CTNF 18/744,185 CTNF 89944 DETAILED ACTION for SIX DEGREE OF FREEDOM LOAD CELL BODY Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Oath/Declaration The Oath/Declaration submitted on 06/14/2024 is noted by the Examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: Six Degree of Freedom Load Cell Body For Use In Machine For Providing Durability Tests For Elastomer Test Specimens, Has Flexure Arrangement . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Meyer et al. [herein after Meyer] (US 2007/0039400) . PNG media_image1.png 515 508 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 , Meyer discloses a load cell body (10) configured to be used with a test specimen, the load cell body (10; see abstract) having a first member (42) ; a second member (Bottom of 46) ; and a flexure arrangement (40) disposed between the first member (42) and the second member (Bottom of 46) , the flexure arrangement (40) having a pair (Fig. 4) of focused flexure assemblies (44) , each of the focused flexure assemblies having a flexure axial plane (Fig. 1) , the flexure axial planes intersect at a line (Fig. 5) , and wherein a midpoint of the line defines an origin of a coordinate system (¶0026, lines 12-13) , and the test specimen being configured to be positioned so that a center of the test specimen is located at the origin (¶0028, lines 12-18) . Regarding claim 2 , Meyer further discloses mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein at least one of the focused flexure assemblies comprises a hinge (88) extending parallel to the X axis (¶0029, lines 5-10) . Regarding claim 3 , Meyer further discloses mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein at least one of the focused flexure assemblies having a first column (46) extending parallel to the flexure axial plane (Fig. 5) and a first beam (64) extending parallel to the X axis (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 4 , Meyer further discloses a sensor (90) disposed on at least one of the first column (46) and the first beam (64) . Regarding claim 5 , Meyer further discloses sensor (90) having a strain gauge disposed on the first beam (“ suitable sensors such as strain gauge s 90 are still connected to the members 42 ”; ¶0043, lines 10-12) . Regarding claim 6 , Meyer further discloses the sensor (90) having an axial gauge disposed on the first column (46) and aligned parallel to the flexure axial plane (“wherein each of the transducers comprises a two-axis force transducer”; ¶0026, lines 12-13). Regarding claim 7 , Meyer further discloses the sensor (90) having a Poisson gauge disposed on the first column and orthogonal to the flexure axial plane ¶0030, lines 2-4, & ¶0030, 10-17). Regarding claim 8 , Meyer further discloses a pair of flexure end wall assemblies (81-84) , each of the flexure end wall assemblies (81-84) positioned at an end of the pair of focused flexures assemblies (Fig. 5) . Regarding claim 9 , Meyer further discloses the coordinate system includes mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein at least one of the flexure end wall assemblies comprises a first beam (64) extending parallel to the Y axis (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 10 , Meyer further discloses a sensor (90) disposed on the first beam (64) . Regarding claim 11 , Meyer further the sensor (90) having a pair of strain gauges disposed on two opposed sides the first beam (64; ¶0047, lines 9-12) . Regarding claim 12 , Meyer further the coordinate system includes mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein the flexure arrangement (¶0029, lines 5-10) at least: two pairs of support columns (46) , each of the support columns (46) extending parallel to a respective flexure axial plane (Fig. 5) ; and four pairs (Fig. 8) of beams (64) , each of the beams (64) extending parallel to the X axis or parallel to the Y axis (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 13 , Meyer further discloses two opposed pairs of the four pairs of beams (64) are disposed at equal distances from the origin of the coordinate system (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 14 , Meyer further discloses the two opposed pairs of beams (64) are located on the pair of focused flexure assemblies (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 15 , Meyer further discloses the flexure arrangement (40) having a pair of flexure end wall assemblies (Fig 8) , each of the flexure end wall assemblies positioned at an end of the pair of focused flexure assemblies (Fig, 14) ; and the two opposed pairs of beams (64) are located on the pair of flexure end wall assemblies (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 16 , Meyer further discloses the first member (42) , the second member (Bottom of 46) and the flexure arrangement (40) are integrally formed of a single unitary mass comprising an internal cavity (Fig. 8) . Regarding claim 17 , Meyer further discloses the machine having a platform (46) and a cross head (42) , wherein the test specimen being configured to be received between the platform (46) and the cross head; and a load cell body (10) disposed on the platform (46) , wherein the test specimen is configured to contact the load cell body (10) , the load cell body (10) having a pair of focused flexure assemblies (40) , each of the focused flexure assemblies having a flexure axial plane (Fig. 1) , wherein the flexure axial planes intersect at a line (Fig. 5) , and wherein a midpoint of the line defines an origin of a coordinate system (¶0026, lines 12-13) , and wherein the test specimen is configured to be positioned so that a center of the test specimen is located at the origin (¶0028, lines 12-18) . Regarding claim 18 , Meyer further discloses the coordinate system includes mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein the machine having an actuator (190) configured to impart a force in the X axis to the test specimen (¶0025, lines 1-4) . Regarding claim 19 , Meyer further discloses the coordinate system includes mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein the machine having an actuator (190) configured to impart a force in the Y axis to the test specimen (¶0057, lines 8-14) . Regarding claim 20 , Meyer further discloses the coordinate system includes mutually orthogonal X, Y and Z axes, and wherein the machine having an actuator (190) configured to impart a force in the Z axis to the test specimen (see claim 1) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRANDI N HOPKINS whose telephone number is (571)270-7042. The examiner can normally be reached M & F 9-5 and T-TH, 6-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kristina Deherrera can be reached at (303) 297-4237. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/744,185 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/744,185 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/744,185 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/744,185 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/744,185 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/744,185 Page 7 Art Unit: 2855