DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 13-22, 24-25, 28-29, 33-35 and 50 are pending.
Claims 7, 11-12, 23, 26-27, 30-32, 36-49, and 51-54 are canceled.
Claims 4-6, 8-10, 13-22, 24-29, 33-35 and 50 are amended.
Claims 3-5, 8, 10, 13-15, 17, 21, 34-35 and 50 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 6, 9, 16, 18-20, 22, 24-25, 28-29 and 33 are included in the prosecution.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, 8-10, 13-22, 24, 25, 28, 29, and 33 drawn to compounds in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants’ election without traverse of species Formula Ia and compound I-7 on page 33 of the instant specification was confirmed during a phone call with the representative on 09/17/2026 as the species of claim 33 second from the bottom of page 10 of claims filed 08/27/2024. Summary of this discussion is provided in the interview summary initiated by the examiner. As such, claims 1-2, 6, 9, 16, 18-20, 22, 24-25, 28-29 and 33 read on the election.
Accordingly, claims 3-5, 8, 10, 13-15, 17, 21, 34-35 and 50 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected group/species.
Priority
This application has PRO of 63508772 filed 06/16/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 4/03/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this/these IDS(s) has/have been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The use of the term “RiboMax” among the many commercially available kits named (e.g., see Spec., page 5, line 29), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be an extraneous dash in line 4 in between superscript “1a” and the word “when.” In line 13 and in line 18 of the claim there appear to be extraneous periods “.” after a superscript letter, e.g., “-C(=O)OR2c.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-2, 6, 9, 16, 18-20, 22, 24-25, 28-29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shariter et al. (WO 2019046809 A1).
For convenience figures and structures associated with the elected species are provided below (number in the left column of the table indicates the number of the instant claim).
2
9
16
18
19
20
22
24
25
28
29
The Examiner notes that limitations following the term “optionally” will be considered optional. Therefore the limitations that follow the recited “optionally” are considered as being not required, e.g., instant claim 1, lines 6, 8 and the last line of the claim; instant claim 6, line 1.
Shariter teaches a modified nucleic acid lipid nanoparticle that is used to form a nucleic acid lipid nanoparticle composition (paragraph [0005]). The lipids disclosed may be used in lipid nanoparticles for the delivery of therapeutics and/or prophylactics, such as a nucleic acid, to mammalian cells or organs (paragraph [00179]).
Shariter teaches that in some embodiments, a subset of Formula (IL-I) includes those of Formula (IL-IA) (paragraphs [00180]-[00181]) provided below.
In some embodiments, a subset of compounds of Formula (IL-I) includes those of Formula (IL-II) (paragraph [0183]), provided below.
Shariter discloses in paragraph [00183] that in the formula, 1 is selected from 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5; M1 [sic] is a bond or M'; R4 is hydrogen, unsubstituted C1-3 alkyl, or -(CH2)nQ, in which n is 2, 3, or 4, and Q is -OH, - NHC(S)N(R)2, -NHC(O)N(R)2, -N(R)C(O)R, -N(R)S(O)2R, -N(R)R8, - NHC(=NR9)N(R)2, -NHC(=CHR9)N(R)2, -OC(O)N(R)2, -N(R)C(O)OR, heteroaryl or heterocycloalkyl; M and M' are independently selected from -C(O)O-, -OC(O)-, -OC(O)-M'- C(O)O-, -C(O)N(R')-, -P(O)(OR')O-, -S-S-, an aryl group, and a heteroaryl group,; and R2 and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of H, C1-14 alkyl, and C2-14 alkenyl.
Directly above is the elected species of the instant claims.
As stated above, Shariter teaches R4 is -(CH2)nQ and when Q is -OH. Here the prior art reads on the elected species where it is highlighted in yellow above.
Looking to paragraph [00183] of Shariter and (IL-II) when M and M1 is independently selected from -C(O)N(R’)- , this resembles the C(O)N portion of the elected species as indicated by the matching portions circled in red above in the elected species and in Sahriter’s (IL-II) below.
As stated above when M and M' is independently selected from -C(O)O- (see paragraph [0180]), each R' is independently selected from the group consisting of C1-18 alkyl, C2-18 alkenyl, -R*YR", -YR", and H, and here the portions above and below circled in green would match.
Shariter discloses in paragraph [0184] that in one embodiment, the compounds of Formula (IL-I) are of Formula (IL-IIa) (see below) which resembles the elected species I-7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize conventional working conditions to use the appropriate starting materials and reagents to obtain the desired result. This is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 6, 9, 16, 18-20, 22, 24-25, 28-29 and 33 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/Karen A Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614