DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 14 June 2024. Claims 1-14 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
28 January 2025
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Lusted et al. (hereinafter Lee) (US 2014/0258813 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lusted discloses a communication system { (see pg. 1, [0016]; Figs. 1A-5) }comprising:
a Dynamic Multiple Input/Multiple Output Transmission System (DMTS) module (e.g., 122) { (see pp. 4-5, [0031]; Figs. 1A-2), where the system has module (e.g., 122) that performs dynamic resolution of FEC }; and
an adaptive forward error correction (FEC) module (e.g., 112) including, a transmission module for receiving first packets and commands from the DMTS module (e.g., 122), generating a parity check for n number of said first packets, and retransmitting said first packets with the parity check to a channel manager in a transmission direction, and further including a receive module for receiving second packets from the channel manager in a receive direction { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2), where the system performs dynamic FEC and integrity check for parity };
wherein the DMTS (e.g., 122) controls when a parity check is sent for a traffic flow { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2), where the system performs dynamic FEC and integrity check for parity };
the parity check may be sent across multiple channels { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2), where the system performs dynamic FEC and integrity check for parity }; and
the FEC module (e.g., 112) can be enabled or disabled for each traffic flow { (see pg. 2, [0020]; pg. 1, [0016]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2), where the system performs dynamic FEC and integrity check for parity and the FEC modes (e.g., light, heavy, off) (see pg. 2, [0019]; pg. 3, [0024]) }.
Regarding claim 2, Lusted discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the channel manager switches between subchannels between the FEC module (e.g., 112) and a channel side { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2) }.
Regarding claim 3, Lusted discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the channel manager determines link conditions for a link, including packet loss, latency and jitter, and wherein the channel manager further determines when the link goes online or offline { (see pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 4, Lusted discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the DMTS module selects a transmission link to utilize in transmitting a data packet, controls the enabling or disabling of the FEC module, including when to generate and send said parity check at any time in a given channel flow { (see pp. 4-5, [0031]; pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 5, Lusted discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the DMTS operates in a transmission direction to determine for a given traffic, based on traffic priority, jitter, latency, packet loss, bandwidth cost, or demand, from a number of available links which is the best link to send data packets, how often a parity check is to be sent by the transmission module of the FEC module, and the number of N packets for which the parity check is generated { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2) }.
Regarding claim 6, Lusted discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the receive module of the FEC module receives the second data packets, the second data packets including a parity check, and processes the second data packets to regenerate any lost packets { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2) }.
Regarding claim 7, Lusted discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the receive module regenerates one lost data packet { (see pg. 3, [0025-0026]; pp. 4-5, [0031]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 8, Lusted discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the receive module does not regenerate any lost data packets when more than one data packet is lost { (see pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 9, Lusted discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said first data packets are transmitted in the transmission direction through the transmission module of the FEC module, the transmission module assigns one or more of said first data packets to a superframe pool having a plurality of subframes; wherein said subframes are XOR'ed to generate one parity frame for each superframe pool { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2) }.
Regarding claim 10, Lusted discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the parity check is added as a subframe to said superframe pool { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0024]; pg. 5, [0032]; Figs. 1A-2) }.
Regarding claim 11, Lusted discloses the system of claim 10, wherein said subframes are sent across to a channel side through the channel manager and said parity check subframe is sent as the last frame after all subframes are sent { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 12, Lusted discloses the system of claim 9, wherein said second data packets are received by the receive module of the FEC module as subframes arriving from the channel manager, are transformed to packets, and sent to the DMTS module { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 13, Lusted discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the receive module of the FEC module stores a copy of each subframe in a buffer pool for each superframe pool and the parity check is used to generate any lost subframe { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Regarding claim 14, Lusted discloses the system of claim 13, wherein after all received subframes are processed by the receive module of the FEC module, pools are deleted and the superframe pool is freed { (see pg. 2, [0019-0020]; pg. 3, [0025-0026]; Figs. 1A-5) }.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LeFevre (US 2020/0044770 A1) discloses transmission of probabilistically shaped amplitudes using partially anti-symmetric amplitude labels.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
18 June 2026