DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 09/03/2025. Claims 1-22 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 and 22 recite the limitation “generate fully customized lyrics.” The term “fully customized” is not clearly defined in the specification, contrary to Applicant’s assertions. It is unclear what specifically constitutes a “fully customized lyric,” as the specification merely discloses that “song lyrics can be automatically generated by the lyric mechanism based on keywords” (specification, page 27, lines 6–10).
The lack of a clear definition for the term “fully customized lyrics” renders the scope of the claim uncertain. As set forth in MPEP §2173.02, claims are indefinite when they contain words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. Furthermore, in Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014), the Supreme Court held that a patent must inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention.
Accordingly, the term “fully customized lyrics” fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art, with reasonable certainty, of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicant is required to amend the claims and/or specification to clearly define what is meant by “fully customized lyrics.”
Claims 11-13 are rejected on the same grounds on their dependency from the rejected claim 10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,595,612 in view of Cohen et al. (US 2009/0164034).
Application No.18/744411
US Patent No. 11,595,612
Claim 1: A system for creating audio/video content over a network, comprising: a processing unit; a camera; a microphone;
a digital storage device, comprising executable software instructions that program the processing unit to:
process a user request to begin content creation,; retrieve, over a network, a list of audio compositions from a library of audio compositions;
generate a user interface element to present the list of audio compositions to the user;
process a user selection of an audio composition from the list of audio compositions;
receive a user input comprising one or more key words; automatically generate custom lyrics that are specifically customized based on the one or more keywords;
present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics; and
begin a recording session of a combination of audio and video using the camera and the microphone, wherein the recording session occurs during simultaneous aural playback of the user selected audio composition and stores recorded user audio-video content; and present an edit interface to change a start time of the user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the user selected audio composition, wherein the audio of the user audio-video content may be overlayed with the audio composition.
Claim 1: A method for generating and sharing audio/video content to a social network, comprising: initiating a content creation process in response to a request from a user; on a recording user interface, prompting the user to record content; on an audio selection user interface, prompting the user to select an audio composition from a list of compositions retrieved from a host server; on a content creation user interface, presenting the user with a record button; on the content creation user interface, presenting the user with a selection of pre-existing visual media content, wherein upon selecting an instance of pre-existing visual media content from the selection, uses the content creation interface to selectively edit the instance of pre-existing visual media content; providing simultaneous aural playback of the audio composition during a recording session, thereby permitting the user to hear the composition during the recording session; generating composited recorded content based on the recording session by compositing video captured during the recording session with the instance of pre-existing visual media content combined; on the content editing user interface, displaying a preview of the composited recorded content to the user, wherein the preview of the composited recorded content enables the user to change the timing or latency of the composited recorded content relative to the selected audio composition; on a privacy user interface, presenting a privacy attribute selection for the composited recorded content; on a publication user interface, presenting a query to request to publish the composited recorded content; in response to the request to publish, processing and encoding individual components of the composited recorded content to create a streamable video; and publishing the streamable video by copying the streamable video to a media server, from which the streamable video is viewable according to the privacy attribute; and wherein the recording, audio selection, content editing, privacy, and publication user interfaces are different from one another and form part of the same application.
.
.
Claim 1
Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “receive a user input comprising one or more key words; automatically generate custom lyrics that are specifically customized based on the one or more keyword; present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics” However, Sater discloses receive a user input comprising one or more key words; automatically generate custom lyrics that are specifically customized based on the one or more keyword; present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics ([0028], [0031], [0037]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Pollack. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
However, Landy discloses present an edit interface to change a start time of the user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the user selected audio composition, wherein the audio of the user audio-video content may be overlayed with the audio composition ([0038], [0052], [0090]) …(The typical editing system enables the editor to adjust the playback speed of video segments on the video track relative to the speed and start/stop times of audio segments on the audio track in order to render the video and audio in synchronism with each other to produce a pleasing effect on the viewer/listener) ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Pollack. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user desire to index sections of the recording based on meaningful elements.
Claim 5 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 5 of the instant application except,” present an edit interface to change a start time of the user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the user selected audio composition, wherein the audio of the user audio-video content may be overlayed with the audio composition” However, Landy discloses present an edit interface to change a start time of the user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the user selected audio composition, wherein the audio of the user audio-video content may be overlayed with the audio composition ([0038], [0052], [0090]) …(The typical editing system enables the editor to adjust the playback speed of video segments on the video track relative to the speed and start/stop times of audio segments on the audio track in order to render the video and audio in synchronism with each other to produce a pleasing effect on the viewer/listener) ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Pollack. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user desire to index sections of the recording based on meaningful elements.
Claim 1 of the reference patent recites all of the limitations of claim 10 of the instant application except,” present an audio-track interface to receive user input to add a plurality of audio recordings to the user audio-video content” However, Cohen discloses present an audio-track interface to receive user input to add a plurality of audio recordings to the user audio-video content ([0188]-[0189]). It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these features in Pollack. One would have been motivated to do so to facilitate artists in the music industry who have limited resources to promote their work to the public to gain traction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claim(s) 1-4, 10-19and 21-22 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 2009/0164034) in view of Sater et al. (US 2008/0091571) and further in view of Landy (US 2009/0273712).
Claim 1. Cohen discloses a system for creating audio/video content over a network, comprising:
a processing unit ([0055]);
a camera ([0040]);
a microphone ([0040]);
a digital storage device, comprising executable software instructions that program the processing unit to:
process a user request to begin content creation; retrieve, over a network, a list of audio compositions from a library of audio compositions ([0164],[0173]);
generate a user interface element to present the list of audio compositions to the user (The requesting user may come across a beat to his/her liking while browsing and listening to beats via the service site) ([0173]);
process a user selection of an audio composition from the list of audio compositions (..the recording engine 206 can perform simultaneous aural playback of a beat..) ([0074]..(The preview module 216 can be any combination of hardware components and/or software agents able to perform playback of multimedia content such as playback of recorded content and/or simultaneous playback of multiple pieces of multimedia content (e.g., audio, image, video, etc.))[0078]));
begin a recording session of a combination of audio and video using the camera and the microphone, wherein the recording session occurs during simultaneous aural playback of the user selected audio composition and stores recorded user audio-video content (A recording session of audio, video, or a combination thereof, can also be initiated via the user interface by clicking a button on the audio player/recorder widget, for example) ([0040], [0038], [0042] [0048]).
Cohen does not explicitly disclose receive a user input comprising one or more key words;
automatically generate custom lyrics that are specifically customized based on the one or more key words;
present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics; and present an edit interface to change a start time of the recorded user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the user selected audio composition, wherein the audio of the recorded user audio-video content is overlayed with the audio composition
However, Sater discloses receive a user input comprising one or more key words; automatically generate custom lyrics that are specifically customized based on the one or more key words; present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics ([0028]-[0029], [0031], [0037]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Cohen. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
However, Landy discloses present an edit interface to change a start time of the user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the user selected audio composition, wherein the audio of the user audio-video content is overlayed with the audio composition ([0038], [0052], [0090]) …(The typical editing system enables the editor to adjust the playback speed of video segments on the video track relative to the speed and start/stop times of audio segments on the audio track in order to render the video and audio in synchronism with each other to produce a pleasing effect on the viewer/listener) ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Cohen. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user desire to index sections of the recording based on meaningful elements.
Claim 2. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to transmit the recorded user audio-video content to a server ([0047]).
Claim 3. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to transmit the user lyric input to a server and receive, from the server, lyrics automatically generated using the user lyric input ([0038], [0046], [0126]).
Claim 4. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to receive a user rating input and store, based on the user rating input, a user rating associated with the audio composition ([0049]).
Claim 14. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein the one or more key words include a keyword that specifies a person's name, wherein the automatically generated lyrics are based on the person's name (genderize the lyrics… user enters information about the subject person) ([0039]-[0041). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 15. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein the one or more key words include a keyword that specifies a noun, wherein the automatically generated lyrics are based on the noun (Joe, Jill) ([0041]). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 16. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein the one or more key words include a keyword that specifies an adverb, wherein the automatically generated lyrics are based on the adverb (item 216, fig. 3). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 17. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein the one or more key words include a keyword that specifies an adjective, wherein the automatically generated lyrics are based on the adjective (item 216, fig. 3). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 18. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein the one or more key words include a keyword that specifies a nickname, wherein the automatically generated lyrics are based on the nickname "brother Joe" and "friend Jim" ([0041]). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 19. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein the one or more key words include one or more predefined categories of key words (items 212,214, fig. 2). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 21. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein to generate custom lyrics, the processing unit is further programmed to: access a template having pre-existing lyrics ([0040]); and add the one or more key words to the pre-existing lyrics ([0040], [0031]). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 22. Cohen Sater and Landry disclose the system of claim 1, Sater further discloses wherein to generate custom lyrics, the processing unit is further programmed to: generate fully customized lyrics based on the one or more key words ([0028]-[0029]). One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
6. Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 2009/0164034) in view of Sater et al. (US 2008/0091571).
Claim 10. Cohen discloses a system for creating audio/video content over a network, comprising:
a processing unit ([0055]);
a digital storage device, comprising executable software instructions that program the processing unit to:
process a user request to begin content creation comprising generating a prompt to display to a user for initiating audio content selection ([0164],[0173]); retrieve, over a network, a list of audio compositions from a library of audio compositions ([0164],[0173]);
generate a user interface element to present the list of audio compositions to the user (The requesting user may come across a beat to his/her liking while browsing and listening to beats via the service site) ([0173]);
process a user selection of an audio composition from the list of audio compositions, comprising initiating audio playback of a preview of the audio composition (..the recording engine 206 can perform simultaneous aural playback of a beat..) ([0074]..(The preview module 216 can be any combination of hardware components and/or software agents able to perform playback of multimedia content such as playback of recorded content and/or simultaneous playback of multiple pieces of multimedia content (e.g., audio, image, video, etc.)([0078]-[0080]);
begin a recording session of a combination of audio and video using the camera and the microphone, wherein the recording session occurs during simultaneous aural playback of the user selected audio composition and stores recorded user audio-video content (A recording session of audio, video, or a combination thereof, can also be initiated via the user interface by clicking a button on the audio player/recorder widget, for example) ([0040], [0038], [0042] [0048]); and
present an audio-track interface to receive user input to add a plurality of audio recordings to the user audio-video content ([0188]-[0189]).
Cohen does not explicitly disclose receive a user input comprising one or more key words;
automatically generate fully customized lyrics based on the one or more key words;
present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics;
However, Sater discloses receive a user input comprising one or more key words; automatically generate fully customized lyrics based on the one or more key words; present a lyric display comprising the automatically generated lyrics ([0028]-[0029], [0031], [0037]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Cohen. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user’ music selection.
Claim 11. Cohen and Sater disclose the system of claim 10, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to receive a user rating input and store, based on the user rating input, a user rating associated with the audio composition ([0180]).
Claim 12. Cohen and Sater disclose the system of claim 11, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to encode and store an audio-video composition using the user audio-video content and the audio composition ([0047]-[0049]).
Claim 13. Cohen and Sater disclose the system of claim 12, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to transmit the audio-video composition and the user rating to a server ([0047],[0049], [0180]).
7. Claim(s) 5-9 and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 2009/0164034) in view of Landy (US 2009/0273712).
Claim 5. Cohen discloses a system for creating audio/video content over a network, comprising:
a processing unit ([0055]);
a camera ([0040]);
a microphone ([0040]);
a digital storage device, comprising executable software instructions that program the processing unit to:
process a user request to begin content creation retrieve, over a network, a list of audio compositions from a library of audio compositions ([0164],[0173]);
generate a user interface element to present the list of audio compositions to the user(The requesting user may come across a beat to his/her liking while browsing and listening to beats via the service site) ([0173]);
process a user selection of an audio composition from the list of audio compositions, comprising initiating audio playback of a preview of the audio composition (..the recording engine 206 can perform simultaneous aural playback of a beat..) ([0074]..(The preview module 216 can be any combination of hardware components and/or software agents able to perform playback of multimedia content such as playback of recorded content and/or simultaneous playback of multiple pieces of multimedia content (e.g., audio, image, video, etc.))[0078]));
begin a recording session of a combination of audio and video using the camera and the microphone, wherein the recording session occurs during simultaneous aural playback of the user selected audio composition and records user audio-video content (A recording session of audio, video, or a combination thereof, can also be initiated via the user interface by clicking a button on the audio player/recorder widget, for example) ([0040], [0038], [0042] [0048]).
However, Landy discloses present an edit interface to change a start time of the user audio-video content with respect to a start time of the audio composition, wherein the audio of the user audio-video content is overlayed with the audio composition ([0038], [0052], [0090])…(The typical editing system enables the editor to adjust the playback speed of video segments on the video track relative to the speed and start/stop times of audio segments on the audio track in order to render the video and audio in synchronism with each other to produce a pleasing effect on the viewer/listener) ([0002]). Therefore, it would have been an obvious suggestion to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include these features in Cohen. One would have been motivated to do so by facilitating user desire to index sections of the recording based on meaningful elements.
Claim 6. Cohen and Landy disclose the system of claim 5, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to receive a user rating input and store, based on the user rating input, a user rating associated with the audio composition ([0049]).
Claim 7. Cohen and Landy disclose the system of claim 5, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to encode and store an audio-video composition using the user audio-video content and the audio composition ([0047]-[0049]).
Claim 8. Cohen and Landy disclose the system of claim 7, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to transmit the audio-video composition to a server (The host server 100 can store the user multimedia content to be provided to other users, for example, for on-demand audio and/or video playback/recording) ([0062],[0047]).
Claim 9. Cohen and Landy disclose the system of claim 5, Cohen further discloses wherein the digital storage device further comprises executable software instructions configured to present a lyric display comprising lyrics automatically generated using a user lyric input during the recording session ([0038], [0046], [0126]).
Claim 20. Cohen and Landy disclose the system of claim 5, Cohen further discloses wherein the edit interface further deletes or re-records the audio-video content ([0042]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 09/03/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in light of new ground of rejection(s).
Applicants argue that Sater fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitation of generating "fully customized lyrics based on ... key words" as claimed.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits Sater discloses that song lyrics may be automatically generated based on user-provided input such as themes, keywords, or other seed information (see Sater, ¶[0028]-[0029], [0031], [0037]). Such disclosure reasonably corresponds to the claimed feature of “generating fully customized lyrics based on…keywords.” The fact that Sater may not use the exact phrase “fully customized” does not preclude anticipation or obviousness, as the prior art need not employ identical terminology if it nonetheless teaches or suggests the claimed subject matter. See In re Gleave, 560 F.3d 1331, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“Anticipation does not require the same terminology as the claim, only that all elements be disclosed, expressly or inherently.”).
Furthermore, the term “fully customized” is not clearly defined in the specification, as noted in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112(b). To the extent Applicant interprets “fully customized” to require a particular type or level of customization, no such definition is provided in the disclosure. Absent a clear definition, the Examiner interprets the term under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification, which encompasses the automatic generation of lyrics based on input keywords as taught by Sater. See MPEP §2111.
Accordingly, Sater is considered to teach or at least suggest the disputed limitation, and Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hosoi et al. (US 2005/0063668) relate to a data editing and recording device for recording an image data together with an editing history information of the image data when a content data is edited.
/PHENUEL S SALOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146