DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS/IDSs) submitted on 10/30/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS/IDSs is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “flow channel frame assembly” of claims 2 & 3, “proton exchange membrane” of claims 2 & 3, “carbon felt” of claim 3, and “switching valves” of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Document No. CN110828853A to Wang et al.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a flow battery testing device, characterized by: comprising a housing (15) and a testing body (in figure 2, the frame containing the testing stack 4), the testing body comprising a testing stack (4) and a plurality of liquid path assemblies (the connectors, pipes, and pumps, collectively), the testing stack being provided with a plurality of liquid flow paths (3, 5, 10, 11), an outer surface of the housing being provided with a bearing surface (the bearing surface is the surface upon which testing stack 4 is held in figure 2), the testing stack being provided on the bearing surface (figure 2), and the plurality of liquid path assemblies being provided in the housing and correspondingly cyclically communicating with the plurality of liquid flow paths one to one (figure 2; claim 1; “A redox flow battery system is suitable for modular, comprising positive electrode storage tank, storage tank liquid outlet is connected with the positive electrode of the anode circulating pump, and the positive cycles of the first positive electrode supplying pipeline pump liquid outlet are connected).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 1, and Yang further teaches wherein each liquid path assembly comprises a liquid tank (“storage tank”), a liquid pump (“circulation pump”), a liquid supply pipeline and a liquid return pipeline (3, 5, 10, 11), an inlet of the liquid supply pipeline is connected with an outlet of the liquid tank (“liquid inlet,” “liquid outlet,” figure 2), an outlet of the liquid return pipeline is connected with an inlet of the liquid tank (“liquid inlet,” “liquid outlet,” figure 2), and the liquid pump is provided at the liquid supply pipeline or the liquid return pipeline (“the first positive electrode return pipeline between the first positive electrode supplying pipeline anode circulation pump comprises a positive electrode storage tank 1”).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 1, wherein the bearing surface is located on a top surface of the housing (figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of liquid path assemblies are two liquid path assemblies, and the plurality of liquid flow paths are two liquid flow paths (figure 2: there are liquid path assemblies for both of the two tanks in the system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Chinese Patent No. CN104716375A to Ma.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein the testing stack comprises two end plates, a plurality of flow channel frame assemblies provided between the two end plates, and a proton exchange membrane provided between adjacent flow channel frame assemblies, the two end plates are provided with a plurality of liquid inlet pipes correspondingly communicating with the plurality of flow channel frame assemblies one to one and a plurality of liquid outlet pipes correspondingly communicating with the plurality of flow channel frame assemblies one to one, and each flow channel frame assembly, together with the liquid inlet pipe and the liquid outlet pipe communicating therewith, forms one of the liquid flow paths.
However, Ma teaches wherein the testing stack comprises two end plates (“anode end plate, cathode end plate”), a plurality of flow channel frame assemblies provided between the two end plates (“frame plate assembly”), and a proton exchange membrane provided between adjacent flow channel frame assemblies (“ion exchange membrane”), the two end plates are provided with a plurality of liquid inlet pipes correspondingly communicating with the plurality of flow channel frame assemblies one to one and a plurality of liquid outlet pipes correspondingly communicating with the plurality of flow channel frame assemblies one to one (“a plurality of liquid flow battery to be tested share the same anode end plate and the cathode end plate”), and each flow channel frame assembly, together with the liquid inlet pipe and the liquid outlet pipe communicating therewith, forms one of the liquid flow paths (“a plurality of liquid flow battery to be tested share the same anode end plate and the cathode end plate”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the plates, exchange membrane, and flow channels of Ma with the test setup of Wang because those features are part and parcel to testing flow batteries. While Wang does not explicitly teach those pieces explicitly taught by Ma, Wang necessarily must have a similar setup of plates and an exchange membrane, as well as flow channels.
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Ma teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 2, and Ma further teaches wherein each flow channel frame assembly comprises a flow channel frame and a carbon felt provided inside the flow channel frame (“graphite felt”), and the proton exchange membrane is replaceably provided between adjacent flow channel frames (¶¶ [0007] & [0036]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20230088777 to Sample et al.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 4, but does not teach explicitly wherein the liquid pump is a centrifugal pump, and the centrifugal pump is provided at the liquid supply pipeline.
However, Sample teaches wherein the liquid pump is a centrifugal pump, and the centrifugal pump is provided at the liquid supply pipeline (¶ [0023]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use centrifugal pumps in a flow battery system for known advantages including high corrosion resistance to harsh electrolytes, smooth, pulsation-free flow, and high reliability with minimal maintenance.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20210359315 to Song et al.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 4, but does not teach explicitly wherein the housing is provided with a plurality of liquid drain pipes, and the plurality of liquid drain pipes correspondingly communicate with the plurality of liquid tanks one to one through a plurality of switching valves.
However, Song teaches wherein the housing is provided with a plurality of liquid drain pipes (¶ [0037]), and the plurality of liquid drain pipes correspondingly communicate with the plurality of liquid tanks one to one through a plurality of switching valves (¶ [0037]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the drain pipes and valves of Song with the device of Wang in order to allow for draining and replenishing of electrolytes to maintain battery performance.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of United States Patent App. Pub. No. 20220131171 to Han et al.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 1, but does not teach explicitly wherein the flow battery testing device further comprises: a tray provided on the bearing surface, the testing stack being provided on the tray.
However, Han teaches wherein the flow battery testing device further comprises: a tray provided on the bearing surface, the testing stack being provided on the tray (¶ [0017]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the tray of Han with the device of Wang to prevent any electrolyte leakage from escaping to the floor or other areas where it could cause problems.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Han teaches the flow battery testing device according to claim 8, and Han further teaches wherein the tray is bonded to the bearing surface (figure 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chinese Patent Document No. CN208923285U to Wang et al. discloses a modularized flow battery system.
Chinese Patent Document No. CN207426026U to Liu et al. discloses a four-tank flow battery structure improving utilization rate of electrolyte.
Chinese Patent Document No. CN207320253U to Zhang et al. discloses a lithium battery production system and an electrolyte supply system.
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857