DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
4. In accordance with the MPEP 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended (see MPEP 803.02). If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
5. As per MPEP 803.02, the Examiner will determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species
makes a contribution over the prior art of record. Therefore, according to MPEP 803.02: should the elected species appear allowable, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. The Markush-type claim shall be rejected and claims to the nonelected invention held withdrawn from further consideration. It has been determined that the entire scope claimed is not patentable.
Status of Claims
6. Claims 1-34 are pending in the instant application. Claims 4, 8, 13, 15, 19, 22-23, 28-29, and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention and species. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14, 16-18, 21, 24-27, and 30-33 on an elected invention and species and are therefore under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 25-27 and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are indefinite because the claims recite method steps including ‘after oral administration’ and ‘following oral administration’ which render the claims indefinite. Pharmaceutical composition claims are directed to product claims, not method claims. Examiner cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed scope. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12, 16-18, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number: RN 99106-33-9. [Database Registry Chemical Abstracts Service, Columbus, Ohio, Accession No. RN 99106-33-9, Entered STN: 16 Nov 1985].
RN 99106-33-9 anticipates compounds of formula (I) wherein X is
, R9 and R10 are methyl, R1 is H, R2, R2’, R3, R3’ are H, R4 and R7 are H, R5 and R6 are methoxy.
Registry number 99106-33-9 is available as prior art as of 16 Nov 1985, the day it was indexed into the CAS database.
Regarding the compositions of claims 24-27, comprising the anticipatory compounds and an excipient, the Registry entry for Registry no. 99106-33-9 discloses a mass solubility of 1 g/L, in unbuffered water at pH 6.920. This teaching of water anticipates the claimed composition, wherein the compounds are present with an excipient (i.e., water).
Regarding the limitations “capable of providing…”– it is noted that these claims merely recite properties of the anticipated compositions. “Products of an identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties, these limitations are also anticipated. Since the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all claimed compositions have the claimed properties and no additional components are claimed, these limitations are also anticipated. The claimed compositions teach a compound of formula (I) and an excipient. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the aforementioned compounds of formula (I) and an excipient, capable of being used with the claimed intended uses, as described herein.
MPEP 2111.02(II) provides the following instruction for interpreting the preamble of a claim: “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim.” If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Since the compositions taught by the prior art do not have any structural difference from the claimed compositions and the prior art compositions are capable of the intended uses, those limitations are also anticipated, as discussed herein.
See MPEP 2128: ELECTRONIC PUBLICATIONS AS PRIOR ART Status as a "Printed Publication" An electronic publication, including an on-line database or Internet publication, is considered to be a “printed publication” within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and (b) provided the publication was accessible to persons concerned with the art to which the document relates. See In re Wyer, 655 F.2d 221, 227, 210 USPQ 790, 795 (CCPA 1981) Since this date represents the date that each compound entered the CAS database on STN, this represents the date that each compound was made accessible to the public.
The aforementioned compounds anticipate the instantly claimed compounds: It is further noted that for the purposes of determining if a reference is a “printed publication” for the purposes of 102(b), MPEP 2128 states the following:
where “prior art disclosures…on an on-line database are considered to be publicly available as of the date the item was publicly posted.” Since each of the database entries above lists the date that each compound was entered into the on-line database, the compounds were made publicly available as of that date in each citation, and the claims are anticipated.
11. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 16-18, 24-27, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry Number: RN 2414048-18-1. [Database Registry Chemical Abstracts Service, Columbus, Ohio, Accession No. RN 2414048-18-1, Entered STN: 15 Apr 2020].
RN 2414048-18-1 anticipates compounds of formula (I) wherein X is
, R9 is methyl, R10 is substituted alkyl, R1 is methyl, one of R2, R2’ is H and the other is methyl, R3, R3’ are H, R4, R5, and R6 are H, R7 is methoxy.
Registry number 2414048-18-1 is available as prior art as of 15 Apr 2020, the day it was indexed into the CAS database.
Regarding the compositions of claims 24-27 and 30-33, comprising the anticipatory compounds and an excipient, the Registry entry for Registry no. 2414048-18-1 discloses a mass solubility of 1 g/L, in unbuffered water at pH 10.534. This teaching of water anticipates the claimed composition, wherein the compounds are present with an excipient (i.e., water).
Regarding the limitations “capable of providing…”– it is noted that these claims merely recite properties of the anticipated compositions. “Products of an identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all of the claimed compositions have the claimed properties, these limitations are also anticipated. Since the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F. 2d 705, 709, 15 USPQd 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Since the prior art teaches a product of identical chemical composition to that claimed, and the application discloses that all claimed compositions have the claimed properties and no additional components are claimed, these limitations are also anticipated. The claimed compositions teach a compound of formula (I) and an excipient. Therefore, the claims are anticipated by the aforementioned compounds of formula (I) and an excipient, capable of being used with the claimed intended uses, as described herein.
MPEP 2111.02(II) provides the following instruction for interpreting the preamble of a claim: “During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim.” If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Since the compositions taught by the prior art do not have any structural difference from the claimed compositions and the prior art compositions are capable of the intended uses, those limitations are also anticipated, as discussed herein.
See MPEP 2128: ELECTRONIC PUBLICATIONS AS PRIOR ART Status as a "Printed Publication" An electronic publication, including an on-line database or Internet publication, is considered to be a “printed publication” within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and (b) provided the publication was accessible to persons concerned with the art to which the document relates. See In re Wyer, 655 F.2d 221, 227, 210 USPQ 790, 795 (CCPA 1981) Since this date represents the date that each compound entered the CAS database on STN, this represents the date that each compound was made accessible to the public.
The aforementioned compounds anticipate the instantly claimed compounds: It is further noted that for the purposes of determining if a reference is a “printed publication” for the purposes of 102(b), MPEP 2128 states the following:
where “prior art disclosures…on an on-line database are considered to be publicly available as of the date the item was publicly posted.” Since each of the database entries above lists the date that each compound was entered into the on-line database, the compounds were made publicly available as of that date in each citation, and the claims are anticipated.
Conclusion
12. No claims are allowed.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623