desynchronization) even if the power levels required by the respective objects are different from one another, thereby satisfying each of required power levels; Paragraph [0208] Line 1-6; Implementations according to this aspect may include one or more of the following features. For example, the controller may be configured to: based on a first object being disposed above the first group of working coils, adjust the first frequency and the first phase of the first switching signal to correspond to a first power level to be transmitted to the first object; and based on a second object being disposed above the second group of working coils, adjust the second frequency and the second phase of the second switching signal to correspond to a second power level to be transmitted to the second object; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-11).
Regarding claim 7, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
further comprising a communication circuit (In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 4-8).
Regarding claim 8, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
wherein the communication circuit (a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.)] is configured to communicate with the external device (object) by an in-band scheme or an out-band scheme (In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 4-8; a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc. is used for in-band or out-band scheme ) (In this case, the controller 250 may receive apparatus information related to the object through communication with the corresponding object seated in a driving area (i.e., above the working coil). The apparatus information received from the object may include, for example, object information on types of objects, the charging mode, and an amount of required power; Paragraph [0119] Line 1-7; Claim 29. The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the controller is configured to: based on portions of the object being disposed above the first working coil and the third working coil, synchronize the first frequency and the second frequency and synchronize the first phase and the second phase to correspond to a power level to be transmitted to the object; Frequency is used to communicate with the object and in-band, out-band uses the frequency to communicate with the external device).
Regarding claim 9, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
further comprising an induction heater [a first working coil WC1 to a fourth working coil WC4] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may include a power source 100, a rectifier 150, a first inverter IV1, a second inverter IV2, a controller 250, a first working coil WC1 to a fourth working coil WC4, a first semiconductor switch S1 to a fourth semiconductor switch S4; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5),
wherein the at least one processor [250] in Figure 2 (The controller 250 may control operations of the first inverter IV1 and the second inverter IV2 and the first semiconductor switch Si to the fourth semiconductor switch S4. In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 1-8) is further configured to control the induction heater and the wireless power transmission circuit, respectively (Further, a driving mode of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus, that is, an induction heating mode or a wireless power transmission mode may be controlled by the controller 250; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Seungbok teaches an induction device,
further comprising an input interface [350] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may include an input interface 350; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-7),
wherein the at least one processor [250] is further configured to perform electromagnetic induction heating through the induction heater [coil] (The technology for transmitting the wireless power may use an electromagnetic induction method using a coil, a resonance method using resonance, and a radio wave radiation method in which electrical energy is converted into a microwave, and the converted microwave is transmitted; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-5) when an input for induction heating is received through the input interface [350] (The input interface 350 may receive input from a user and may provide the controller 250 with the corresponding input; Paragraph [0109] Line 1-3; In detail, the input interface 350 is an inputter that inputs a heating intensity desired by the user or driving time of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus and may be variously implemented as a physical button or a touch panel; Paragraph [0110] Line 1-5; Based on the information from the input interface processor performs electromagnetic induction heating through the induction heater; The input interface 350 may also provide the controller 250 with the received input information and the controller 250 may variously drive the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus based on the input information received from the input interface 350; Paragraph [0112] Line 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Seungbok teaches a method of detecting an external device in an induction device (an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus with improved object detection algorithms; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-3; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing an example of an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3) the method comprising:
outputting first power (That is, when the driving mode of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus is set as the wireless power transmission mode by the controller 250, at least one of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 is driven to wirelessly transmit the power to the object; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-6) for detecting an external device (object) through the wireless power transmission circuit [1] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-2; In detail, the power source 100 may output the AC power and may provide the AC power to the rectifier 150. For example, the power source 100 may be a commercial power source; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4) (The number of working coils driven under the control of the controller 250 may also be determined and an amount of transmitted power or heating intensity of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus may vary depending on the number of driven working coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-5; The controller 250 may detect the resonance current flowing through the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 and may determine, based on the detected value, which coil of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 the object is disposed; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-5),
measuring a first current flowing through a transmission coil of the wireless power
transmission circuit by using a current sensor while outputting the first power (The controller 250 may detect the resonance current flowing through the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 and may determine, based on the detected value, which coil of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 the object is disposed; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-5);
identifying a first phase of a first current by measuring the first current flowing
through a transmission coil of the wireless power transmission circuit (In some implementations, the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus may include a controller configured to adjust a frequency and a phase of a switching signal provided to each of inverters based on the position of the object, thereby improving output control algorithms; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-6) using a current sensor [250] while outputting the first power (That is, as shown in FIG. 13, when the power levels required by the objects are different from one another and the object is disposed over a plurality of areas, the controller 250 may control the frequency and the phase of each of the switching signals to correspond to the power levels required by the objects as well as controlling the turn-on and the turn-off of each of the semiconductor switches with respect to the object requiring the high power level, thereby adjusting the output of each of the working coils; Paragraph [0243] Line 1-9),
in a first state where the external device is proximity, identify a phase
value (As described above, the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may improve the output control algorithm by synchronizing or desynchronizing the frequencies and the phases of the switching signals provided to each inverter based on the position of the object. Further, through the improvement in output control algorithm, the heating efficiency or the wireless power transmission efficiency with respect to the object may be improved; Paragraph [0244] Line 1-8).
Seungbok fails to teach wherein in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identifying a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and identifying a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold, wherein the first state where the external device is in not proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is not on, not vertically above, or not near the induction device, and wherein the second state where the external device is in proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is on vertically above, or near the induction device.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identify a phase
delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current (The induction heating cooktop (1) of the present invention comprises a current detection circuit (12) situated in the resonant circuit (6), connected in series to the induction coil (4), that converts the coil current (I L ) transferred from the induction coil (4) to the vessel (K) into voltage data in the non-conduction times wherein the power switch (7) is in the turned-on position and provides the coil current (I L ) to be monitored and the control unit (11) that determines whether or not the vessel (K) is present on the induction coil (4) or whether
alignment of the vessel (K) on the induction coil (4) is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I L ), converted into voltage data received from the current detection circuit (12) and the resonance voltage (Vce) generated on the collector node (9) with a threshold phase difference time (Tthreshold) recorded in its memory; Page 5 Line 13-21),
and
identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the
identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27; The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 6 Line 13-16),
wherein the first state where the external device is in not proximity corresponds to a
state where the external device is not on, not vertically above, or not near the induction
device (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I L ) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I L ) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission
to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27), and
wherein the second state where the external device is in proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is on vertically above, or near the induction device (The control unit determines the absence of the vessel on the induction coil or that the vessel has been slid from over the induction coil more than permitted and interrupts the induction coil current if the period of the logical-1 output signal of the logical AND gate is smaller than the threshold signal time recorded in its memory; Page 3 Line 30-32). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel as the external device placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and to identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold detect the position of the vessel as the external device placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23)
Regarding claim 12, Seungbok teaches a method, further comprising:
identifying a first external device corresponding to a first phase value and identifying a second external device corresponding to a second phase value (As described above, the controller 250 may continually detect whether another object is disposed above the working coils that are not driven even after the object is detected; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-4; In detail, the object may include a plurality of objects and each of the objects may be disposed above one of the working coil portions; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-3; That is, the controller 250 may adjust the frequency and the phase of the first switching signal SS1 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1500 W) required by the first object T1, may adjust the frequency and the phase of the second switching signal SS2 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1000 W) required by the second object T2, and may adjust the frequency and the phase of the third switching signal SS3 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1300 W) required by the third object T3; Paragraph [0207] Line 1-9).
However, Seungbok fails to teach identifying the external device corresponding to a phase delay value when the where the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than the designated threshold.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein identifying the external device corresponding to a phase delay value when the where the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than the designated threshold (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27; The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 6 Line 13-16). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify the external device corresponding to a phase delay value when the where the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than the designated threshold detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and heats cookware efficiently, properly detects sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
Regarding claim 13, Seungbok teaches a method,
further comprising obtaining a plurality of phase values respectively corresponding to a plurality of external devices (As described above, the controller 250 may continually detect whether another object is disposed above the working coils that are not driven even after the object is detected; Paragraph [0196] Line 1-4; In detail, the object may include a plurality of objects and each of the objects may be disposed above one of the working coil portions; Paragraph [0203] Line 1-3; That is, the controller 250 may adjust the frequency and the phase of the first switching signal SS1 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1500 W) required by the first object T1, may adjust the frequency and the phase of the second switching signal SS2 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1000 W) required by the second object T2, and may adjust the frequency and the phase of the third switching signal SS3 to correspond to the power level (e.g., 1300 W) required by the third object T3; Paragraph [0207] Line 1-9).
However, Seungbok fails to teach further comprising obtaining a plurality of phase
delay values of external devices.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
further comprising obtaining a plurality of phase delay values of external devices (The control unit determines whether or not the vessel is present on the induction coil or whether or not alignment of the vessel on the induction coil is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time between the coil current detected by the current detection circuit and converted into voltage data and the resonance voltage formed between the collector and emitter of the power switch with a threshold phase difference time recorded in its memory; Page 3 Line 16-19). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to obtain a plurality of phase delay values of external devices detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6).
Regarding claim 14, Seungbok teaches a method,
further comprising identifying one external device corresponding to the identified phase value from among the plurality of external devices by using the plurality of phase values (In this case, the controller 250 may receive apparatus information related to the object through communication with the corresponding object seated in a driving area (i.e., above the working coil). The apparatus information received from the object may include, for example, object information on types of objects, the charging mode, and an amount of required power; Paragraph [0119] Line 1-7; In this case, the controller 250 may releases the synchronization of a timer provided therein and may independently (i.e., individually) adjust the frequency and the phase of each of switching signals to correspond to the power level required by each of objects (i.e., the power level required for heating or charging each of objects); Paragraph [0206] Line 1-6).
Seungbok teaches to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase value.
However, Seungbok fails to teach that to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase delay value.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
wherein identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase delay value (The control unit determines whether or not the vessel is present on the induction coil or whether or not alignment of the vessel on the induction coil is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time between the coil current detected by the current detection circuit and converted into voltage data and the resonance voltage formed between the collector and emitter of the power switch with a threshold phase difference time recorded in its memory; Page 3 Line 16-20; Phase difference time is the phase delay between the signal). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify one external device corresponding to the identified phase delay value detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
Regarding claim 15, Seungbok fails to teach a method, w further comprising identifying the phase delay, based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state where the external device is not in proximity and a first crossing point value of the measured first current.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
further comprising identifying the phase delay, based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state where the external device is not in proximity and a first crossing point value of the measured first current (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-26; The first comparator (15) generates logical-1 output signals (S1) between the zero crossing (ZC) points of the coil current (I.sub.L) in the non-conduction (turned-on) times of the power switch (7) when the induction coil (4) transfers energy to the vessel (K) (Figure 4). The second comparator (16) generates logical-1 output signals (S2) in situations where the resonance voltage (Vce) is equalized with the DC-line voltage (Vdc) and turns to positive with respect to the DC-line voltage (Vdc) by comparing the resonance voltage (Vce) with the DC-line voltage (Vdc) (Figure 4). The AND gate (17) generates logical-1 output signal (S3) in the case when the output signals (S1, S2) of both the first comparator (15) and the second comparator (16) are logical-1 (Figure 5). The duration of the logical-1 output signal of the AND gate (17) is equal to the phase difference time (T) of the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce). The AND gate (17) generates logical-0 signal when the output signal of at least one of the first comparator (15) and the second comparator (16) is logical-0. The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 1-16; Figure 4 and 5 shows the phase delay is identified based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state where the external device is not in proximity and a first crossing point value of the measured first current). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify the phase delay, based on a difference between a second crossing point value of the second current in the first state detects the position of the vessel placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
Regarding claim 16, Seungbok teaches a method,
comprising outputting the first power for detecting the external device through the wireless power transmission circuit, based on a designated resonance frequency (The resonance current may be applied to the first working coil AWC1 and the second working coil AWC2 through the above configuration and the object disposed above the working coils may be inductively heated or may wirelessly receive the power; Paragraph [0186] Line 1-5; Accordingly, the controller 250 may adjust the frequency and the phase of each switching signal independently (i.e., through desynchronization) even if the power levels required by the respective objects are different from one another, thereby satisfying each of required power levels; Paragraph [0208] Line 1-6; Implementations according to this aspect may include one or more of the following features. For example, the controller may be configured to: based on a first object being disposed above the first group of working coils, adjust the first frequency and the first phase of the first switching signal to correspond to a first power level to be transmitted to the first object; and based on a second object being disposed above the second group of working coils, adjust the second frequency and the second phase of the second switching signal to correspond to a second power level to be transmitted to the second object; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-11).
Regarding claim 17, Seungbok teaches a method,
further comprising communicating with the external device in an in-band scheme or an out-band scheme (In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 4-8; a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc. is used for in-band or out-band scheme ) (In this case, the controller 250 may receive apparatus information related to the object through communication with the corresponding object seated in a driving area (i.e., above the working coil). The apparatus information received from the object may include, for example, object information on types of objects, the charging mode, and an amount of required power; Paragraph [0119] Line 1-7; Claim 29. The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the controller is configured to: based on portions of the object being disposed above the first working coil and the third working coil, synchronize the first frequency and the second frequency and synchronize the first phase and the second phase to correspond to a power level to be transmitted to the object; Frequency is used to communicate with the object and in-band, out-band uses the frequency to communicate with the external device).
Regarding claim 18, Seungbok teaches a method,
further comprising controlling an induction heater [a first working coil WC1 to a fourth working coil WC4] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may include a power source 100, a rectifier 150, a first inverter IV1, a second inverter IV2, a controller 250, a first working coil WC1 to a fourth working coil WC4, a first semiconductor switch S1 to a fourth semiconductor switch S4; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5; The controller 250 may control operations of the first inverter IV1 and the second inverter IV2 and the first semiconductor switch Si to the fourth semiconductor switch S4. In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 1-8; Further, a driving mode of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus, that is, an induction heating mode or a wireless power transmission mode may be controlled by the controller 250; Paragraph [0075] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, Seungbok teaches a method,
further comprising when an input for induction heating is received through an input interface [350] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may include an input interface 350; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-7) performing electromagnetic induction heating (The technology for transmitting the wireless power may use an electromagnetic induction method using a coil, a resonance method using resonance, and a radio wave radiation method in which electrical energy is converted into a microwave, and the converted microwave is transmitted; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-5) through the induction heater. (The input interface 350 may receive input from a user and may provide the controller 250 with the corresponding input; Paragraph [0109] Line 1-3; In detail, the input interface 350 is an inputter that inputs a heating intensity desired by the user or driving time of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus and may be variously implemented as a physical button or a touch panel; Paragraph [0110] Line 1-5; Based on the information from the input interface processor performs electromagnetic induction heating through the induction heater; The input interface 350 may also provide the controller 250 with the received input information and the controller 250 may variously drive the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus based on the input information received from the input interface 350; Paragraph [0112] Line 1-5).
Regarding claim 20, Seungbok teaches a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions configured to cause, when executed by at least one processor (an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus with improved object detection algorithms; Paragraph [0015] Line 1-3; FIG. 2 is a block diagram showing an example of an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus; Paragraph [0053] Line 1-3; The controller 250 may control operations of the first inverter IV1 and the second inverter IV2 and the first semiconductor switch Si to the fourth semiconductor switch S4. In some examples, the controller 250 may include at least one of an electric circuit, one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, or a communication device (e.g., a transducer, a modem, a Bluetooth device, a Wi-Fi device, etc.); Paragraph [0070] Line 1-8), the at least one processor [250] to perform at least one or more operations, wherein the at least one or more operations comprise:
outputting first power (That is, when the driving mode of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus is set as the wireless power transmission mode by the controller 250, at least one of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 is driven to wirelessly transmit the power to the object; Paragraph [0076] Line 1-6) for detecting an external device (object) through the wireless power transmission circuit [1] (Referring to FIG. 2, an induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-2; In detail, the power source 100 may output the AC power and may provide the AC power to the rectifier 150. For example, the power source 100 may be a commercial power source; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-4) (The number of working coils driven under the control of the controller 250 may also be determined and an amount of transmitted power or heating intensity of the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus may vary depending on the number of driven working coils; Paragraph [0078] Line 1-5; The controller 250 may detect the resonance current flowing through the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 and may determine, based on the detected value, which coil of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 the object is disposed; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-5),
measuring a first current flowing through a transmission coil of the wireless power
transmission circuit by using a current sensor while outputting the first power (The controller 250 may detect the resonance current flowing through the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 and may determine, based on the detected value, which coil of the first working coil WC1 to the fourth working coil WC4 the object is disposed; Paragraph [0080] Line 1-5);
identifying a first phase of a first current by measuring the first current flowing
through a transmission coil of the wireless power transmission circuit (In some implementations, the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus may include a controller configured to adjust a frequency and a phase of a switching signal provided to each of inverters based on the position of the object, thereby improving output control algorithms; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-6) using a current sensor [250] while outputting the first power (That is, as shown in FIG. 13, when the power levels required by the objects are different from one another and the object is disposed over a plurality of areas, the controller 250 may control the frequency and the phase of each of the switching signals to correspond to the power levels required by the objects as well as controlling the turn-on and the turn-off of each of the semiconductor switches with respect to the object requiring the high power level, thereby adjusting the output of each of the working coils; Paragraph [0243] Line 1-9),
in a first state where the external device is proximity, identify a phase
value (As described above, the induction heating and wireless power transmitting apparatus 1 may improve the output control algorithm by synchronizing or desynchronizing the frequencies and the phases of the switching signals provided to each inverter based on the position of the object. Further, through the improvement in output control algorithm, the heating efficiency or the wireless power transmission efficiency with respect to the object may be improved; Paragraph [0244] Line 1-8).
Seungbok fails to teach wherein in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identifying a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and identifying a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold, wherein the first state where the external device is in not proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is not on, not vertically above, or not near the induction device, and wherein the second state where the external device is in proximity corresponds to a state where the external device is on vertically above, or near the induction device.
Yilmaz teaches an induction heating cooktop wherein it is detected whether the vessel placed thereon is at the appropriate heating position (AN INDUCTION HEATING COOKTOP; Page 2 Line 1-2),
in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identify a phase
delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current (The induction heating cooktop (1) of the present invention comprises a current detection circuit (12) situated in the resonant circuit (6), connected in series to the induction coil (4), that converts the coil current (I L ) transferred from the induction coil (4) to the vessel (K) into voltage data in the non-conduction times wherein the power switch (7) is in the turned-on position and provides the coil current (I L ) to be monitored and the control unit (11) that determines whether or not the vessel (K) is present on the induction coil (4) or whether
alignment of the vessel (K) on the induction coil (4) is appropriate by comparing the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I L ), converted into voltage data received from the current detection circuit (12) and the resonance voltage (Vce) generated on the collector node (9) with a threshold phase difference time (Tthreshold) recorded in its memory; Page 5 Line 13-21),
and
identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the
identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold (The control unit (11) detects the coil current (I.sub.L) in the resonant circuit (6) as converted into voltage data by means of the current detection circuit (12), and calculates the phase difference time (T) between the coil current (I.sub.L) and the resonance voltage (Vce) during the non-conduction times of the power switch (7) by comparing with the resonance voltage (Vce). The control unit (11) decides that the vessel (K) has been “slid” or “lifted” from over the induction coil (4) depending on the phase difference time (T) and interrupts current transmission to the induction coil (4); Page 5 Line 22-27; The control unit (11) determines that the vessel (K) is not present on the induction coil (4) or the vessel (K) is not appropriately aligned on the induction coil (4), in other words, that the vessel (K) is “slid” or “lifted”, if the logical-1 output signal time (T) of the AND gate (17) is smaller than the threshold signal time (T-threshold) (T < T-threshold) recorded in its memory and interrupts the current of the induction coil (4); Page 6 Line 13-16). The purpose of doing so is to detect the position of the vessel as the external device placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Seungbok in view of Yilmaz, because Yilmaz teaches to identify a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and to identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold detect the position of the vessel as the external device placed on the induction coil precisely under variable mains input voltage and temperature conditions (Page 3 Line 5-6) and to heat cookware efficiently, to properly detect sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop and to prevent damage of the electronic circuit controlling the induction coil if sliding or lifting of the cookware from the cooktop (Page 2 Line 21-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
PARK et al. (US 20170141604 A1) discloses, “WIRELESS POWER TRANSFER METHOD, APPARATUS AND SYSTEM- [0001] The present disclosure relates to a wireless power reception method, a wireless power reception apparatus, and a wireless charging system in a wireless power transmission and reception field. [0013] There is provided a foreign object detection method of a wireless power transmitter formed to transmit power to a wireless power receiver in a wireless manner, and the method may include acquiring the frequency characteristics of a current flowing through a coil within the wireless power transmitter for a predetermined period of time, detecting a peak frequency corresponding to a peak value using the acquired frequency characteristics, and comparing the peak frequency with a resonant frequency of the wireless power transmitter, and detecting whether or not the foreign object is placed on the transmitter through the comparison. [0067] Referring to FIG. 1, the wireless power transmitter 100 may be a power transfer apparatus configured to transfer power required for the wireless power receiver 200 in a wireless manner. [0068] Furthermore, the wireless power transmitter 100 may be a wireless charging apparatus configured to charge a battery of the wireless power receiver 200 by transferring power in a wireless manner. A case where the wireless power transmitter 100 is a wireless charging apparatus will be described later with reference to FIG. 9. [0073] On the other hand, the wireless power transmitter 100 may transfer power in a wireless manner without mutual contact to the wireless power receiver 200 using one or more wireless power transfer methods. In other words, the wireless power transmitter 100 may transfer power using at least one of an inductive coupling method based on magnetic induction phenomenon by the wireless power signal and a magnetic resonance coupling method based on electromagnetic resonance phenomenon by a wireless power signal at a specific frequency-However Park does not disclose identify a first phase of a first current by measuring the first current flowing through a transmission coil of the wireless power transmission circuit using the current sensor while outputting the first power, in a first state where the external device is not in proximity, identify a phase delay value between the first phase of the first current and a second phase of a second current, and identify a second state where the external device is in proximity when the identified phase delay value is equal to or greater than a designated threshold.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858