DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 06/14/2024. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign application number CN: 202111630318.4 filed on 12/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalva (US 2024/0114185) in view of Peng (US 2021/0067773).
Regarding claim 1, Kalva discloses the following claim limitations: a loop filtering method, comprising: (Kalva, paragraph 68 discloses in-loop filter method),
obtaining, by an electronic device, semantic block information of a picture to be filtered (Kalva, paragraph 55 discloses identification of first region may be performed by receiving semantic information regarding one or more blocks and/or portions of frame and using semantic information to identify blocks and/or portions of frame for inclusion in first region).
Kalva does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations: determining, based on the semantic block information, at least one semantic block comprised in the picture to be filtered; and performing, for each semantic block by using a filter corresponding to the semantic block, loop filtering processing on a first reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, to obtain a second reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block.
However, in the same field of endeavor Peng discloses more explicitly the following:
determining, based on the semantic block information, at least one semantic block comprised in the picture to be filtered; and performing, for each semantic block by using a filter corresponding to the semantic block, loop filtering processing on a first reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, to obtain a second reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block (Peng paragraph 39 discloses the deblocking filtering unit 304 can selectively perform the deblocking filtering operation on the current block of the reconstructed frame according to the semantic information in the PPS and the slice header to generate a deblocked frame. The deblocking process performed by the deblocking filtering unit 304 corresponds to the deblocking process of the deblocking unit 205 of the video encoding circuit 111).
It would have been obvious to one the ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Kalva with Peng to create obtaining semantic information of a picture with the filtering method of Peng.
The reasoning being is to provide a video system for improving deblocking performance (Peng, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 2, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the semantic block information comprises first size information, and the determining, based on the semantic block information, at least one semantic block comprised in the picture to be filtered comprises: obtaining at least one picture block by partitioning the picture to be filtered, wherein a size of the picture block is the same as a size represented by the first size information; and determining the picture block as the semantic block (Kalva, paragraph 67 discloses video encoder 500 may receive an input video 504, which may be initially segmented or dividing according to a processing scheme, such as a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme (e.g., quad-tree plus binary tree). An example of a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme may include partitioning a picture frame into large block elements called coding tree units (CTU).
Regarding claim 3, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the semantic block information further comprises second size information associated with a first picture block, and after the obtaining at least one picture block, the method further comprises: obtaining sub-blocks by partitioning the first picture block, wherein a size of the sub-block is greater than or equal to a size represented by the second size information; and determining the sub-block as the semantic block (Kalva, paragraph 67 discloses video encoder 500 may receive an input video 504, which may be initially segmented or dividing according to a processing scheme, such as a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme (e.g., quad-tree plus binary tree). An example of a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme may include partitioning a picture frame into large block elements called coding tree units (CTU).
Regarding claim 4, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the semantic block information further comprises N-branch tree partition manner associated with the first picture block, and the obtaining sub-blocks by partitioning the first picture block comprises: partitioning the first picture block by using the N-branch tree partition manner until a partition depth corresponding to the sub-block obtained by partition is the same as a preset partition depth (Kalva, paragraph 67 discloses video encoder 500 may receive an input video 504, which may be initially segmented or dividing according to a processing scheme, such as a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme (e.g., quad-tree plus binary tree). An example of a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme may include partitioning a picture frame into large block elements called coding tree units (CTU).
Regarding claim 5, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the electronic device is a decoding end, the obtaining semantic block information of a picture to be filtered comprises: obtaining a semantic information bitstream, wherein the semantic information bitstream is a data stream encoding semantic block information of an original picture corresponding to the picture to be filtered; and parsing the semantic information bitstream to obtain semantic block information of the picture to be filtered (Kalva, paragraph 55 discloses identification of first region may be performed by receiving semantic information regarding one or more blocks and/or portions of frame and using semantic information to identify blocks and/or portions of frame for inclusion in first region… Peng paragraph 39 discloses the deblocking filtering unit 304 can selectively perform the deblocking filtering operation on the current block of the reconstructed frame according to the semantic information in the PPS and the slice header to generate a deblocked frame. The deblocking process performed by the deblocking filtering unit 304 corresponds to the deblocking process of the deblocking unit 205 of the video encoding circuit 111).
Regarding claim 6, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the electronic device is an encoding end, the obtaining semantic block information of a picture to be filtered comprises: obtaining an original picture, wherein the original picture is a picture obtained in a case that the picture to be filtered is not preprocessed; and performing semantic segmentation processing on the original picture to determine semantic block information of the original picture, wherein the semantic block information of the original picture is the same as the semantic block information of the picture to be filtered (Kalva, paragraph 67 discloses FIG. 5 is a system block diagram illustrating an example video encoder 500 capable of adaptive cropping. Example video encoder 500 may receive an input video 504, which may be initially segmented or dividing according to a processing scheme, such as a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme (e.g., quad-tree plus binary tree). An example of a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme may include partitioning a picture frame into large block elements called coding tree units (CTU). In some implementations, each CTU may be further partitioned one or more times into a number of sub-blocks called coding units (CU). A final result of this portioning may include a group of sub-blocks that may be called predictive units (PU). Transform units (TU) may also be utilized).
Regarding claim 7, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing, by using a filter corresponding to the semantic block, loop filtering processing on a first reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, to obtain a second reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block comprises: performing, by using a first target filter, loop filtering processing on a first reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, to obtain a second reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, wherein the first target filter is associated with the picture to be filtered (Peng paragraph 37 discloses the video decoder 120 includes the video decoding circuit 121, an in-loop filtering unit 303 and a picture buffering unit 306. The video decoding circuit 121 may comply with HEVC or H.265 standard. The video decoding circuit 121 generates a reconstructed frame according to the encoded stream VF2. The in-loop filtering unit 303, for example, includes a deblocking filtering unit (which may be implemented as a deblocking filtering circuit) 304 and a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering unit 305. The deblocking filtering unit (which may be implemented as a deblocking filtering circuit) 304 performs a deblocking process on the reconstructed frame to generate a deblocked frame).
Regarding claim 13, Kalva and Peng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining semantic block information of a picture to be filtered comprises: obtaining a filter identifier corresponding to the picture to be filtered; and in a case that the filter identifier is a preset identifier, obtaining the semantic block information of the picture to be filtered (Peng paragraph 39 discloses the deblocking filtering unit 304 can selectively perform the deblocking filtering operation on the current block of the reconstructed frame according to the semantic information in the PPS and the slice header to generate a deblocked frame. The deblocking process performed by the deblocking filtering unit 304 corresponds to the deblocking process of the deblocking unit 205 of the video encoding circuit 111).
With regard to claim 16, claim 16 lists all the same features and elements to claim 1 as outlined above. Therefore, the same rationale that was utilized in claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 16. In addition, Kalva, paragraph Kalva, paragraph 77 discloses machine-readable storage medium may be any medium that is capable of storing and/or encoding a sequence of instructions for execution by a machine.
Regarding claim 17, Kalva and Peng discloses the terminal according to claim 16, wherein the semantic block information comprises first size information, and when determining, based on the semantic block information, at least one semantic block comprised in the picture to be filtered, the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to perform: obtaining at least one picture block by partitioning the picture to be filtered, wherein a size of the picture block is the same as a size represented by the first size information; and determining the picture block as the semantic block (Kalva, paragraph 67 discloses video encoder 500 may receive an input video 504, which may be initially segmented or dividing according to a processing scheme, such as a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme (e.g., quad-tree plus binary tree). An example of a tree-structured macro block partitioning scheme may include partitioning a picture frame into large block elements called coding tree units (CTU).
With regard to claim 18, claim 18 lists all the same features and elements to claim 1 as outlined above. Therefore, the same rationale that was utilized in claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 18. In addition, Kalva, paragraph 74 discloses non-transitory computer program.
Regarding claim 19, Kalva and Peng discloses a chip, comprising a processor and a communications interface, wherein the communications interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction to implement steps of the loop filtering method according to claim 1 (Kalva, paragraph 65 discloses a processor)
Regarding claim 20, Kalva and Peng discloses a computer program product, wherein the computer program product is stored in a non-volatile storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor to implement steps of the loop filtering method according to claim 1 (Kalva, paragraph 77 discloses machine-readable storage medium may be any medium that is capable of storing and/or encoding a sequence of instructions for execution by a machine).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant claimed distinct features which include “wherein before the performing, for each semantic block by using a filter corresponding to the semantic block, loop filtering processing on a first reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, to obtain a second reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, the method further comprises: obtaining scenario information corresponding to the picture to be filtered and a semantic type and position information corresponding to each semantic block; and determining a filter and a first reconstruction value corresponding to the semantic block, wherein the filter is determined based on the scenario information and the semantic type, and the first reconstruction value is a reconstruction value of a pixel represented by the position information in the picture to be filtered”.
Conclusion
/JERRY T JEAN BAPTISTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481