DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the sensor" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard (US 6614392) in view of Jacober et al. (US 7212127).
Re claim 1: Howard teaches an intelligent label (2) serving as a wireless communication device comprising a face stock (28) serving as a flexible cover; a liner (26) serving as a flexible substrate; a first adhesive layer on the flexible substrate (i.e., an adhesive can be applied to the back side of the label, col. 9, lines 9-11); a radio frequency transponder (6) serving as a wireless communication system, a processor (18) coupled to the wireless communication system, an power source (20) coupled to the wireless communication system and the processor, and at least one memory serving as non-transitory processor-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by the processor, configures the processor to perform operations comprising controlling the wireless communication system to communicate with one or more network nodes of an associated location tracking system to determine a location of the wireless communication device (col. 4, lines 22-48), wherein the radio frequency transponder, the processor, the energy source, and the memory located between the flexible cover and the flexible substrate (see figs. 1-4; col. 4, line 22- col. 5, line 10; col. 8, line 25- col. 9, line 35).
However, Howard fairly suggests that the intelligent label comprising a connection to a second device and a device layer for components of the devices.
Jacober teaches a RFID tag label (100) comprising an intermediate layer (122) serving as a device layer securing a RFID tag (106), and the RFID tag label (100) is a part of the roll of labels comprising a second label (118) and a third label (120)(see fig. 1-2; col. 4, lines 26-37; col. 5, lines 25-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Jacober to the teachings of Howard in order to provide multiple labels with secured tags.
Re claim 2: Howard teaches a system comprising an intelligent label (2) serving as a first wireless communication device; and the first wireless communication device comprising a face stock (28) serving as a flexible cover; a liner (26) serving as a flexible substrate; a processor (18) and a radio frequency transponder (6) serving as a wireless communication system located between the flexible cover and the flexible substrate (see figs. 1-4; col. 4, line 22- col. 5, line 10; col. 8, line 25- col. 9, line 35).
However, Howard fairly suggests that the intelligent label comprising a second wireless communication device, a device layer, and a wake circuit.
Jacober teaches a RFID tag label (100) comprising an intermediate layer (122) serving as a device layer securing a RFID tag (106), and the RFID tag label (100) is a part of the roll of labels comprising a second label (118) serving as second wireless communication device, and a conductor (510) serving as a wake circuit, wherein the tearing off the perforation (508) will turn the RFID tag into different working state (fig. 5A-5C; col. 7, line 56-col. 8, line 24) (see fig. 1-2; col. 4, lines 26-37; col. 5, lines 25-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Jacober to the teachings of Howard in order to provide multiple labels with secured tags. Also, such modification would provide an additional operating state, that is, the one operating state with an unseparated state and another operating state with an separated state (see col. 8, lines 50-67 of Jacober).
Although, Howard as modified by Jacober fails to teach that the tearing off the perforation line of the first device will transmit the state of second device.
However, it would have been an obvious design variation well within the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the design of label (500), that is, extending the conductor (510) to right side of the RFID tag (506) rather than extending to the left side of the RFID tag as shown in fig. 5A which the conductor (510) crossing the perorations for separating label (500) from the label on the right (see below figure), which transits the state of the adjacent communication device by tearing along the perforations, and therefore an obvious expedient.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard (US 6614392) in view of Jacober et al. (US 7212127) and Kato et al. (US 2017/0017872).
Howard teaches an intelligent label (2) serving as a wireless communication device comprising a face stock (28) serving as a flexible cover; a liner (26) serving as a flexible substrate; a radio frequency transponder (6) serving as a wireless communication system, a processor (18) coupled to the wireless communication system, and a power source (20) (i.e., the power source can be a thin battery, solar panel, or any other power source) serving as a cylindrical single cell battery coupled to the processor, and the wireless communication system, the cylindrical single cell battery configured to provide electrical power to the first wireless communication system and the processor, wherein the radio frequency transponder, the processor, and the power source located between the flexible cover and the flexible substrate (see figs. 1-4; col. 4, line 22- col. 5, line 10; col. 8, line 25- col. 9, line 35).
However, Howard fairly suggests that the intelligent label comprising a device layer for components of the devices.
Jacober teaches a RFID tag label (100) comprising an intermediate layer (122) serving as a device layer securing a RFID tag (106) (see fig. 1-2; col. 4, lines 26-37; col. 5, lines 25-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Jacober to the teachings of Howard in order to provide secured tags.
However, Howard as modified by Jacober fairly suggest that the wireless communication device comprising a sensor.
Kato teaches a carrier tape comprising an electronic component (5) such as temperature sensor (see fig. 1; paragraph 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Kato to the teachings of Howard/Jacober in order to provide additional information such as temperature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nelson (US 2011/0285507) teaches a RFID tape.
/SEUNG H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876