Double Patenting
Claims 21, 26, 28, 33, 35, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12045808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim term "code" is broader than the narrower term "token" in the patented claims and it would be obvious for code to also mean token, which is further claimed in the dependent claims. Additionally, the ‘808 fails to recite the steps are performed via a browser extension application, but Anderson 2015/0052061 teaches a plug-in software application that operates in the context of a browser ([0069], [0074]) and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the part to improve the system of ‘808 to operate with a web browser.
Claims 21, 26, 28, 33, 35, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11687918. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim term "code" is broader than the narrower term "secure token" in the patented claims and it would be obvious for code to also mean secure token, which is further claimed in the dependent claims. Additionally, the ‘918 fails to recite the steps are performed via a browser extension application, but Anderson 2015/0052061 teaches a plug-in software application that operates in the context of a browser ([0069], [0074]) and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the part to improve the system of ‘918 to operate with a web browser.
Claims 21, 26, 28, 33, 35, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10956902. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim term "code" is broader than the narrower term "secure token" in the patented claims and it would be obvious for code to also mean secure token, which is further claimed in the dependent claims. Additionally, the patented claims are narrower than the current claims, but contain all the limitations of the patented claims. Additionally, the ‘902 fails to recite the steps are performed via a browser extension application, but Anderson 2015/0052061 teaches a plug-in software application that operates in the context of a browser ([0069], [0074]) and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the part to improve the system of ‘902 to operate with a web browser.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 21, 28, and 35 recite “a code” and “the code” in the claim limitations. The specification does not contain a disclosure for the term "a code" but does disclose the narrower term "token". The Examiner has interpreted “code” to mean a token for the purposes of compact prosecution.
Claims 21-25, 28-32, and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21, 28, and 35 recite “a code” and “the code” in the claim limitations. It is unclear if “code” refers to a code similar to a one-time code or limited use code or if “code” refers to the broader definition of “computer code” which would be any type of digital data. The specification does not contain a disclosure for the term "a code" but does disclose the narrower term "token". Accordingly, the claims are vague and indefinite. The Examiner has interpreted “code” to mean a token for the purposes of compact prosecution.
Dependent claims 22-25, 29-32, and 36-39 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) due to their dependencies from claims 21, 28, and 35, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson US 2015/0052061.
As per claim 21:
Anderson discloses a system comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions recorded thereon that, when executed by the processor, causes operations comprising: detecting a web page displayed in a browser with a browser extension application, the web page being associated with a merchant system and including a field requiring population (¶¶ [0074]-[0078]);
detecting, via the browser extension application, the field requiring population (¶¶ [0074]-[0078], browser widget reads on browser extension under BRI);
providing, to a server system via the browser extension application, an indication of the field requiring population (Fig 3B, ¶¶ [0076]-[0078], see also Figs 5F&G);
receiving, from the server system via the browser extension application, a code related to the field requiring population (Fig 3B, ¶¶ [0076]-[0078], see also Figs 5F&G); and
automatically submitting, via the browser extension application, the code in the field (Fig 3B, ¶¶ [0076]-[0078], see also Figs 5F&G, Fig 5E).
As per claim 22:
Anderson further discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise: overlaying, via the browser extension application, a prompt over the web page, the prompt requesting a user to confirm the field requiring population should be populated (¶¶ [0117], [0118], [0120], Figs 5C-E); and
receiving user confirmation via the prompt, wherein automatically submitting the code in the field is in response to receiving the user confirmation (Fig 5E ¶ [0118]).
As per claim 23:
Anderson further discloses the system of claim 22, wherein the prompt comprises one or more buttons for selection (Fig 5E ¶ [0118]).
As per claim 24:
Anderson further discloses the system of claim 23, wherein a first button of the one or more buttons is associated with confirming the field requiring population should be populated (Fig 5E ¶ [0118]).
As per claim 25:
Anderson further discloses the system of claim 24, wherein a second button of the one or more buttons is associated with declining populating the field (Fig 5E ¶ [0118]).
As per claim 26:
Anderson further discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the code is a token (¶¶ [0076]-[0077]).
As per claim 27:
Anderson further discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the code is an unsecured token (¶¶ [0076]-[0077]).
As per claims 28-34 and 35-40:
Claims 28-34 and 35-40 are rejected under the rationales of claims 21-27, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boodman US 8,650,481 Goodman US 2005/0257148 Light US 6192380 Hammad US 8893967 Grigsby, Jason; “Autofill: What web devs should know, but don’t”19 May 2016, Cloudfour, https://clourfour.com/thinks/autofill-what-web-devs-should-know-but-dont/, accessed 10 January 2023
/DAVID P. SHARVIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3692
/DAVID P SHARVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692