DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 01, 2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Drawings
The drawings filed on June 14, 2024 are accepted.
Specification
The specification filed June 14, 2024 is accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,782 B2 (hereinafter 782’ patent). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 2-21 of the present application correspond to elements of claims 1-20 of the 782’ patent. Claims 2-21 of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-20 of the 782’ patent because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of the 782’ patent.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,594,702 B2 (hereinafter 702’ patent). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 2-21 of the present application correspond to elements of claims 1-20 of the 702’ patent. Claims 2-21 of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-20 of the 702’ patent because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of the 782’ patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 2017/0078881 A1 [hereinafter Lee] in view of Park et al. US 2005/0144439 A1 [hereinafter Park].
As per claims 2 and 21, Lee teaches a method for authenticating a communication between two devices, the method comprising:
receiving, by a computing system comprising one or more processors, a first transmission comprising a first portion of a cryptographic key, the cryptographic key corresponding to a sender computing device [paragraphs 0062-0070];
receiving, by the computing system, a second transmission comprising a second portion of the cryptographic key [paragraphs 0062-0070];
validating, by the computing system, the cryptographic key based on the first portion and the second portion [paragraphs 0062-0070].
In the same field of endeavor, Park teaches an authentication method comprising:
registering, by the computing system, the cryptographic key with an authority entity [paragraphs 0057-0060]; and
sending, by the computing system, a third transmission indicating the cryptographic key has been publicly registered [paragraphs 0057-0060]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Park within the system of Lee in order to enhance security of the system by registering cryptographic key information with a centralized key authority entity.
As per claim 3, Lee further teaches the method wherein the first transmission is received via a first communication channel, and the second transmission is received via a second communication channel [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 4, Lee further teaches the method wherein the cryptographic key is generated based on a public-private key pair [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 5, Lee further teaches the method wherein the cryptographic key is generated by the sender computing device [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 6, Lee further teaches the method wherein the cryptographic key is generated based on a unique identifier of the sender computing device [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 7, Park further teaches the method wherein the cryptographic key is a public key, and wherein the third transmission indicates the public key has been publicly registered [paragraphs 0057-0060]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Park within the system of Lee in order to enhance security of the system by registering cryptographic key information with a centralized key authority entity.
As per claim 8, Park further teaches the method, wherein registering the cryptographic key comprises registering the cryptographic key on a public key infrastructure (PKI) [paragraphs 0057-0060]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Park within the system of Lee in order to enhance security of the system by registering cryptographic key information with a centralized key authority entity.
As per claim 9, Lee further teaches the method wherein the cryptographic key is a public key, and wherein the third transmission comprises at least one of the public key or a private key corresponding to the public key [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 10, Lee further teaches the method wherein validating the cryptographic key comprises combining the first portion of the cryptographic key with the second portion of the cryptographic key [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 11, Lee further teaches the method wherein the first transmission or the second transmission comprises a text message [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 12, Park further teaches the method wherein the third transmission comprises an identity certificate [paragraphs 0057-0060]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Park within the system of Lee in order to enhance security of the system by registering cryptographic key information with a centralized certificate authority.
As per claim 13, Lee further teaches the method further comprising receiving an authentication request corresponding to an electronic communication generated by the sender computing device [paragraphs 0062-0070].
As per claim 16, Lee further teaches the method further comprising sending a fourth transmission to a recipient computing device, the fourth transmission indicating the authentication request has been validated [paragraphs 0062-0070].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and further overcoming Double Patenting rejection indicated above.
Claims 17-20 would be allowable by overcoming the Double Patenting rejection indicated above.
Conclusion
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435