DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the application on 06/14/2024 . Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or canceled, Thus, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show:
“first biological measurement signal module”
“second biological measurement signal module”
as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“biological signal measurement module” in claim 1 ln. 5.
“first biological signal measurement module” in claim 2 ln. 5.
“second biological signal measurement module” in claim 2 ln. 8
“control module” in claim 1 ln. 8, claim 3 ln. 4, claim 4 ln. 1, claim 5 ln. 2, claim 6 ln. 2, claim 7 ln. 2, claim 8 ln. 1.
“brain-computer interface (BCI) calculating unit” in claim 3 ln. 5.
“augmented reality (AR) calculating unit” in claim 3 ln. 9.
The term “biological signal measurement module” in claim 1 ln. 5 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claims to support the function of a “biological signal measurement.” However, corresponding structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided: ([0058] discloses the biological signal measurement module 200 may be fixed into the augmented reality glasses 100 by a ring).
The term “first biological signal measurement module” in claim 2 ln. 5. is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claims to support the function of a “first biological signal measurement.” However, corresponding structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided: ([0060] and [0061] disclose that the first biological signal measurement module is part of the biological signal measurement module 200 and it may be an EEG signal measurement equipment including the EEG electrodes near the user’s occipital lobe).
The term “second biological signal measurement module” in claim 2 ln. 8 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claims to support the function of a “biological signal measurement.” However, corresponding structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided: ([0060] and [0064] disclose that the second biological signal measurement module is part of the biological signal measurement module 200 and it may be the EOG signal measurement equipment worn near the user’s frontal lobe).
The term “control module” in claim 1 ln. 8, claim 3 ln. 4, claim 4 ln. 1, claim 5 ln. 2, claim 6 ln. 2, claim 7 ln. 2, and claim 8 ln. 1. is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claims to support the function of a “control.” However, corresponding structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided: ([0049] discloses that the control module 300 is provided in the lower-limb wearable robot 400. [0070] discloses that the control module may also include a brain-computer interface (BCI) calculating unit 310 and an augmented reality (AR) calculating unit 320).
The term “brain-computer interface (BCI) calculating unit” in claim 3 ln. 5 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claims to support the function of a “brain-computer interface (BCI) calculating.” However, corresponding structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided:
The term “augmented reality (AR) calculating unit” in claim 3 ln. 9 is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) because sufficient structure is not recited in the claims to support the function of an “augmented reality (AR) calculating.” However, corresponding structure is recited in the specification. The following is the corresponding structure provided:
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the term “closer to the ground” is unclear on whether the crutch targets are closer to the user, being perceived as closer to the user or if the entire apparatus is moving in a way that it is physically closer to the ground. For examination purposes, the crutch targets being closer to the user and being perceived as closer to the user are closer to the ground.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al (US 2024/0315910 A1), in view of Forsland et al (US 2021/0223864 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Talebi discloses an apparatus for controlling a lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, Fig 6 and [0027] discloses that in Figure 6, the lower-limb exoskeleton during-use which is being worn by the user) based on augmented reality (Talebi, [0035] discloses that a visualization device 220 can be implemented as an augmented reality (AR) or mixed reality device), the apparatus comprising:
an augmented reality glasses configured to display a visual stimulus and status information of the lower-limb wearable robot through the augmented reality (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed by the user. It further discloses other visual feedback may be provided like balance information of the device; [0045] discloses that the balance estimation may be using the forces from walking and the support from the crutches to help determine if it is safe for the patient to continue to move again; [0046] discloses that the balance estimation and the footstep planning also allow the user to see where they are in real time which can help them understand their position and plan for the next move);
a control module configured to detect a control intention of the user and generate the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900);
and the lower-limb wearable robot configured to operate according to the control intention of the user (Talebi, Fig 6 and [0027] discloses that in Figure 6, the lower-limb exoskeleton during-use which is being worn by the user; [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features).
Talebi does not disclose a brain-computer interface and a biological signal measurement module configured for measuring a biological signal of a user. Talebi also does not disclose a control module specifically based on a biological signal.
However, Forsland discloses a similar apparatus that utilizes augmented reality in conjunction with a brain-computer interface to control a system which utilizes one or more sensors, augmented reality headset display, a processing module, and at least one biofeedback device (Forsland, [Abstract] discloses that the apparatus, system, and method of the brain-computer interface includes an augmented reality headset display, sensors, a processing module, biofeedback devices, and a battery). Forland further discloses that sensors (Forsland, [0125] discloses that the bio-signal data stream can include the EEG sensor) on or connected to the AR headset can collect bio-signals that are input into the printed circuit board on the headset where electroencephalography (EEG) is self-contained in the headset and is specifically designed to sense and report Visual Evoked Potentials (VEP) matches and can include steady-state Visual Evoked Potential (SSVEP) (Forsland, [0045] discloses that the EEG is a fully self-contained EEG headset device that is designed for SSVEPs and can optionally interface to host computing devices as a Human Interface Device (HID) with generic attributes device keyboards or mouses). Additionally, the system and method may support processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, eye-tracking, etc. (Forsland, [0094] discloses that in addition to the EEG configuration the system can handle more than one bio-signal from multiple sources like EEG, EMG, EOG, eye-tracking, etc.). Forsland also discloses that the user is able to look at a visual display that allows them to choose options on the screen (Forsland, Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase). Forsland further discloses that the brain-computer interface is in a headset, with AR, that is connected to the printed circuit board and correlates with brain waves and other bio-signal sources to be processed which takes the user control intention and implements it into an action (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; [0162] discloses that the command output can include controlling prosthetic limb).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lower-limb wearable robot of Talebi to include a brain-computer interface and the ability to measure a biological signal of a user to be displayed as a visual stimulus as taught by Forsland. The modified apparatus of Talebi would include the brain-computer interface that is connected to the augmented reality glasses as a display (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed by the user; Forsland, [Abstract] discloses that the apparatus, system, and method of the brain-computer interface includes an augmented reality headset display). The BCI aspect would also include a connection between the controller (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900) which can include sensors (Forsland, [Abstract] discloses that there are one or more sensors connected to the circuit board; [0125] discloses that the bio-signal data stream can include the EEG sensor) for reading bio-signals and include a processing module to have that data displayed on the AR glasses then further include information of the state of the lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900). The modified apparatus would also use EEG data as a first biological signal and can use other multiple other sources like EOG as a secondary biological signal. The controller can be configured to process biological signals from multiple sources so the second biological signal may be the EOG signal. (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking). The modified apparatus would further include the brain-computer interface connected to the AR display which is able to match the brain waves and other bio-signal data to have the controller to process the data and map it to the AR glasses and control the lower-limb exoskeleton (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; [0162] discloses that the command output can include controlling prosthetic limb). The controller can be configured to process based on steady-state visual evoked potentials which matches on different frequencies, power threshold of the frequency, and the repeated cycles of the threshold (Forsland, [0045] discloses that the EEG is a fully self-contained EEG headset device that is designed for SSVEPs; [0085] discloses that the Visual Evoked Potential (VEP) can be matched at different frequencies, power threshold for the frequency, and the number of consecutive repeated cycles over the threshold). The modified apparatus would also have a classifier and recognizer which is responsible for process and interact with the raw bio-signal data like EEG to eventually output a command through an output method which would be to the AR glasses and controller (Forsland, [0198] discloses that the EEG sensor data will be processed locally to perform filtering, recognizing, and interacting with the data to eventually become a “cooked” version of data to output a custom digital command for an output method 1510 with a classifier 2026 and recognizer 2024). Additionally, the modified apparatus could allow the user to set or stare at options in the AR glasses that allow them to make selections to create phrases or output other information of this nature (Forsland, Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase). Use of the brain-computer interface system connected to the augmented reality glasses and the lower-limb wearable robot could allow for a more portable system and does not need an external system to process all data.
Regarding claim 2, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the biological signal includes a first biological signal and a second biological signal, and wherein the biological signal measurement module includes:
a first biological signal measurement module (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900; Forsland, [Abstract] discloses that there are one or more sensors connected to the circuit board; [0006] discloses that the second area of the printed circuit board is responsible for processing, analyzing, and mapping bio-signals into an output) configured for measuring the first biological signal including electroencephalogram information (Forsland, [0125] discloses that the bio-signal data stream can include the EEG sensor) of the user gazing at the visual stimulus (Forsland, [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase);
and a second biological signal measurement module (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900; [Abstract] discloses that there are one or more sensors connected to the circuit board; [0006] discloses that the second area of the printed circuit board is responsible for processing, analyzing, and mapping bio-signals into an output) configured for measuring the second biological signal (Forsland, [0094] discloses that in addition to the EEG configuration the system can handle more than one bio-signal from multiple sources like EEG, EMG, EOG, eye-tracking, etc.; [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG) generated by the user based on the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot (Forsland, [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900).
Regarding claim 3, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the control intention of the user (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900) includes a first control intention (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board) and a second control intention (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking), and wherein the control module includes:
a brain-computer interface (BCI) calculating unit configured to classify (Forsland, [0198] discloses that the EEG sensor data will be processed locally to perform filtering, recognizing, and interacting with the data to eventually become a “cooked” version of data to output a custom digital command for an output method 1510 with a classifier 2026 and recognizer 2024) the first control intention of the user based on the first biological signal (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves, which would be EEG signals) and determine the second control intention of the user based on the second biological signal (Forsland, [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking);
and an augmented reality (AR) calculating unit configured to generate the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot based on the second control intention (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed by the user. It further discloses other visual feedback may be provided like balance information of the device; [0045] discloses that the balance estimation may be using the forces from walking and the support from the crutches to help determine if it is safe for the patient to continue to move again; [0046] discloses that the balance estimation and the footstep planning also allow the user to see where they are in real time which can help them understand their position and plan for the next move; Forsland, [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking).
Regarding claim 8, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the control module is further configured to generate a crutch position guide configured to indicate a position to which a crutch of the user is to move, to correspond to the controlled operation of the lower-limb wearable robot in real time (Talebi, [0046] discloses footstep planning and balance estimation process 328 which is provided as feedback to the user of the exoskeleton to help the user understand the movements. The feedback can be implemented as AR or mixed reality device with a display. It is further disclosed the footstep planning 510 further includes one or more crutch target locations 512 which can be seen during use for the user to aim for the crutch targets, possibly resulting in better stability of the exoskeleton).
Regarding claim 9, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the augmented reality glasses (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed the user) is configured to display the crutch position guide (Talebi, [0046] discloses footstep planning and balance estimation process 328 which is provided as feedback to the user of the exoskeleton to help the user understand the movements. The feedback can be implemented as AR or mixed reality device with a display. It is further disclosed the footstep planning 510 further includes one or more crutch target locations 512 which can be seen during use for the user to aim for the crutch targets, possibly resulting in better stability of the exoskeleton) at a second location spaced from a first location where the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot are displayed and closer to the ground than the first location (Talebi, Fig 5A and 5B, shows the left crutch is in the second crutch target circle 512 and the first crutch target circle is where the user can place their right crutch. The first crutch target is spaced away from the second crutch target where the second crutch target circle is perceived to be closer to the user) .
Regarding claim 10, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the control module is further configured to generate a plurality of visual stimuli (Forsland, [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase) that are based on steady-state visual evoked potential (SSVEP) and flickering with different frequencies (Forsland, [0045] discloses that the EEG is a fully self-contained EEG headset device that is designed for SSVEPs; [0085] discloses that the Visual Evoked Potential (VEP) can be matched at different frequencies, power threshold for the frequency, and the number of consecutive repeated cycles over the threshold).
Regarding claim 11, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the method for controlling a lower-limb wearable robot based on augmented reality (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed the user) and brain-computer interface (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; [0162] discloses that the command output can include controlling prosthetic limb), the method comprising:
displaying visual stimulus and status information of the lower-limb wearable robot to a user through an augmented reality glasses (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed by the user. It further discloses other visual feedback may be provided like balance information of the device; [0045] discloses that the balance estimation may be using the forces from walking and the support from the crutches to help determine if it is safe for the patient to continue to move again; [0046] discloses that the balance estimation and the footstep planning also allow the user to see where they are in real time which can help them understand their position and plan for the next move);
measuring a biological signal of the user generated based on the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot (Forsland, [0094] discloses that in addition to the EEG configuration the system can handle more than one bio-signal from multiple sources like EEG, EMG, EOG, eye-tracking, etc.; [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900);
generating, by a processor (Talebi, [0062] discloses that the robotic device or exoskeleton 900 includes a processor 902, data storage 904, program instructions 906, controller 908, sensors 910, power source 912, and mechanical 914 and electrical components 916; Forsland, [0198] discloses that the EEG sensor data will be processed locally to perform filtering, recognizing, and interacting with the data to eventually become a “cooked” version of data to output a custom digital command for an output method 1510 with a classifier 2026 and recognizer 2024), the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot based on the biological signal (Forsland, [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; [0162] discloses that the command output can include controlling prosthetic limb);
detecting a control intention of the user based on the biological signal (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board);
and controlling, by the processor, an operation of the lower-limb wearable robot according to the control intention of the user (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900).
Regarding claim 12, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the biological signal includes a first biological signal (Forsland, [0125] discloses that the bio-signal data stream can include the EEG sensor) and a second biological signal (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG), and wherein the measuring the user's biological signal includes:
measuring the first biological signal including electroencephalogram information of the user gazing at the visual stimulus (Forsland, [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase);
and measuring the second biological signal (Forsland, [0094] discloses that in addition to the EEG configuration the system can handle more than one bio-signal from multiple sources like EEG, EMG, EOG, eye-tracking, etc.; [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG) generated by the user based on the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot (Forsland, [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900).
Regarding claim 13, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the control intention of the user includes a first control intention(Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board) and a second control intention (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking), and wherein the detecting the control intention of the user includes classifying the first control intention of the user based on the first biological signal (Forsland, [0198] discloses that the EEG sensor data will be processed locally to perform filtering, recognizing, and interacting with the data to eventually become a “cooked” version of data to output a custom digital command for an output method 1510 with a classifier 2026 and recognizer 2024), and determining the second control intention of the user based on the second biological signal;
and wherein the generating the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot includes generating the visual stimulus (Forsland, [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase) and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, [0045] discloses that the balance estimation may be using the forces from walking and the support from the crutches to help determine if it is safe for the patient to continue to move again; [0046] discloses that the balance estimation and the footstep planning also allow the user to see where they are in real time which can help them understand their position and plan for the next move) based on the second control intention (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board);
.
Regarding claim 18, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the method of generating a crutch position guide configured to indicate a position to which a crutch of the user is to move, to correspond to the controlled operation of the lower-limb wearable robot in real time (Talebi, [0046] discloses footstep planning and balance estimation process 328 which is provided as feedback to the user of the exoskeleton to help the user understand the movements. The feedback can be implemented as AR or mixed reality device with a display. It is further disclosed the footstep planning 510 further includes one or more crutch target locations 512 which can be seen during use for the user to aim for the crutch targets, possibly resulting in better stability of the exoskeleton).
Regarding claim 19, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the method of displaying the crutch position guide at a second location spaced from a first location (Talebi, Fig 5A and 5B, shows the left crutch is in the second crutch target circle 512 and the first crutch target circle is where the user can place their right crutch) where the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot are displayed (Talebi, [0046] discloses footstep planning and balance estimation process 328 which is provided as feedback to the user of the exoskeleton to help the user understand the movements. The feedback can be implemented as AR or mixed reality device with a display. It is further disclosed the footstep planning 510 further includes one or more crutch target locations 512 which can be seen during use for the user to aim for the crutch targets, possibly resulting in better stability of the exoskeleton) and closer to the ground than the first location (Talebi, Fig 5A and 5B, . The first crutch target (the crutch target on the right side) is spaced away from the second crutch target (left side) where the second crutch target circle is perceived to be closer to the user)through the augmented reality glasses (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed by the user).
Regarding claim 20, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the method of generating the visual stimulus and the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot includes generating a plurality of visual stimuli (Forsland, [0161] discloses that the bio-signal is analyzed and maps the bio-signal into an output for a digital interaction device like AR display; Fig 17 and [0210] discloses that the user can look at a display that may include visual content and choose different options on the screen to form sentences and add new words to a phrase) that are based on steady-state visual evoked potential (SSVEP) and flickering with different frequencies (Forsland, [0045] discloses that the EEG is a fully self-contained EEG headset device that is designed for SSVEPs; [0085] discloses that the Visual Evoked Potential (VEP) can be matched at different frequencies, power threshold for the frequency, and the number of consecutive repeated cycles over the threshold).
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talebi et al (US 2024/0315910 A1), in view of Forsland et al (US 2021/0223864 A1), applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al (see NPL provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 4, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the control module robot (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900) that is configured to: have the lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, Fig 6 and [0027] discloses that in Figure 6, the lower-limb exoskeleton during-use which is being worn by the user) move and does have the second biological signal (Forsland, [0094] discloses that in addition to the EEG configuration the system can handle more than one bio-signal from multiple sources like EEG, EMG, EOG, eye-tracking, etc.; [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG);
The modified apparatus of Talebi does not have the division of the second biological signal into a first signal and a second signal. The modified apparatus does not specifically describe having switched a state of the lower-limb wearable robot from a stand state to a sit state and further that the state of the lower-limb wearable robot is a pause state and switching the state of the lower-limb wearable robot from the specifically sit state to the stand state based on the second signal.
However, Choi discloses a similar hybrid brain-computer interface for a lower-limb exoskeleton that includes using biological signals like EEG, which focus on the EEG neural features like movement related cortical potential (MRCP) and steady-state evoked potential (SSVEP) and EOG to decode the signals and extract features as an input into the support vector machine (SVM) classifier (Choi, Abstract discloses a motor imagery hybrid brain-computer interface controller for a lower-limb exoskeleton that uses EEG signals and extraction of features . Choi further discloses a successive eye-blink switch combined with the EEG decoder which operates the lower-limb exoskeleton. Choi also discloses that their study monitored EEG artifacts from electrooculogram (EOG) signals to extract a user’s triple eye-blink (TEB) signals to turn on and off the decoder for improving the control system. (Choi, Page 2 discloses that the study monitors EEG artifacts from EOG signals and extract triple eye-blink signals to turn the motor imagery (MI) decoder to help improve the control system). The exoskeleton discloses a data acquisition unit, signal processing unit, and exoskeleton control portion to have real time data decoded and sent to the exoskeleton as a command for standing up, sitting down, gait-forward with two crutches in hand (Choi, Page 3 discloses tat the exoskeleton has a control system that performs data acquisition, EEG signal processing, and exoskeleton control. It further discloses that the subject performs MI tasks the signal processing algorithm takes out features and trains the classifier, and further the decoded control command is sent to the exoskeleton on a real-time online control interface. It also discloses that the exoskeleton is primarily made to assist people with gait impairments to stand, sit, and move forward with crutches). Choi also discloses that the BCI controller is able to start and stop from a sit state as well also show state transitions that are represented by arrows, using triple-eye blink (EEG artifacts of EOG signals), do-nothing state, or motor imagery (Choi, Fig 3 and Page 5-6 discloses that the BCI unit is a finite state machine that has safety precautions like starting and stopping in a sit state while also using arrows to show state transitions which correspond to MI, TEB, and pause states). Additionally, Choi discloses that the BCI controller is able to stand-up, gait, pause, resume gait, stop, and sit-down (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified apparatus of Talebi to include the ability to divide the second biological signal into a first and second signal (Choi, Page 6 discloses that the TEB is using two pre-frontal channels amount the electrodes to pull the artifacts) and switch the state of the lower-limb robot exoskeleton from standing to sitting to pausing and further switching the state of the lower-limb robot based on the second signal as taught by Choi. The modification of the lower-limb exoskeleton would include using EOG data (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking), which can be considered the second biological signal, and pull the EEG data artifacts, where deriving or pulling out information is done, in order to utilizing blinking in order to turn the decoder on and off and help make decision of the state of the exoskeleton (Choi, Page 2 discloses that the study monitors EEG artifacts from EOG signals and extract triple eye-blink signals to turn the motor imagery (MI) decoder to help improve the control system). The modified apparatus would also include the controller (Talebi, [0007] discloses a controller of the exoskeleton can be set one or more gait parameters based on the footstep planning partially and the step length, height, and timing; [0032] discloses that the exoskeleton device 100 has a controller 110 to provide articulation of the join to enable the exoskeleton to take a step) being able to switch the state of the lower-limb exoskeleton to move from a standing, walking, sitting, and pause state using the crutches (Talebi, [0046] discloses the footstep planning 510 further includes one or more crutch target locations 512 which can be seen during use for the user to aim for the crutch targets, possibly resulting in better stability of the exoskeleton) and imagery to do the action down (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use). The modification would also include the ability to display the MI instructions or cues or any visual stimulus for the user via the AR glasses as mentioned above (Talebi, [0035] discloses that the AR device can be implemented as see through glasses that project the visualizations onto the scene observed by the user). Use of the different state operations and deriving information from the second biological signal could help improve accuracy and safety for the user.
Regarding claim 5, the modified apparatus of Talebi has a state of the lower-limb wearable robot is a stand state in a pause state (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses that the lower limb exoskeleton be in a sit to stand then walk/gait and then stop with a gait pause in the sequence), the control module is further configured to switch the state of the lower-limb wearable robot to an operation state (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900) based on the second biological signal (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking where the second biological signal is the EOG data; Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use which use EOG data to pull the EEG artifacts to influence transition into different states).
Regarding claim 6, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the state of the lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900) is the operation state (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use), the control module (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900) is further configured to determine an operation mode (Talebi, [0007] discloses a controller of the exoskeleton can be set one or more gait parameters based on the footstep planning partially and the step length, height, and timing; [0032] discloses that the exoskeleton device 100 has a controller 110 to provide articulation of the join to enable the exoskeleton to take a step) based on the first biological signal (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board).
Regarding claim 7, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the lower-limb wearable robot in the operation mode , the control module is further configured to control (Talebi, [0007] discloses a controller of the exoskeleton can be set one or more gait parameters based on the footstep planning partially and the step length, height, and timing; [0032] discloses that the exoskeleton device 100 has a controller 110 to provide articulation of the join to enable the exoskeleton to take a step) an operation corresponding to the determined operation mode (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses that the lower limb exoskeleton be in a sit to stand then walk/gait and then stop with a gait pause in the sequence) of the lower-limb wearable robot based on the second biological signal (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking where the second biological signal is the EOG data; Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use).
Regarding claim 14, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the generating the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot includes: dividing the second biological signal (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking) into a first signal and a second signal (Choi, Page 2 discloses that the study monitors EEG artifacts from EOG signals and extract triple eye-blink signals to turn the motor imagery (MI) decoder to help improve the control system; Choi, Page 6 discloses that the TEB is using two pre-frontal channels amount the electrodes to pull the artifacts); switching a state of the lower-limb wearable robot from a stand state to a sit state based on the first signal, in response that the state of the lower-limb wearable robot is a pause state and switching the state of the lower-limb wearable robot from the sit state to the stand state (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses that the lower limb exoskeleton be in a sit to stand then walk/gait and then stop with a gait pause in the sequence) based on the second signal (Choi, Page 5-6 discloses that the BCI controller uses the MI and triple-eye blink (TEB) methods to transition to different states, where the TEB uses EOG signals to pull EEG artifacts from two pre-frontal channels of two electrodes of 2-15 Hz filtering non-eyelid movement).
Regarding claim 15, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the generating the status information of the lower-limb wearable robot includes, in response that a state of the lower-limb wearable robot is a stand state in a pause state (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses that the lower limb exoskeleton be in a sit to stand then walk/gait and then stop with a gait pause in the sequence), switching the state of the lower-limb wearable robot (Talebi, [0065] discloses the controller 908 is the link between the mechanical 914 and electrical components 916 and further between the user and the robotic device 900. It may also include various components for communicating like joysticks or buttons or other features; [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900) to an operation state based on the second biological signal (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking where the second biological signal is the EOG data; Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use which use EOG data to pull the EEG artifacts to influence transition into different states).
Regarding claim 16, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the detecting the control intention of the user includes (Talebi, [0067] discloses that sensors may provide information indicative of the environment of the robotic device for the controller 908 and may also receive information indicative of the state of the robotic device 900), in response that the state of the lower-limb wearable robot is the operation state (Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use), determining an operation mode based on the first biological signal (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0125] discloses that the bio-signal data stream can include the EEG sensor).
Regarding claim 17, the modified apparatus of Talebi has the controlling the operation of the lower-limb wearable robot further included, in response that the lower-limb wearable robot is in the operation mode, controlling an operation (Talebi, [0007] discloses a controller of the exoskeleton can be set one or more gait parameters based on the footstep planning partially and the step length, height, and timing; [0032] discloses that the exoskeleton device 100 has a controller 110 to provide articulation of the join to enable the exoskeleton to take a step) corresponding to the determined operation mode (Forsland, [0121] discloses that the brain-computer interface in the headset can correlate to the brain waves and other bio-signal sources and data, that are being processed in the printed circuit board; [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses that the lower limb exoskeleton be in a sit to stand then walk/gait and then stop with a gait pause in the sequence) of the lower-limb wearable robot based on the second biological signal (Forsland, [0036] discloses that the circuit board can process data from multiple sources, not just EEG; [0094] discloses that the system and method support the concurrent processing of bio-signal data from multiple sources and sensors like EEG, EMG, EOG, and eye-tracking where the second biological signal is the EOG data; Choi, Page 7 and Fig 5 discloses the different state operations with motor imagery and triple-eye blinks in use).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cha et al (US 2025/0152079 A1), Gooie (US 2022/0054830 A1) and Katyal et al (US 2014/0336781 A1) are both apparatuses for detecting signals or taking inputs to determine what to use an output for its control of a prosthetic limb or visual feedback and utilizes BCI and augmented reality as a visual display.
/JAMIE H. BISHOP/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785