CTNF 18/744,342 CTNF 74408 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 [a2] as being anticipated by Kang [US 2026/0045991] . As claims 1 and 15, Kang [US 2026/0045991] discloses an user equipment (UE) [Fig 3, Ref UE], comprising: a transceiver configured to: transmit capability information [Fig 3, Ref S305 discloses UE send its capability to gNB, Par. 0171]; and receive information indicating a group based beam reporting [Fig 4, Ref S410 discloses UE receives configuration information indicating a group based beam reporting, Par. 0030, 0172]; and a processor operably coupled with the transceiver, the processor configured to: measure reference signals [Fig 4, Ref S420 discloses measuring the RS, Par. 0189-0192] , determine, based on the information and the measurement, a group of two resource indicators [Par. 0110 and Table 3-5 disclose based on configuration information and measured value of L1-RSRP, L1-SINR to determine CRI and SSBRI, Par. 0134,-0135, 0214] , and determine, based on the measurement, beam metrics corresponding to the group of two resource indicators [Par. 0121, 0150, 0192-0193 and Table 3-5 disclose determining beam value of value of L1-RSRP and L1-SINR] ; and wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in a channel state information (CSI) reporting instance, the group of two resource indicators and the beam metrics [Fig 4, Ref S440, Par. 0194] , wherein a resource indicator in the group of two resource indicators is one of: (1) a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) resource indicator (SSBRI) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, SSBRI] and (2) a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, CRI] , and wherein a beam metric in the beam metrics is one of: (1) a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, L1-RSRP] and (2) a layer-1 signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, L1-SINR] . As claim 8, Kang [US 2026/0045991] discloses a base station (BS) [Fig 3, Ref gNB], comprising: a processor ; and a transceiver operably coupled with the processor, the transceiver configured to: receive capability information [Fig 3, Ref S305 discloses UE reports its capability to base station] ; transmit information indicating a group based beam reporting [Fig 5, Ref S510 discloses the base station transmits a CSI report configuration which includes information indicating a group based beam reporting] ; and receive, in a channel state information (CSI) reporting instance, a group of two resource indicators and beam metrics corresponding to the group of two resource indicators [Fig 5, Ref S530], wherein a resource indicator in the group of two resource indicators is one of: (1) a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) resource indicator (SSBRI) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, SSBRI] and (2) a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, CRI] , and wherein a beam metric in the beam metrics is one of: (1) a layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, L1-RSRP] and (2) a layer-1 signal to interference and noise ratio (L1-SINR) [Par. 0150 and Table 3-5, L1-SINR] . As claims 2, 9 and 16, Kang [US 2026/0045991] discloses the capability information indicates support of at least one of: simultaneous reception via one or more spatial domain receive filters [Table 4-5, 0097-0099, 0138-0144, 0205, 0208, discloses simultaneous reception via one or more spatial domain receive filters] ; simultaneous transmission via one or more spatial domain transmit filters [Table 5 discloses simultaneous transmission via one or more spatial domain transmit filters] ; and simultaneous transmission and reception via one or more spatial domain transmit or receive filters, respectively [Table 5 discloses simultaneous transmission and reception via one or more spatial domain transmit or receive filters] . As claims 3, 10 and 17, Kang [US 2026/0045991] discloses the information is provided by a higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 [Table 4-5, Par. 0138, 0212-0213 discloses version 18] . As claims 5, 12 and 19, Kang [US 2026/0045991] discloses when the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 is set to ‘ bothDLandUL ’, a portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous received via one or more spatial domain receive filters and simultaneously transmitted via one or more spatial domain transmit filters [ groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 in table 4-5, Par. 0140 discloses setting ‘ bothDLandUL ’, a portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous received via one or more spatial domain receive filters and simultaneously transmitted via one or more spatial domain transmit filters] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang [US 2026/0045991] . As claims 4, 11 and 18, Kang [US 2026/0045991] discloses when the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 is set to ‘ ULonly ’, a second portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous transmitted via one or more spatial domain transmit filters [Table 4-5 discloses ULonly enable then a second portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous transmitted via one or more spatial domain transmit filters, Par. 0138, 0213] . However, Kang fails to discloses when the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 is set to ‘ DLonly ’, a first portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous received via one or more spatial domain receive filters. In the same filed of endeavor, Kang discloses when the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 is set to ‘ DLonly ’, a first portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous received via one or more spatial domain receive filters [ groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 in table 4-5 discloses groupBasedBeamReporting-r18 in table 4-5, Par. 0140 discloses setting ‘ jointDLandUL ’ to DL without join UL a first portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous received via one or more spatial domain receive filters ]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for setting ‘ DL without UL , a first portion of the reference signals that correspond to the group of two resource indicators are simultaneous received via one or more spatial domain receive filters as disclosed by Kang. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang [US 2026/0045991] in view of Go [US 2024/0380460] . As claims 6, 13 and 20, Kang [US 2026/0045991] fails to disclose what Go [US 2024/0380460] discloses when a differential beam reporting is enabled, the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in the CSI reporting instance, one or more groups of differential beam metrics with a reference to a beam metric for both simultaneous reception and simultaneous transmission [Par. 0320-0341]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising when a differential beam reporting is enabled, the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in the CSI reporting instance, one or more groups of differential beam metrics with a reference to a beam metric for both simultaneous reception and simultaneous transmission as disclosed by Go into the teaching of Kang The motivation would have been to reduce processing time. As claims 7 and 14, Go [US 2024/0380460] discloses the transceiver is further configured to transmit, in the CSI reporting instance [Fig 15, S1504, Par. 0227, 0320-0341]: a first group of two beam metrics associated with the group of two resource indicators for simultaneous reception [Table 10 discloses report beams metric for received simultaneous] ; a second group of two beam metrics associated with the group of two resource indicators for simultaneous transmission [Table 10 discloses report beams metric for transmitting simultaneous] ; and when differential beam reporting is enabled: one or more first groups of differential beam metrics with a reference to a beam metric for simultaneous reception [Table 9] ; and one or more second groups of differential beam metrics with a reference to a beam metric for simultaneous transmission [Table 10] . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsumura [US 2023/0189270] discloses A terminal according to one aspect of the present disclosure includes a receiving section that receives a plurality of specific configurations in relation to a channel state information (CSI) report configuration, and a control section that configures a CSI report including CSI for each group such that the CSI report includes CSI based on a first specific configuration and CSI based on a second specific configuration, the first specific configuration and the second specific configuration being out of the plurality of specific configurations. According to one aspect of the present disclosure, it is possible to preferably use a CSI report related to group-based beam reporting. Kang [US 20260046083] discloses A method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes reporting channel state information (CSI) and transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS). The CSI includes at least one DL RS resource indicator. The SRS is transmitted based on at least one SRS resource. An uplink transmit (UL Tx) spatial filter related to the at least one SRS resource is determined based on the at least one DL RS resource indicator. Bellur [US 20240388944] discloses A method including determining a first reference signal received power and a first signal to interference and noise ratio at a user equipment in relation to a first transmission reception point; determining a second reference signal received power and a second signal to interference and noise ratio at the user equipment in relation to a second transmission reception point, where the first and second transmission reception points are spaced from each other; transmitting a signal from the user equipment, where the signal comprises information in regard to the reference signal received powers and the signal to interference and noise ratios for the first and second transmission reception points. Go [US 20240340672] discloses A method by which a terminal transmits channel state information (CSI), according to one embodiment of the present disclosure, may comprise the steps of: receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to a CSI report and second configuration information related to a CSI resource; receiving, from the base station, a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) on a plurality of CSI resources of M CSI resource sets on the basis of the second configuration information; and transmitting the CSI report to the base station on the basis of the CSI-RS and the first configuration information. Go [US 20240030979] discloses A method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a terminal in a wireless communication system according to an embodiment of the present specification comprises the steps of: receiving configuration information related to channel state information (CSI): receiving a downlink reference signal (DL RS); calculating the CSI on the basis of the DL RS; and reporting the CSI. The CSI relates to group-based beam reporting, and a specific reference for the CSI reporting may be set for each group on the basis of the configuration information. The CSI includes information on one or more of DL RSs on the basis of the specific reference for each group. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3159. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Edan Orgad can be reached at 571-272-7884. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 2 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 3 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 4 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 5 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 6 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 7 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 8 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 9 Art Unit: 2414 Application/Control Number: 18/744,342 Page 10 Art Unit: 2414