DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheal et al. (US 2012/0323244; “Cheal”).
Claim 21, Cheal discloses a system (Fig. 1) for use in orthopedic surgery on a bone (abstract), the system comprising: a cut guide (Fig. 2; 52, 54) configured to be positioned adjacent the bone (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]), the cut guide comprising a guide body (52, 54) configured to be coupled to the bone (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]), the guide body having bone-facing surface (Fig. 2; surface facing the bone) and a guide member (54) configured to guide a cutting tool along a planned planar cutting trajectory (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]); wherein the cut guide includes a reconfigurable landing member (paragraph [0042]; the connection pieces between the robot arm and the guide that help rotate the guide and/or the part that connects to the bone coming off of part 52) configured to position the cut guide adjacent the bone (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]), wherein the reconfigurable landing member comprises a structure separate from the guide body and fixable with the guide body so as to couple the guide body adjacent the bone (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0042]-[0044]); a processing device (Fig. 1; 100) including cut guide positioning planning instructions stored therein to generate a cut guide positioning plan (paragraphs [0044]-[0072]), wherein the cut guide positioning plan is generated at least in part using a bone model (paragraphs [0044]-[0072]); a computer-controlled robotic arm (50) configured to assist an operator in positioning the cut guide adjacent the bone based on the cut guide positioning plan (paragraphs [0038]-[0045]); a communication interface (30) configured to display a real time perioperative target bone representation and the planned planar cutting trajectory of the bone (paragraphs [0051]-[0072]).
Claim 22, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the guide body is configured to provide a secure attachment of the cut guide to the bone during performance of at least one bone cut (Fig. 2; paragraph [0048]).
Claim 23, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the bone model includes a data set representing a bone having an anatomical origin comparable to the bone to be altered by the system (paragraphs [0046]-[0048]).
Claim 24, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, further comprising a coupling receptacle preparation tool (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]; the saw prepares the bone for receiving the implant) configured to be operated manually by the operator to create a plurality of receptacles on the bone (Figs. 1-5; paragraphs [0042] and [0055]).
Claim 25, Cheal discloses the system of claim 24, wherein the cut guide is configured to conform to the bone (Fig. 2).
Claim 26, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the processing device further includes a surgical planning module (paragraph [0038]) configured to generate a surgical plan for altering at least a portion of the bone when the cut guide is positioned adjacent the bone (paragraphs [0038], [0045], and [0047]).
Claim 27, Cheal discloses the system of claim 26, wherein the cutting tool is configured to be positioned within the guide member for resecting the bone based on the surgical plan (paragraphs [0042]; [0045], and [0047]).
Claim 28, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the guide body is configured to be adjustably coupled to the bone using pins (Fig. 2; you could put a pin through the slot 54 if desired).
Claim 29, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the bone model is one of a parametric model, a statistical model, or a statistical shape model (paragraphs [0046]-[0048]).
Claim 30, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the bone model is generated using two-dimensional image data of the bone (paragraphs [0046]-[0048] and [0062]-[0069]).
Claim 31, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the bone is a femur (abstract; paragraphs [0001]-[0003]).
Claim 32, Cheal discloses the system of claim 31, wherein the planned planar cutting trajectory corresponds to a distal femur cut in a total knee arthroplasty procedure (paragraphs [0001]-[0003]).
Claim 33, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the bone is a tibia (paragraphs [0001]-[0003]).
Claim 34, Cheal discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the planned planar cutting trajectory corresponds to a proximal tibial cut in a total knee arthroplasty procedure (paragraphs [0001]-[0003]).
Claim 35, Cheal discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the cut guide positioning plan can be modified intraoperatively (Fig. 8; paragraphs [0050] and [0055]).
Claim 36, Cheal discloses a system (Fig. 1) for use in orthopedic surgery on a bone (abstract), the system comprising: a cut guide (Fig. 2; 52, 54) to be positioned adjacent the bone (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]), the cut guide comprising a guide body (52, 54) configured to be coupled to the bone (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]), the guide body having an exterior surface (Fig. 2; outer surface) and a guide member (54) configured to guide a cutting tool along a planned planar cutting trajectory (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]); wherein the cut guide includes a reconfigurable landing member (paragraph [0042]; the connection pieces between the robot arm and the guide that help rotate the guide and/or the part that connects to the bone coming off of part 52) configured to position the cut guide adjacent the bone (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]), wherein the reconfigurable landing member comprises a structure separate from the guide body and fixable with the guide body so as to couple the guide body adjacent the bone (Fig. 2; paragraphs [0042]-[0044]); a processing device (Fig. 1; 100) including cut guide positioning planning instructions stored therein to generate a cut guide positioning plan (paragraphs [0044]-[0072]), wherein the cut guide positioning plan is generated at least in part using a bone model (paragraphs [0044]-[0072]); a communication interface (30) configured to display a real time perioperative target bone representation and the planned planar cutting trajectory of the bone (paragraphs [0051]-[0072]).
Claim 37, Cheal discloses the system of claim 36, further comprising a coupling receptacle preparation tool (Fig. 2; paragraph [0042]; the saw prepares the bone for receiving the implant) configured to be operated manually by the operator to create a plurality of receptacles on the bone (Figs. 1-5; paragraphs [0042] and [0055]).
Claim 38, Cheal discloses the system of claim 36, wherein the cut guide is configured to be adjustably positioned to conform to the bone (Figs. 2 and 8; paragraph [0043]).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that Cheal does not disclose a reconfigurable landing member configured to couple the guide body adjacent the bone, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The portion of Cheal’s device considered as the reconfigurable landing member is described above as being the connection pieces between the robot arm and the guide that help rotate the guide and/or the part that connects to the bone coming off of part 52. These parts seem to meet the claim limitation as currently worded. The little screw or whatever it is coming off 52 to touch the bone can be considered the reconfigurable landing member since its position can be reconfigured (paragraphs [0042]-[0044] and also the parts between the robot arm and the guide can also be considered as part of or all of the landing member that is reconfigurable (paragraphs [0042]-[0044]; note how these parts can rotate to get the right angle for the saw guide 54).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775