Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
On line 6 of paragraph [0007], “and a algorithm” should be “and an algorithm.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 5 of claim 1, “and a algorithm” should be “and an algorithm.”
On line 5 of claim 1, “algorithm learning AI” should be “algorithm learning Artificial Intelligence (AI).”
On line 5 of claim 1, wherein should be followed by a colon.
On line 6 of claim 1, “FFT” should be “Fast Fourier Transformation (FFT).”
On line 19 of claim 1, the comma after “and” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotake et al. (US 2017/0307648) in view of Stock-Williams et al. (Wind Field Reconstruction from LiDAR Measurements at High-frequency Using Machine Learning- cited by Applicant). With respect to independent claim 1, Kotake discloses a laser radar device that scans a laser beam and measures a wind speed field of observation environment (Abstract and Fig. 3), further comprising a signal processor (Abstract, [0053], and Fig. 3; signal analyzing unit 12) including a spectrum conversion processor (Abstract, [0053]-[0055], and Fig. 3; fast Fourier transform (FFT) unit 122), an integration processor (Abstract, [0053], [0056], and Fig. 3; incoherent integration unit 123), and a wind speed field calculator (Abstract, [0053], [0057], and Fig. 3; line-of-sight wind velocity calculating unit 124), wherein:
the spectrum conversion processor performs Fast Fourier Transformation (FFT) processing on a beat signal that is a time-series digital signal, and generates spectrum data (Abstract, [0053]-[0055], and Fig. 3; fast Fourier transform (FFT) unit 122),
the integration processor performs integration processing on the spectrum data (Abstract, [0053], [0056], and Fig. 3; incoherent integration unit 123), and
the wind speed field calculator calculates the wind speed field by referring to information on data processed by the integration processor (Abstract, [0053], [0057], and Fig. 3; line-of-sight wind velocity calculating unit 124).
Regarding claim 1, Kotake discloses a laser radar device comprising a signal processor wherein the signal processor further comprises a wind velocity calculating unit which calculates 3D wind speed based on the Doppler speed calculated by the line-of-sight wind velocity calculating unit (Abstract, [0053], [0058], and Fig. 3; wind velocity calculating unit 125). However, Kotake fails to expressly disclose wherein the signal processor comprises an algorithm learning Artificial Intelligence (AI), as instantly claimed. Stock-Williams teaches a laser radar device comprising algorithm learning AI (Abstract). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider employing an algorithm learning AI for laser radar devices as taught by Stock-Williams in the laser radar device disclosed by Kotake since it amounts to nothing more than the combination of a known component of a laser radar device for measuring wind to a known laser radar device for measuring wind, as it has been taught "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results... [W]hen a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR at 1395-66 (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro. Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). Furthermore, the wind velocity calculating unit disclosed by Kotake depends upon line-of-sight data, which is limited by blind areas in the observation area. The algorithm learning AI taught by Stock-Williams solves this specific problem; wind velocity calculations are performed despite blind areas by interpolating the known, measured data (Abstract). As such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider incorporating the algorithm learning AI taught by Stock-Williams in the laser radar device disclosed by Kotake since it would enable the laser radar device to measure wind speed even in blind areas.
Further regarding claim 1, the combination of Kotake and Stock-Williams teaches wherein: the algorithm learning AI includes a trained artificial intelligence, and interpolates an observation result by referring to information on the wind speed field (Abstract), the wind speed field calculator calculates information on a structure in the observation environment in addition to the information on the wind speed field (Abstract and Section 1), and
the algorithm learning AI interpolates an observation point, even if the point to be interpolated is a blind spot of the structure in the observation environment (Abstract).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotake et al. (US 2017/0307648- cited above) in view of Stock-Williams et al. (Wind Field Reconstruction from LiDAR Measurements at High-frequency Using Machine Learning- cited above), as evidenced by Wang et al. (US 2023/0135234).
With respect to depending claim 2, the combination of Kotake and Stock-Williams teaches a laser radar device comprises an algorithm learning AI which includes a trained artificial intelligence (Abstract). Although the combination fails to recite wherein the trained artificial intelligence is “a neural network,” as instantly claimed, the Office considers it standard and well-known in the art of algorithm learning AI that trained artificial intelligence may be a neural network, as evidenced by Wang (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu et al. (US 11,789,034) teaches a laser radar device for measuring wind speed comprising employing artificial intelligence such as a neural network.
/AVI T SKAIST/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674