DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed July 24, 2026, claims 1, 10, 16-17 and 20 have been amended, claims 1 - 20 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Double Patenting Rejection applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraph 3, filed July 24, 2026, have been fully considered. However, the Terminal Disclaimers are Disapproved. See Terminal Disclaimer review decision of 8/4/2026 and 8/5/2026.
The 3 TDs were disapproved. The POA is missing. The person who signed the terminal disclaimer is not the applicant, patentee and/or an attorney of record. 37 CFR 1.321(a) and (b). (See FP 14.26.08). Please file a POA that gives power to the attorney and/or agent of record who is signing the TD, along with another copy of the TD form. Or file a TD form that is signed by the applicant. No additional fees are required with the resubmissions.
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraph 4, filed July 24, 2026, with respect to claims 2 and 17-19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 2 and 17-19 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraphs 5 - page 8, filed July 24, 2026, with respect to claims 1 - 20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0125078).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (Qualcomm IEEE 802.11-23/0312r0, Thoughts on Secure Control frames, 2023-02-16) and further in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0125078).
As per claim 1, Asterjadhi disclose A communications device (see Slide 3, AP) comprising:
the access point configured to generate a protected control frame (see slide 3, generating protected frames, see also slide 5, control frame is protected), wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected trigger frame (see slide 6, slide 7, a protected trigger frame by adding CMF), a protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame (see slides 8 and 9, adding CMF to C-BlockAck frames / protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame), or a protected block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame (see slide 10, generating/securing BlockAckReq frame / protected block acknowledgement request (BAR)); and
access point configured to transmit the protected control frame to a second communications device (see slide 3, STA, see slides 1 and 2, sending by AP the protected control frame to STA).
Although Asterjadhi disclose an access point configured to generate a protected control frame, wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected trigger frame, a protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame, or a protected block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame; and transmit the protected control frame to a second communications device.
Asterjadhi however does not explicitly disclose A communications device comprising: a controller and a transceiver and wherein the protected control frame carries protected-response indication information explicitly indicating that a response frame generated in response to the protected control frame transmitted by the second communications device is required to be a protected response frame.
Huang however disclose A communications device (see Fig.1A, Fig.3, para. 0120, an exemplary communication station 300, an AP 102) comprising: a controller (see Fig.3, communications circuitry 302) and a transceiver (see Fig.3, a transceiver 310) and wherein a protected control frame carries protected-response indication information explicitly indicating that a response frame generated in response to the protected control frame transmitted by a second communications device is required to be a protected response frame (see para. 0044, 0093, 0105, 0183, the request/response frame to be a protected action frame, and defines the signaling to include a KDE in the request/response frame/ a second communications device response to the protected control frame is required to be a protected response frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a communications device comprising: a controller and a transceiver and wherein a protected control frame carries protected-response indication information explicitly indicating that a response frame generated in response to the protected control frame transmitted by a second communications device is required to be a protected response frame, as taught by Huang, in the system of Asterjadhi, so to define the request/response frame to be a protected action frame, and define the signaling to include a KDE in the request/response frame, see Huang, paragraph 0044.
As per claim 2, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the communications device of claim 1.
Huang further disclose wherein the communications device comprises a wireless device that is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol (see Fig.1A-C, Fig.5, para. 0017, 0019, 0040, 0043, a STA/ UE 120/ a wireless device that is IEEE 802.11 protocol).
Motivation same as claim 1.
As per claim 3, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 1.
Huang further disclose wherein the communications device comprises a wireless multi-link device (MLD) (see Fig.1B, MLD 151), wherein the second communications device comprises a second wireless MLD (see Fig.1B, MLD 160), and wherein the transceiver comprises a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the protected control frame to the second wireless MLD through a wireless link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD (see Fig.5, para. 0103-0104, two or more antennas 501/ a wireless transceiver are coupled to the communications circuitry 502 arranged for sending and receiving wireless signals).
Motivation same as claim 1.
As per claim 4, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 1.
Asterjadhi further disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises the protected trigger frame, a protected compressed BAR frame, or a protected Multi-Traffic Identifier (TID) BAR frame (see slide 10, the protected control frame comprises a Secure Multi-TID BlockAckReq frame).
As per claim 6, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 1.
Asterjadhi further disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected multi-station (STA) BA frame (see slides 3 and 4, the protected control frame comprises Multi-STA BlockAck (M-BA) frames).
As per claim 20, claim 20 (the method claim) is rejected the same way as claim 1 (the apparatus claim).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (Qualcomm IEEE 802.11-23/0312r0, Thoughts on Secure Control frames, 2023-02-16), in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0125078) and further in view of Cherian et al (US Pub. No.:2016/0030757).
As per claim 5, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the communications device of claim 1.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected Multi-User Request To Send (MU-RTS) frame that is used to replace a RTS to solicit a Clear to Send (CTS) by an access point (AP) or a station (STA).
Cherian however disclose wherein a protected control frame comprises a protected Multi-User Request To Send (MU-RTS) frame that is used to replace a RTS to solicit a Clear to Send (CTS) by an access point (AP) or a station (STA) (see Fig.3B, para. 0060, 0061, a protected MU-RTS frame that is used to replace a RTS to solicit a Clear to Send (CTS) by AP 105, the enhanced STAs 110 that receive MU-RTS frame 325 responds with CTS frames 310, see also para. 0006, 0020, 0063-0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a protected Multi-User Request To Send (MU-RTS) frame that is used to replace a RTS to solicit a Clear to Send (CTS) by an access point (AP) or a station (STA), as taught by Cherian, in the system of Asterjadhi and Hung, so as to increase the overall throughput and reliability of a wireless network, see Cherian, paragraphs 6-9.
Claims 7-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asterjadhi et al. (Qualcomm IEEE 802.11-23/0312r0, Thoughts on Secure Control frames, 2023-02-16), in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0125078) and further in view of Huang670 et al (US Provisional 63/502011, filed May 12, 2023 and published as US Pub. No.:2025/0039670).
As per claim 7, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 6.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace a compressed BA frame.
Huang670 however disclose wherein a protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace a compressed BA frame (see Fig. 5A-5B, 6A-6D, Table 2, para. 0023, 0034, using protected multi-station (multi-STA) BA frames, see prov. para. 0016, 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace a compressed BA frame, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 8, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 6.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace a Multi-Traffic Identifier (TID) BA frame.
Huang670 however disclose wherein a protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace a Multi-Traffic Identifier (TID) BA frame (see Fig. 5A-5B, 6A-6D, Table 2, para. 0023, 0034, using protected multi-station (multi-STA) BA frames, see prov. para. 0016, 0025, 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace a Multi-Traffic Identifier (TID) BA frame, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 9, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 6.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace an acknowledgement (Ack).
Huang670 however disclose wherein a protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace an acknowledgement (Ack) (see Fig. 5A-5B, 6A-6D, Table 2, para. 0023, 0034, using protected multi-station (multi-STA) BA frames, see prov. para. 0016, 0025, 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a protected multi-STA BA frame is used to replace an acknowledgement (Ack), as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 11, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the communications device of claim 6.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein a controller is further configured to generate the protected control frame using a control frame group temporal key (CGTK), wherein the communications device comprises a wireless multi-link device (MLD), wherein the second communications device comprises a second wireless MLD, and wherein each wireless link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD has its own CTGK and its own packet number (PN) space.
Huang670 however disclose wherein a controller is further configured to generate the protected control frame using a control frame group temporal key (CGTK) (see para. 0057-0058, using a control frame peer transient key (CPTK)), wherein the communications device comprises a wireless multi-link device (MLD) (see Fig.6, para. 0099, 0137-0139, management frame protection between a MLD and a second MLD), wherein the second communications device comprises a second wireless MLD, and wherein each wireless link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD has its own CTGK (see para 25, 57-58 pairwise transient key (PTK), group temporal key (GTK), and integrity group temporal key (IGTK))) and its own packet number (PN) space (see Fig.6, para. 0099, where integrity group transient key packet number (IPN) for management frame protection is established).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a controller is further configured to generate the protected control frame using a control frame group temporal key (CGTK), wherein the communications device comprises a wireless multi-link device (MLD), wherein the second communications device comprises a second wireless MLD, and wherein each wireless link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD has its own CTGK and its own packet number (PN) space, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 12, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 1.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises the protected BAR frame, and wherein key identification (ID) information and frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BAR control field of the protected BAR frame.
Huang670 however disclose wherein a protected control frame comprises the protected BAR frame, and wherein key identification (ID) information and frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BAR control field of the protected BAR frame (see para. 24, Fig 6 – para. 98-99 teaches management frame protection with Key integrity group temporal key (IGTK) by creating a message integrity code and broadcast integrity protocol, see also para. 0070-0073, to have a key ID indication in the BA control or BAR control field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the protected control frame comprises the protected BAR frame, and wherein key identification (ID) information and frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BAR control field of the protected BAR frame, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 13, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang the communications device of claim 1.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein packet number (PN) information and message integrity check (MIC) information are located before a frame check sequence (FCS).
Huang670 however disclose wherein packet number (PN) information and message integrity check (MIC) information are located before a frame check sequence (FCS) (see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0078-0080, the PN and MIC are right before FCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein packet number (PN) information and message integrity check (MIC) information are located before a frame check sequence, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 14, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the communications device of claim 1.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises the protected BA frame, and wherein key identification (ID) information and frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BA control field of a Media Access Control (MAC) header of the protected BA frame.
Huang670 however disclose wherein a protected control frame comprises the protected BA frame, and wherein key identification (ID) information and frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BA control field of a Media Access Control (MAC) header of the protected BA frame (see Fig.4A, para. 0070-0074, 0091-0092, 0103-0104, a key ID indication in the BA control or BAR control field and Fig.4B, frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BA control field of a Media Access Control (MAC) header of the protected BA frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a protected control frame comprises the protected BA frame, and wherein key identification (ID) information and frame protection indication information are carried in a reserved subfield of a BA control field of a Media Access Control (MAC) header of the protected BA frame, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
As per claim 15, the combination of Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the communications device of claim 14.
The combination of Asterjadhi and Huang however does not explicitly disclose wherein packet number (PN) information and message integrity check (MIC) information are located after a last Per Association ID (AID) Traffic Identifier (TID) Info field.
Huang670 however disclose wherein packet number (PN) information and message integrity check (MIC) information are located after a last Per Association ID (AID) Traffic Identifier (TID) Info field (see Fig.7, Fig.8, para. 0078-0082, MIC and PN will be inside a per-AID TID info subfield, located after a last Per Association ID (AID) Traffic Identifier (TID) Info field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein packet number (PN) information and message integrity check (MIC) information are located after a last Per Association ID (AID) Traffic Identifier (TID) Info field, as taught by Huang670, in the system of Asterjadhi and Huang, so as to provide a more secure environment for data transmission and reception, see Huang670, paragraphs 31-34.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang670 et al (US Provisional 63/502011, filed May 12, 2023 and published as US Pub. No.:2025/0039670), in view of Asterjadhi et al. (Qualcomm IEEE 802.11-23/0312r0, Thoughts on Secure Control frames, 2023-02-16) and further in view of Huang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0125078).
As per claim 16, Huang670 A wireless multi-link device (MLD) (see Fig.1, Fig.10, MLD AP 102) comprising:
a controller (see Fig.10, Processing Circuitry 1008) configured to generate a protected control frame using a transient key or a group key (see Fig.6, Fig.9, para. 0023-0024, 0030, 0070, 0071,0098, create/generate a management frame protection using a key identification (ID) indication by creating a message integrity code. Also, the device encrypt one or more control frames using authentication encryption protocols using a 256-bit key and set a protected frame subfield field in a frame control field to be equal to “1.”); and generating a protected Trigger frame (see para. 0073, 0088, 0091, 0098, protected Trigger frame), a protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame (see Fig.8, Fig.9, para. 0091-0098, protected BA frame) or a protected block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame (see Fig.8, Fig.9, para. 0091-0098, protected BAR frame, see prov. para. 0016, 0055, 0056, 0069-0071)
a wireless transceiver (see Fig.10. Transceiver 1010) configured to transmit the protected control frame to a second wireless MLD (see Fig.1, MLB STA) through a wireless link (see para. 0046, one or more APs 102 implements an enhanced wireless frame security 142 with one or more user devices 120/transmits protected frame via this link) between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD (see Fig.2, Fig.8, Fig.9, para. 0094-0098, At block 906, the AP include a key identification (ID) indication in a BA control or BAR control field for the BA and BAR and transmit the protected control frame to a MLD STA, see also para. 0120, 0122, encryption of control frame and transmission in different links with plurality of Multi Link Devices, see prov. Fig. XY and YY, para. 0076-0078).
Although Huang670 disclose to generate a protected control frame using a transient key or a group key and transmit the protected control frame to a second wireless MLD.
Huang670 however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected control frame “comprises protected Trigger frame , a protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame (or a protected block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame”.
Asterjadhi however disclose A communications device (see Slide 3, AP), configured to generate a protected control frame (see slide 3, generating protected frames, see also slide 5, control frame is protected), wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected trigger frame (see slide 6, slide 7, a protected trigger frame by adding CMF), a protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame (see slides 8 and 9, adding CMF to C-BlockAck frames / protected block acknowledgement (BA) frame), or a protected block acknowledgement request (BAR) frame (see slide 10, generating/securing BlockAckReq frame / protected block acknowledgement request (BAR)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a communications device comprising: a controller and a transceiver, as taught by Asterjadhi, in the system of Huang670, so as to enhance protection and enhance the reliability of communication links, see Asterjadhi, slide 2.
The combination of Huang670 and Asterjadhi however does not explicitly disclose wherein the protected control frame carries protected-response indication information explicitly indicating that a response frame generated in response to the protected control frame transmitted by the second communications device is required to be a protected response frame.
Huang however disclose A communications device (see Fig.1A, Fig.3, para. 0120, an exemplary communication station 300, an AP 102) comprising: a controller (see Fig.3, communications circuitry 302) and a transceiver (see Fig.3, a transceiver 310) and wherein a protected control frame carries protected-response indication information explicitly indicating that a response frame generated in response to the protected control frame transmitted by a second communications device is required to be a protected response frame (see para. 0044, 0093, 0105, 0183, the request/response frame to be a protected action frame, and defines the signaling to include a KDE in the request/response frame/ a second communications device response to the protected control frame is required to be a protected response frame).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a communications device comprising: a controller and a transceiver and wherein a protected control frame carries protected-response indication information explicitly indicating that a response frame generated in response to the protected control frame transmitted by a second communications device is required to be a protected response frame, as taught by Huang, in the system of Huang670 and Asterjadhi, so to define the request/response frame to be a protected action frame, and define the signaling to include a KDE in the request/response frame, see Huang, paragraph 0044.
As per claim 17, the combination of Huang670, Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the wireless MLD of claim 16.
Asterjadhi further disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected compressed BAR frame or a protected Multi-Traffic Identifier (TID) BAR frame (see slide 10, the protected control frame comprises a Secure Multi-TID BlockAckReq frame).
Motivation same as claim 16.
As per claim 18, the combination of Huang670, Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the wireless MLD of claim 16.
Asterjadhi further disclose wherein the protected control frame comprises a protected multi-station (STA) BA frame (see slides 3 and 9, the protected control frame comprises a Multi-STA BlockAck frame).
Motivation same as claim 16.
As per claim 19, the combination of Huang670, Asterjadhi and Huang disclose the wireless MLD of claim 16.
Huang670 further disclose wherein the controller is further configured to generate the protected control frame using a control frame peer transient key (CPTK) (see para. 0025, 0057-0058, using pairwise transient key (PTK) / a control frame PTK, group temporal key (GTK), and integrity group temporal key (IGTK)), and wherein each wireless link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD has its own packet number (PN) space (see Fig.6-9, para. 0099, where integrity group transient key packet number (IPN)/PN space, for management frame protection is established between the AP MLD and STA MLD, prov. 0016, 0022, 0054, 0060, 0069 showing a protected frame control with Key ID and PN field/space).
Motivation same as claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ptasinski et al (US Pub. No.:2009/0235066) – see para. 0044, “Referring to FIG. 4, there is shown an exemplary RSN capabilities field 402. The RSN capabilities field 402 may comprise a pre-authentication (pre-auth) field 404, a no pairwise field 406, a pairwise transient key security association (PTKSA) replay counters field 408, a group temporal key security association (GTKSA) replay counters field 410, reserved fields 412, 416, 420, a peerkey enabled field 414 and a protected SN field 418”.
Liu et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0359633) – see para. 0079, 0084, 0088 “the client station 106 is configured to install a pairwise transient key (PTK) where the PTK based, at least in part, on the device pairing information and where the PTK may protect a data frame (and/or frames) exchanged at a MAC layer of the client station 106. Additionally, the client station 106 may be configured to install a session key, where the session key may be based, at least in part, on the device pairing information and where the session key may protect a data frame (and/or frames) exchanged at higher layers of the client station 106.”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469