Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remark entered on October 2, 2025.
Claims 1, 4-9, 13 & 15-26 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 2-3, 10-12 & 14 are cancelled.
Claims 20-26 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 10/02/2025, pages 9-11, regarding the rejection of claim 19 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The claim is still directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream, which is a product by process claim, and is anticipated by Segall. Therefore the rejection of claim 19 is maintained under 35 USC 102(a)(1).
Applicant's remarks filed 10/02/2025, pages 11-12, regarding the rejection of claims 1, 13 & 19 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Segall (US 2017/0318312 A1) (hereinafter Segall) in view of Zhang et al., “CE4-related: History-based Motion Vector Prediction,” JVET of ITU-T SG16 WP3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11th Meeting, 10-18 July 2018, JVET-K0104 (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of Seregin et al. (US 2013/0272413 A1) (hereinafter Seregin) as outlined below.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Examiner’s previously-cited references do not show the Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations, the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of claim 1, 13 & 19 below, wherein Applicant’s newly-recited limitations are addressed by Seregin for the reasons as outlined below.
Applicant’s remarks filed 10/02/2025, page 12, with respect to the rejection of claims 4-9 & 15-18 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant relies on the patentability of the claims from which these claims depend to traverse the rejection without prejudice to any further basis for patentability of these claims based on the additional elements recited.
Examiner cannot concur with the Applicant because the combination of Segall, Zhang, and Seregin teach independent claims 1, 13 & 19 as outlined below. Thus, claims 4-9 & 15-18 are also rejected for the similar reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Segall (US 2017/0318312 A1) (hereinafter Segall).
Regarding claim 19, “non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream,” that is utilized by the method of claim 1… is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.” Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps. “To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated.” MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed, “non-transitory computer-readable recording medium,” merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a claimed bitstream in claim 19 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Segall which recites in Paragraph [0012]-[0017] of a memory buffer as the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream, wherein bitstream 100 includes motion vector competition control parameter, as information about prediction of the current block.
Dependent claim 22 falls accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 13 & 15-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Segall (US 2017/0318312 A1) (hereinafter Segall) in view of Zhang et al., “CE4-related: History-based Motion Vector Prediction,” JVET of ITU-T SG16 WP3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11th Meeting, 10-18 July 2018, JVET-K0104 (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of Seregin et al. (US 2013/0272413 A1) (hereinafter Seregin).
Regarding claim 1, Segall discloses a method of decoding an image [Abstract, method for decoding video], the method comprising:
deriving a first candidate list for a current block using previously reconstructed motion information; deriving a second candidate list for the current block using the first candidate list, wherein the previously reconstructed motion information is added to the first candidate list [Paragraph [0014], Two lists of motion vectors are merged to create single list as second candidate list, wherein one list of motion vectors from previous blocks in a previously transmitted frame as the first candidate list].
However, Segall does not explicitly disclose the first candidate list for a current block using previously reconstructed motion information; the previously reconstructed motion information is motion information of a coding block decoded immediately before decoding of the current block.
Zhang teaches the first candidate list for a current block using previously reconstructed motion information; the previously reconstructed motion information is motion information of a coding block decoded immediately before decoding of the current block [Pgs. 2-3, Figs. 2-3, decoded history-based MVP, as previously reconstructed motion information, are re-inserted into motion table].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
However, neither Segall nor Zhang teach or suggest the first candidate list is shared with blocks in a region comprising the current block, the number of rows of the blocks in the region is greater than or equal to 2, and the number of columns of the blocks in the region is greater than or equal to 2.
Seregin teaches or suggests the first candidate list is shared with blocks in a region comprising the current block, the number of rows of the blocks in the region is greater than or equal to 2, and the number of columns of the blocks in the region is greater than or equal to 2 [Paragraphs [0078], video encoder 20 or video decoder 30, may identify a common set of spatial candidate blocks for all blocks within a PME region for which motion information prediction is performed, e.g., including for Block 1 and Block 2 of PME region 40A in FIG. 2A. According to the techniques of this disclosure, to construct the motion information candidate list for one or more of the video blocks in the PME region, the video coder may evaluate the motion information of one or more of the common set of candidate blocks].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the motion information derivation for PME regions in Seregin, to further improve coding efficiency and speed, it has been proposed that various aspects of the video coding process, e.g., motion estimation, motion compensation, transformation, quantization, and entropy coding, may be performed for a plurality of video blocks by a video coder in parallel. In order to facilitate such parallelization, a video coder may include a plurality of parallel processing units, which may be separate hardware and/or software units, which may perform such coding stages in a pipeline fashion, e.g., by processing a plurality of blocks concurrently at each stage using the plurality of parallel processing units (Seregin, Paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches of further comprising: initializing the second candidate list, wherein the first candidate list is initialized based on a boundary of a coding tree unit (CTU) row [Pgs. 2, Fig. 2, Initializing the first candidate list by emptying the candidate list when a new slice is encountered, wherein a new slice includes a boundary with a CTU row].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claim 5, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches of further comprising: when the number of pieces of motion information included in the first candidate list is a predetermined value, deleting motion information included in the first candidate list first among the pieces of motion information included in the first candidate list [Pgs. 1-3, Fig. 2-3, Predetermined number of pieces of motion information included in second candidate list is ‘L’ or 16; by First-In First-Out, an entry of motion information is removed before a new motion information is added].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claim 6, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 5, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches wherein the previously reconstructed motion information is added in a next order of motion information included in the first candidate list last [Pgs. 1-3, Fig. 2-3, By First-In First-Out, an entry of motion information is removed before a new motion information is added at the last entry position].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claim 7, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches of further comprising: when same motion information as the previously reconstructed motion information is already included in the first candidate list, deleting the same motion information from the first candidate list [Pgs. 1-3, Fig. 2-3, Constrained First-In First-Out rule applied, where redundancy check is applied to find identical HMVPs, and if found, are removed].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claim 8, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 7, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches wherein the previously reconstructed motion information is added in a next order of motion information included in the first candidate list last [Pgs. 1-3, Fig. 2-3, By First-In First-Out, an entry of motion information is removed before a new motion information is added at the last entry position].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claim 9, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches wherein a maximum number of pieces of motion information capable of being included in the first candidate list is predetermined [Pgs. 1-3, Fig. 2-3, Predetermined number of pieces of motion information included in second candidate list is set as ‘L’ or 16; and thus maximum number of being included is set as ‘L’ or 16].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claims (13, 15-18), claims (13, 15-18) are drawn to a method of encoding an image, having limitations reciprocal to the method of decoding the same as claimed in claims (1, 4-5, 7, and 9) treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claims (13, 15-18) corresponds to method claims (1, 4-5, 7, and 9) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Segall discloses of a method of encoding [Paragraph [0011], Encoder for encoding motion vectors and video data].
Regarding claim (19 & 22), non-transitory computer-readable recording medium claim (19 & 22) corresponds to method claim (1 & 20), and therefore are also rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Furthermore, Segall discloses of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream generated by a processor performing a method to generate the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium [Paragraph [0012]-[0017], memory buffer as non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing bitstream].
Regarding claim 20, Segall, Zhang, and Seregin disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches wherein the first candidate list is updated only after predictions for all blocks in the region are completed [Pgs. 2, Fig. 2, Initializing the first candidate list by emptying the candidate list when a new slice is encountered, wherein a new slice includes a boundary with a CTU row].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Segall to incorporate and implement the history-based motion vector prediction features in Zhang, to improve the coding efficiency of MVP while there is no line buffer increased, and keeping the computational complexity very low (Zhang, 4 Conclusions).
Regarding claim (23-24), non-transitory computer-readable recording medium claim (23-24) corresponds to method claim (1 & 20), and therefore is also rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Regarding claims (25-26), method claim (25-26) recites similar and reciprocal limitations similar to method claims (1 & 20) of the same. Therefore method claim (25-26) corresponds to method claims (1 & 20) and are also rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487