DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Yamamoto does not disclose the limitations as presented in claims 1 and 12-13. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses a control apparatus as claimed including calculate, as a fluctuation amount of the rotational position information, fluctuation data indicating a periodic fluctuation component of the rotational position information based on the shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate a relationship between the initial position deviation and the position feedback controllability in this embodiment; The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084), calculate a center value of the fluctuation amount (the rotation position can be detected with a position resolution of 0 to 1023 (1024 counts) when each of two sensor signals outputs one wavelength of a sine wave; see at least paragraph 0045), and set an origin for coordinates of the rotational position information according to a difference between the calculated center value of the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information and the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032. Yamamoto also discloses that First, the initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 calculates the initial position deviation in step S1002. The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084). The applicant should note that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim language therefore does not patentably distinguish over the applied reference[s], and the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2021/0367539).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses a control apparatus comprising:
a memory storing instructions (The storage medium may include, for example, one or more of a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD)™), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like; see at least paragraph 0125); and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to (The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions; see at least paragraph 0125):
generate target position information on a motor (The driving waveform generator 13 is configured to generate a waveform of a driving voltage applied to the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0030),
acquire rotational position information on the motor (The rotation position detector 12 is configured to detect a rotation position of the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0029),
generate a drive signal of the motor according to a shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (The initial target rotation position NO is a rotation position in the CW direction slightly more than the rotation position where the above-described stopper and the contact portion come into contact with each other, and the position feedback control starts from a rotation position that is shifted by initial position deviations of a, b, c, and d in the CCW direction from the initial target rotation position NO; see at least paragraph 0079),
calculate, as a fluctuation amount of the rotational position information, fluctuation data indicating a periodic fluctuation component of the rotational position information based on the shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate a relationship between the initial position deviation and the position feedback controllability in this embodiment; The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084),
calculate a center value of the fluctuation amount (the rotation position can be detected with a position resolution of 0 to 1023 (1024 counts) when each of two sensor signals outputs one wavelength of a sine wave; see at least paragraph 0045), and
set an origin for coordinates of the rotational position information according to a difference between the calculated center value of the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information and the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032. Yamamoto also discloses that First, the initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 calculates the initial position deviation in step S1002. The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate the drive signal using a target lead angle generated according to the shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (The controller 16 is configured to determine an output control amount by inputting a position deviation which is a difference between the actual rotation position of the motor 11 detected by the rotation position detector 12 and the target rotation position at the time of the detection, and to assign the output control amount to each of the driving waveform generator 13 and the voltage gain setter 14; see at least paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate the drive signal using a drive counter generated by superimposing the target lead angle on the rotational position information 9 The driving waveform generator 13 may include a synchronization unit configured to synchronize a phase of the actual rotation position detected by the rotation position detector 12, i.e., a mechanical angle, and a phase of the driving waveform generated by the driving waveform generator 13, i.e., an electric angle, and a phase difference setter configured to hold a predetermined phase difference between the actual rotation position and the driving waveform when the phase is synchronized by the synchronization unit; see at least paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate two-phase drive signals that shift from each other by 90° from each other using angle information on the drive counter (The phase difference corresponds to an advance angle, and if the phase of the driving waveform is advanced by 90 degrees with respect to the rotation position at a time of driving start of the motor 11, maximum torque can be generated in the motor 11.; see at least paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to: acquire two-phase signals that are output from a pair of Hall sensors and shift from each other by 90° according to rotation of the motor, and generate the rotational position information using the two-phase signals (the detection signals from the Hall elements 105 and 106 have a relationship of having a phase difference of 90 degrees with each other; and FIG. 6A indicates a case where the table number is counted in a plus direction, the B-phase waveform precedes the A-phase waveform by 90 degrees, and the stepping motor 101 rotates in a clockwise (CW) direction; see at least paragraphs 0038 and 0055).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the rotational position information periodically fluctuates according to rotation of the motor (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032), and wherein the center value is an intermediate value of a maximum value and a minimum value of the fluctuation amount in one cycle of periodic fluctuation (ach of FIGS. 6A and 6B illustrates a relationship between the count value of the electric angle of each of the A and B phases and the PWM instruction value. In each of FIGS. 6A and 6B, a horizontal axis indicates a table number and has resolution of 1024 counts as in the driving waveform of FIG. 4E; see at least paragraph 0054; figures 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to acquire two-phase signals that are output from a pair of Hall sensors and shift from each other by 90° according to rotation of the motor, wherein the rotational position information periodically fluctuates according to rotation of the motor, and wherein periodic fluctuation is in synchronization with a phase of the two-phase signals (The driving waveform generator 13 may include a synchronization unit configured to synchronize a phase of the actual rotation position detected by the rotation position detector 12, i.e., a mechanical angle, and a phase of the driving waveform generated by the driving waveform generator 13, i.e., an electric angle, and a phase difference setter configured to hold a predetermined phase difference between the actual rotation position and the driving waveform when the phase is synchronized by the synchronization unit; see at least paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the rotational position information periodically fluctuates according to rotation of the motor, and wherein periodic fluctuation is in synchronization with a rotation position of the motor (The driving waveform generator 13 may include a synchronization unit configured to synchronize a phase of the actual rotation position detected by the rotation position detector 12, i.e., a mechanical angle, and a phase of the driving waveform generated by the driving waveform generator 13, i.e., an electric angle, and a phase difference setter configured to hold a predetermined phase difference between the actual rotation position and the driving waveform when the phase is synchronized by the synchronization unit; see at least paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 10, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is connected to:
a movable member movable according to rotation of the motor (The rotation position detector 12 is configured to detect a rotation position of the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0029), and
a detector configured to output a reference signal indicating a reference position set on the moving member (The rotation position detector 12 is configured to detect a rotation position of the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0029), and
wherein the processor is configured to:
set the origin for the rotational position information based on acquisition of the reference signal (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032),
select open control during setting of the origin for the rotational position information (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts: see at least paragraph 0032), and
select lead angle control after the origin for the rotational position information is set (The controller 16 starts the position feedback control on the motor 11 after processing is performed by the initial position deviation adjustment unit 17; see at least paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 11, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to set the origin for the rotational position information to coincide with the origin for the target position information (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation”; see at least paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 12, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses image pickup apparatus comprising:
a control apparatus (The motor control apparatus is configured to perform position feedback control on a motor 11 so that an actual rotation position of the motor 11 (hereinafter simply referred to as an “actual rotation position”) sequentially approaches a predetermined plurality of target rotation positions; see at least paragraph 0026);
a motor (101);
a lens configured to move according to rotation of the motor (see at least paragraph 0060); and
a position detector configured to detect a position of the lens (detection unit 12),
wherein the position detector detects a reference position set for the lens ( The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter; see at least paragraph 0032),
the control apparatus includes:
a memory storing instructions (The storage medium may include, for example, one or more of a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD)™), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like; see at least paragraph 0125); and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to (The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions; see at least paragraph 0125):
generate target position information on a motor (The driving waveform generator 13 is configured to generate a waveform of a driving voltage applied to the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0030),
acquire rotational position information on the motor (The rotation position detector 12 is configured to detect a rotation position of the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0029),
generate a drive signal of the motor according to a shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (The initial target rotation position NO is a rotation position in the CW direction slightly more than the rotation position where the above-described stopper and the contact portion come into contact with each other, and the position feedback control starts from a rotation position that is shifted by initial position deviations of a, b, c, and d in the CCW direction from the initial target rotation position NO; see at least paragraph 0079), and
calculate, as a fluctuation amount of the rotational position information, fluctuation data indicating a periodic fluctuation component of the rotational position information based on the shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate a relationship between the initial position deviation and the position feedback controllability in this embodiment; The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084),
calculate a center value of the fluctuation amount (the rotation position can be detected with a position resolution of 0 to 1023 (1024 counts) when each of two sensor signals outputs one wavelength of a sine wave; see at least paragraph 0045), and
set an origin for coordinates of the rotational position information according to a difference between the calculated center value of the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information and the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032. Yamamoto also discloses that First, the initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 calculates the initial position deviation in step S1002. The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 13, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses a motor control method comprises the steps of:
generating target position information on a motor (The driving waveform generator 13 is configured to generate a waveform of a driving voltage applied to the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0030),
acquiring rotational position information on the motor (The rotation position detector 12 is configured to detect a rotation position of the motor 11; see at least paragraph 0029),
generating a drive signal of the motor according to a shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (The initial target rotation position NO is a rotation position in the CW direction slightly more than the rotation position where the above-described stopper and the contact portion come into contact with each other, and the position feedback control starts from a rotation position that is shifted by initial position deviations of a, b, c, and d in the CCW direction from the initial target rotation position NO; see at least paragraph 0079), and
calculate, as a fluctuation amount of the rotational position information, fluctuation data indicating a periodic fluctuation component of the rotational position information based on the shift amount between the target position information and the rotational position information (FIGS. 9A and 9B illustrate a relationship between the initial position deviation and the position feedback controllability in this embodiment; The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084),
calculate a center value of the fluctuation amount (the rotation position can be detected with a position resolution of 0 to 1023 (1024 counts) when each of two sensor signals outputs one wavelength of a sine wave; see at least paragraph 0045), and
set an origin for coordinates of the rotational position information according to a difference between the calculated center value of the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information and the fluctuation amount of the rotational position information (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032. Yamamoto also discloses that First, the initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 calculates the initial position deviation in step S1002. The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 13, Yamamoto (figures 1-10) discloses wherein the processor is configured to calculate correction data corresponding to the difference between the calculated center value and the fluctuation amount, and set the origin for the coordinates of the rotational position information using the correction data (The initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 is configured to control the motor 11 so that a position deviation before control on the motor 11 starts, which will be referred to as an “initial position deviation” hereinafter, is within a predetermined range; see at least paragraph 0032. Yamamoto also discloses that First, the initial position deviation adjustment unit 17 calculates the initial position deviation in step S1002. The initial position deviation is calculated as a difference between the initial target rotation position NO and the current actual rotation position. The initial target rotation position NO is an initial target rotation position in the target rotation position information having been used in the control on the stepping motor 101 at the time of the previous exposure; see at least paragraph 0084).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871