DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first sound-insulation member" in 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song (EP 1300635 A2).
With respect to claim 1, Song teaches an outdoor unit for an air conditioning device (defined by device of Figures 2 and 5), the outdoor unit being inherently configured to be connected via piping to one or more indoor units ([0001]-[0002]), comprising: a compressor (64b); and a housing (70) opening upward and including a first sound-insulation member (Figure 3, layer #70 or layers #70/76) comprising a sound-insulation material accommodating the compressor (64b) in an inner space thereof, wherein the first sound-insulation member (70 or 70/76) includes a first surface facing an outside of the housing and a second surface facing the inner space, and wherein a first anti-vibration groove (defined by one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) is formed in the first surface of the first sound- insulation member of the housing exposed to the outside (clearly seen).
With respect to claim 2, Song teaches wherein a plurality of first anti-vibration grooves (defined by plurality of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) are formed at equal intervals from each other in the first sound-insulation member (70).
With respect to claim 3, Song teaches wherein the first anti-vibration grooves (defined by plurality of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) are formed in a straight line.
With respect to claim 7, Song teaches wherein a first sound-absorption member (76) comprising a sound absorbing material is attached to the second surface of the first sound-insulation member (70) facing the inner space of the housing.
With respect to claim 16, Song teaches housing (Figures 2-6, #70) for shielding noise from a compressor (64b) provided in an outdoor unit of an air conditioning device ([0001]-[0002]), comprising: a sound-insulation member comprising a sound-insulating material having an inner space (defined by layers #70/76 in Figure 3), opening upward, and including a first surface exposed to facing an outside of the housing and a second surface facing the inner space (clearly seen); and at least one anti-vibration groove (defined by at least one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) formed on the first surface of the sound- insulation member exposed to the outside (clearly seen in Figures 2-6).
With respect to claim 17, Song teaches wherein the anti-vibration groove (defined by at least one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) comprises: at least one first anti-vibration groove (defined by one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6); and at least one second anti-vibration groove (defined by other of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) meeting the at least one first anti-vibration groove. Note that the grooves “meet” at the protrusion #72 situated therebetween.
With respect to claim 18, Song teaches wherein each of the at least one anti-vibration groove (defined by one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) extends in a straight line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9-11, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (EP 1300635 A2).
With respect to claim 6, Song teaches the outdoor unit for an air conditioning device of claim 1. Song further teaches wherein a depth of the first anti-vibration groove (defined by one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) is of an obvious, but unspecified thickness of the first sound-insulation member
Song fails to explicitly teaches wherein a depth of the first anti-vibration groove is approximately one half of a thickness of the first sound-insulation member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a depth of the first anti-vibration groove is approximately one half of a thickness of the first sound-insulation member, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the Art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, it is well known that thickness of a material will directly affect the amount and frequency range of sound that a material can absorb, and selecting a particular thickness relative to the depth of the groove would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to tune the device.
With respect to claim 9, Song teaches the outdoor unit for an air conditioning device of claim 1. Song further teaches wherein based on a sound-insulation cover (defined by unlabeled cover coupled to and closing the open top of housing #70) being coupled to an upper end of the housing (70), the inner space is closed;
Song fails to explicitly teach wherein the sound-insulation cover comprises: a second sound-insulation member comprising a sound-insulating material, and a second sound-absorption member comprising a sound-absorbing material attached to one surface of the second sound-insulation member.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to for the cover member of the same material of the housing #70, such that the the sound-insulation cover comprises: a second sound-insulation member comprising a sound-insulating material (layer #70 in Figure 3, when applied to the housing cover), and a second sound-absorption member comprising a sound-absorbing material (76) attached to one surface of the second sound-insulation member, so as to further attenuate noise generated by the compressor #64.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 10, Song teaches the outdoor unit for an air conditioning device of claim 9.
Song fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one second anti-vibration groove is formed on one surface of the second sound- insulation member exposed to an outside.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein at least one second anti-vibration groove is formed on one surface of the second sound- insulation member exposed to an outside, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In this case, because the priotrusions #72, which form the grooves, are explicitly for attenuating noise generated by the compressor, applying the protrusions to other parts of the housing (including the housing top cover) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to further reduce noise.
With respect to claim 11, Song teaches wherein it is obvious that the at least one second anti-vibration groove (defined groove formed between adjacent protrusions #72 when protrusions are formed on the top cover of housing #70 as defined in the rejection of claim 10 above) extends in a straight line.
With respect to claim 14, Song teaches the outdoor unit for an air conditioning device of claim 10. Song further teaches wherein a depth of the second anti-vibration groove (defined groove formed between adjacent protrusions #72 when protrusions are formed on the top cover of housing #70 as defined in the rejection of claim 10 above) is of an obvious, but unspecified thickness of the second sound-insulation member
Song fails to explicitly teaches wherein a depth of the second anti-vibration groove is approximately one half of a thickness of the second sound-insulation member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a depth of the second anti-vibration groove is approximately one half of a thickness of the second sound-insulation member, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the Art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, it is well known that thickness of a material will directly affect the amount and frequency range of sound that a material can absorb, and selecting a particular thickness relative to the depth of the groove would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to tune the device.
With respect to claim 19, Song teaches the outdoor unit for an air conditioning device of claim 16. Song further teaches wherein a depth of the anti-vibration groove (defined by one of grooves in between the plurality of protrusions #72/74 in Figures 4 and 6) is of an obvious, but unspecified thickness of the sound-insulation member
Song fails to explicitly teaches wherein a depth of the anti-vibration groove is approximately one half of a thickness of the sound-insulation member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a depth of the anti-vibration groove is approximately one half of a thickness of the sound-insulation member, since it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the Art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, it is well known that thickness of a material will directly affect the amount and frequency range of sound that a material can absorb, and selecting a particular thickness relative to the depth of the groove would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill so as to tune the device.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (EP 1300635 A2) in view of Tilton (2005/0139415).
With respect to claim 8, Song teaches the air conditioning device of claim 1.
Song fails to teach wherein a plurality of incisions are provided in the first sound-insulation member to reach the inner space from the first surface in a specified vicinity of a vertical edge bent to accommodate the compressor in the housing.
Tilton teaches wherein it is known to provide incisions in the form of scoring (Figure 3a, #40/41) to a sheet of material that is to be folded or curved, such that “the radius of curvature of the folded edge may be reduced, thereby yielding a sharper edge detail in the final acoustical product ([0035]), ” such that when combined, teaches wherein a plurality of incisions (Tilton, Figure 3a, #40/41) are provided in the first sound-insulation member (Song, #70 or #70/76) to reach the inner space from the first surface in a specified vicinity of a vertical edge bent to accommodate the compressor (Song, #64b) in the housing (Song, #70, when combined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Song, with the apparatus of Tilton, so as to provide wherein the radius of curvature of the folded edge may be reduced, thereby yielding a sharper edge detail in the final acoustical product.
With respect to claim 20, Song teaches the air conditioning device of claim 1.
Song fails to teach wherein a plurality of incisions having a specified length are formed along an edge bent in the housing.
Tilton teaches wherein it is known to provide incisions in the form of scoring (Figure 3a, #40/41) to a sheet of material that is to be folded or curved, such that “the radius of curvature of the folded edge may be reduced, thereby yielding a sharper edge detail in the final acoustical product ([0035]), ” such that when combined, teaches wherein a plurality of incisions (Tilton, Figure 3a, #40/41) having a specified length are formed along an edge bent (see shape of Song, #70) in the housing (70)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Song, with the apparatus of Tilton, so as to provide wherein the radius of curvature of the folded edge may be reduced, thereby yielding a sharper edge detail in the final acoustical product.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (EP 1300635 A2) in view of Miseong (KR 20200089876 A).
With respect to claim 15, Song teaches the air conditioning device of claim 1. Song further teaches wherein the housing comprises: a first housing (defined by main housing #70 having an open top), and a second housing (defined by unlabeled top cover seen in Figures 2 and 5 for closing an open top of housing #70) coupled to the first housing (70), wherein the first housing and the second housing are attachable (see Figure 5) to and detachable (see Figure 2) from each other by an obvious, but unspecified connection.
Song fails to teach wherein the first housing and the second housing are attachable to and detachable from each other by Velcro.
Miseong does teach that it is well known to attach noise blocking cover components with a Velcro material ([0005]), which is inherently attachable and detachable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Song, with the Velcro material of Miseong, so as to secure the two components together in the same way as taught in [0005] of Miseong. Further, the use of Velcro to attach two components together is well known and would have been any obvious mode of attachment to one of ordinary skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner considers Song and the obvious combination with Tilton and Miseong to teach all of the limitations of these claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837