DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 7/20/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, The term “a retroreflector” (line 4) should be “the retroreflector“.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Togino (US20050030618) in view of Suganuma (US20020101629) and Case (US4386414).
Regarding claim 1, Togino teaches a method for producing a hologram (see Togino, figs.1-18, producing holograms) for a retroreflector (see annotated image, Togino, fig. 9, retroreflector), the method comprising:
applying a photosensitive recording material (see fig. 9, photosensitive recording material 30; paragraph [0058] “a given hologram is photo-recorded in the hologram photosensitive material 30”) to a retroreflector including a plurality of facets (see Togino, fig. 9, having plurality of facets), each facet of the plurality of facets configured to reflect light (see fig. 2, fig. 9, fig. 12(a), fig. 13(a), each facet of the plurality of facets configured to reflect light 21; paragraph [0051] “the reflecting facets 2 and 3 is total reflection”; paragraph [0060] “FIG. 12(a) or 13(a) shows that the conical reflecting facets 2 and 3 act as total-reflection facets”);
generating a laser beam (paragraph [0058] “coherent with the light source S1”); and
successively lighting the plurality of facets of the retroreflector by passing the laser beam through the photosensitive recording material, such that the laser beam is reflected by each facet of the plurality of facets and then passes back through though the photosensitive recording material (see Togino, paragraph [0058] “that the hologram photosensitive material can be exposed successively or concurrently to these light components for interference”, and see paragraphs [0058]-[0065],Togino teaches producing the hologram by interference in photosensitive material. In particular, Togino states that a given hologram is photo-recorded in hologram photosensitive material by interference of light from two light sources ;thus, it is capable of successively lighting the plurality of facets of the retroreflector by passing the laser beam through the photosensitive recording material, such that the laser beam is reflected by each facet of the plurality of facets and then passes back through though the photosensitive recording material);
Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser beam passing through the photosensitive recording material toward the facet is a reference beam, and the laser beam reflected by the facet back through the photosensitive recording material forms an object beam.
However, Suganuma teaches the analogous hologram recording medium (Suganuma, abstract, a hologram recording medium comprises a hologram recording layer for recording a hologram), and further teaches
wherein the laser beam (See Suganuma, Figs. 17–23 and 27–33; paragraph [0050] “a laser beam incident upon a corner cube used in the present invention is reflected”) passing through the photosensitive recording material toward the facet is a reference beam, and the laser beam reflected by the facet back through the photosensitive recording material forms an object beam (see Suganuma’s claim 2, “A hologram recording medium according to claim 1, comprising a substrate having a first primary surface parallel to a plane in which said hologram recording medium is rotated, and a second primary surface inclined relative to the first primary surface, at least one of the reference light and the object light being irradiated through the second primary surface, said hologram recording medium having light transparency allowing at least a part of the irradiated reference light and object light to pass therethrough; and a recording layer disposed parallel to the plane in which said hologram recording medium is rotated, and enabling an information signal to be recorded and/or reconstructed in the form of optical phase information, said recording layer being made of an organic photosensitive material.”; Suganuma teaches a hologram recording medium used in combination with a corner-cube group comprising an array of corner cubes. See Suganuma, Figs. 17–23 and 27–31. Each corner cube includes a plurality of reflection surfaces for reflecting incident light. Suganuma expressly identifies the incident light as reference light in its hologram-recording system. The reference light passes through the hologram recording medium toward the corner-cube reflecting group. Thus, Suganuma teaches that the light traveling toward the reflecting structure through the recording medium can constitute the reference beam; therefore, Suganuma teaches the laser beam passing through the photosensitive recording material toward the facet is a reference beam, and the laser beam reflected by the facet back through the photosensitive recording material forms an object beam).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Togino to have the specific function as taught by Suganuma for the purpose to control the deflection angle of each of a reference light and an object light incident upon a hologram recording medium with higher accuracy, to improve the degree of multiplexity in recording of holograms, and to increase the recording capacity of the hologram recording medium (Suganuma, paragraph [0024]).
But Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein such that a segment of the hologram is generated in a part of the photosensitive recording material in front of each facet of the plurality of facets by superimposing the laser beam moving toward the facet with the reflected laser beam.
However, Case teaches the analogous method for producing a hologram (Case, figs. 1-2, col. 4, lines 50-54, the advantage of using the interferometric recording process to construct the redistribution hologram 12 is that the hologram can be recorded in a volume phase film such as dichromated gelatin), and further teaches wherein such that a segment of the hologram is generated in a part of the photosensitive recording material in front of each facet of the plurality of facets by superimposing the laser beam moving toward the facet with the reflected laser beam (see col. 4, lines 1-58: “it will be of assistance to point out that each sub-facet 14a-14h etc., is exposed to a coherent object beam and a coherent reference beam, these beams successively impinging upon the photographic film at each surface each of a particular sub-facet. The various sub-facets and facets collectively constitute the holographic optical element 12 used in the practicing of my invention. Several techniques are possible to record the variable area sub-facets.”; therefore, Case teaches the known technique of successively exposing respective facet/sub-facet regions of a photographic recording material to coherent reference and object beams to form corresponding holographic structures and wherein such that a segment of the hologram is generated in a part of the photosensitive recording material in front of each facet of the plurality of facets by superimposing the laser beam moving toward the facet with the reflected laser beam).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Togino in view of Suganuma to have the specific function as taught by Case for the purpose to provide a data processing system utilizing a relatively low cost holographical optical element for the light redistribution (Case, col. 2, lines 1-10).
(note: further, See MPEP § 2143.01(A), which recognizes combining prior-art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as a rationale supporting a conclusion of obviousness; an express teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references is not required where the rationale for the combination is implicit in the prior art or based on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.)
Regarding claim 2, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Togino further teaches wherein each facet of the plurality of facets of the retroreflector is configured to reflect the light striking the facets from a first direction back, in a second, opposite direction (see Togino, fig.13a, having the facets 2, 3 of the retroreflector reflect the light striking them from a first direction back, in a second, opposite direction).
Regarding claim 3, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Togino further teaches wherein the retroreflector is transparent for visible light (paragraph [0059] “transparent plate that makes the back side of the screen visible”).
Regarding claim 4, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Togino further teaches wherein the retroreflector has an unstructured upper surface, wherein the photosensitive recording material is applied to the unstructured upper surface (see Togino, fig.12 (a),the transparent substrate 11 has an unstructured upper surface on the top side, and see fig.10 (a), the photosensitive recording material 31’ is applied to this smooth upper surface).
Regarding claim 7, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Togino further teaches wherein the laser beam converges when passing through the recording material toward the respective facet (see Togino, fig.10 (a), the laser beam 21 converges to P’ when passing through the recording material 30 toward the respective face).
Regarding claim 8, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Togino further teaches wherein the laser beam is colored, or the laser beam is composed of laser beams of different colors that are combined to obtain an appearance of white light (see Togino, paragraph [0058] “To make the hologram diffusing plate 30 usable even with white light, it is preferable to use monochromatic light components of three colors R, G and B as the light from both light sources S1 and S2, so that the hologram photosensitive material can be exposed successively or concurrently to these light components for interference.”; thus, to know the laser beam is colored, or the laser beam is composed of laser beams of different colors that are combined to obtain an appearance of white light).
Regarding claim 11, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Xu further teaches wherein the hologram is configured for use with a light source that generates white light (see Togino, paragraph [0058] “To make the hologram diffusing plate 30 usable even with white light, it is preferable to use monochromatic light components of three colors R, G and B as the light from both light sources S1 and S2, so that the hologram photosensitive material can be exposed successively or concurrently to these light components for interference”; thus, to know the laser beam is colored, or the laser beam is composed of laser beams of different colors that are combined to obtain an appearance of white light).
Regarding claim 18, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 7 and combination Togino-Xu further teaches wherein substantially the entire facet is lit by the laser beam (see described in claim 1, thus, substantially the entire facet is lit by the laser beam). The motivation to combine combination Togino-Suganuma-Case as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Togino (US2005/0030618 A1) in view of Suganuma (US20020101629) and Case (US4386414), and further in view of Xu (US20180164598).
Regarding claim 9, the combination Togino-Xu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein the photosensitive recording material is removed from the retroreflector after the hologram has been projected onto it.
However, Xu teaches the analogous holographic imaging method (in paragraph [0004] “A conventional holographic imaging method is to produce holographic images using the principle of laser interference”), and further teaches
wherein the photosensitive recording material is removed from the retroreflector after the hologram has been projected onto it (see Xu, paragraph [0004] “A conventional holographic imaging method is to produce holographic images using the principle of laser interference. Light emitted by a laser source is divided into two beams, one of which irradiates directly towards a photosensitive film and the other of which is reflected by an object to be shot before irradiating towards the photosensitive film. The two beams of light are superimposed on the photosensitive film to produce interference. Finally, the reproduced hologram is further processed according to the basic principle of digital images to remove digital interference, thereby obtaining a clear holographic image. This method has the disadvantages of strict monochromatic requirement and great difficulty in realization of color imaging”; thus, know the photosensitive recording material is removed from the retroreflector after the hologram has been projected onto it).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Togino to have the method as taught by Xu for the purpose of the reproduced hologram is further processed according to the basic principle of digital images to remove digital interference, thereby obtaining a clear holographic image (Xu, paragraph [0004]).
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togino (US 20050030618) in view of Suganuma (US2002/0101629) and Case (US4386414), and further in view of Kodama (US20030030858).
Regarding claim 5, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the retroreflector.
However, Kodama teaches the analogous hologram recording film (Xu abstract, A hologram recording film has a hologram image of an object recorded in a volume hologram photosensitive material), and further teaches wherein the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the retroreflector (Kodama, paragraph [0023] “A transparent spacer 3 with a predetermined thickness is laminated on the reflection hologram original plate 1 provided with the reflecting surface 2, and a volume hologram photosensitive material 4, e.g. a photopolymer, is laminated on the transparent spacer 3”; thus, Kodama teaches the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the retroreflector).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Togino to have the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the retroreflector as taught by Kodama for the purpose of having a hologram image of an additional information pattern, e.g. a character or an image, recorded superimposedly in the same volume hologram photosensitive material simultaneously with the holographic duplication so that the additional information pattern is reconstructable in a plane with a depth from the hologram plane, and also provide a recording method for the hologram recording film.. . (Kodama, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 6, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein the photosensitive recording material is a film.
However, Kodama teaches the analogous hologram recording film (Kodama, abstract, a hologram recording film has a hologram image of an object recorded in a volume hologram photosensitive material), and further teaches wherein the photosensitive recording material is a film (Kodama, paragraph [0023] “A transparent spacer 3 with a predetermined thickness is laminated on the reflection hologram original plate 1 provided with the reflecting surface 2, and a volume hologram photosensitive material 4, e.g. a photopolymer, is laminated on the transparent spacer 3”; thus, Kodama teaches the photosensitive recording material 4 is a film).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Togino to have the photosensitive recording material is a film as taught by Kodama for the purpose of having a hologram image of an additional information pattern, e.g. a character or an image, recorded superimposedly in the same volume hologram photosensitive material simultaneously with the holographic duplication so that the additional information pattern is reconstructable in a plane with a depth from the hologram plane, and also provide a recording method for the hologram recording film (Kodama, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 4, Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the unstructured upper surface of the retroreflector.
However, Kodama teaches the analogous hologram recording film (Xu abstract, A hologram recording film has a hologram image of an object recorded in a volume hologram photosensitive material), and further teaches the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the unstructured upper surface of the retroreflector (Kodama, paragraph [0023] “A transparent spacer 3 with a predetermined thickness is laminated on the reflection hologram original plate 1 provided with the reflecting surface 2, and a volume hologram photosensitive material 4, e.g. a photopolymer, is laminated on the transparent spacer 3”; thus, Kodama teaches the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the unstructured upper surface of the retroreflector).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Togino to have the photosensitive recording material is laminated to the retroreflector as taught by Kodama for the purpose of having a hologram image of an additional information pattern, e.g. a character or an image, recorded superimposedly in the same volume hologram photosensitive material simultaneously with the holographic duplication so that the additional information pattern is reconstructable in a plane with a depth from the hologram plane, and also provide a recording method for the hologram recording film.. . (Kodama, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case-Kodama discloses the invention as described in Claim 6 and Kodama further teaches wherein the photosensitive recording material is a photopolymer film (Kodama, paragraph [0023] “A transparent spacer 3 with a predetermined thickness is laminated on the reflection hologram original plate 1 provided with the reflecting surface 2, and a volume hologram photosensitive material 4, e.g. a photopolymer, is laminated on the transparent spacer 3”; thus, Kodama teaches the photosensitive recording material is a photopolymer film). The motivation to combine Togino and Kodama as provided in claim 6 is incorporated herein.
Claims 10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Togino (US20050030618) in view of Suganuma (US20020101629) and Case (US4386414), and further in view of Giehl (US20220026850).
Regarding claim 10, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Togino does not explicitly disclose wherein the hologram is used as a master hologram for producing replica holograms.
However, Giehl teaches the analogous method for hologram (Giehl, paragraph [0003] “A method, a device, a hologram, and a lighting device of the type mentioned”), and further teaches
wherein the hologram is used as a master hologram for producing replica holograms (paragraph [0003] “The hologram or a hologram replica produced using the hologram as a master hologram can be integrated into a headlight of a motor vehicle”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Togino to have the master hologram as taught by Giehl for the purpose to be integrated into a headlight of a motor vehicle (Giehl, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, and Togino further teaches wherein a method for producing a retroreflector for a vehicle (see paragraph [0067] “FIG. 15 is illustrative of one embodiment of this surgical 3D viewing system, wherein a support body 105 having a caster 105 a is connected with a universal arm 110, which is in turn connected with a support arm 104”; thus, it’s capable of a method for producing a retroreflector for a vehicle; also, Giehl teaches the analogous method, a device, a hologram (Giehl, paragraph [0003] “A method, a device, a hologram, and a lighting device of the type mentioned”), and further teaches wherein a method for producing a retroreflector for a vehicle (paragraph [0011] “The produced computer-generated hologram can be a transmission hologram or a reflection hologram”; paragraph [0003] ““The hologram or a hologram replica produced using the hologram as a master hologram can be integrated into a headlight of a motor vehicle”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Togino to use in vehicle as taught by Giehl for the purpose to be integrated into a headlight of a motor vehicle (Giehl, paragraph [0003]), the method comprising: producing a hologram according to the method of claim 1 (see claim 1); and applying the hologram to a substrate (Togino, paragraph [0037] “wherein a transparent substrate 11 is used for the reflexive optical screen 10”).
Regarding claim 13, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case-Giehl discloses the invention as described in Claim 12 and Togino further teaches wherein the substrate is transparent for at least part of the visible light spectrum, wherein the substrate is a component of a lighting device (paragraph [0058] “To make the hologram diffusing plate 30 usable even with white light, it is preferable to use monochromatic light components of three colors R, G and B as the light from both light sources S1 and S2, so that the hologram photosensitive material can be exposed successively or concurrently to these light components for interference”; thus, Togino teaches wherein the substrate is transparent for at least part of the visible light spectrum, wherein the substrate is a component of a lighting device).
Regarding claim 14, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case-Giehl discloses the invention as described in Claim 12 and Togino further teaches wherein the substrate is opaque, wherein the substrate is a coated component (paragraph [0049] “When reflective films such as metallic reflective layers are coated on the reflecting facets 2 and 3”; thus, the substrate is opaque, wherein the substrate is a coated component).
Regarding claim 15, combination Togino-Suganuma-Case-Giehl discloses the invention as described in Claim 12 and Togino further teaches wherein a retroreflector produced according to the method of claim 12 (described in claim 12).
Response to argument/amendment
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872