Election/Restrictions
The Applicant, as noted in the response dated 7/28/2026, has elected without traverse Invention I based on claims 1-10 associated with FIGs. 8-9 and cancelled claims 11-18 associated with Invention II and FIGs. 7 and 10.
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 7/28/2026.
Claim(s) 11-18 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 19-29 has/have been added.
Claims(s) 1-10 and 19-29 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 11/26/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/14/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. US 20210045093 in view of Mok et al. US 20200128470 and in further view of Basu Mallick et al. US 20200113015.
As to claim 1:
Rao et al. discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a sidelink (SL) user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU), one or more signals via an SL channel;
(“In the case of a semi-static mobility, the capabilities supported at an L-UE (e.g. RSU) may include: dynamically forming UE groups by establishing PC5-RRC connection with other Mode 2 UEs and using the PC5-RRC connection for providing resource configuration (e.g. dynamic SL grants, SL configured grants); configuring other UEs to perform channel measurements, reporting of position/location information; and facilitating AS-layer UE context retrieval and transfer for Mode 2 UEs entering or leaving the coverage area of the static L-UE (RSU)….”; Rao et al.; 0191)
(“…In the extended sensor use cases, the RSU can also send road traffic information in a broadcast transmission to a group of UEs within a small coverage area. The M-UEs can perform unicast transmissions and broadcast transmissions to surrounding UEs both within and outside of the UE group controlled by the RSU.”; Rao et al.; 0059)
(where
“the RSU can also send road traffic information in a broadcast transmission to a group of UEs within a small coverage area”/” the capabilities supported at an L-UE (e.g. RSU) may include: dynamically forming UE groups by establishing PC5-RRC connection with other Mode 2 UEs and using the PC5-RRC connection for providing resource configuration (e.g. dynamic SL grants, SL configured grants); configuring other UEs to perform channel measurements, reporting of position/location information” maps to “receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU), one or more signals via an SL channel”, “RSU can also send” maps to “receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU)”, “PC5-RRC connection”/”dynamic SL grants, SL configurated grants”/”reporting of position/location information” maps to “one or more signals via an SL channel”
transmitting, to a network node, a first message indicating a switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel in accordance with one or more of channel conditions of the SL channel, the one or more channel conditions including one or more of a SL reference signal received power (RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), …, …, or …; and
(“…Note that the regulations and conditions are intended to control the behavior of the L-UE 2942 and UEs, for example M-UE(s), in the UE group during HO. The regulations for establishing RRC connection with a Tcell on Uu may include the Uu channel thresholds (e.g. RSRP>RSRP threshold, validity time duration for establishing RRC connection<time_duration threshold, geo-area locations of L-UE and M-UEs is within a geo-area range {geo-area ID x to x+k}). Similarly, the regulations on SL for using the updated RPs may include the channel (SL-RSSI), loading (CBR) thresholds along with geo-area and time duration restrictions…”; Rao et al.; 0208)
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402….”; Rao et al.; 0091)
(“…Alternatively, the M-UE 406 in Mode 1 may be configured to switch to Mode 2 by releasing the RRC connection 412 with RAN while being supported indirectly for RRM and AS-layer configuration by the L-UE 402 (using PC5-RRC connection 408)….”; Rao et al.; 0085)
(where
“switch to Mode 2 by releasing the RRC connection 412 with RAN” maps to “transmitting, to a network node, a first message indicating a switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel”, where “switch to Mode 2” maps to “switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel”
(where Basu Mallick et al. teaches performing releasing RRC connection state for mode 2 operation by a UE transmitting a message to a RAN Node associated with RSU operation, see FIG. 6, para. 0034, 0086, 0095)
“the regulations and conditions are intended to control the behavior of the L-UE 2942 and UEs, for example M-UE(s), in the UE group during HO”/”the regulations on SL for using the updated RPs may include the channel (SL-RSSI), loading (CBR) thresholds”/” the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR” maps to “in accordance with one or more of channel conditions of the SL channel, the one or more channel conditions including one or more of a SL reference signal received power (RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR”, where “controlling the behavior…during HO”/”RSRP”/”CBR”/”SINR” maps to “RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR”
…
Rao et al. teaches M-UE receiving sidelink signals from a L-UE/RSU and controlling switching from Mode 1 or cellular operation to Mode 2 or sidelink operation via releasing an RRC connection where Basu Mallick et al. teaches performing releasing RRC connection state for mode 2 operation by a UE transmitting a message to a RAN Node associated with RSU operation.
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel.
However, Mok et al. further teaches a change capability which includes:
transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel.
(“At operation 1310, the base station 120 may transmit the radio path change configuration information for the radio path change request to the terminal 110 as described above with reference to FIG. 1. Accordingly, if the radio path change is required, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request information to the base station 120. In this case, the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110.”; Mok et al.; 0173)
(“At operation 1320, the terminal 110 may transfer at least one example of the path decision information and radio path change request information including identification information (ID) of the terminal 110 to the relay UE 140 through the sidelink based on the radio path change configuration information configured by the base station and the path decision transmission period….”; Mok et al.; 0175)
(“…For example, if the PPPP of the packet to be transmitted is 1, the terminal 110 may change the radio path to transmit the packet to a Uu radio path), a terminal type for the radio path change (e.g., vehicle terminal (UE), pedestrian UE, a road side unit (RSU) UE…”; Mok et al.; 0086)
(where
“if the radio path change is required, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request information to the base station 120. In this case, the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110”/” the terminal 110 may transfer at least one example of the path decision information and radio path change request information including identification information (ID) of the terminal 110 to the relay UE 140 through the sidelink”/”the terminal 110 may change the radio path to transmit the … a road side unit (RSU) UE…”/FIG. 13 maps to “transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel”, where “may transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “a road side unit (RSU) UE” maps to “to the RSU”, “through the sidelink” maps to “via the SL channel”, “the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110” maps to “a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel”
Mok et al. teaches a terminal transmitting radio path change request information to a Base Station via a sidelink through a Relay_UE/RSU UE where the radio path change request includes sensor information associated with performing a path change request.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the change capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the change capability as taught by the processing/communications of Mok et al. and including the RRC connection release as taught by Basu Mallick et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved reliability (Mok et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Rao et al. discloses:
further comprising transmitting, to the network node prior to the switch, a fourth third message indicating an application identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE, wherein:
each of the …and second sensor data transmissions via the cellular channel are associated with the application ID.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the second message further includes the application ID, wherein; and …first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel
However, Basu Mallick et al. further teaches an application ID/sensor capability which includes:
the second message further includes the application ID, wherein; and …first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel
(“In some embodiments, the UE 205a may send a request for resources as part of the V2X interest indication to the radio network also including one or more of the following: V2X application IDs, QoS ID, source ID, and/or destination ID; V2X message Types such as for example, CAM, DENM, and/or BSM. In certain embodiments, the remote unit interest indication 235 further includes other information as indicated in individual V2X scenarios 270 such as vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, as explained above.”; Basu Mallick et al.; 0082)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the application ID/sensor capability of Basu Mallick et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the application ID/sensor capability as taught by the processing/communications of Basu Mallikck et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved V2X (Basu Mallick et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 4:
Rao et al. discloses:
the second sensor data transmissions via the cellular channel are associated with a second ID.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel are associated with a first identifier (ID); and
However, Basu Mallick et al. further teaches an ID capability which includes:
the first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel are associated with a first identifier (ID); and
(“In some embodiments, the UE 205a may send a request for resources as part of the V2X interest indication to the radio network also including one or more of the following: V2X application IDs, QoS ID, source ID, and/or destination ID; V2X message Types such as for example, CAM, DENM, and/or BSM. In certain embodiments, the remote unit interest indication 235 further includes other information as indicated in individual V2X scenarios 270 such as vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, as explained above.”; Basu Mallick et al.; 0082)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ID capability of Basu Mallick et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the ID capability as taught by the processing/communications of Basu Mallikck et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved V2X (Basu Mallick et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Rao et al. discloses:
wherein the first sensor data and the second sensor data indicate sensor information collected by one or more sensors associated with the SL UE.
(“…On the Uu interface with RAN, the L-UE can maintain the RRC connection and operate in Mode 1 for providing the SL channel and loading reports and requesting SL resources for the UE group. On the sidelink PC5 interface facing the M-UEs in the UE group, the L-UE operates in Mode 2 for determining the resource allocation autonomously for each connection between the L-UE and the M-UEs within the UE group.”; Rao et al.; 0077)
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402. Next, the L-UE 402 aggregates the measurements reported by all M-UE 406 and reports the aggregated measurements over the configured channels/resources pools to the RAN node 214 by indicating the UE Group identifier and L-UE identifier, to enable the RAN node 214 to distinguish the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the UE group 401 from the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the individual UEs (e.g. M-UEs 406 or other UEs)….; Rao et al.; 0091)
As to claim 6:
Rao et al. discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a sidelink (SL) user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors and storing processor-executable code that, when executed by the one or more processors, is configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a roadside unit (RSU), one or more signals via an SL channel;
(“In the case of a semi-static mobility, the capabilities supported at an L-UE (e.g. RSU) may include: dynamically forming UE groups by establishing PC5-RRC connection with other Mode 2 UEs and using the PC5-RRC connection for providing resource configuration (e.g. dynamic SL grants, SL configured grants); configuring other UEs to perform channel measurements, reporting of position/location information; and facilitating AS-layer UE context retrieval and transfer for Mode 2 UEs entering or leaving the coverage area of the static L-UE (RSU)….”; Rao et al.; 0191)
(“…In the extended sensor use cases, the RSU can also send road traffic information in a broadcast transmission to a group of UEs within a small coverage area. The M-UEs can perform unicast transmissions and broadcast transmissions to surrounding UEs both within and outside of the UE group controlled by the RSU.”; Rao et al.; 0059)
(where
“the RSU can also send road traffic information in a broadcast transmission to a group of UEs within a small coverage area”/” the capabilities supported at an L-UE (e.g. RSU) may include: dynamically forming UE groups by establishing PC5-RRC connection with other Mode 2 UEs and using the PC5-RRC connection for providing resource configuration (e.g. dynamic SL grants, SL configured grants); configuring other UEs to perform channel measurements, reporting of position/location information” maps to “receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU), one or more signals via an SL channel”, “RSU can also send” maps to “receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU)”, “PC5-RRC connection”/”dynamic SL grants, SL configurated grants”/”reporting of position/location information” maps to “one or more signals via an SL channel”
transmitting, to a network node, a first message indicating a switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel in accordance with one or more of channel conditions of the SL channel, the one or more channel conditions including one or more of a SL reference signal received power (RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), …, …, or …; and
(“…Note that the regulations and conditions are intended to control the behavior of the L-UE 2942 and UEs, for example M-UE(s), in the UE group during HO. The regulations for establishing RRC connection with a Tcell on Uu may include the Uu channel thresholds (e.g. RSRP>RSRP threshold, validity time duration for establishing RRC connection<time_duration threshold, geo-area locations of L-UE and M-UEs is within a geo-area range {geo-area ID x to x+k}). Similarly, the regulations on SL for using the updated RPs may include the channel (SL-RSSI), loading (CBR) thresholds along with geo-area and time duration restrictions…”; Rao et al.; 0208)
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402….”; Rao et al.; 0091)
(“…Alternatively, the M-UE 406 in Mode 1 may be configured to switch to Mode 2 by releasing the RRC connection 412 with RAN while being supported indirectly for RRM and AS-layer configuration by the L-UE 402 (using PC5-RRC connection 408)….”; Rao et al.; 0085)
(where
“switch to Mode 2 by releasing the RRC connection 412 with RAN” maps to “transmitting, to a network node, a first message indicating a switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel”, where “switch to Mode 2” maps to “switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel”
(where Basu Mallick et al. teaches performing releasing RRC connection state for mode 2 operation by a UE transmitting a message to a RAN Node associated with RSU operation, see FIG. 6, para. 0034, 0086, 0095)
“the regulations and conditions are intended to control the behavior of the L-UE 2942 and UEs, for example M-UE(s), in the UE group during HO”/”the regulations on SL for using the updated RPs may include the channel (SL-RSSI), loading (CBR) thresholds”/” the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR” maps to “in accordance with one or more of channel conditions of the SL channel, the one or more channel conditions including one or more of a SL reference signal received power (RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR”, where “controlling the behavior…during HO”/”RSRP”/”CBR”/”SINR” maps to “RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR”
…
Rao et al. teaches M-UE receiving sidelink signals from a L-UE/RSU and controlling switching from Mode 1 or cellular operation to Mode 2 or sidelink operation via releasing an RRC connection where Basu Mallick et al. teaches performing releasing RRC connection state for mode 2 operation by a UE transmitting a message to a RAN Node associated with RSU operation.
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel.
However, Mok et al. further teaches a change capability which includes:
transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel.
(“At operation 1310, the base station 120 may transmit the radio path change configuration information for the radio path change request to the terminal 110 as described above with reference to FIG. 1. Accordingly, if the radio path change is required, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request information to the base station 120. In this case, the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110.”; Mok et al.; 0173)
(“At operation 1320, the terminal 110 may transfer at least one example of the path decision information and radio path change request information including identification information (ID) of the terminal 110 to the relay UE 140 through the sidelink based on the radio path change configuration information configured by the base station and the path decision transmission period….”; Mok et al.; 0175)
(“…For example, if the PPPP of the packet to be transmitted is 1, the terminal 110 may change the radio path to transmit the packet to a Uu radio path), a terminal type for the radio path change (e.g., vehicle terminal (UE), pedestrian UE, a road side unit (RSU) UE…”; Mok et al.; 0086)
(where
“if the radio path change is required, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request information to the base station 120. In this case, the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110”/” the terminal 110 may transfer at least one example of the path decision information and radio path change request information including identification information (ID) of the terminal 110 to the relay UE 140 through the sidelink”/”the terminal 110 may change the radio path to transmit the … a road side unit (RSU) UE…”/FIG. 13 maps to “transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel”, where “may transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “a road side unit (RSU) UE” maps to “to the RSU”, “through the sidelink” maps to “via the SL channel”, “the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110” maps to “a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel”
Mok et al. teaches a terminal transmitting radio path change request information to a Base Station via a sidelink through a Relay_UE/RSU UE where the radio path change request includes sensor information associated with performing a path change request.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the change capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the change capability as taught by the processing/communications of Mok et al. and including the RRC connection release as taught by Basu Mallick et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved reliability (Mok et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Rao et al. discloses:
further comprising transmitting, to the network node prior to the switch, a fourth third message indicating an application identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE, wherein:
each of the …and second sensor data transmissions via the cellular channel are associated with the application ID.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the second message further includes the application ID, wherein; and …first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel
However, Basu Mallick et al. further teaches an application ID/sensor capability which includes:
the second message further includes the application ID, wherein; and …first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel
(“In some embodiments, the UE 205a may send a request for resources as part of the V2X interest indication to the radio network also including one or more of the following: V2X application IDs, QoS ID, source ID, and/or destination ID; V2X message Types such as for example, CAM, DENM, and/or BSM. In certain embodiments, the remote unit interest indication 235 further includes other information as indicated in individual V2X scenarios 270 such as vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, as explained above.”; Basu Mallick et al.; 0082)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the application ID/sensor capability of Basu Mallick et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the application ID/sensor capability as taught by the processing/communications of Basu Mallikck et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved V2X (Basu Mallick et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Rao et al. discloses:
the second sensor data transmissions via the cellular channel are associated with a second ID.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel are associated with a first identifier (ID); and
However, Basu Mallick et al. further teaches an ID capability which includes:
the first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel are associated with a first identifier (ID); and
(“In some embodiments, the UE 205a may send a request for resources as part of the V2X interest indication to the radio network also including one or more of the following: V2X application IDs, QoS ID, source ID, and/or destination ID; V2X message Types such as for example, CAM, DENM, and/or BSM. In certain embodiments, the remote unit interest indication 235 further includes other information as indicated in individual V2X scenarios 270 such as vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, as explained above.”; Basu Mallick et al.; 0082)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ID capability of Basu Mallick et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the ID capability as taught by the processing/communications of Basu Mallikck et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved V2X (Basu Mallick et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Rao et al. discloses:
wherein the first sensor data and the second sensor data indicate sensor information collected by one or more sensors associated with the SL UE.
(“…On the Uu interface with RAN, the L-UE can maintain the RRC connection and operate in Mode 1 for providing the SL channel and loading reports and requesting SL resources for the UE group. On the sidelink PC5 interface facing the M-UEs in the UE group, the L-UE operates in Mode 2 for determining the resource allocation autonomously for each connection between the L-UE and the M-UEs within the UE group.”; Rao et al.; 0077)
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402. Next, the L-UE 402 aggregates the measurements reported by all M-UE 406 and reports the aggregated measurements over the configured channels/resources pools to the RAN node 214 by indicating the UE Group identifier and L-UE identifier, to enable the RAN node 214 to distinguish the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the UE group 401 from the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the individual UEs (e.g. M-UEs 406 or other UEs)….; Rao et al.; 0091)
As to claim 19:
Rao et al. discloses:
further comprising transmitting, to the network node prior to the switch, a third message via the cellular channel, indicating second sensor data.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
(“FIG. 4 is an illustration of a functional architecture of RAN and a UE group 401, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 4, the L-UE 402 may operate in Mode 1 (in RRC Connected state) with an active RRC connection 404 with a serving RAN node (e.g., gNB 214) in RAN. This enables the L-UE 402 to receive SL dynamic resource grants or SL configured grants for performing SL transmissions. Each M-UE 406 in the UE group 401 may be associated with the L-UE 402 via a PC5-RRC connection 408. The active RRC connection 404 and the PC5-RRC 408 can be used for sending and receiving UE group related RRC configuration and NAS messages from the RAN and core network (CN). Additionally, the DRB connection 410 on the Uu interface can also be used for sending and receiving higher layer (application) messages intended for UE group operation from the CN and data network name (DNN), respectively. The L-UE 402 can also be configured by the CN with mapping rules in the NAS layer (above L2 AS-layer) to translate from higher layer messages (e.g. group operations) to operations at the AS-layer (e.g. resource reconfiguration, SL-RB configuration).”; Rao et al.; 0084)
As to claim 20:
Rao et al. discloses:
wherein the one or more channel conditions are based on measurements of the one or more signals received via the SL channel.
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402. Next, the L-UE 402 aggregates the measurements reported by all M-UE 406 and reports the aggregated measurements over the configured channels/resources pools to the RAN node 214 by indicating the UE Group identifier and L-UE identifier, to enable the RAN node 214 to distinguish the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the UE group 401 from the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the individual UEs (e.g. M-UEs 406 or other UEs).”; Rao et al.; 0091)
As to claim 21:
Rao et al. discloses:
further comprising transmitting, to the network node prior to the switch, a third message via the cellular channel, indicating second sensor data.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
(“FIG. 4 is an illustration of a functional architecture of RAN and a UE group 401, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 4, the L-UE 402 may operate in Mode 1 (in RRC Connected state) with an active RRC connection 404 with a serving RAN node (e.g., gNB 214) in RAN. This enables the L-UE 402 to receive SL dynamic resource grants or SL configured grants for performing SL transmissions. Each M-UE 406 in the UE group 401 may be associated with the L-UE 402 via a PC5-RRC connection 408. The active RRC connection 404 and the PC5-RRC 408 can be used for sending and receiving UE group related RRC configuration and NAS messages from the RAN and core network (CN). Additionally, the DRB connection 410 on the Uu interface can also be used for sending and receiving higher layer (application) messages intended for UE group operation from the CN and data network name (DNN), respectively. The L-UE 402 can also be configured by the CN with mapping rules in the NAS layer (above L2 AS-layer) to translate from higher layer messages (e.g. group operations) to operations at the AS-layer (e.g. resource reconfiguration, SL-RB configuration).”; Rao et al.; 0084)
As to claim 22:
Rao et al. discloses:
wherein the one or more channel conditions are based on measurements of the one or more signals received via the SL channel.
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402. Next, the L-UE 402 aggregates the measurements reported by all M-UE 406 and reports the aggregated measurements over the configured channels/resources pools to the RAN node 214 by indicating the UE Group identifier and L-UE identifier, to enable the RAN node 214 to distinguish the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the UE group 401 from the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the individual UEs (e.g. M-UEs 406 or other UEs).”; Rao et al.; 0091)
As to claim 23:
Rao et al. discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon for wireless communication at a sidelink (SL) user equipment (UE), the program code executed by one or more processors and comprising:
program code to receive, from a roadside unit (RSU), one or more signals via an SL channel;
(“In the case of a semi-static mobility, the capabilities supported at an L-UE (e.g. RSU) may include: dynamically forming UE groups by establishing PC5-RRC connection with other Mode 2 UEs and using the PC5-RRC connection for providing resource configuration (e.g. dynamic SL grants, SL configured grants); configuring other UEs to perform channel measurements, reporting of position/location information; and facilitating AS-layer UE context retrieval and transfer for Mode 2 UEs entering or leaving the coverage area of the static L-UE (RSU)….”; Rao et al.; 0191)
(“…In the extended sensor use cases, the RSU can also send road traffic information in a broadcast transmission to a group of UEs within a small coverage area. The M-UEs can perform unicast transmissions and broadcast transmissions to surrounding UEs both within and outside of the UE group controlled by the RSU.”; Rao et al.; 0059)
(where
“the RSU can also send road traffic information in a broadcast transmission to a group of UEs within a small coverage area”/” the capabilities supported at an L-UE (e.g. RSU) may include: dynamically forming UE groups by establishing PC5-RRC connection with other Mode 2 UEs and using the PC5-RRC connection for providing resource configuration (e.g. dynamic SL grants, SL configured grants); configuring other UEs to perform channel measurements, reporting of position/location information” maps to “receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU), one or more signals via an SL channel”, “RSU can also send” maps to “receiving, from a roadside unit (RSU)”, “PC5-RRC connection”/”dynamic SL grants, SL configurated grants”/”reporting of position/location information” maps to “one or more signals via an SL channel”
transmitting, to a network node, a first message indicating a switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel in accordance with one or more of channel conditions of the SL channel, the one or more channel conditions including one or more of a SL reference signal received power (RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), …, …, or …; and
(“…Note that the regulations and conditions are intended to control the behavior of the L-UE 2942 and UEs, for example M-UE(s), in the UE group during HO. The regulations for establishing RRC connection with a Tcell on Uu may include the Uu channel thresholds (e.g. RSRP>RSRP threshold, validity time duration for establishing RRC connection<time_duration threshold, geo-area locations of L-UE and M-UEs is within a geo-area range {geo-area ID x to x+k}). Similarly, the regulations on SL for using the updated RPs may include the channel (SL-RSSI), loading (CBR) thresholds along with geo-area and time duration restrictions…”; Rao et al.; 0208)
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402….”; Rao et al.; 0091)
(“…Alternatively, the M-UE 406 in Mode 1 may be configured to switch to Mode 2 by releasing the RRC connection 412 with RAN while being supported indirectly for RRM and AS-layer configuration by the L-UE 402 (using PC5-RRC connection 408)….”; Rao et al.; 0085)
(where
“switch to Mode 2 by releasing the RRC connection 412 with RAN” maps to “transmitting, to a network node, a first message indicating a switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel”, where “switch to Mode 2” maps to “switch from a cellular channel to the SL channel”
(where Basu Mallick et al. teaches performing releasing RRC connection state for mode 2 operation by a UE transmitting a message to a RAN Node associated with RSU operation, see FIG. 6, para. 0034, 0086, 0095)
“the regulations and conditions are intended to control the behavior of the L-UE 2942 and UEs, for example M-UE(s), in the UE group during HO”/”the regulations on SL for using the updated RPs may include the channel (SL-RSSI), loading (CBR) thresholds”/” the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR” maps to “in accordance with one or more of channel conditions of the SL channel, the one or more channel conditions including one or more of a SL reference signal received power (RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR”, where “controlling the behavior…during HO”/”RSRP”/”CBR”/”SINR” maps to “RSRP), a channel busy ratio (CBR), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR”
…
Rao et al. teaches M-UE receiving sidelink signals from a L-UE/RSU and controlling switching from Mode 1 or cellular operation to Mode 2 or sidelink operation via releasing an RRC connection where Basu Mallick et al. teaches performing releasing RRC connection state for mode 2 operation by a UE transmitting a message to a RAN Node associated with RSU operation.
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel.
However, Mok et al. further teaches a change capability which includes:
transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel.
(“At operation 1310, the base station 120 may transmit the radio path change configuration information for the radio path change request to the terminal 110 as described above with reference to FIG. 1. Accordingly, if the radio path change is required, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request information to the base station 120. In this case, the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110.”; Mok et al.; 0173)
(“At operation 1320, the terminal 110 may transfer at least one example of the path decision information and radio path change request information including identification information (ID) of the terminal 110 to the relay UE 140 through the sidelink based on the radio path change configuration information configured by the base station and the path decision transmission period….”; Mok et al.; 0175)
(“…For example, if the PPPP of the packet to be transmitted is 1, the terminal 110 may change the radio path to transmit the packet to a Uu radio path), a terminal type for the radio path change (e.g., vehicle terminal (UE), pedestrian UE, a road side unit (RSU) UE…”; Mok et al.; 0086)
(where
“if the radio path change is required, the terminal 110 may transmit the radio path change request information to the base station 120. In this case, the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110”/” the terminal 110 may transfer at least one example of the path decision information and radio path change request information including identification information (ID) of the terminal 110 to the relay UE 140 through the sidelink”/”the terminal 110 may change the radio path to transmit the … a road side unit (RSU) UE…”/FIG. 13 maps to “transmitting, to the RSU via the SL channel, a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel”, where “may transmit” maps to “transmitting”, “a road side unit (RSU) UE” maps to “to the RSU”, “through the sidelink” maps to “via the SL channel”, “the radio path change request information (path decision information) may be, for example, whether a channel measurement situation report event occurs, channel measurement situation, prose per packet priority (PPPP) information of a packet to be transmitted by the terminal, terminal (UE) type (vehicle UE, pedestrian UE, or RSU UE), V2X data destination address transmitted by the terminal 110, battery level of the terminal 110, V2X service type of the terminal 110 (e.g., safety or non-safety), or CQI measured by the terminal 110” maps to “a second message including first sensor data in accordance with switching from the cellular channel to the SL channel”
Mok et al. teaches a terminal transmitting radio path change request information to a Base Station via a sidelink through a Relay_UE/RSU UE where the radio path change request includes sensor information associated with performing a path change request.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the change capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the change capability as taught by the processing/communications of Mok et al. and including the RRC connection release as taught by Basu Mallick et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved reliability (Mok et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 25:
Rao et al. discloses:
further comprising transmitting, to the network node prior to the switch, a third message via the cellular channel, indicating second sensor data.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
(“FIG. 4 is an illustration of a functional architecture of RAN and a UE group 401, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. Referring to FIG. 4, the L-UE 402 may operate in Mode 1 (in RRC Connected state) with an active RRC connection 404 with a serving RAN node (e.g., gNB 214) in RAN. This enables the L-UE 402 to receive SL dynamic resource grants or SL configured grants for performing SL transmissions. Each M-UE 406 in the UE group 401 may be associated with the L-UE 402 via a PC5-RRC connection 408. The active RRC connection 404 and the PC5-RRC 408 can be used for sending and receiving UE group related RRC configuration and NAS messages from the RAN and core network (CN). Additionally, the DRB connection 410 on the Uu interface can also be used for sending and receiving higher layer (application) messages intended for UE group operation from the CN and data network name (DNN), respectively. The L-UE 402 can also be configured by the CN with mapping rules in the NAS layer (above L2 AS-layer) to translate from higher layer messages (e.g. group operations) to operations at the AS-layer (e.g. resource reconfiguration, SL-RB configuration).”; Rao et al.; 0084)
As to claim 26:
Rao et al. discloses:
further comprising transmitting, to the network node prior to the switch, a fourth third message indicating an application identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE, wherein:
each of the …and second sensor data transmissions via the cellular channel are associated with the application ID.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the second message further includes the application ID, wherein; and …first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel
However, Basu Mallick et al. further teaches an application ID/sensor capability which includes:
the second message further includes the application ID, wherein; and …first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel
(“In some embodiments, the UE 205a may send a request for resources as part of the V2X interest indication to the radio network also including one or more of the following: V2X application IDs, QoS ID, source ID, and/or destination ID; V2X message Types such as for example, CAM, DENM, and/or BSM. In certain embodiments, the remote unit interest indication 235 further includes other information as indicated in individual V2X scenarios 270 such as vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, as explained above.”; Basu Mallick et al.; 0082)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the application ID/sensor capability of Basu Mallick et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the application ID/sensor capability as taught by the processing/communications of Basu Mallikck et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved V2X (Basu Mallick et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 27:
Rao et al. discloses:
the second sensor data transmissions via the cellular channel are associated with a second ID.
(“The UE group context maintained and managed at L-UE 402, which may be but need not be UE 502, can be categorized into two groups, namely higher layer context and AS-layer context. The higher layer context may comprise both user plane NAS (configured by the CN) and application layer parameters, which may include L2 IDs (service ID, cast/connection type), QoS (QoS-flow indicator (QFI)/PQI) profile, UE group ID, L-UE ID, M-UEs IDs, communications pattern (timing, order, direction), M-UE location, UE group service class (class ID, group velocity, group size {distance between UEs}, group QoS requirements {reliability, throughput, latency}, group priority) and security keys.”; Rao et al.; 0108)
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel are associated with a first identifier (ID); and
However, Basu Mallick et al. further teaches an ID capability which includes:
the first sensor data transmissions via the SL channel are associated with a first identifier (ID); and
(“In some embodiments, the UE 205a may send a request for resources as part of the V2X interest indication to the radio network also including one or more of the following: V2X application IDs, QoS ID, source ID, and/or destination ID; V2X message Types such as for example, CAM, DENM, and/or BSM. In certain embodiments, the remote unit interest indication 235 further includes other information as indicated in individual V2X scenarios 270 such as vehicle platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, remote driving, as explained above.”; Basu Mallick et al.; 0082)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ID capability of Basu Mallick et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the ID capability as taught by the processing/communications of Basu Mallikck et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved V2X (Basu Mallick et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 28:
Rao et al. discloses:
wherein the first sensor data and the second sensor data indicate sensor information collected by one or more sensors associated with the SL UE.
(“…On the Uu interface with RAN, the L-UE can maintain the RRC connection and operate in Mode 1 for providing the SL channel and loading reports and requesting SL resources for the UE group. On the sidelink PC5 interface facing the M-UEs in the UE group, the L-UE operates in Mode 2 for determining the resource allocation autonomously for each connection between the L-UE and the M-UEs within the UE group.”; Rao et al.; 0077)
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402. Next, the L-UE 402 aggregates the measurements reported by all M-UE 406 and reports the aggregated measurements over the configured channels/resources pools to the RAN node 214 by indicating the UE Group identifier and L-UE identifier, to enable the RAN node 214 to distinguish the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the UE group 401 from the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the individual UEs (e.g. M-UEs 406 or other UEs)….; Rao et al.; 0091)
As to claim 29:
Rao et al. discloses:
wherein the one or more channel conditions are based on measurements of the one or more signals received via the SL channel.
(“For assisting with the resource allocation and mitigation of SL interferences in the under-laying cell, the L-UE 402 may configure the M-UEs 406 in Mode 2, in the UE group 401, to make measurements of the channel (sidelink received signal strength indicator (SL-RSSI), sidelink reference signal received power (SL-RSRP), signal to interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR)) and loading conditions (channel busy ratio (CBR), channel occupancy ratio (CoR)) on one or many channels or resource pools and report the measurements to the L-UE 402. Next, the L-UE 402 aggregates the measurements reported by all M-UE 406 and reports the aggregated measurements over the configured channels/resources pools to the RAN node 214 by indicating the UE Group identifier and L-UE identifier, to enable the RAN node 214 to distinguish the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the UE group 401 from the measurements in the aggregated measurements attributed to the individual UEs (e.g. M-UEs 406 or other UEs).”; Rao et al.; 0091)
Claim(s) 2, 7 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al. US 20210045093 in view of Mok et al. US 20200128470 and in further view of Basu Mallick et al. US 20200113015 and Zhang et al., “Method And Device For Soft Switching Of Network-connected Vehicle At Multiple Edge Cloud Gateways”; 2022-12-16, CN, CN 115484286 (citations are from English translation).
As to claim 2:
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the second message further includes a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE;
the V2X ID indicates an identifier associated with a V2X cloud server; and
the first sensor data being forwarded, via the RSU, to the V2X cloud server based on the V2X ID.
However, Mok et al. further teaches a cloud server capability which includes:
cloud server
(“…The Internet of everything (IoE) technology, which is a combination of IoT technology and big data processing technology through connection with a cloud server, has emerged…” Mok et al.; 0007)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the cloud server capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the cloud server capability as taught by the processing/communications of Mok et al. and including the RRC connection release as taught by Basu Mallick et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved reliability (Mok et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, Zhang et al. further teaches a V2X/forwarding/identification capability which includes:
the second message further includes a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE;
the V2X ID indicates an identifier associated with a V2X cloud …; and
the first sensor data being forwarded, via the RSU, to the V2X cloud … based on the V2X ID.
(“based on the method shown in FIG. 1, correspondingly, the embodiment of the invention further claims a computer-readable storage medium, which is stored with a computer program, the program when executed by a processor to implement the following steps: receiving the V2X message sent by the network-connected vehicle, the V2X message carries the vehicle identification of the network-connected vehicle; obtaining the latest position information of the network-connected vehicle from the corresponding home register according to the vehicle identification, wherein the home-location register stores the vehicle basic information of the network-connected vehicle; according to the latest position information and geographic coordinate information of the edge cloud gateway currently corresponding to the network-linked vehicle, calculating the distance between the network-connected vehicle and the current edge cloud gateway; if the distance is greater than the preset distance, then according to the latest position information and geographic coordinate information corresponding to other edge cloud gateway in the plurality of edge cloud gateways, determining the target edge cloud gateway in the other edge cloud gateway matched with the network-connected vehicle; forwarding the V2X message to the target edge cloud gateway.”; Zhang et al.; p.13, bottom of page to p.14, top of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the V2X/forwarding/identification capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the V2X/forwarding/identification capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved switching (Zhang et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the second message further includes a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE;
the V2X ID indicates an identifier associated with a V2X cloud server; and
the first sensor data being forwarded, via the RSU, to the V2X cloud server based on the V2X ID.
However, Mok et al. further teaches a cloud server capability which includes:
cloud server
(“…The Internet of everything (IoE) technology, which is a combination of IoT technology and big data processing technology through connection with a cloud server, has emerged…” Mok et al.; 0007)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the cloud server capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the cloud server capability as taught by the processing/communications of Mok et al. and including the RRC connection release as taught by Basu Mallick et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved reliability (Mok et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, Zhang et al. further teaches a V2X/forwarding/identification capability which includes:
the second message further includes a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE;
the V2X ID indicates an identifier associated with a V2X cloud …; and
the first sensor data being forwarded, via the RSU, to the V2X cloud … based on the V2X ID.
(“based on the method shown in FIG. 1, correspondingly, the embodiment of the invention further claims a computer-readable storage medium, which is stored with a computer program, the program when executed by a processor to implement the following steps: receiving the V2X message sent by the network-connected vehicle, the V2X message carries the vehicle identification of the network-connected vehicle; obtaining the latest position information of the network-connected vehicle from the corresponding home register according to the vehicle identification, wherein the home-location register stores the vehicle basic information of the network-connected vehicle; according to the latest position information and geographic coordinate information of the edge cloud gateway currently corresponding to the network-linked vehicle, calculating the distance between the network-connected vehicle and the current edge cloud gateway; if the distance is greater than the preset distance, then according to the latest position information and geographic coordinate information corresponding to other edge cloud gateway in the plurality of edge cloud gateways, determining the target edge cloud gateway in the other edge cloud gateway matched with the network-connected vehicle; forwarding the V2X message to the target edge cloud gateway.”; Zhang et al.; p.13, bottom of page to p.14, top of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the V2X/forwarding/identification capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the V2X/forwarding/identification capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved switching (Zhang et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
As to claim 24:
Rao et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the second message further includes a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE;
the V2X ID indicates an identifier associated with a V2X cloud server; and
the first sensor data being forwarded, via the RSU, to the V2X cloud server based on the V2X ID.
However, Mok et al. further teaches a cloud server capability which includes:
cloud server
(“…The Internet of everything (IoE) technology, which is a combination of IoT technology and big data processing technology through connection with a cloud server, has emerged…” Mok et al.; 0007)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the cloud server capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the cloud server capability as taught by the processing/communications of Mok et al. and including the RRC connection release as taught by Basu Mallick et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved reliability (Mok et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
However, Zhang et al. further teaches a V2X/forwarding/identification capability which includes:
the second message further includes a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) identifier (ID) associated with the SL UE;
the V2X ID indicates an identifier associated with a V2X cloud …; and
the first sensor data being forwarded, via the RSU, to the V2X cloud … based on the V2X ID.
(“based on the method shown in FIG. 1, correspondingly, the embodiment of the invention further claims a computer-readable storage medium, which is stored with a computer program, the program when executed by a processor to implement the following steps: receiving the V2X message sent by the network-connected vehicle, the V2X message carries the vehicle identification of the network-connected vehicle; obtaining the latest position information of the network-connected vehicle from the corresponding home register according to the vehicle identification, wherein the home-location register stores the vehicle basic information of the network-connected vehicle; according to the latest position information and geographic coordinate information of the edge cloud gateway currently corresponding to the network-linked vehicle, calculating the distance between the network-connected vehicle and the current edge cloud gateway; if the distance is greater than the preset distance, then according to the latest position information and geographic coordinate information corresponding to other edge cloud gateway in the plurality of edge cloud gateways, determining the target edge cloud gateway in the other edge cloud gateway matched with the network-connected vehicle; forwarding the V2X message to the target edge cloud gateway.”; Zhang et al.; p.13, bottom of page to p.14, top of page)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the V2X/forwarding/identification capability of Mok et al. into Rao et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Rao et al. to include the V2X/forwarding/identification capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang et al., the benefits of improved spectral efficiency (Rao et al.; 0101) with improved switching (Zhang et al.; Abstract) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250317710 – teaches a UE sending motion control data and sensor data via PC5 interface (see para. 0105).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464