Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 June, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by De Sousa (US 2022/0015271 A1- published 13 January, 2022).
As to claim 1, DE SOUSA discloses a double-sided cooling liquid cooling head (20), comprising:
A frame (See Annotated Figure below), comprising a pair of side strips and a pair of connecting strips (See Annotated Figure below), the side strips parallel and opposite to each other (See Annotated Figure below), the connecting strips respectively connected to two ends of each of the side strips (See Annotated Figure below), the side strips and the connecting strips jointly forming an accommodating space (See Annotated Figure below which shows the side strips and connecting strips connecting to form a frame forming an accommodating space 13), one of the connecting strips comprising an inlet (11), the other connecting strip comprising an outlet (12),
a baffle (21, defined as a device used to restrain the flow of a fluid or gas in a particular direction), fixed in the frame to separate the accommodating space (13) to a first space (30) and a second space (32), wherein the inlet communicated to the first space and the second space (See Annotated Figure below), the outlet communicated to the first space and the second space (See Annotated Figure below);
a first cover (22), comprising a first fin group (23), the first cover corresponding to the first space and fixed on a side of a frame (See Annotated Figure below), the first fin group located in the first space and abutted (paragraph 37, pg.10, lines 17-19) against the baffle; and
a second cover (33), comprising a second fin group (23), the second cover corresponding to the second space and fixed on another side of the frame (See Annotated Figure below), the second fin group located in the second space and abutted (paragraph 37, pg.10, lines 17-19) against the baffle.
As to claim 2, DE SOUSA discloses wherein the baffle is connected to the side strips and the connecting strips (See Annotated Figure below, paragraph 37).
As to claim 3, DE SOUSA discloses wherein a location of the baffle is corresponding to a center of the inlet (See Annotated Figure below, paragraph 35).
As to claim 4, DE SOUSA discloses wherein a location of the baffle is corresponding to a center of the outlet (See Annotated Figure below, paragraph 35).
As to claim 5, DE SOUSA discloses wherein the first fin group (22 and 23) comprises a plurality of first heat dissipation channels (23), the second fin group (33 and 23) comprises a plurality of second heat dissipation channels (23), two ends of each of the first heat dissipation channels respectively faces to each of the connecting strips (See Annotated Figure below), two ends of each of the second heat dissipation channels respectively faces to each of the connecting strips (See Annotated Figure below which shows that the two ends of each of the heat dissipation channels faces to each of the connecting strips).
As to claim 6, DE SOUSA discloses wherein the baffle comprises a liquid-entry notch (45) and a liquid-exit notch (46), the liquid-entry notch is communicated to the inlet (11), the first space (30), and the second space (33), the liquid-exit notch is communicated to the outlet (12), the first space, and the second space (See Annotated Figure below which shows that the baffle comprises a liquid-entry notch that is communicated to the inlet, the first space, the second space and the liquid-exit notch is communicated to the outlet).
As to claim 7, DE SOUSA discloses wherein the first cover comprises a first flat (22) attached to the frame, the first fin group is convex on the first flat (See Annotated Figure below which shows that the first cover comprises a first flat attached to the frame and the first fin group is convex on the first flat).
As to claim 8, DE SOUSA discloses wherein the second cover comprises a second flat (33) attached to the frame, the second fin group is convex on the second flat (33) (See Annotated Figure below which shows that the second cover comprises a second flat attached to the frame and the second fin group is convex on the second flat).
[AltContent: textbox (First Space)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Connecting Strips of a frame comprising Inlet and Outlet)][AltContent: textbox (Side Strips of a frame Parallel and Opposite to each other)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Fin Group )][AltContent: textbox (Second Flat)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Cover )][AltContent: textbox (First Fin Group )][AltContent: textbox (First Cover )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Flat )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Inlet)][AltContent: textbox (Outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Baffle with liquid Entry Notch and Liquid Exit Notch)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Sousa (US 2022/0015271 A1- published 13 January, 2022), in view of Zhou (US 9980415 B2- published 22 May, 2018).
Concerning claim 9,
DE SOUSA discloses all of the elements (Claims 1-8) of the current invention as stated above.
De SOUSA does not disclose the first cover comprising a first-heat conduction block, wherein, the first-head conduction block is convex on the first cover along a direction away from the first fin group.
ZHOU teaches the first cover comprising a first heat-conduction plate (See Annotated Figure below), wherein, the first head-conduction plate is the first cover along a direction away from the first fin group (col.11, pg.27, lines 60-66).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Heat-Conduction Plates)][AltContent: textbox (Heat Generating Devices)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
While ZHOU, as stated above, does not provide the convex shape of the first heat-conduction block on the first cover along a direction away from the first fin group, one having ordinary skill within the art would have found a convex shape of the first heat-conduction block entirely obvious, as it has been held the shape of an object is a matter of choice which one having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. See MPEP §2144.04 – IV (b). As described, by looking at the specification of the present invention, it does not mention why the first heat-conduction block is novel or has criticality to claim patentability, the difference between a heat-conduction plate and heat conduction block is limited only by the shape of its geometry, as the function of heat-conduction block or a plate is to absorb heat from a heat source. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify DE SOUSA with the teachings of ZHOU to incorporate first heat-conduction block so as to dissipate heat from two heat sources at the same time.
Concerning claim 10,
DE SOUSA discloses all of the elements (Claims 1-8) of the current invention as stated above
De SOUSA does not disclose the second cover comprising a second heat-conduction block, wherein, the second head-conduction block is convex on the second cover along a direction away from the second fin group.
ZHOU teaches the second cover comprising a second heat-conduction plate, wherein, the second head-conduction plate is the second cover along a direction away from the second fin group.
While ZHOU, as stated above, does not provide the convex shape of the second heat-conduction block on the second cover along a direction away from the second fin group, one having ordinary skill within the art would have found a convex shape of the second heat-conduction block entirely obvious, as it has been held the shape of an object is a matter of choice which one having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. See MPEP §2144.04 – IV (b). As described, by looking at the specification of the present invention, it does not mention why the second heat-conduction block is novel or has criticality to claim patentability, the difference between a heat-conduction plate and heat conduction block is limited only by the shape of its geometry, as the function of heat-conduction block or a plate is to absorb heat from a heat source. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill within the art, prior to the date the invention was effectively filed, to modify DE SOUSA with the teachings of ZHOU to incorporate second heat-conduction block so as to dissipate heat from two heat sources at the same time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 March, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 5 that De Sousa does not disclose one of the connecting strips comprising an inlet penetrating thereof, the other connecting strip comprising an outlet penetrating thereof.
In response, it can be seen when comparing (Annotated figure De Sousa) to figure 1 of XIAO, the inlet necessarily penetrates the connecting strip that allows the inlet to communicate with the chamber, and an outlet necessarily penetrates the connecting strip that allows the outlet to communicate with the chamber.
Applicant also states in the paragraph in page 5 that a baffle, fixed in the frame to separate the accommodating space to a first space and a second space, opposite sides of the baffle fully connected to the side strips,
However, it can be seen in (Annotated figure De Sousa), that the opposite sides of the baffle are fully connected to the side strips. Examiner’s interpretation is based on BRI in light of the specification, in view of the baffle (13) of the present invention including gaps between the connecting strips (11/12) and the baffle (shown clearly in figure 1,4 and 5). The instant application does not appear to support a “full connection” that would require there to be absolutely no gaps between the connecting strip and the baffle.
For the reasons explained in the examiner’s response to arguments, the examiner asserts the position of rejection for claim 1. Furthermore, being that claims 2-9 depend on claim 1, the examiner asserts the position of rejection for claims 2- 10 as well.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763