DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant argues that Chen does not disclose or suggest "determining a preset video clipping template bound to the first image editing template as the first video clipping template, or determining a video clipping template whose video clipping effect conforms to style characteristic of the first image editing template as the first video clipping template".
Examiner respectively disagrees. Chen discloses (see para's 0071-0072, step 250, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; step 250 may be performed by a target video generation module. The video template 340 includes at least a time parameter. In some embodiments, the time parameter at least reflects the length of the target video 300. In some embodiments, the image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300. As such, the disclosure above indicates the video template can be used as image editing template and video editing template to apply splicing operation "editing effect" on both the image material 322 and/or video material 312 for generate the target video 300; therefore, it is implicit or obvious that the video template is bound to both an image editing template and an video editing template with respect to the splicing operation on the image material 322 and video material 312 respectively, and it is also implicit or obvious that the video clipping template is being used as image editing template to perform splicing operation “editing effect” on the image material 322, and as video editing template to perform splicing operation "conforming editing effect" on the video material 312).
Therefore, Chen discloses "determining a preset video clipping template bound to the first image editing template as the first video clipping template, or determining a video clipping template whose video clipping effect conforms to the image editing effect of the first image editing template as the first video clipping template".
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
If the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) is properly invoked, a disqualified U.S. patent document is not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as of its effectively filed date (for both anticipation and obviousness rejections), but it may still be used as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as of its publication or issue date. In addition, the examiner may make a subsequent, new double patenting rejection based upon the disqualified reference. See MPEP 717.02 and 2154.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 11-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (English Translation of Chinese Publication CN 111739128 10-2020, hereinafter Chen), or in the alternative under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a video generation method, comprising:
acquiring a first image material and determining a first image editing template used for the first image material (Chen, para’s 0045-0056, step 210, obtaining at least one of an image 320 to be processed and a video 310 to be processed; step 220, obtaining main body 350 of the target video 300, including one or more subjects 350 for highlighting a theme; step 230, based on the preset size of the target video 300 and the main body 350, the video to be processed 310 is cropped, scaled and/or edited to obtain video materials 312 including the main body 350; step 240, cropping and/or scaling the image to be processed 320 based on a preset size of the target video 300 to obtain an image material 322; video materials 312 and/or image material 322 can be considered as “first image material”; para. 0062, the image to be processed 320 may be processed by a machine learning model “image editing template”. It can be understood that the image of a single frame in a video frame can be regarded as a picture, and the graph embedding model that can process multiple video frames can also process the image to be processed 320; para. 0055, when using machine learning/template model for cropping, the manually labeled object positions and categories can be used as training samples to train the model, so that the model can accurately label and identify the subject 350 in the video 310 to be processed. In some embodiments, the graph embedding model can be further used to extract images of each video frame that constitutes the video to be processed 310, and extract image features of the video frames. At the same time, the graph embedding model extracts the image features of the subject 350 obtained in step 220, and based on the image features of the video frames and the image features of the subject 350, a series of video frames containing the subject 350 are determined. The video clip composed of the series of video frames is the video to be processed 310 containing the subject 350. In some other specific embodiments, according to the characteristics of the machine learning model, the background outside the subject 350 in the video can be optionally blurred to further highlight the subject 350);
wherein, the first image editing template is used for configuring an image editing operation to be performed on a second image material so that the first image material is generated from the second image material after the second image material has been edited according to the image editing operation; wherein the first image material presents an image editing effect corresponding to the first image editing template (Chen, para’s 0045-0056, step 230, based on the preset size of the target video 300 and the main body 350, the video to be processed 310 is cropped, scaled and/or edited to obtain video materials 312 including the main body 350; step 240, cropping and/or scaling the image to be processed 320 “a second image material” based on a preset size of the target video 300 to obtain an image material 322 including the subject 350; para. 0062, the image to be processed 320 may be processed by a machine learning model/template to obtain the position of the subject 350; specifically, the position of the subject 350 can continue to be determined using the graph embedding model. It can be understood that the image of a single frame in a video frame can be regarded as a picture, and the graph embedding model that can process multiple video frames can also process the image to be processed 320);
matching a first video clipping template for the first image material according to the first image editing template (Chen, para’s 0071-0072, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; the video template 340 includes at least a time parameter that at least reflects the length of the target video 300. The image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed using the machine learning model “image editing template” in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300 and including the main body 350; para’s 0075-0076, the target video 300 is beautified by using the beautification parameters to obtain a better effect; the beautification parameters may include at least one of filter parameters, animation parameters, and layout parameters; the animation parameter may be to add animation effects between the materials when the target video 300 has multiple video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 in the process of splicing, so as to make the target video 300 more natural; therefore, it is implicit or obvious that the video template matches with the learning model(s)/ image editing template(s) that have been used to generate the image materials 322 and/or the video materials 312; see also para’s 0088-0089, matching video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 with editing points of editing template; it is also noted that matching video material with editing template is well known in the art as is evidenced by Li et al., English Translation of Chinese Publication CN110730381, see para’s 0063-0064);
editing the first image material according to a video editing operation configured by the first video clipping template, to generate a target video (Chen, para. 0071, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; para’s 0072-0076, the video template 340 includes at least a time parameter that at least reflects the length of the target video 300. In some embodiments, the image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300. Therefore, the splicing may be random or have a predetermined pattern to play the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 in an orderly manner based on a time parameter),
wherein the matching the first video clipping template for the first image material according to the first image editing template, comprise: determining a preset video clipping template bound to the first image editing template as the first video clipping template, or determining a video clipping template whose video clipping effect conforms to the image editing effect of the first image editing template as the first video clipping template (Chen, para's 0071-0072, step 250, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; step 250 may be performed by a target video generation module. The video template 340 includes at least a time parameter. In some embodiments, the time parameter at least reflects the length of the target video 300. In some embodiments, the image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300. As such, the disclosure above indicates the video template can be used as image editing template and video editing template to apply splicing operation "editing effect" on both the image material 322 and/or video material 312 for generate the target video 300; therefore, it is implicit or obvious that the video template is bound to both an image editing template and an video editing template with respect to the splicing operation on the image material 322 and video material 312 respectively, and it is also implicit or obvious that the video clipping template is being used as image editing template to perform splicing operation “editing effect” on the image material 322, and as video editing template to perform splicing operation "conforming editing effect" on the video material 312).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, if there are a plurality of preset video clipping templates, the first video clipping template is any one of the plurality of preset video clipping templates (Chen, para. 0074, selecting any of the preset template materials in Adobe After Effects (AE) software).
Regarding claim 12: Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, the editing the first image material according to the video editing operation configured by the first video clipping template, to generate the target video, comprises:
in a case that the first image material comprises a plurality of pictures, filling the plurality of pictures into different positions of the first video clipping template; wherein, the image editing templates respectively used for the plurality of pictures are the same, and the image editing templates respectively used for the plurality of pictures each is the first image editing template; or, the image editing templates respectively used for the plurality of pictures are different, and the image editing templates respectively used for the plurality of pictures comprise the first image editing template, and/or if the first video clipping template is a preset video clipping template, displaying prompt information; in response to confirmation operation triggered for the prompt information, uploading the first image material to the second server, so as to edit, by a second server, the first image material according to a video editing operation configured by the first video clipping template, to generate a target video; and receiving the target video from the second server (Chen, para’s 0071-0072, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 having a plurality of pictures at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; the image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed using the machine learning model “image editing template” in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300 and including the main body 350).
Claims 13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1, 11, and 12 above. Chen further discloses processors, memory, and computer-readable medium (see para’s 0013-0014).
7. Claims 2-3, and 7 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Xu (English Translation of Chinese Publication CN111246272 06-2020), and further in view of Chen et al. (English Translation of Chinese Publication CN113569034, 10-2021, hereinafter Chen-9034).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, before editing the first image material according to the video editing operation configured by the first video clipping template to generate the target video, the method further comprises: displaying a plurality of historical image materials wherein the historical image materials are displayed in a second region in a target page, the historical image materials comprises the first image material (Chen, fig. 2, para’s 0055-0057, 0076, a plurality of video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 as “a plurality of historical image materials that have been generated as first image material” can be displayed in a display page. Displaying data items such as “a plurality of historical image materials” in a second region of a display page is considered as an obvious design option and/or as well known in the art for providing benefit of improving ease-of-view for the end user).
Chen does not explicitly disclose but Xu discloses in response to an operation of entering the target page, generating a video cover for the target video and displaying the target page wherein the video cover and a playback control associated with the video cover are displayed in a first region in the target page, and the video cover comprises the first image material (Xu, para’s 0009-0025, in response to an instruction for a target video, acquire a target cover image of the target video; the target cover image is obtained by performing a focusing operation on a target original cover image, and the target cover image includes a target object obtained by focusing on the target original cover image “the first image material”; display the target cover image of the target video on the video preview page; para. 0158, the video editing interface includes a cover control. When a user clicks on the cover control, the terminal can obtain a target cover image in response to the user's triggering operation on the cover control; para. 0162, the target cover image of the target video is displayed on the video preview page).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate/combine Xu’s features into/with Chen’s invention for enhancing user’s viewing experience by providing representative video cover and playback control for target video.
Chen-Xu does not explicitly disclose but Chen-9034 discloses a playback control associated with the video cover is displayed in a first region in the target page (Chen-9034, para. 0126, display a playing control 13 in the cover image; in response to detecting an action on the playing control 13, playing back the video corresponding to the playing control 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate/combine Chen-9034’s features into/with Chen-Xu’s invention for enhancing user’s viewing experience by providing playback control for the target video.
Regarding claim 3, Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 discloses the method of claim 2, comprising editing the first image material according to the video editing operation configured by the first video clipping template, to generate the target video as described in claims 1 and 2 above (see Chen, para. 0071, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; para’s 0072-0076, the video template 340 includes at least a time parameter that at least reflects the length of the target video 300. In some embodiments, the image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300. Therefore, the splicing may be random or have a predetermined pattern to play the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 in an orderly manner based on a time parameter. Note: While Chen does not explicitly describe a trigger operation acting on the playback control for editing the first image material, however, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a trigger operation acting on a control for editing the first image material to improve ease-of-use);
the method further comprises:
in response to a trigger operation acting on the playback control, displaying a video details page, where the video details page comprises a video playback region in which the target video is played (Chen-9034, para. 0126, in response to detecting an action on the playing control 13, playing back the video corresponding to the playing control 13 in a video display region). It is also well known in the art to display a target video on the video playback page in response to a triggering operation as is evidenced by Jiang et al., English Translation of Chinese Publication CN113498611, para. 0091).
The motivation to combine the references are the same as claim 2.
Regarding claim 7: Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 discloses the method of claim 3, comprising displaying the historical image material on a video details page (Chen, fig. 2, para’s 0055-0057, 0076, display a plurality of video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 “historical image materials” in a region of a display page. Note: While Chen does not explicitly describe displaying the historical image material in response to a trigger operation acting on a material replacement control displayed in the video details page, however, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a control and in response to a trigger operation acting on the control, displaying the historical image materials on a display page for the benefit of improving ease-of-use and enhancing viewing experience for the user); the method further comprises:
select a third image material from the displayed historical image materials; determining a second image editing template used for the third image material; matching a second video clipping template for the third image material according to the second image editing template; according to the video editing operation configured by the second video clipping template, editing the third image material to generate a new target video (Chen, fig. 2, para’s 0055-0057, 0076, displaying multiple image materials; and processing an image material “third image material” to generate a target video; as described in claim 1 above, see para’s 0071-0076, it is implicit or obvious that the video template matches with the learning model(s)/ image editing template(s) that have been used to generate the image materials 322 and/or the video materials 312 “third image material”; using the video template 340, splicing and/or editing the third image material to generate a “new” target video; see also para’s 0088-0089, matching video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 with editing points of editing template among multiple image materials as described above; while Chen does not explicitly disclose the selecting the third image material from the displayed historical image materials is in response to a third trigger operation acting on a third image material, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a trigger operation acting on the third image material for selecting the third image material from the displayed historical image materials for the benefit of improving ease-of-use and enhancing viewing experience for the user; in addition, selecting a video material from a plurality of video materials is also well-known in the art as is evidenced by Zhu, US Publication 2021/0264952, para’s 0088-0089, selecting a video material from a plurality of video materials).
playing the new target video in the video playback region (Chen, para. 0054, playing back the target video including a time-shortened video material can highlight key points of the video. Note: While Chen does not explicitly describe switching to the video details page for playing the new target video; however, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide an operation for switching to another video page “video details page” for playing the new target video. Such an operation would have a recognizable benefit of improving ease-of-view for the end use; in addition, switching to another display area for playing a different video content is also well-known in the art as is evidenced by Zhang et al., CNCN113076048, para. 0051, switching to another display area for playing the second video).
The motivation for combining the references is the same as claim 2.
8. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Xu-Chen-9034, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Zhang et al. (Chinese Publication CN113076048 07-2021, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 4, Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 discloses the method of claim 3, wherein wherein, there are multiple target videos, the video covers of the respective target videos, and the video cover for each of the target videos is associated with a playback control (Chen, para’s 0075-0076, the video template 340 may also include beautification parameters to generate the target video 300 with better effect; the target video 300 has multiple video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 in the process of splicing, so as to make the target video 300 more natural; it is obvious that multiple target videos can be generated by splicing any of the multiple video materials 312 and/or image materials 322; each target video can be generated at different time; Xu, para’s 0009-0025, as described above in claim 2, a video cover can be generated for each target video; Chen-9034, para. 0126, display a playing control 13 in the cover image; in response to detecting an action on the playing control 13, playing back the video corresponding to the playing control 13).
While Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 discloses displaying the video covers of respective target videos, each target video can be generated at different times as described above, Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 does not explicitly disclose the video covers of respective target videos can be arranged in the first region sequentially in an order of their respective generation times from later to earlier, and a last generated video cover is arranged on the far left of the first region.
Zhang discloses displaying multiple target videos, each target video can be received or sent at different time, and the electronic device can use the first display style to display the message display area of each target video received by the user and/or sent by the user at different times, and display the video description information of the target video in the message display area, such as displaying the video cover, video length and/or video subtitle thumbnail information of the target video in the message display area of each target video (see Zhang, para’s 0035-0036). It is noted that displaying a set of video information such as the video covers for respective target videos in time order and at a particular spatial arrangement in a display area is merely design option and/or well-known in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate Zhang’s features and well-known technique in the art into Chen-Xu-Chen-9034’s invention for enabling the video covers of respective target videos be arranged in the first region sequentially in an order of their respective generation times from later to earlier, and a last generated video cover be arranged on the far left of the first region. Such time order and spatial arrangement would have a recognizable benefit of improving ease-of-use and ease-of-view for the end user.
Regarding claim 6, Chen-Xu-Chen-9034-Zhang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein, after the video details page is displayed, the method further comprises:
based on generation times of the video covers of respective target videos, generating target videos respectively corresponding to remaining video covers sequentially in the order from later to earlier (Xu, para’s 0009-0025, as described above in claims 2 and 4, a video cover can be generated for each target video; Zhang, para’s 0035-0036, multiple target videos including respective video cover and thumbnails of each target video can be displayed on a conversation information page; each target video can be received or sent at different times;).
While Zhang does not explicitly discloses generating target videos respectively corresponding to the remaining video covers sequentially in the order from later to earlier, the step of displaying and/or generating target videos respectively corresponding to the remaining video covers sequentially in the order from later to earlier is merely design option and/or well-known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for incorporating or combining the step of generating target videos respectively corresponding to the remaining video covers sequentially in the order from later to earlier into/with Chen-Xu-Chen-9034-Zhang’s invention. Such time order generating step would have a recognizable benefit of improving ease-of-view for the end user.
The motivation for combining the references is the same as claim 4.
9. Claim 5 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Xu-Chen-9034-Zhang, as applied to claim 4 above, in view of Liu. (English Translation of Chinese Publication CN112492398 03-2021).
Regarding claim 5, Chen-Xu-Chen-9034-Zhang discloses the method of claim 4, wherein, the video cover for each target video and the playback control associated with each video cover are displayed in the video details page as described in claims 2-4 above.
Chen-Xu-Jiang-Zhang does not explicitly disclose but Liu discloses the method further comprises:
in response to a first trigger operation acting on a playing screen of the target video played in the video playback region, switching the target video played in the video playback region to the target video corresponding to another video cover, or in response to a second trigger operation acting on a target playback control in the video details page, switching the target video played in the video playback region to a target video corresponding to the video cover associated with the target playback control, wherein, the second trigger operation serves to select the target playback control from the playback controls respectively associated with respective video covers displayed in the video details page (Liu, para. 0077-0078, triggering a switching playback of a first video to playback of a second video by clicking the video cover or video title of the second video).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate/combine Liu’s features into/with Chen-Xu-Chen-9034-Zhang’s invention for enhancing user’s viewing experience by allowing user to conveniently switch playback between target videos
10. Claim 8 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Xu-Chen-9034, as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Pena et al. (2020/0137319, hereinafter Pena).
Regarding claim 8, Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 discloses the method of claim 3.
Chen-Xu-Chen-9034 does not explicitly disclose but Pena discloses, wherein, a saving control and a sharing control are displayed in the video details page; the method further comprises:
saving the target video to the target page in response to a trigger operation acting on the saving control; in response to a trigger operation acting on the sharing control, saving the target video in a local photo album, and concurrently sending the target video to a first server, so that the first server can stream the target video to a preset client for playback (Pena, fig. 29, para’s 0347-0349, the review screen can contain a number of icons representing various functions or affordances that the user can select. These icons, functions or affordances can be, but not limited to: a “Display Cover” affordance 726 which displays the still frame “cover image” of the video, a “Loop” affordance 736, which when activated enables the user of the device to create loop sequence of a selected segment of the video; a “Cover” affordance 738, which when activated enables the user of the device to use a frame or segment of the video as a cover page for the video; a Media” affordance 716 which when activated enables the user of the device to save the video to a folder on the device or in the cloud; a “Project” affordance, which when activated enables the user of the device to save the video to a “Projects” folder or application associated with the device for collaboration between other users; a “Chat” affordance 742, which when activated (e.g. via a tap gesture), enables the user of the device to send the video to a contact or friend; a “Feed” affordance 744, which when activated (e.g. via a tap gesture), enables the user of the device to post the video to the user's channel's timeline in the social media aspect of the app, which can also be configured to post to the user's Web or RSS feed; and/or a “Story” affordance 746, which when activated enables the user of the device to post the video to the user's story or social media page within the app or shared externally to other social media apps like Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc.; the user can elect to save the videos in the user's “Media” folder, save to the user's “Notes” location, save to the user's “Projects” location, send the video to a “Chat” contact or group, post to their “Feed”, or post to their “Story”. Saving the target video in a local project or photo album, and concurrently sending the target video to a first server, so that the first server can stream the target video to a preset client for playback would be obvious to one skilled in the art by combining or integrating the multiple icons representing various functions or affordances as disclosed above).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to incorporate Pena’s features into Chen-Xu-Chen-9034’s invention for providing convenience for saving video data and enhancing user’s social connection with others on the network).
11. Claims 9-10, 14, and 18 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied to claims 1, 13 and 17 above, in view of Li et al. (English Translation of Chinese Publication CN110730381 01-2020, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, the acquiring the first image material comprises:
determining image editing templates used for respective historical image materials; determining the historical image materials using the target image editing template as candidate image materials, wherein a target image editing template is an image editing template bound to a video clipping template, as described by Chen in claim 1 above (see Chen, fig. 2, para’s 0055-0057, 0076, a plurality of video materials 312 and/or image materials 322 as “a plurality of historical image materials that have been generated as first image material” can be displayed; para. 0071, splicing the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 at least based on the video template 340 to generate the target video 300; para’s 0072-0076, the video template 340 includes at least a time parameter that at least reflects the length of the target video 300. In some embodiments, the image to be processed 320 and/or the video to be processed 310 have been processed in the aforementioned steps to obtain image material 322 and/or video material 312 that are consistent with the size of the target video 300. Therefore, the splicing may be random or have a predetermined pattern to play the image material 322 and/or the video material 312 in an orderly manner based on a time parameter).
Chen does not explicitly disclose but Li discloses determining the first image material from the candidate image materials (Li, para. 0066, and 0066, select video material from a set of candidate video materials).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate/combine Li’s features into/with Chen’s invention for enhancing user’s viewing experience by selecting video material that matches the editing video template.
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 10, Chen-Li discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the candidate image materials exist under a collection label (see Li, para’s 0063-0064, when clustering multiple video materials, it is necessary to use the theme of the video template as a basis. For example, if the theme of the video template is “a review of the past year”, then among multiple video materials, video materials shot within one year may be clustered into a set of candidate video materials. As an example, consider that the meta information of each video material generally includes some basic information of the video material, such as shooting time, modification time, shooting location, shooting duration, screen special effects and other information. Therefore, when clustering multiple video materials, specifically, clustering can be performed based on the meta information of each of the multiple video materials. For example, if the theme of the video template is “a review of the past year”, then the meta information including the shooting time information within one year in multiple meta information may be clustered into a target meta information set).
While Chen-Li does not explicitly disclose determining a candidate image material under the collection label whose shooting time is the last as the first image material; if there is no candidate image material existing under the collection label, determining a candidate image material under a default label whose shooting time is the last as the first image material; however, it have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine a candidate image material under the collection label whose shooting time is the last as the first image material. Such a determination would have a recognizable benefit of providing convenience for the user to select video material that matches theme of editing video template.
The motivation for combining the references is the same as claim 9.
Conclusion
/LOI H TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484