DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2019104398 (JP’398) in view of JP-6676440 (JP’440).
Re: claim 1. JP’398 shows in figures 2 and 3 a hydraulic unit comprising: a hydraulic block, as labeled, including a cylinder bore provided with a master cylinder 6 connected to a brake pedal 100 shown in figure 1 via element 101, a motor bore provided with a motor, as labeled, that generates hydraulic pressure by operating by an electrical signal output corresponding to displacement of the brake pedal, a hydraulic flow path, and a valve bore provided with a valve or one of the valves shown in figure 1 that controls a flow
[AltContent: textbox (Second surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (Short width)][AltContent: textbox (Long width)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Third surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st connector housing a 1st circuit board)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Motor)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hydraulic block)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (First surface)]
[AltContent: textbox (1st connector )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fourth surface (claim 2))][AltContent: arrow]
of a pressurized medium through the hydraulic flow path; and an electronic control unit shown in the area of lead arrows 18 or 90 configured to control operation of the motor and the valve based on information on the displacement of the brake pedal, wherein the motor bore is provided on a first surface, as labeled, of the hydraulic block and a housing of the electronic control unit is provided on a second surface, as labeled, of the hydraulic block opposite to the first surface, the electronic control unit includes a first circuit board, a first connector configured to supply electric power or transmit an electrical signal to the first circuit board is positioned on an upper side of a third surface, as labeled, forming an upper surface between the first surface and the second surface as shown in figure 3, but is silent with regard to a second circuit board and a second connector as recited.
JP’440 teaches in figure 4 the use of an electronic control unit including both first 92 and second 93 connectors housing first and second circuit boards, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electronic control unit of JP’398 to have also included a second connector housing a second circuit board, in view of the teachings of JP’440, in order to provide a means of redundancy by having more than one circuit board and connector to operate in case of failure of the other circuit board and connector to ensure that the hydraulic unit remains operational even in the event of a fault. Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to have placed the second connector on the opposite side from the first connector such that it extended along the fourth surface since all of the other surfaces of the hydraulic block are occupied – first surface with the motor, second surface with the electronic control unit, third surface with the first connector.
Re: claim 2. JP’398, as modified, teaches in figures 2 and 3 of JP’398 wherein the hydraulic unit comprises a reservoir shown in the area of element number 4 in figure 2 in which the pressurized medium is accommodated, wherein the hydraulic block further includes a reservoir bore shown at the right end of 10R2 in figure 2 communicating with the reservoir as shown, and the reservoir bore is provided in the fourth surface (as labeled in the alternative interpretation for claim 2) of the hydraulic block.
Re: claim 4. JP’398, as modified, teaches in figures 2 and 3 of JP’398 wherein the first connector, as labeled, is positioned between an upper end of the reservoir and the third surface as shown.
Re: claim 6. JP’398, as modified, teaches in figures 2 and 3 of JP’398 wherein the first connector, as labeled, is disposed so that a power supply unit 204 enters and engages in a direction corresponding to a thickness direction between the first surface, as labeled, and the second surface, as labeled, as shown.
[AltContent: textbox (Reservoir chambers)]
[AltContent: textbox (One of the partition walls)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Re: claim 7. JP’398, as modified, teaches in figure 1 of JP’398 wherein the reservoir shown in the area of number 4 includes a plurality of chambers, as labeled, partitioned by a plurality of partition walls, one of which labeled, and at least one reservoir bore 10R2 is provided to correspondingly communicate with the plurality of chambers, but is silent with regard to the at least one reservoir bore being a plurality of reservoir bores.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the at least one reservoir bore to have been a plurality of bores, in order to provide a level of redundancy for fluid flow from the reservoir to the hydraulic block in case one reservoir bore gets jammed or clogged.
See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.). MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Re: claim 12. JP’398, as modified, teaches in figure 8 of JP’398 wherein the upper end of the housing shown in the area at the end of the lead arrows or 18 or 90 is positioned below the upper end of the reservoir shown in the area of element 4 as shown.
Re: claim 17. JP’398, as modified, teaches in figures 2 and 3 of JP’398 wherein the first connector is formed to have a long width and a short width and the long width of the first connector is formed in a front-rear direction Z on the housing as shown.
Claim(s) 5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2023153912 (WO’912) in view of JP-2019104398 (JP’398).
Re: claim 5. WO’912 shows a second connector 140 disposed on the hydraulic block 200 but is silent with regard to a power supply as recited.
JP’398 teaches in figures 2 and 3 of JP’398 wherein a connector, as labeled, is disposed so that a power supply unit 204 enters and engages in a direction corresponding to a thickness direction between the first surface, as labeled, and the second surface, as labeled, as shown.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the hydraulic block of WO’912 to have included a power supply unit, as recited, in view of the teachings of JP’398 in order to provide a means of being in close proximity to the components of the hydraulic unit that need powering to improve response time.
Re: claim 7. WO’912 discloses in the consecutive paragraphs beginning “A reservoir connection port 241” the use of a plurality of reservoir bores 241 provided to communicate with the reservoir 400 but is silent with regard to the reservoir having separate chambers separated by partition walls.
JP’398 teaches in figure 1 of JP’398 wherein the reservoir shown in the area of number 4 includes a plurality of chambers, as labeled, partitioned by a plurality of partition walls, one of which labeled, and at least one reservoir bore 10R2 is provided to correspondingly communicate with the plurality of chambers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the reservoir of WO’912 to have included a plurality of chambers partitioned by a plurality of partition walls, in view of the teachings of JP’398, in order to provide a means of reducing sloshing, improving pressure management, and providing redundancy.
Re: claim 8. WO’912, as modified, teaches in figure 4 of WO’912 the use of bores 241b and 241c being arranged in a direction corresponding to a thickness direction of the fourth surface.
Re: claim 9. WO’912, as modified, is silent with regard to the recited rising portion.
JP’398 teaches in figure 3 at area 809 the use of a rising portion formed to protrude on the first surface so that a thickness of the fourth surface beyond area 809 is greater than a thickness shown in the area of 80A between the first surface and the second surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the first surface of WO’912, as modified, to have been provided with a rising portion, in view of the teachings of JP’398, to have included an area with less thickness to save on material resulting in a cost savings.
Re: claim 10. WO’912, as modified, teaches in figure 11 of WO’912 wherein the reservoir 400 is disposed relatively higher than the second connector 140 on the hydraulic block 200.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2023153912 (WO’912).
Re: claims 1 and 18. WO’912 shows in figures 2 and 3 a hydraulic unit comprising: a hydraulic block 200 including a cylinder bore provided with a master cylinder 500 connected to a brake pedal described as being connected to input rod 520, a motor bore provided with a motor 300 that generates hydraulic pressure by operating by an electrical signal output corresponding to displacement of the brake pedal, a hydraulic flow path, and a valve bore provided with a valve or one of the valves described in the abstract that controls a flow of a pressurized medium through the hydraulic flow path described in the paragraph under Tech-Solution;
[AltContent: textbox (Third surface)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Fifth surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fourth surface)][AltContent: arrow]
and an electronic control unit 100 configured to control operation of the motor and the valve based on information on the displacement of the brake pedal, wherein the motor bore is provided on a first surface shown at the end of the lead line of 200 in figure 1 of the hydraulic block 200 and a housing 110 of the electronic control unit 100 is provided on a second surface, shown opposite the first surface, of the hydraulic block opposite to the first surface, the electronic control unit 100 includes a first circuit board within element 130 and a second circuit board within element 140, a first connector 130 configured to supply electric power or transmit an electrical signal to the first circuit board is positioned on an upper side of a third surface, as labeled, forming an upper surface between the first surface and the second surface as shown in figure 3, a second connector 140 configured to supply electric power or transmit an electrical signal to the second circuit board is positioned on a front side of a fourth surface, as labeled, forming a front surface between the first surface and the second surface as shown in figure 1.
Re: claim 2. WO’912 shows in figure 1 the hydraulic unit comprising a reservoir 400 in which the pressurized medium is accommodated, wherein the hydraulic block further includes a reservoir bore communicating with the reservoir, and the reservoir bore is provided in the fourth surface, as labeled, of the hydraulic block.
Re: claim 3. WO’912 shows in figure 1 wherein the second connector 140 is positioned between a front end of the reservoir shown at the end of the lead line of number 400 and the fourth surface, as labeled.
Re: claim 4. WO’912 shows in figure 1 wherein the first connector 130 is positioned between an upper end of the reservoir shown in the area of elements 640 and the third surface particularly the right side of the third surface.
Re: claim 11. WO’912 shows in figure 1 wherein a front end of the housing 110 is positioned behind the front end of the reservoir 400 as shown in figure 1.
Re: claim 12. WO’912 shows in figure 11 wherein an upper end of the housing 110 is positioned below the upper end of the reservoir 400.
Re: claims 13 and 14. WO’912 shows in figure 1 wherein the cylinder bore is provided in a fifth surface, as labeled, that forms a rear surface between the first surface and the second surface of the hydraulic block and is a surface opposite to the fourth surface as shown in figure 1.
Re: claim 15. WO’912 shows in figure 11 wherein the hydraulic block 200 further
includes a plurality of wheel ports 210a-210d to which a plurality of wheel cylinders described in the abstract are connected, respectively, and the wheel ports are provided on the first surface of the hydraulic block 200 as shown in figure 11.
Re: claims 16 and 20. WO’912 shows in figure 1 wherein the second connector 140 is formed to have a long width shown up and down along the surface at the end of the lead line of 140 and a short width shown perpendicular to the long width, and the long width of the second connector is disposed in an up-down direction on the housing 110 as shown in figure 1.
Re: claim 17. WO’912 shows in figure 1 wherein the first connector 130 is formed to have a long width shown left-right along the surface at the end of the lead line of number 130 and a short width shown perpendicular to the long width, and the long width of the first connector is disposed in the front-rear direction on the housing 110 as shown in figure 1.
Re: claim 19. WO’912 shows in figure 11 wherein the reservoir 400 is disposed relatively higher than the second connector 140 on the hydraulic block 200.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the brake pedal, hydraulic flow path, first and second circuit board, and reservoir chamber must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Some of the elements were described as not being shown in the specification or do not have a corresponding reference number. No new matter should be entered.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Applications: 2021/0039614 and 2022/0161774 as well as WO-2014045791 teach the use of similar hydraulic units.
mmb
September 19, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616