DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
The USPTO has retrieved certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). These papers have been placed of record in the file. A certified English translation is required but has not been filed. A certified English translation is necessary due to the presence of at least one intervening reference that could otherwise be relied upon in a future rejection.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome a rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Applicant is advised that a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in order for applicant to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). See 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e) or 37 CFR 1.55 and MPEP § 201.15, respectively. Failure to provide a certified translation would result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed October 13, 2025, are responsive to the office action mailed June 13, 2025. Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20, were previously pending and claims 1, 9, and 17, have been amended. Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20, are therefore currently pending and considered in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Pertaining to rejection under 35 USC 101 in the previous office action
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant argues that the claims recite a technical solution to a problem, stating
“In this way, the user can directly select the specification attribute information of the object to be displayed on the object display page, which can simplify the steps of placing an order to buy the object to be displayed, shorten the time consumption of the operations of placing an order and achieve the purpose of one-click ordering.” Remarks p.12; citing specification ¶0063.
There is no technical problem or solution identified in this passage. It is a statement that at best merely declares that the disclosure describes an abstract idea that offers some improvement over other unidentified abstract ideas. Applicant’s remaining argument alleges that additional abstract recitations are technical solutions addressing technical problems but neither of those assertions are evident based on applicant’s remarks, from the claims, or from the description. A poor display could certainly be a technical problem and a more efficient display could, of course, be a technical solution, but neither of these propositions is evident in the present claim recitations. As explained in the detailed rejection the improvement described in the specification must be identifiable as the subject matter appearing in the claims
Pertaining to rejection under 35 USC 103 in the previous office action
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG et al. (Paper No. 20240905; WIPO Pub. No. WO 2023241333 A1) in view of Alonso (Paper No. 20250610; Pub. No. US 2004/0210819 A1). Applicant argues “Feng does not mention information feed page or order confirmation page.” Remarks p.14. This is incorrect. The prior art uses “information flow page” rather than “information feed page,” but it is clear that they are the same, and the prior art clearly and explicitly discloses “order confirmation page,” as cited below in the detailed rationale. This ground of rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) (step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (step 2A), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception (step 2B). Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 189 L. Ed. 2d 296, 2014 U.S. LEXIS 4303, 110 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1976, 82 U.S.L.W. 4508, 24 Fla. L. Weekly Fed. S 870, 2014 WL 2765283 (U.S. 2014); MPEP 2106.
Step 1:
In the instant case claims 1-4 and 6-8 are directed to a process, claims 9-12 and 14-16 are directed to a machine, and claims 17-20 are directed to a manufacture. All claims are therefore within statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03, Eligibility Step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
These claims also recite, inter alia,
“displaying ... an information feed page..., the information feed page being generated by an application client of live streaming, the application client being executed …, the information feed page being a page in the application client for displaying the information feed in a data form which provides content to a user on a continuous basis; the information feed page comprising an object display page; the information feed page corresponding to several objects to be displayed; the object display page being used for displaying summary information of at least one of the objects to be displayed and an order option; and the summary information of the at least one object to be displayed comprising specification attribute information of the object to be displayed, wherein an order confirmation page is to be directly displayed in response to a clicking or swiping operation of the ordering option, while a specification attribute selection page and an item details page are not to be displayed; determining… that the at least one specification attribute information of the object to be displayed is in a selected state; receiving… a triggering operation of the order option corresponding to a selected object to be displayed; displaying, ... the order confirmation page corresponding to the selected object to be displayed..., the selected object to be displayed being an object to be displayed with the at least one specification attribute information in a selected state, and wherein a first area of the object display page comprises a size adjustment option which is a control for adjusting a size of the first area, wherein the method further comprises: receiving… a selection operation on a size adjustment option to increase the size of the first area, wherein a part of the specification attribute information of a target object to be displayed is being displayed on the first area at a time of receiving the selection operation; and increasing … the size of the first area to cause the first area to comprise all of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed, the first area being comprised in the object display page... and being used for displaying an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed.” Claim 1.
A careful analysis of the above limitations, each on its own and all together combined, results in the conclusion that each on its own recites an abstract idea and in combination they altogether simply recite a more detailed abstract idea. The recited abstract idea falls within the grouping of abstract ideas described as certain methods of organizing human activity, for example commercial interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). See MPEP 2106.04(a); Eligibility Step 2A1. The claims must therefore be analyzed under the second prong of Eligibility Step 2 (Step 2A2; MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Step 2A, Prong 2:
In order to address prong 2 (MPEP 2106.04(d), Eligibility Step2A2) we must identify whether there are any additional elements beyond the abstract ideas and determine whether those additional elements (if there are any) integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d), Eligibility Step 2A2. Claims 1-4 and 6-8 recite only “an electronic device,” claims 9-12 and 14-16 include an electronic device comprising one or more processors and a storage unit for storing one or more programs, and claims 17-20 include a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program that when executed by a processor implements a method, and an electronic device. These additional elements have been considered individually, in combination, and altogether as a whole together with the functions they perform, e.g., the electronic device comprising one or more processors and a storage unit for storing one or more programs, and the non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program intended to be executed by a processor, of claims 9-12 and 14-20, (i.e., the processor(s)), and the electronic device (alone) of claims 1-4 and 6-8, are all alone broadly and generally recited as performing all steps in terms of the intended results of functionally nonspecific activities directed to results described as displays of information generated by an application client (code executing on the electronic device) in response to user input. These additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the substantive process is recited only by descriptions of abstract intended results of the steps without indicating any particular functional acts performed by any device or structural element to perform the steps or otherwise obtain the intended results. The additional elements do not improve the functioning of any computer or other technology or technical field, they do not apply the judicial exception with or by use of a particular machine, they do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing, and they fail to apply or use the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05.
If the disclosure describes any improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field this improvement would need to be identifiable as the subject matter appearing in the claims. An indication that the claimed invention provides an improvement can include a discussion in the specification that identifies technical improvements realized by the claim over the prior art. The disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. MPEP 2106.05(a).
Claim limitations can integrate a judicial exception into a practical application by implementing the judicial exception with or using it in conjunction with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim. A general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception by use of generic computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, (Fed. Cir. 2014); MPEP 2106.05(b),(f). There are no particular machines or manufactures identified in the present claims. Any claimed elements that are not abstract are identified broadly and generally as applying the method, and the method itself is described only by way of the intended functional results of unidentified activities, without reference to any particular functional acts or specific functions performed by any particularly identified machines, and without reference to its use in conjunction with any particular item of manufacture.
The claims do not affect the transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Changing to a different state or thing means more than simply using an article or changing the location of an article. A new or different function or use can be evidence that an article has been transformed. Purely mental processes in which data, thoughts, impressions, or human based actions are "changed" are not considered a transformation. MPEP 2106.05(c).
The claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in any other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. As a result the claim as a whole appears to be a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. MPEP 2106.05(e),(h).
The additional elements have not been found to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
Although the additional elements have not been found to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application the claims could still be eligible if they recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (“significantly more” than the judicial exception). MPEP 2106.05, Eligibility Step 2B.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the sparse additional elements of the claims are only props supporting instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims invoke computers merely as tools to perform an abstract process. Simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016); OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 9721, 115 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1090 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (“relying on a computer to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible.”); MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The elements are recited at a high level of generality, merely implement abstract ideas using generic computers, and fail to present a technical solution to a technical problem created by the use of the surrounding technology. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. See Ret. Capital Access Mgmt. Co. v. U.S. Bancorp, 611 Fed. Appx. 1007, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 14351 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (“It may be very clever; it may be very useful in a commercial context, but they are still abstract ideas,” said Circuit Judge Alan Lourie.). MPEP 2106.05(h).
No technical problem is indicated and the claims are not directed to a technical solution to such a problem. They only describes the abstract idea while indicating the intention to “apply it.” Merely confining an abstract idea to a particular field is insufficient to render it eligible subject matter. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), N.A., 792 F.3d 1363, 1366, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("An abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer").
Finally, dependent claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14-16, and 18-20, contribute nothing more to establishing eligibility because they merely recite additional abstract ideas that further describe the calculations and identification of data used in implementing the abstract idea. A more detailed abstract idea is still abstract. PricePlay.com, Inc. v. AOL Adver., Inc., 627 Fed. Appx. 925, 2016 U.S. App. LEXIS 611, 2016 WL 80002 (Fed. Cir. Jan. 7, 2016) (in addressing a bundle of abstract ideas stacked together during oral argument, U.S. Circuit Judge Kimberly Moore said, "All of these ideas are abstract…. It’s like you want a patent because you combined two abstract ideas and say two is better than one.").
All of the above leads to the conclusion that additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the claimed subject matter into significantly more than an abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05; Eligibility Step 2B. As a result the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because they recite an abstract idea without being directed to a practical application, and they do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05, supra..
The preceding analysis applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20, are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 USC 101 based upon the same analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG et al. (Paper No. 20240905; WIPO Pub. No. WO 2023241333 A1) in view of Alonso (Paper No. 20250610; Pub. No. US 2004/0210819 A1).
Feng discloses triggering an ordering page displaying selected attributes with product information, and further teaches, pertaining to
Claim 1. An information displaying method comprising: ● displaying, by an electronic device, an information feed page on the electronic device, the information feed page being generated by an application client of live streaming, the application client being executed by the electronic device, the information feed page being a page in the application client for displaying the information feed in a data form which provides content to a user on a continuous basis (see at least Feng fig.2 “a preview stream page,” figs. 3-7 “information flow pages,” p.2¶¶1-2 “The present disclosure relates to …an information display method, device, electronic device …. live broadcast page display methods, display content, ordering processes, etc.,” ¶8 “an electronic device, which includes: one or more processors; A storage device for storing one or more programs; When the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to implement the information display,” p.3¶1 “This embodiment can be applied to the situation of information display in a client. The method can be executed by an information display device, and the device can use software,” p.4¶3 “information flow page may be a page in the application”);
● the information feed page comprising an object display page (see at least Feng abstract “displaying an information flow page comprising an object display page”); ● the information feed page corresponding to several objects to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “wherein the object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed”); ● the object display page being used for displaying summary information of at least one of the objects to be displayed and an order option (see at least Feng abstract “object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed... displaying an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed,” p.3¶16 “If the user wants to place an order for red product A, the user needs to ... enter the detailed introduction page of product A, and then click the "Buy Now" option”); and ● the summary information of the at least one object to be displayed comprising specification attribute information of the object to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “summary information corresponding to the target object to be displayed further comprises one or more pieces of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed”), wherein an order confirmation page is to be directly displayed in response to a clicking or swiping operation of the ordering option, while a specification attribute selection page and an item details page are not to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “displaying an order confirmation page,” p.2¶5 “If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” p.3¶14 “clicks the "Confirm" option to enter the order confirmation page,” p.6¶8 “After the user clicks the "Go to Snap Buy" control in Figure 2, as shown in Figure 4, the order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed”); ● determining, by the electronic device, that the at least one specification attribute information of the object to be displayed is in a selected state (see at least Feng p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state"), and
● receiving, by the electronic device, a triggering operation of the order option corresponding to a selected object to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “in response to a determination operation for the target summary information, displaying an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed,” p.2¶9 ”in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state," p.5¶8 ”trigger operations on the summary information, which can cause the information flow page to switch to the one corresponding to the object to be displayed”);
● displaying, by the electronic device, the order confirmation page corresponding to the selected object to be displayed on the electronic device, the selected object to be displayed being an object to be displayed with the at least one specification attribute information in a selected state (see at least Feng p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state").
Feng teaches all of the above, and all of the below, as noted. It teaches, a) an object display page, b) several objects to be displayed, c) summary information of a displayed object, and d) an ordering option, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a first area of the object display page comprises a size adjustment option which is a control for adjusting a size of the first area.
Alonso also teaches a) an object display page, b) several objects to be displayed, c) summary information of a displayed object, and d) an ordering option, and further discloses
● wherein a first area of the object display page comprises a size adjustment option which is a control for adjusting a size of the first area (see at least Alonso ¶¶0117, 0196 “Dynamic Navigation Interface also has editable configuration files allowing the user to select among different sensory levels of man-machine accessibility, both qualitative (visual, auditory, etc.) and quantitative (sizes”), wherein the method further comprises:
● receiving, by the electronic device, a selection operation on a size adjustment option to increase the size of the first area, wherein a part of the specification attribute information of a target object to be displayed is being displayed on the first area at a time of receiving the selection operation (see at least Feng figs. 2-8 (shows display including selection of attributes including size, and the expanded display showing full information following selection) in view of Alonso ¶¶0117, 0196 “Dynamic Navigation Interface also has editable configuration files allowing the user to select among different sensory levels of man-machine accessibility, both qualitative (visual, auditory, etc.) and quantitative (sizes”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention (for pre-AIA applications) or filing (for applications filed under the AIA ) to modify the method of Feng to include wherein a first area of the object display page comprises a size adjustment option which is a control for adjusting a size of the first area, as taught by Alonso since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and would result in an improvement. This is because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such features even from a variety of technical fields into methods and systems implemented using similar technological structures (i.e., generic computer and/or network hardware such as processors, servers, etc.). In this case the areas of technical endeavor are nonetheless similar and overlapping.
Applicant has not disclosed that the added feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose beyond the performance of the functions they performed separately and since each element and its function are shown in the prior art the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. It would therefore have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the feature from Alonso in the method of Feng. Furthermore the combination solved no long felt need. Incorporating cumulative known features is additionally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because doing so increases commercial use of a method by attracting users that previously might have chosen between one of the previously known methods.
Feng discloses
● increasing, by the electronic device, the size of the first area to cause the first area to comprise all of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed, the first area being comprised in the object display page on the electronic device and being used for displaying an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed (see at least figs. 2-8 (shows display including selection of attributes including size, and the expanded display showing full information following selection), p.5¶¶8-10 “summary information is used to summarize and display some attribute information of the corresponding object to be displayed.... The order page includes a detailed information introduction page for the object to be displayed, a specification and attribute selection page for the object to be displayed, or an order confirmation page for the object to be displayed. The detailed information introduction page of the object to be displayed includes all attribute information of the object to be displayed.... summary information of each object to be displayed can be displayed in the form of cards. Displays summary information of an object to be displayed in a card.... specification attribute information includes at least one of the following: size, style, material, and color,” p.6¶¶4-5 “If at least one specification attribute information is selected, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, display an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed. The order confirmation page refers to a page that brings together all the specifications and attribute information of the selected object to be displayed and presents it to the user”).Claim 2. The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the following: all of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed; all of the several objects to be displayed are non-target objects to be displayed; or one portion of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed and an other portion of the several objects to be displayed are non-target object to be displayed (see at least abstract “object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed, ... if the one or more objects to be displayed comprise a target object to be displayed, the summary information corresponding to the target object to be displayed further comprises”. Please note: in a discussion of objects to be displayed the further limitation “if” one object is a target object indicates that displayed objects can be target objects, non-target objects, or both. The claim language consisting of a series of optional or alternative limitations only one of which is required does not result in further limitation beyond a single alternative because beyond the presence of any single alternative it merely represents contingencies that are not required. This recitation includes every possible alternative and therefore it does not further limit the claim.); ● the target object to be displayed comprises at least one of the following: an object to be displayed in an explained state, an object to be displayed with a display priority satisfying a preset display condition, or an object to be displayed with a heat value satisfying a preset heat condition (see at least p.5¶ ”objects to be displayed that are in a explaining state, objects to be displayed whose display priority meets the preset display conditions, and objects whose popularity value meets the preset popularity conditions”); ● in response to determining that the several objects to be displayed comprise a target object to be displayed, the object display page comprises an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed, and the summary information of the target object to be displayed comprises specification attribute information (see at least abstract. Please see previous comments concerning optional or conditional limitations.); and ● in response to determining that the several objects to be displayed comprise a non-target object to be displayed, the object display page comprises summary information of the non-target object to be displayed, and summary information of the target object to be displayed does not comprise specification attribute information (see at least abstract. Please see previous comments concerning optional or conditional limitations.).Claim 3. The method of Claim 2, wherein in response to determining that the one portion of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed and the other portion are non-target objects to be displayed, the object display page comprises a second area, and the second area is used for displaying summary information of the non-target object to be displayed (see at least abstract, p.2¶¶11-12 “second display module,” p.3¶16. Please note: see previous comments regarding conditional limitations.); and ● the first area is located above the second area (see at least figs. 2-8. Please note: although the prior art discloses this feature or its equivalent applicant should note that the description of positioning of information on a page as claimed is nonfunctional descriptive information because it has no functional role in the method. Descriptive material that has no functional role in the method will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983). MPEP 2111.05. The rationale behind the printed matter cases has been extended to method claims in which an instructional limitation is added to a method known in the art. Similar to the inquiry for products with printed matter thereon, in such method cases the relevant inquiry is whether a new and unobvious functional relationship with the known method exists. See Praxair Distrib. v. Mallinckrodt Hosp. Prods. IP, 2018 U.S. App. LEXIS 12707, 2018 WL 2224150 (Fed. Cir. May 16, 2018); In re Kao, 639 F.3d 1057, 98 USPQ2d 1799, 1811-12 (Fed. Cir. 2011); King Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eon Labs Inc., 616 F.3d 1267, 95 USPQ2d 1833, 1842 (Fed. Cir. 2010); MPEP 2111.05.).Claim 4. The method of Claim 3, wherein at least one of the following: ● a background color of the first area is different from a background color of the second area; a text color of summary information of the target object to be displayed in the first area is different from a text color of summary information of the non-target object to be displayed in the second area; or a boundary line color of the first area is different from a boundary line color of the second area (see at least p.7¶4. Please see previous comments pertaining to optional limitations and nonfunctional descriptive matter.).
Claim 6. The method of Claim 1, wherein summary information of the target object to be displayed further comprises ambience-boosting information (see at least p.2¶4 “page display methods, display content, ordering processes, etc. that are closely related to people's viewing experience,” p.4¶5 “preview flow page refers to the page used to attract traffic. ... page used to attract traffic”. Please note: see previous comments pertaining to nonfunctional descriptive information.); and ● the ambience-boosting information comprises at least one of heat information of the object to be displayed or promotion activity information associated with the target object to be displayed (see at least p5¶4 “popularity information of the object to be displayed is information that represents the popularity of the object to be displayed.... the amount of attention, collection, purchase, and evaluation of the object to be displayed, shares, views, inquiries and likes.” Please note: see previous comments pertaining to optional and alternative limitations.).
Claim 7. The method of Claim 2, wherein the object display page further comprises an add-to-cart option corresponding to the target object to be displayed (see at least p.3¶16, p.4¶7 “click on the shopping cart”); and the method further comprises: ● determining that the at least one specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed is in a selected state (see at least p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state");
● receiving a triggering operation of the add-to-cart option corresponding to the target object to be displayed (see at least p.3¶16, p.4¶7 “click on the shopping cart”); and
● adding a minimum stock unit defined by the specification attribute information in the selected state to a set of objects to be ordered (see at least p.5¶10 “The minimum inventory unit (Stock Keeping Unit, SKU) is the basic unit for inventory measurement. The minimum inventory unit is the smallest unit that defines a product and is determined by the combination of attributes of the product”).
Claim 8. The method of Claim 1, wherein the information feed page comprises at least one of a live streaming channel preview feed page or a live streaming channel display page (see at least fig. 2, p.3¶6); ● the object to be displayed comprises goods (see at least p.3¶16. Please note: products are goods); and ● the specification attribute information comprises at least one of: size, style, material, or color (see at least p.4¶8 “attributes may include but are not limited to the following One or more of: the name, style, size, material, function, trademark, type, price, color and packaging of the object to be displayed”. Please note: see previous comments pertaining to nonfunctional information and optional or alternative limitations.).
Rejection of device claims 9-16 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Alonso is based on the same rationale for combining the references as noted above under claim 1. Feng in view of Alonso discloses, pertaining to
Claim 9. An electronic device, comprising: ● one or more processors (see at least Feng p.2¶14 “one or more processors”); ● a storage unit for storing one or more programs (see at least Feng p.2¶15 “storage device for storing one or more programs”); wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: ● display an information feed page on the electronic device, the information feed page being generated by an application client of live streaming, the application client being executed by the electronic device, the information feed page being a page in the application client for displaying the information feed in a data form which provides content to a user on a continuous basis (see at least Feng fig.2 “a preview stream page,” figs. 3-7 “information flow pages,” p.2¶¶1-2 “The present disclosure relates to …an information display method, device, electronic device …. live broadcast page display methods, display content, ordering processes, etc.,” ¶8 “an electronic device, which includes: one or more processors; A storage device for storing one or more programs; When the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to implement the information display,” p.3¶1 “This embodiment can be applied to the situation of information display in a client. The method can be executed by an information display device, and the device can use software,” p.4¶3 “information flow page may be a page in the application”);
● the information feed page comprising an object display page (see at least Feng abstract “displaying an information flow page comprising an object display page”); ● the information feed page corresponding to several objects to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “wherein the object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed”); ● the object display page being used for displaying summary information of at least one of the objects to be displayed and an order option (see at least Feng abstract “object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed... displaying an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed,” p.3¶16 “If the user wants to place an order for red product A, the user needs to ... enter the detailed introduction page of product A, and then click the "Buy Now" option”); and ● the summary information of the at least one object to be displayed comprising specification attribute information of the object to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “summary information corresponding to the target object to be displayed further comprises one or more pieces of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed”), wherein an order confirmation page is to be directly displayed in response to a clicking or swiping operation of the ordering option, while a specification attribute selection page and an item details page are not to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “displaying an order confirmation page,” p.2¶5 “If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” p.3¶14 “clicks the "Confirm" option to enter the order confirmation page,” p.6¶8 “After the user clicks the "Go to Snap Buy" control in Figure 2, as shown in Figure 4, the order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed”);
● determine that the at least one specification attribute information of the object to be displayed is in a selected state (see at least Feng p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state"),
● receive a triggering operation of the order option corresponding to a selected object to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “in response to a determination operation for the target summary information, displaying an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed,” p.2¶9 ”in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state," p.5¶8 ”trigger operations on the summary information, which can cause the information flow page to switch to the one corresponding to the object to be displayed”);
● display the order confirmation page corresponding to the selected object to be displayed on the electronic device, the selected object to be displayed being an object to be displayed with the at least one specification attribute information in the selected state (see at least Feng p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state.”); and
● wherein a first area of the object display page comprises a size adjustment option which is a control for adjusting a size of the first area (see at least Alonso ¶¶0117, 0196 “Dynamic Navigation Interface also has editable configuration files allowing the user to select among different sensory levels of man-machine accessibility, both qualitative (visual, auditory, etc.) and quantitative (sizes”), wherein the method further comprises:
● receive a selection operation on a size adjustment option to increase the size of the first area, wherein a part of the specification attribute information of a target object to be displayed is being displayed on the first area at a time of receiving the selection operation (see at least Feng figs. 2-8 (shows display including selection of attributes including size, and the expanded display showing full information following selection) in view of Alonso ¶¶0117, 0196 “Dynamic Navigation Interface also has editable configuration files allowing the user to select among different sensory levels of man-machine accessibility, both qualitative (visual, auditory, etc.) and quantitative (sizes”) and
● increase the size of the first area to cause the first area to comprise all of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed, the first area being comprised in the object display page on the electronic device and being used for displaying an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed (see at least Feng figs. 2-8 (shows display including selection of attributes including size, and the expanded display showing full information following selection), p.5¶¶8-10 “summary information is used to summarize and display some attribute information of the corresponding object to be displayed.... The order page includes a detailed information introduction page for the object to be displayed, a specification and attribute selection page for the object to be displayed, or an order confirmation page for the object to be displayed. The detailed information introduction page of the object to be displayed includes all attribute information of the object to be displayed.... summary information of each object to be displayed can be displayed in the form of cards. Displays summary information of an object to be displayed in a card.... specification attribute information includes at least one of the following: size, style, material, and color,” p.6¶¶4-5 “If at least one specification attribute information is selected, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, display an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed. The order confirmation page refers to a page that brings together all the specifications and attribute information of the selected object to be displayed and presents it to the user”).
Feng discloses
Claim 10. The electronic device of Claim 9, wherein at least one of the following: all of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed; all of the several objects to be displayed are non-target objects to be displayed; or one portion of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed and an other portion of the several objects to be displayed are non-target object to be displayed (see at least abstract “object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed, ... if the one or more objects to be displayed comprise a target object to be displayed, the summary information corresponding to the target object to be displayed further comprises”. Please note: in a discussion of objects to be displayed the further limitation “if” one object is a target object indicates that displayed objects can be target objects, non-target objects, or both. This recitation includes every possible alternative and therefore it does not further limit the claim.); ● the target object to be displayed comprises at least one of the following: an object to be displayed in an explained state, an object to be displayed with a display priority satisfying a preset display condition, or an object to be displayed with a heat value satisfying a preset heat condition (see at least p.5¶ ”objects to be displayed that are in a explaining state, objects to be displayed whose display priority meets the preset display conditions, and objects whose popularity value meets the preset popularity conditions”); ● in response to determining that the several objects to be displayed comprise a target object to be displayed, the object display page comprises an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed, and the summary information of the target object to be displayed comprises specification attribute information (see at least abstract); and ● in response to determining that the several objects to be displayed comprise a non-target object to be displayed, the object display page comprises summary information of the non-target object to be displayed, and summary information of the target object to be displayed does not comprise specification attribute information (see at least abstract).
Claim 11. The electronic device of Claim 10, wherein in response to determining that the one portion of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed and the other portion are non-target objects to be displayed, the object display page comprises a second area, and the second area is used for displaying summary information of the non-target object to be displayed (see at least abstract, p.2¶¶11-12 “second display module,” p.3¶16. Please note: see previous comments regarding conditional limitations.); and ● the first area is located above the second area (see at least figs. 2-8. Please note: see previous comment concerning nonfunctional instructional descriptive information.).
Claim 12. The electronic device of Claim 11, wherein at least one of the following:
● a background color of the first area is different from a background color of the second area; a text color of summary information of the target object to be displayed in the first area is different from a text color of summary information of the non-target object to be displayed in the second area; or a boundary line color of the first area is different from a boundary line color of the second area (see at least p.7¶4. Please see previous comments pertaining to optional limitations and nonfunctional descriptive matter.).Claim 14. The electronic device of Claim 9, wherein summary information of the target object to be displayed further comprises ambience-boosting information (see at least p.2¶4 “page display methods, display content, ordering processes, etc. that are closely related to people's viewing experience,” p.4¶5 “preview flow page refers to the page used to attract traffic. ... page used to attract traffic”. Please note: see previous comments pertaining to nonfunctional descriptive information.); and ● the ambience-boosting information comprises at least one of heat information of the object to be displayed or promotion activity information associated with the target object to be displayed (see at least p5¶4 “popularity information of the object to be displayed is information that represents the popularity of the object to be displayed.... the amount of attention, collection, purchase, and evaluation of the object to be displayed, shares, views, inquiries and likes.” Please note: see previous comments pertaining to optional and alternative limitations.).
Claim 15. The electronic device of Claim 10, wherein the object display page further comprises an add-to-cart option corresponding to the target object to be displayed (see at least p.3¶16, p.4¶7 “click on the shopping cart”); and the one or more processors are further caused to: ● determine that the at least one specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed is in a selected state (see at least p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state");
● receive a triggering operation of the add-to-cart option corresponding to the target object to be displayed (see at least p.3¶16, p.4¶7 “click on the shopping cart”);; and
● add a minimum stock unit defined by the specification attribute information in the selected state to a set of objects to be ordered (see at least p.5¶10 “The minimum inventory unit (Stock Keeping Unit, SKU) is the basic unit for inventory measurement. The minimum inventory unit is the smallest unit that defines a product and is determined by the combination of attributes of the product”).Claim 16. The electronic device of Claim 9, wherein the information feed page comprises at least one of a live streaming channel preview feed page or a live streaming channel display page (see at least fig. 2, p.3¶6); ● the object to be displayed comprises goods (see at least p.3¶16. Please note: products are goods); ● the specification attribute information comprises at least one of: size, style, material, or color (see at least p.4¶8 “attributes may include but are not limited to the following One or more of: the name, style, size, material, function, trademark, type, price, color and packaging of the object to be displayed”. Please note: see previous comments pertaining to nonfunctional information and optional or alternative limitations.).
Rejection of item of manufacture claims 17-20 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Alonso is based on the same rationale for combining the references as noted above under claim 1. Feng in view of Alonso discloses, pertaining toClaim 17. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program (see at least p.2¶15) thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements a method comprising: ● displaying, by an electronic device, an information feed page on the electronic device, the information feed page being generated by an application client of live streaming, the application client being executed by the electronic device, the information feed page being a page in the application client for displaying the information feed in a data form which provides content to a user on a continuous basis (see at least Feng fig.2 “a preview stream page,” figs. 3-7 “information flow pages,” p.2¶¶1-2 “The present disclosure relates to …an information display method, device, electronic device …. live broadcast page display methods, display content, ordering processes, etc.,” ¶8 “an electronic device, which includes: one or more processors; A storage device for storing one or more programs; When the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to implement the information display,” p.3¶1 “This embodiment can be applied to the situation of information display in a client. The method can be executed by an information display device, and the device can use software,” p.4¶3 “information flow page may be a page in the application”);
● the information feed page comprising an object display page (see at least abstract “displaying an information flow page comprising an object display page”); ● the information feed page corresponding to several objects to be displayed (see at least abstract “wherein the object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed”); ● the object display page being used for displaying summary information of at least one of the objects to be displayed and an order option (see at least abstract “object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed... displaying an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed,” p.3¶16 “If the user wants to place an order for red product A, the user needs to ... enter the detailed introduction page of product A, and then click the "Buy Now" option”); and ● the summary information of the at least one object to be displayed comprising specification attribute information of the object to be displayed (see at least abstract “summary information corresponding to the target object to be displayed further comprises one or more pieces of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed”), wherein an order confirmation page is to be directly displayed in response to a clicking or swiping operation of the ordering option, while a specification attribute selection page and an item details page are not to be displayed (see at least Feng abstract “displaying an order confirmation page,” p.2¶5 “If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” p.3¶14 “clicks the "Confirm" option to enter the order confirmation page,” p.6¶8 “After the user clicks the "Go to Snap Buy" control in Figure 2, as shown in Figure 4, the order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed”); and
● determining, by the electronic device, that the at least one specification attribute information of the object to be displayed is in a selected state (see at least p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state"), and
● receiving, by the electronic device, a triggering operation of the order option corresponding to a selected object to be displayed (see at least abstract “in response to a determination operation for the target summary information, displaying an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed,” p.2¶9 ”in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state," p.5¶8 ”trigger operations on the summary information, which can cause the information flow page to switch to the one corresponding to the object to be displayed”);
● displaying, by the electronic device, the order confirmation page corresponding to the selected object to be displayed on the electronic device, the selected object to be displayed being an object to be displayed with the at least one specification attribute information in a selected state (see at least p.2¶9 ”If at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed is displayed,” ¶12 “an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed in response to the determination operation of the target summary information if at least one of the specification attribute information is in a selected state"); and
Feng in view of Alonso discloses
● wherein a first area of the object display page comprises a size adjustment option which is a control for adjusting a size of the first area (see at least ¶¶0117, 0196 “Dynamic Navigation Interface also has editable configuration files allowing the user to select among different sensory levels of man-machine accessibility, both qualitative (visual, auditory, etc.) and quantitative (sizes”), wherein the method further comprises:
● receiving, by the electronic device, a selection operation on a size adjustment option to increase the size of the first area, wherein a part of the specification attribute information of a target object to be displayed is being displayed on the first area at a time of receiving the selection operation on the size adjustment option (see at least Feng figs. 2-8 (shows display including selection of attributes including size, and the expanded display showing full information following selection) in view of Alonso ¶¶0117, 0196 “Dynamic Navigation Interface also has editable configuration files allowing the user to select among different sensory levels of man-machine accessibility, both qualitative (visual, auditory, etc.) and quantitative (sizes”); and
Feng discloses
● increasing, by the electronic device, the size of the first area to cause the first area to comprise all of specification attribute information of the target object to be displayed, the first area being comprised in the object display page on the electronic device and being used for displaying an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed (see at least figs. 2-8 (shows display including selection of attributes including size, and the expanded display showing full information following selection), p.5¶¶8-10 “summary information is used to summarize and display some attribute information of the corresponding object to be displayed.... The order page includes a detailed information introduction page for the object to be displayed, a specification and attribute selection page for the object to be displayed, or an order confirmation page for the object to be displayed. The detailed information introduction page of the object to be displayed includes all attribute information of the object to be displayed.... summary information of each object to be displayed can be displayed in the form of cards. Displays summary information of an object to be displayed in a card.... specification attribute information includes at least one of the following: size, style, material, and color,” p.6¶¶4-5 “If at least one specification attribute information is selected, in response to the determination operation of the target summary information, display an order confirmation page corresponding to the target object to be displayed. The order confirmation page refers to a page that brings together all the specifications and attribute information of the selected object to be displayed and presents it to the user”).Claim 18. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Claim 17, wherein at least one of the following: all of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed; all of the several objects to be displayed are non-target objects to be displayed; or one portion of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed and an other portion of the several objects to be displayed are non-target object to be displayed (see at least abstract “object display page comprises summary information corresponding to one or more objects to be displayed, ... if the one or more objects to be displayed comprise a target object to be displayed, the summary information corresponding to the target object to be displayed further comprises”. Please note: in a discussion of objects to be displayed the further limitation “if” one object is a target object indicates that displayed objects can be target objects, non-target objects, or both. This recitation includes every possible alternative and therefore it does not further limit the claim.); ● the target object to be displayed comprises at least one of the following: an object to be displayed in an explained state, an object to be displayed with a display priority satisfying a preset display condition, or an object to be displayed with a heat value satisfying a preset heat condition (see at least p.5¶ ”objects to be displayed that are in a explaining state, objects to be displayed whose display priority meets the preset display conditions, and objects whose popularity value meets the preset popularity conditions”); ● in response to determining that the several objects to be displayed comprise a target object to be displayed, the object display page comprises an order option and summary information of the target object to be displayed, and the summary information of the target object to be displayed comprises specification attribute information (see at least abstract); and ● in response to determining that the several objects to be displayed comprise a non-target object to be displayed, the object display page comprises summary information of the non-target object to be displayed, and summary information of the target object to be displayed does not comprise specification attribute information (see at least abstract).
Claim 19. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Claim 18, wherein in response to determining that the one portion of the several objects to be displayed are target objects to be displayed and the other portion are non-target objects to be displayed, the object display page comprises a second area, and the second area is used for displaying summary information of the non-target object to be displayed (see at least abstract, p.2¶¶11-12 “second display module,” p.3¶16. Please note: see previous comments regarding conditional limitations.); and ● the first area is located above the second area (see at least figs. 2-8. Please note: see previous comment concerning nonfunctional instructional descriptive information.).
Claim 20. The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Claim 19, wherein at least one of the following: ● a background color of the first area is different from a background color of the second area; a text color of summary information of the target object to be displayed in the first area is different from a text color of summary information of the non-target object to be displayed in the second area; or a boundary line color of the first area is different from a boundary line color of the second area (see at least p.7¶4. Please see previous comments pertaining to optional limitations and nonfunctional descriptive matter.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
● Pollak et al., Patent No.: US 11,430,052 B2: teaches a commerce interface including item attributes, searching, and display, of a variety of similar informational details.
● FENG et al., Pub. No.: US 2025/0292314 A1: teaches a similar disclosure to the presently relied upon prior art by the same inventive entity.
● Davi et al., Pub. No.: US 2017/0148090 A1: teaches a variety of approaches to adjusting the size of a display area to show a product image in commerce.
● Barraclough et al., Patent No.: US 8,977,964 B2: teaches display in a variety of screen sizes to address the variety of devices potentially used to access media.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM L LEVINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 January 15, 2026