DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to provisional US application 63/508,782 filed 16 June 2023.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 20, 23-25, 28-29, 31-33, 36, 39, 43, 45, 47-49, 51, 57, 59-61, and 76 are pending.
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 20, 23-25, 28-29, 31-33, 36, 39, 43, 45, 47-49, 51, 57, 59-61, and 76 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 20, 23-25, 28-29, 31-33, 36, 39, 43, 45, 47-49, 51, 57, 59-61, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartolozzi et al. (WO 2023/091490).
Bartolozzi teaches the following compound 2241 (pg 39) wherein the compound corresponds to Formula I when G1 is N, L1 and L2 are C7 alkylene, R1 and R2 are -C(=O)NHC14H29, and R3 is -C(=O)R3a wherein R3a is C2 alkyl and a heterocycle. These compounds can be formed into lipid nanoparticles and used in the delivery of therapeutic cargos (abstract).
Compound 2242 (below) demonstrates how the nitrogen can be substituted with two different alkyl groups (pg 39). The X group can be -C(O)N(R7)- wherein R7 is hydrogen or alkyl (pg 4).
In a more general formula, Bartolozzi teaches that the X group (below) can be -NHCO- or -CONH- and that each A and B can be C1-C16 branched or unbranched alkyl group (pg 2). In yet an another alternative embodiment, the X group is defined as -N(R7)C(O)- wherein R7 is hydrogen or alkyl (pg 4).
Bartolozzi also teaches variation in the “head group” nitrogen (below) wherein R20 and R30 to be C1-C5 alkyl (pg 2). The Z group can be oxygen (pg 2).
The lipid nanoparticle composition can comprise an mRNA and a cholesterol (active agent) (pgs 161-162) and can be used to inject intravenously in mice (pgs 163-164).
Bartolozzi does not teach the structure of Formula I wherein the amide nitrogen is alkylated, as required in instant claim 1.
It would have been prima facie obvious to modify the 2241 compound wherein the X group amide is inverted to be -NHCO-. In addition, the B group can be any C1-16 alkyl, so it would have been obvious to replace the branched chain alkyl with a C10 alkyl chain. The resulting structure as shown below renders obvious instant claims 1-2, 16-17, 20, 32-33, 36, 45 (which comprises an optional limitation not required to be present), 48-49, and 51. Modifying the alkyl chaing length from the center nitrogen is obvious, rendering obvious instant claim 57. When combined in a lipid nanoparticle with RNA and a therapeutic agent and dosed to a mouse, as taught by Bartolozzi, the composition further renders obvious instant claims 60-61 and 76.
Regarding claim 6 and its dependents, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the 2242 structure of Bartolozzi, wherein the nitrogen is substituted by two alkyl groups, so that both alkyl groups are branched or unbranched C4-C16, since any alkyl group is permitted in the prior art. Moreover, it is obvious to modify the “head group” to any chain length alkyl group since the generic structure permits R20 and R30 to be C1-C5 alkyl. The following structure, or wherein the alkyl groups are C16, is obvious from Bartolozzi and renders obvious instant claims 1, 6, 10-11, 13, 15, 23-25, 28-29, 31, 39, 43, and 59. By modifying the Z group to be oxygen, instant claim 47 is rendered obvious.
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 13, 15-17, 20, 23-25, 28-29, 31-33, 36, 39, 43, 45, 47-49, 51, 57, 59-61, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maier et al. (US 2013/0195920).
Maier teaches cationic lipid moieties incorporated into a particle further comprising a nucleic acid and a sterol (abstract). Maier teaches the following compound (pg 175) wherein the compound corresponds to Formula I when G1 is CH, L1 and L2 are C7 alkylene, R1 and R2 are -C(=O)NHC9H17, and R3 is -OC(=O)-R3a wherein R3a is C3 alkyl substituted with N(CH3)2.
Maier also teaches the following compound wherein X can be NH (pg 180).
It is noted that Maier teaches many alternative chains for the above compound including the following chain to replace the lefthand portion comprising an ester [0133].
In the broadest formula (I), Maier teaches that the Q group can comprise -O-, -C(O)O-, -OC(O)-, or -N(R5)C(O)- wherein R5 can be hydrogen or alkyl [0007, 0017]. The R group is an alkyl group [0013]. In addition, the M1 and M2 groups can be -C(O)O-, -OC(O)-, or -N(R5)C(O)-, or -C(O)N(R5)- and Z1 and Z2 can be C8-C14 alkyl [0021, 0025].
That being said, the following compounds would have been obvious based on the broad teachings of Maier. Said compound renders obvious instant claims 1, 3-5, 16-17, 20, 32-33, 36, 43, 45, 48-49, 51
By following the guidance of Meier and inverting and/or substituting alkyl groups on the tail nitrogens and/or modifying the Q group to be an ether and/or modifying the substitutions on the head group as per the prior art, instant claims 6-7, 10-11, 13, 15, 23-25, 28-29, 31, 39, 47, 57, and 59 are rendered obvious.
Regarding instant claims 60-61 and 76, Meier teaches formulating the lipids with a therapeutic agent (such as a nucleic acid) as a nanoparticle and using them in a method of modulating expression of a target gene in a cell [0182, 0187].
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613