D L5DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The objection of Claim 4 is withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “two different arms”… “two independently split and recombined interferometer arms”… “independently split arm contemporaneously generated with the SLM path”… “ recombination of independently propagated arm signals, no relative-phase comparison”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The instant application limits the scope of Claim 1 to, “direct incoherent light through the first beam splitter to the interferometer to generate an interference light pattern; and direct the interference light pattern back to the first beam splitter.”
Applicant admits that Lee teaches, “DMS performs wavelength-selective reflection to establish different optical path lengths for red, green, and blue image components”, but then states, “Accordingly, the presence of a polarization beam splitter and multiple reflective components does not transform Lee's folded image-routing system into a Michelson interferometer.”.
Applicant mistakenly believes that a Michelson interferometer requires “arms” of a traditional sense. This is not true. Interferometer designs vary greatly between interferometer types (see Mach-Zehnder Interferometer, Fabry-Perot interferometer, and Fizeau interferometer), and even vary in design between types. The hallmarks of a Michelson interferometer are a beam splitter that splits light into two different orthogonal directions (thus changing its optical path length, which affects its phase), and letting the returning light interfere at the location of the beam splitter before continuing away from the beam splitter.
The teaching of Lee does exactly this. Lee teaches (previously cited), wherein, “Then, among the light emitted from the light source (LS10), the first linearly polarized component can be reflected by the first beam splitter (BS10), pass through the first quarter wave plate (WP10), and be incident on the spatial light modulator (SLM)”(this is light L10 directed to a “first arm”) then, “The light of the second linear polarization component can pass through the first beam splitter (BS10) as is.” (this is what is often called “reference light” that passes through the beam splitter on reflected towards lens LE10, but it is not necessarily an “Arm”) [Par 53-54]. Then Lee teaches, “The light of the first circularly polarized component incident on the spatial light modulator (SLM) has a first image (L10). In addition, the light is reflected by the spatial light modulator (SLM) and changed into a second circularly polarized component, which then passes through the first 1/4 wave plate (WP10).”[Par 55]. At this point, Lee has already taught the following, directing incoherent light through the first beam splitter to the interferometer to generate an interference light pattern ; and direct the interference light pattern back to the first beam splitter. Because, light of each polarized component interferes at the beam splitter because, the transmitted “second linearly polarized light” crosses the beam splitter in the same location as the reflected “second circularly polarized component, which then passes through the first 1/4 wave plate (WP10).Then, the light has a second linear polarization component and can pass through the first beam splitter (BS10).”)[Par 54-55]. Thus the claimed limitation is already satisfied, however even continuing on, the reflected light also becomes, “The red image, green image, and blue image reflected by the first to third dichroic mirrors (DM1, DM2, DM3), respectively, have a first circular polarization component and, as they pass through the second quarter-wave plate (WP11), have a first linear polarization component. Accordingly, the red image, green image, and blue image are reflected by the first beam splitter (BS10)” [Par 57]. Now each color is similarly polarized, and reflecting from beam splitter BS10, where the first transmitted linearly polarized light is also present (Again this would cause interference because the various optical path lengths of the reflected light cause differing phases that cause constructive or destructive interference).
Thus the prior art of Lee teaches Claim 1. If applicant intends to limit the scope of claim 1 to further comprises structure concerning the analysis of interfering reflected light, than applicant may want to include said language in the claim.
Applicant also argues that Lee does not teach, “a head mounted display device comprising an interferometer that includes a spatial light modulator”. As discussed above, the Examiner disagrees and contends that Lee does teach an interferometer including a spatial light modulator (SLM of Fig. 1), and the Examiner also points to where Lee teaches the use of a, virtual reality, mixed reality, and augmented reality device [Par 03-04], and its use in a head mounted display (See Fig. 22-24).
Applicant also argues that Lee does not teach “incoherent light”. Incoherent light is light that does not have a constant phase relationship (see First and second polarized light emitted by LS10) [Par 51-52].
Applicant also argues that, “Bellos provides no teaching whatsoever for including a second beam splitter between mirrors and a first beam splitter in a head mounted display. Bellos teaches an optical pulse stretcher. There is no teaching whatsoever in Bellos that the pulse stretcher has any utility in a head mounted display, or why or how a POSITA would implement an optical pulse stretcher between Lee's mirrors (DMS) and beam splitter 10. Nor does Bellos provide any teaching or suggestion for pulling out a single component (the second beam splitter) of the disclosed pulse stretcher and inserting it between Lee's DMS and BS10.”
The Examiner disagrees and points to where Bellos specifically teaches, wherein the second beam splitter (splitter 316) is between the plurality of mirrors (mirror 324 and reflective plate 318) [Par 30] and the first beam splitter (splitter 312) [Par 30]. Bellos also teaches that Pulses light signals are beneficial for , “for temporally stretching a short duration pulsed light signal to reduce its peak power, thus reducing the risk of causing damage to components that receives the pulsed light signal.”[Par 06]. In the case of a head mounted display, a pulsed light signal would be any light transmitted for a period of time through the optics of the HMD to the user’s eye, thus stretching it could reducing risk of damaged to HMD components or the human eye. Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both are true (Bellos taught damage to components) [Par 2], and POSITA would be aware of the possibility of damaging a user’s eye.
Applicant also argues that Nelly does not teach, a neural network configured to generate phase settings for the spatial light modulator or a U-Net. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to where Nelly teaches, “Some embodiments of the system comprise a programmable spatial light modulator (“SLM”) to produce data optimized for downstream processing (e.g., phenotyping) at a high speed without mechanical modifications to the system. Some embodiments of the system comprise a machine-learning model with an attention layer comprising a plurality of weights corresponding to a plurality of illumination settings (e.g., different illumination emitters of an illumination source) for identifying an optimal illumination pattern for capturing the image data.” [Par 002], and further teaches, “In some embodiments, at least one configuration of the SLM is to enhance one or more features. The one or more features can comprise a cell border, an actin filament, nuclear shape, cytoplasm segmentation, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, the system provides enhancement of neurites with specific convolution kernel encoded in the transfer function of the microscope.” [Par 323]. U-Net is used for encoding and decoding, and is taught being used for encoding/decoding such image features [Par 276].
Therefore the rejection of Claims 1-21 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20190065753 A, see Espacenet Machine Translation).
Re Claim 1, Lee discloses, a head-mounted optical system (See Fig. 1) comprising: an interferometer (image forming device I10) [Par 48-53] comprising a spatial light modulator (SLM); a first beam splitter (BS 10); configured to direct incoherent light through the first beam splitter to the interferometer to generate an interference light pattern (light is split and polarized and reflected by mirrors DMS and wave WP10 together towards beam splitter BS11, and thus would interfere with each other) [Par 50-53]; and direct the interference light pattern back to the first beam splitter (light reflected from DMS and WP10 and SLM is reflected back towards splitter BS10) [Par 50-53].
But Fig. 1 of Lee does not explicitly disclose a first light guide.
However, Lee does disclose on Fig. 16-18, a first light guide (LGP1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in order to transmit light from the input surface to the output surface, as taught by Lee [Par 36].
Re Claim 2, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 1, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 1, the first beam splitter (splitter BS 10) comprising a polarization beam splitter (BS 10 serves as a polarization splitter) [Par 53].
Re Claim 3, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 1, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 1, the interferometer comprising a Michelson interferometer (image forming device splits light with beam splitter BS10 into two different arms, towards mirror DMS and SLM, which reflect back together effectively creating a Michelson interferometer arrangement) [Par 48-53].
Re Claim 11, Lee discloses, An augmented reality display device (See Fig. 1 and 20) comprising: a first viewport region (diffractive optical lens DL in optical system 100a) and a second viewport region (Diffractive optical lens in optical system 100B) each comprising: an incoherent light (multiple dichroic mirrors and polarization inherently means input light L10 is incoherent) input region (image L10 is incident on splitter BS10) configured to align with a different eye of a user of the head-mounted augmented reality display device (Fig. 20: system 100a and 100b align with eyes 10A and 10B); and a peripheral region (Fig.1: either side of BS10 where DMS and SLM are located) positioned at a lateral offset from the light input region; each viewport region configured to direct the incoherent light through a first beam splitter (BS10) located in the light input region to an interferometer located in the peripheral region to generate an interference light pattern (image L10 is split and reflected between SLM, and DM1-DM3 and the corresponding images are combined in BS10); and direct the interference light pattern back to the first beam splitter (blue, red, and green images are reflected back to BS10) [Par 58].
But Fig. 1 of Lee does not explicitly disclose a first light guide configured to direct the incoherent light through a first beam splitter.
However, Lee does disclose on Fig. 16-18, a first light guide (LGP1) configured to direct the incoherent light through a first beam splitter (DMS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in order to transmit light from the input surface to the output surface, as taught by Lee [Par 36].
Re Claim 12, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 11, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 1, the first beam splitter (splitter BS 10) comprising a polarization beam splitter (BS 10 serves as a polarization splitter) [Par 53].
Re Claim 13, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 11, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 1, the interferometer comprising a Michelson interferometer (image forming device splits light with beam splitter BS10 into two different arms, towards mirror DMS and SLM, which reflect back together effectively creating a Michelson interferometer arrangement) [Par 48-53].
Claim(s) 4-8, 14-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bellos (US 20220329037 A1).
Re Claim 4, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 1, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 1 and 16, comprising: a second beam splitter (Fig. 1: splitter BS11) disposed along the first light guide (if Fig. 1 and 16 are combined splitter BS11 would be in waveguide LGP).
But modified Lee does not explicitly disclose, wherein the second beam splitter is between the plurality of mirrors and the first beam splitter.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Bellos teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in head mounted display to include wherein the second beam splitter (splitter 316) is between the plurality of mirrors (mirror 324 and reflective plate 318) [Par 30] and the first beam splitter (splitter 312) [Par 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Bellos in order to provide, a stretched light signal, as taught by Bellos [Par 30].
Re Claim 5, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 4.
But Lee in view of Bellos does not explicitly disclose, the second beam splitter comprising a polarization beam splitter.
However, Bellos does further disclose on Fig. 1, a first polarization (polarization beam splitter 312) [Par 30]. Thus, the use of polarization beam splitters is known the art at the time of the invention. Bellos would have been capable of making the second beam splitter a polarizing splitter as well, and further would have been motivated to do so in order to provide control of the stretching of the beam signal [Par 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Lee in view of Bellos such that, the second beam splitter comprises a polarization beam splitter, in order to provide of the stretching of the beam signal [Par 30].
Re Claim 6, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 4, and lee further discloses on Fig. 16, further comprising a two-dimensional display (source D10 is a display panel) [Par 101].
Re claim 7, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 6, and Fig. 1 of Lee discloses, a second light guide (the entire unit of the BS10 splitter including the attached components), a concave mirror (dichroic mirror DMS includes a concave mirror) and a quarter wave plate (quarter wave plate WP10).
But Lee in view of Bellos does not explicitly disclose, the second lightguide comprising the second polarization beam splitter, wherein the second light guide configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display.
However, Lee does disclose on Fig 16, a light guide (guide LGP) configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display (display D10 is emitting incoherent light, which is evidenced by the presence of dichroic mirrors DMS) [Par 101 and 102], and Bellos does disclose on Fig. 1, a lightguide (Entire prism of splitter 312) comprising a polarization beam splitter (polarization splitter 312) [Par 38]. Note that the Court has held that mere duplication of parts has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Thus, it would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to simply duplicated both the lightguide of Lee and the polarization beam splitter of Bellos, such that, the second lightguide comprises the second polarization beam splitter, and the second light guide is configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to better control the reflection and transmit direction of polarized light, as taught by Bellos [Par 38-39].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention, to include the second lightguide comprising the second polarization beam splitter, wherein the second light guide configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display, in order to provide, better control the reflection and transmit direction of polarized light, as taught by Bellos [Par 38-39].
Re Claim 8, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 7.
But Lee in view of Bellos does not explicitly disclose, wherein the head mounted system is configured such that light from the first light guide and light from the second light guide merge at the second beam splitter.
However, Lee teaches on Fig. 1 wherein, a first and second light (Red image, green image, and blue image) from a guide (body of splitter BS10 and its attached components DMS and SLM) merged at a beam splitter (different color images are together directed by beam splitter BS10 towards splitter BS11) [Par 56], and Lee teaches on Fig. 16, a light guide arm (LGP). Note that the Court has held that mere duplication of parts has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Thus, it would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to simply use a second lightguide for the separate images, especially since Lee already teaches combining said images at a beam splitter (BS10) would have the benefit of being able to transmit two images [Par 58-59].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Lee in view of Bellos such that, the head mounted system is configured such that light from the first light guide and light from the second light guide merge at the second beam splitter, to transmit two images [Par 58-59].
Re Claim 14, modified Lee discloses, the augmented reality device of claim 11, and Lee further discloses on Fig. 16, further comprising: the first light guide (light guide LGP) comprising at least one mirror (Dichroic mirrors DMS) [Par 52], and a second beam splitter disposed along the first light guide (dichroic mirrors are partially reflective and thus beam splitters) [Par 52].
But modified Lee does not explicitly disclose, a second beam splitter disposed between the at least one mirror and the first beam splitter.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Bellos teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in optical systems to include a second beam splitter (splitter 316) disposed between the at least one mirror (mirror 324) and the first beam splitter (splitter 312) [Par 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Bellos in order to provide a stretched light signal, as taught by Bellos [Par 30].
Re Claim 15, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 14.
But Lee in view of Bellos does not explicitly disclose, the second beam splitter comprising a polarization beam splitter.
However, Bellos does further disclose on Fig. 1, a first polarization (polarization beam splitter 312) [Par 30]. Thus, the use of polarization beam splitters is known the art at the time of the invention. Bellos would have been capable of making the second beam splitter a polarizing splitter as well, and further would have been motivated to do so in order to provide control of the stretching of the beam signal [Par 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Lee in view of Bellos such that, the second beam splitter comprises a polarization beam splitter, in order to provide of the stretching of the beam signal [Par 30].
Re Claim 16, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 14, and lee further discloses on Fig. 16, further comprising a two-dimensional display (source D10 is a display panel) [Par 101].
Re claim 17, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 16, and Fig. 1 of Lee discloses, a second light guide (the entire unit of the BS10 splitter including the attached components), a concave mirror (dichroic mirror DMS includes a concave mirror) and a quarter wave plate (quarter wave plate WP10).
But Lee in view of Bellos does not explicitly disclose, the second lightguide comprising the second polarization beam splitter, wherein the second light guide configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display.
However, Lee does disclose on Fig 16, a light guide (guide LGP) configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display (display D10 is emitting incoherent light, which is evidenced by the presence of dichroic mirrors DMS) [Par 101 and 102], and Bellos does disclose on Fig. 1, a lightguide (Entire prism of splitter 312) comprising a polarization beam splitter (polarization splitter 312) [Par 38]. Note that the Court has held that mere duplication of parts has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Thus, it would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to simply duplicated both the lightguide of Lee and the polarization beam splitter of Bellos, such that, the second lightguide comprises the second polarization beam splitter, and the second light guide is configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display. Further one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to better control the reflection and transmit direction of polarized light, as taught by Bellos [Par 38-39].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention, to include the second lightguide comprising the second polarization beam splitter, wherein the second light guide configured to receive incoherent light from the two-dimensional display, in order to provide, better control the reflection and transmit direction of polarized light, as taught by Bellos [Par 38-39].
Re Claim 18, Lee in view of Bellos discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 17.
But Lee in view of Bellos does not explicitly disclose, wherein the head mounted system is configured such that light from the first light guide and light from the second light guide merge at the second beam splitter.
However, Lee teaches on Fig. 1 wherein, a first and second light (Red image, green image, and blue image) from a guide (body of splitter BS10 and its attached components DMS and SLM) merged at a beam splitter (different color images are together directed by beam splitter BS10 towards splitter BS11) [Par 56], and Lee teaches on Fig. 16, a light guide arm (LGP). Note that the Court has held that mere duplication of parts has not patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Thus, it would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to simply use a second lightguide for the separate images, especially since Lee already teaches combining said images at a beam splitter (BS10) would have the benefit of being able to transmit two images [Par 58-59].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Lee in view of Bellos such that, the head mounted system is configured such that light from the first light guide and light from the second light guide merge at the second beam splitter, to transmit two images [Par 58-59].
Re Claim 21, Lee discloses, An augmented reality display device (See Fig. 1 and 20) comprising: a first viewport region (diffractive optical lens DL in optical system 100a) and a second viewport region (Diffractive optical lens in optical system 100B) each comprising: an incoherent light (multiple dichroic mirrors and polarization inherently means input light L10 is incoherent) input region (overlapping region of eye 10) configured to align with a different eye of a user of the head-mounted augmented reality display device (Fig. 20: system 100a and 100b align with eyes 10A and 10B);
and a first peripheral region (Fig.1: side of BS10 where SLM are located) positioned at a lateral offset in a first direction from the light input region (SLM is laterally offset from where image L10 is incident on splitter BS10); a second peripheral region (side of BS10 where DMS is located) positioned at a lateral offset in a second direction from the light input region (DMS and SLM are opposite each other);
each viewport region configured to direct the incoherent light through a first beam splitter (BS10) located in the light input region to an interferometer located in the peripheral region to generate an interference light pattern (image L10 is split and reflected between SLM, and DM1-DM3 and the corresponding images are combined in BS10); and direct the interference light pattern back to the first beam splitter (blue, red, and green images are reflected back to BS10) [Par 58].
But Fig. 1 of Lee does not explicitly disclose a first light guide configured to direct the incoherent light through a first beam splitter, and a second light guide located in the second peripheral region configured to direct second incoherent light from a two-dimensional display to the beam splitter.
However, Lee does disclose on Fig. 16-18, a first light guide (LGP) configured to direct the incoherent light through a first beam splitter (DMS), and a light guide (LGP serves this roles as well) located in the second peripheral region (LGP stretches across input region in two directions) configured to direct second incoherent light (out of phase, multiwavelength light) [Par 52] from a two-dimensional display (D10) [Par 72] to the beam splitter (DMS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee in order to transmit light from the input surface to the output surface, as taught by Lee [Par 36].
But modified Lee still does not explicitly disclose, a second light guide located in the second peripheral region.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Bellos teaches, on Fig. 1, that it is desirable in interferometer systems to include, a second light guide (prism comprising beam splitter 312) located in the second peripheral region (prism comprising beam splitter 312 is laterally offset from output region) [Par 30, 79, and 85].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Bellos in order to provide optical stretching as taught by Bellos [Par 30].
Claim(s) 9 -10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Nelly (US 20220076067 A1).
Re Claim 9, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 1.
But modified Lee does not further disclose, comprising: a neural network configured to generate phase settings for the spatial light modulator.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Nelly teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in optical devices to include a neural network configured to generate phase settings for the spatial light modulator (machine learning or neural network model creates phase shift images from the SLM affected input image) [Par 224 and 227].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Nelly, in order to, accelerate three dimensional phase tomography, as taught by Nelly [Par 241].
Re Claim 10, Lee in view of Nelly discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 9, and Nelly further discloses, the neural network comprising a U-Net structure (neural network is UNET) [Par 276]
Re Claim 19, modified Lee discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 11.
But modified Lee does not further disclose, comprising: a neural network configured to generate phase settings for the spatial light modulator.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Nelly teaches, on Fig. 3, that it is desirable in optical devices to include a neural network configured to generate phase settings for the spatial light modulator (machine learning or neural network model creates phase shift images from the SLM affected input image) [Par 224 and 227].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lee with Nelly, in order to, accelerate three dimensional phase tomography, as taught by Nelly [Par 241].
Re Claim 20, Lee in view of Nelly discloses, the head-mounted optical system of claim 19, and Nelly further discloses, the neural network comprising a U-Net structure (neural network is UNET) [Par 276]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Trail (US 10832051 B1) teaches an optical beam splitter and waveguide system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872