DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed toward an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) and does not include additional elements that amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1
Claim 1 is directed toward a “computer implemented method”, which is a method and thus falls within a statutory category under the most recent guidelines of 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 2 recites instructions for “obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment”; “mapping, using a neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence defining a plurality of output symbols, wherein each of the plurality of output symbols is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols”; and “determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.”. These limitations collectively recite the collection, evaluation and translation of information, including language evaluation and translation. As characterized by the USPTO guidance and case law, such activities fall within the abstract-idea groupings of mental processes (e.g. observations, evaluations, and judgments that could be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper) and organizing /transmitting information. Reference can be made to latest patent eligibility guidelines. Accordingly, claim 2 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The claim is implemented on a server using a neural network, including one or more processors and memory storing one or more programs to be executed by the one or more processors. These are generic computer components performing their well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of storing and executing instructions, receiving requests, and sending content.
The claim does not recite any specific improvement to computer functionality (e.g., a particular translation algorithm, model architecture, data structure, memory organization, caching mechanism, latency-reduction technique, or network protocol that improves the operation of the computer or network). Nor does it effect a transformation of a physical article or use the abstract idea in any other manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the claim’s scope. Therefore, the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B
The ordered combination of limitations mirrors the abstract idea itself performed using routine computer operations. There is no recited unconventional hardware, no technical improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, and no nonconventional arrangement of known components etc.
Accordingly, claim 2 does not include an “inventive concept” sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application.
Therefore , claim 2 is directed to an abstract idea and does not recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the exception itself. Claim 1 is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Dependent claims 3-9 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The Independent claim 10 recite(s) the steps of “obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment”; “mapping, using a neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence defining a plurality of output symbols, wherein each of the plurality of output symbols is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols”; and “determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.”. All the steps can be performed by a human being including applying a translation service algorithm. These limitations collectively recite the collection, evaluation and translation of information, including language evaluation and translation. As characterized by the USPTO guidance and case law, such activities fall within the abstract-idea groupings of mental processes (e.g. observations, evaluations, and judgments that could be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper) and organizing /transmitting information. Reference can be made to latest patent eligibility guidelines. Accordingly, claim 10 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2B
Beyond the abstract idea, the additional elements are the generic “server,” “one or more processors,” “computers” and “memory” performing their conventional functions. Implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components does not amount to significantly more. Alice, 573 U.S. at 223–24).
The ordered combination of limitations mirrors the abstract idea itself performed using routine computer operations. There is no recited unconventional hardware, no technical improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, and no nonconventional arrangement of known components etc.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. With respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a generic computing device the determining and data gathering steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. The current specification on paragraphs 0066-0069, clearly specifies that “… [0066] This specification uses the term “configured” in connection with systems and computer program components. For a system of one or more computers to be configured to perform particular operations or actions means that the system has installed on its software, firmware, hardware, or a combination of them that in operation cause the system to perform the operations or actions. For one or more computer programs to be configured to perform particular operations or actions means that the one or more programs include instructions that, when executed by data processing apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform the operations or actions. [0067] Embodiments of the subject matter and the functional operations described in this specification can be implemented in digital electronic circuitry, in tangibly-embodied computer software or firmware, in computer hardware, including the structures disclosed in this specification and their structural equivalents, or in combinations of one or more of them. Embodiments of the subject matter described in this specification can be implemented as one or more computer programs, i.e., one or more modules of computer program instructions encoded on a tangible non transitory storage medium for execution by, or to control the operation of, data processing apparatus. The computer storage medium can be a machine-readable storage device, a machine-readable storage substrate, a random or serial access memory device, or a combination of one or more of them. Alternatively or in addition, the program instructions can be encoded on an artificially generated propagated signal, e.g., a machine-generated electrical, optical, or electromagnetic signal, that is generated to encode information for transmission to suitable receiver apparatus for execution by a data processing apparatus.
[0068] The term “data processing apparatus” refers to data processing hardware and encompasses all kinds of apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers. The apparatus can also be, or further include, special purpose logic circuitry, e.g., an FPGA (field programmable gate array) or an ASIC (application specific integrated circuit). The apparatus can optionally include, in addition to hardware, code that creates an execution environment for computer programs, e.g., code that constitutes processor firmware, a protocol stack, a database management system, an operating system, or a combination of one or more of them.
[0069] A computer program, which may also be referred to or described as a program, software, a software application, an app, a module, a software module, a script, or code, can be written in any form of programming language, including compiled or interpreted languages, or declarative or procedural languages; and it can be deployed in any form, including as a stand alone program or as a module, component, subroutine, or other unit suitable for use in a computing environment. A program may, but need not, correspond to a file in a file system. A program can be stored in a portion of a file that holds other programs or data, e.g., one or more scripts stored in a markup language document, in a single file dedicated to the program in question, or in multiple coordinated files, e.g., files that store one or more modules, sub programs, or portions of code. A computer program can be deployed to be executed on one computer or on multiple computers that are located at one site or distributed across multiple sites and interconnected by a data communication network.”
The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in the significantly more consideration. The inclusion of the computer or memory and controller to perform the selecting and generating steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computing device cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claim 10 as drafted is not patent eligible. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Independent claim 10 is therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 11-13 are dependent claims and do not contain subject matter that can be overcome the rejection of independent claim 10. Claim 10 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions to implement the method of claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 14-21 are system claims similar in scope and content of method claims 2-9 and are rejected under similar rationale.
All dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because any additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea for the same reasons already recited for the independent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,039,082. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2-21 of the instant application are similar in scope and content of the patented claims 1-20 of the patent issued to the same Applicant.
It is clear that all the elements of the application claims 2-21 are to be found in patented claims 1-20 (as the application claims 2-21 fully encompasses patented claims 1-20). The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-20 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 2-21. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 2-21 is anticipated by claims 1-20 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from of the patented claims.
Application No: 18/744,592
Patent No: 12,039,982
2. A computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment; mapping, using a neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence defining a plurality of output symbols, wherein each of the plurality of output symbols is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols; and determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment, the audio segment sequence comprising a plurality of audio frames; mapping, using a joint automatic speech recognition-speaker diarization (ASR-SD) neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence comprising a respective output symbol for each of a plurality of time steps, wherein, for each of the time steps, the output symbol for the time step in the output sequence is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols; and determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the output sequence comprises a respective output symbol at each of a plurality of time steps, and wherein the neural network comprises a transcription neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network comprises a transcription neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the neural network comprises a joint neural network and a softmax output layer, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: processing the encoded representation for the time step and the prediction representation for the time step to generate a respective logit for each of the output symbols in the set of output symbols; and processing the logits for the output symbols using the softmax output layer to generate a probability distribution over the output symbols in the set of output symbols.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network comprises a joint neural network and a softmax output layer, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: processing the encoded representation for the time step and the prediction representation for the time step to generate a respective logit for each of the output symbols in the set of output symbols; and processing the logits for the output symbols using the softmax output layer to generate a probability distribution over the output symbols in the set of output symbols.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: selecting an output symbol from the set of output symbols using the probability distribution.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: selecting an output symbol from the set of output symbols using the probability distribution.
7. The method of claim 2, wherein the text symbols comprise symbols representing one or more of phonemes, morphemes, or characters.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the text symbols represent phonemes, morphemes, or characters.
8. The method of claim 2, wherein determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word comprises: identifying words represented by the text symbols defined by the output sequence; and for each identified word: identifying a speaker label symbol that immediately follows the text symbols representing the word in the output sequence; and identifying the word as having been spoken by a speaker represented by the identified speaker label.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word comprises: identifying words represented by the text symbols in the output sequence; and for each identified word: identifying a speaker label symbol that immediately follows the text symbols representing the word in the output sequence; and identifying the word as having been spoken by a speaker represented by the identified speaker label.
9. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of possible speakers is a set of possible speaking roles in a conversation, and wherein each speaker label symbol identifies a different speaking role from the plurality of possible speaking roles.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the set of possible speakers is a set of possible speaking roles in a conversation, and wherein each speaker label symbol identifies a different speaking role from the plurality of possible speaking roles.
10. One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment; mapping, using a neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence defining a plurality of output symbols, wherein each of the plurality of output symbols is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols; and determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.
9. One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment, the audio segment sequence comprising a plurality of audio frames; mapping, using a joint automatic speech recognition-speaker diarization (ASR-SD) neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence comprising a respective output symbol for each of a plurality of time steps, wherein, for each of the time steps, the output symbol for the time step in the output sequence is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols; and determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.
11. The computer-readable storage media of claim 10, wherein the output sequence comprises a respective output symbol at each of a plurality of time steps, wherein the neural network comprises a transcription neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps.
10. The computer-readable storage media of claim 9, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network comprises a transcription neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps.
12. The computer-readable storage media of claim 11, wherein the neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence.
11. The computer-readable storage media of claim 10, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence.
13. The computer-readable storage media of claim 12, wherein the neural network comprises a joint neural network and a softmax output layer, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: processing the encoded representation for the time step and the prediction representation for the time step to generate a respective logit for each of the output symbols in the set of output symbols; and processing the logits for the output symbols using the softmax output layer to generate a probability distribution over the output symbols in the set of output symbols.
12. The computer-readable storage media of claim 11, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network comprises a joint neural network and a softmax output layer, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: processing the encoded representation for the time step and the prediction representation for the time step to generate a respective logit for each of the output symbols in the set of output symbols; and processing the logits for the output symbols using the softmax output layer to generate a probability distribution over the output symbols in the set of output symbols.
14. A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment; mapping, using a neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence defining a plurality of output symbols, wherein each of the plurality of output symbols is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols; and determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.
13. A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment, the audio segment sequence comprising a plurality of audio frames; mapping, using a joint automatic speech recognition-speaker diarization (ASR-SD) neural network, the audio segment sequence to an output sequence comprising a respective output symbol for each of a plurality of time steps, wherein, for each of the time steps, the output symbol for the time step in the output sequence is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols, each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols; and determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the output sequence comprises a respective output symbol at each of a plurality of time steps, wherein the neural network comprises a transcription neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network comprises a transcription neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps.
16. The system of claim 15, wherein the neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the joint ASR-SD neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: selecting an output symbol from the set of output symbols using the probability distribution.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: selecting an output symbol from the set of output symbols using the probability distribution.
19. The system of claim 14, wherein the text symbols comprise symbols representing one or more of phonemes, morphemes, or characters.
18. The system of claim 13, wherein the text symbols represent phonemes, morphemes, or characters.
20. The system of claim 14, wherein determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word comprises: identifying words represented by the text symbols defined by the output sequence; and for each identified word: identifying a speaker label symbol that immediately follows the text symbols representing the word in the output sequence; and identifying the word as having been spoken by a speaker represented by the identified speaker label.
19. The system of claim 13, wherein determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word comprises: identifying words represented by the text symbols in the output sequence; and for each identified word: identifying a speaker label symbol that immediately follows the text been spoken by a speaker represented by the identified speaker label.
21. The system of claim 14, wherein the set of possible speakers is a set of possible speaking roles in a conversation, and wherein each speaker label symbol identifies a different speaking role from the plurality of possible speaking roles.
20. The system of claim 13, wherein the set of possible speakers is a set of possible speaking roles in a conversation, and wherein each speaker label symbol identifies a different speaking symbols representing the word in the output sequence; and identifying the word as having role from the plurality of possible speaking roles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thompson et al., (US 2020/0175961 A1)
As per claims 2, 10 and 14, Thompson et al., teach a computer-implemented method/system/non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions to implement the method comprising:
obtaining an audio segment sequence characterizing an audio segment (0237, 0367, Table 1);
mapping, using a neural network (0261, 0268), the audio segment sequence to an output sequence defining a plurality of output symbols, wherein each of the plurality of output symbols is selected from a set of output symbols that includes (i) a plurality of text symbols, (ii) a plurality of speaker label symbols (0256, 0269, 0284-0285), each speaker label symbol identifying a different speaker from a set of possible speakers, and (iii) a blank symbol, wherein the respective output symbols in the output sequence comprise a plurality of text symbols and at least one speaker label symbol selected from the plurality of speaker label symbols (1118, 1187, 1265); and
determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word (0256, 0269, 0284-0285).
As per claims 3, 11 and 15, Thompson et al., teach the method/system/non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions to implement the methods of claims 2, 10 and 14, wherein the output sequence comprises a respective output symbol at each of a plurality of time steps, and wherein the neural network comprises a transcription neural network (0256, 0261, 0269, 0284-0285, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises: processing the audio segment sequence using the transcription neural network, wherein the transcription neural network is configured to process the audio segment data to generate a respective encoded representation of each of the plurality of time steps (1118, 1187, 1265).
As per claims 4, 12 and 16, Thompson et al., teach the method/system/non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions to implement the methods of claims 3, 11 and 15, wherein the neural network further comprises a prediction neural network, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: identifying a current output symbol for the time step, and processing the current output symbol for the time step using the prediction neural network, wherein the prediction neural network is configured to process the current output symbol to generate a prediction representation for the time step conditioned on any non-blank output symbols that have already been included at any earlier time steps in the output sequence (0367, 0766, 1481).
As per claims 5, 13 and 17, Thompson et al., teach the method/system/non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions to implement the methods of claims 4, 12 and 16, wherein the neural network comprises a joint neural network and a softmax output layer, and wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step (0994-0995): processing the encoded representation for the time step and the prediction representation for the time step to generate a respective logit for each of the output symbols in the set of output symbols (0994-0995); and processing the logits for the output symbols using the softmax output layer to generate a probability distribution over the output symbols in the set of output symbols (0253, 0585).
As per claims 6 and 18, Thompson et al., teach the method/system of claims 5 and 17, wherein mapping the audio segment sequence comprises, for each time step: selecting an output symbol from the set of output symbols using the probability distribution (0227, 0248, 0255).
As per claims 7 and 19, Thompson et al., teach the method/system of claims 2 and 14, wherein the text symbols comprise symbols representing one or more of phonemes, morphemes, or characters (0255-0256).
As per claims 8 and 20, Thompson et al., teach the method/system of claims 5 and 17, wherein determining, from the output sequence, a transcription of the audio segment data that identifies (i) words spoken in the audio segment and (ii) for each of the spoken words, the speaker from the set of possible speakers that spoke the word comprises: identifying words represented by the text symbols defined by the output sequence; and for each identified word: identifying a speaker label symbol that immediately follows the text symbols representing the word in the output sequence; and identifying the word as having been spoken by a speaker represented by the identified speaker label (1118, 1187, 1265).
As per claim 9 and 21, Thompson et al., teach the method of claim 2, wherein the set of possible speakers is a set of possible speaking roles in a conversation, and wherein each speaker label symbol identifies a different speaking role from the plurality of possible speaking roles (0171-0172, 0250).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
Graff et al., (US 12,249,334 B2) teach a text mining engine running on an artificial platform is trained to perform conversation role identification, semantic analysis, summarization, language detection, etc. The text mining engine analyzes words in a transcript that represent unique characteristics of a conversation and, based on the unique characteristics and utilizing classification predictive modeling, determines a conversation role for each participant of the conversation and metadata describing the conversation such as tonality of words spoken by a participant in a particular conversation role. Outputs from the text mining engine are indexed and useful for various purposes. For instance, because the system can identify which speaker in a customer service call is likely an agent and which speaker is likely a customer, words spoken by the agent can be analyzed for compliance reasons, training agents, providing quality assurance for improving customer service, providing feedback to improve the performance of the text mining engine, etc.
Sak et al., (US 10,706,840 B2) teach methods, systems, and apparatus for performing speech recognition. In some implementations, acoustic data representing an utterance is obtained. The acoustic data corresponds to time steps in a series of time steps. One or more computers process scores indicative of the acoustic data using a recurrent neural network to generate a sequence of outputs. The sequence of outputs indicates a likely output label from among a predetermined set of output labels. The predetermined set of output labels includes output labels that respectively correspond to different linguistic units and to a placeholder label that does not represent a classification of acoustic data. The recurrent neural network is configured to use an output label indicated for a previous time step to determine an output label for the current time step. The generated sequence of outputs is processed to generate a transcription of the utterance, and the transcription of the utterance is provided.
/VIJAY B CHAWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658