DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/744,636 filed on 06/16/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R 1.63.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-21, 25-29, 32-48 and 50-52 of Patent Application No. 17013677 and 18349148. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are based to translate the outbound system-bus transactions into outbound network packets to be transferred over the network, for injecting the outbound system-bus transactions to the second system bus and vice versa.
For claim 1, Patent Application disclose a cross-network bridging apparatus, comprising a bus interface for connecting to a system bus; and bridging circuitry, configured to translate between (i) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between one or more local devices that are coupled to the system bus and served by the system bus and one or more remote processors located across a network from the apparatus, and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote processors(See Claim 1).
For claim 2, Patent Application disclose one or more of the local devices comprises a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) (See Claim 2).
For claim 3, Patent Application disclose one or more of the local devices comprises a storage device, and wherein one or more of the network packets comprises an NVMe-over-fabrics (NVMe-F) command(See Claim 3).
For claim 4, Patent Application disclose the data units are formatted as the network packets, and wherein the bridging circuitry is configured to transmit and receive the network packets to and from a network adapter (See Claim 4).
For claim 5, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to maintain a plurality of Queue Pairs (QPs), each QP assigned to a respective connection between a respective local system bus device and a respective remote processor, and to transmit and receive the network packets by scheduling the plurality of the QPs(See Claim 5).
For claim 6, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to maintain a plurality of work-queue elements that are queued in the QPs, wherein each work-queue element is configured to define one or more of the system-bus transactions (See Claim 6).
For claim 7, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to produce a data unit by coalescing two or more of the system-bus transactions in a single work-queue element (See Claim 7).
For claim 8, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to write outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and to read from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets (See Claim 8).
For claim 9, Patent Application disclose in translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions, the bridging circuitry is configured to modify one or more attributes of one or more of the system- bus transactions (See Claim 9).
For claim 10, Patent Application disclose the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express 20 (PCIe) bus (See Claim 10).
For claim 11, Patent Application disclose the system- bus transactions comprise PCIe Transaction Layer Packets (TLPs) (See Claim 11).
For claim 12, Patent Application disclose the system 25 bus comprises a compute express link (CXL) bus or an Nvlink bus (See Claim 12).
For claim 13, Patent Application disclose the data units comprise layer-3 network packets (See Claim 13).
For claim 14, Patent Application disclose the system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units comprise Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) packets (See Claim 14).
For claim 15, Patent Application disclose system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units are to be transmitted as SEND message packets (See Claim 15).
For claim 16, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to identify that one or more of the system-bus transactions comprise Message- Signaled-Interrupts (MSI-X), and in response to the identifying, to translate the system-bus transactions comprising the MSI-X into one or more RDMA Extended Reliable Connection (XRC) messages (See Claim 16).
For claim 17, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to translate a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction matches a predefined criterion (See Claim 17).
For claim 18, Patent Application disclose the bridging circuitry is configured to translate a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction is not exchanged with a local system-bus address (See Claim 18).
For claim 19, Patent Application disclose at least one of the local devices comprises a physical device served by the system bus (See Claim 19).
For claim 20, Patent Application disclose one or more of the local devices comprise virtualized devices assigned in the physical device (See Claim 20).
For claim 21, Patent Application disclose translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions, the bridging circuitry is configured to translate between network addresses appearing in the data units and corresponding device addresses appearing in the system-bus transactions (See Claim 21).
For claim 22, Patent Application disclose a cross-network bridging apparatus, comprising: a bus interface for connecting to a system bus; and bridging circuitry, configured to: translate between (i) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between a local processor that is 10 coupled to the system bus and served by the system bus and one or more remote devices located across a network from the apparatus, and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote devices(See Claim 22).
For claim 23, Patent Application disclose wherein the data units are formatted as the network packets, and wherein the bridging circuitry is configured to transmit and receive the network packets to and from a network adapter (See Claim 23).
For claim 24, Patent Application disclose wherein the bridging circuitry is configured to write outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and to read from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets (See Claim 24).
For claim 25, Patent Application disclose a remote system bus analysis apparatus, comprising: a first computer comprising a system bus; a Cross-Network Bridge (CNB), configured to translate system-bus transactions that are exchanged over the system bus into network packets, and to transmit the network 30 packets over a network; and a second computer, configured to receive the network packets from the CNB over the network, to extract the system-bus transactions, exchanged over the system bus of the first computer, from the received network packets, and 5 to analyze the system-bus transactions(See Claim 25).
For claim 26, Patent Application disclose the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus (See Claim 26).
For claim 27, Patent Application disclose a cross-network bridging method, comprising operating one or more local devices that are coupled to a system bus and served by the system bus; and using bridging circuitry, translating between (i) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between the one or more local devices and one or more remote processors 15 located across a network, and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote processors(See Claim 27).
For claim 28, Patent Application disclose one or more of the local devices comprises a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) (See Claim 28).
For claim 29, Patent Application disclose one or more of the local devices comprises a storage device, and wherein one or more of the network packets comprises an NVMe-over- 25 fabrics (NVMe-F) command (See Claim 29).
For claim 30, Patent Application disclose the data units are formatted as the network packets, and comprising transmitting and receiving the network packets to and from a network adapter (See Claim 30).
For claim 31, Patent Application disclose comprising maintaining a plurality of Queue Pairs (QPs), each QP assigned to a respective connection between a respective local system bus device and a respective remote processor, and transmitting and receiving the network packets by scheduling the plurality of the QPs (See Claim 31).
For claim 32, Patent Application disclose maintaining the QPs comprises maintaining a plurality of work-queue elements that are queued in the QPs, wherein each work-queue element is configured to define one or more of the system-bus transactions (See Claim 32).
For claim 33, Patent Application disclose translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises producing a data unit by coalescing two or more of the system-bus transactions in a single work-queue element (See Claim 33).
For claim 34, Patent Application disclose comprising writing outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and reading from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets (See Claim 34).
For claim 35, Patent Application disclose translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions comprises modifying one or more attributes of one or more of the system-bus transactions (See Claim 35).
For claim 36, Patent Application disclose the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus (See Claim 36).
For claim 37, Patent Application disclose the system- bus transactions comprise PCIe Transaction Layer Packets (TLPs) (See Claim 37).
For claim 38, Patent Application disclose the system bus comprises a compute express link (CXL) bus or an Nvlink bus(See Claim 38).
For claim 39, Patent Application disclose the data units comprise layer-3 network packets (See Claim 39).
For claim 40, Patent Application disclose the system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units comprise Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) packets (See Claim 40).
For claim 41, Patent Application disclose system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the 15 data units are to be transmitted as SEND message packets (See Claim 41).
For claim 42, Patent Application disclose translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises identifying that one or more of the system-bus transactions comprise Message-Signaled-Interrupts (MSI-X), 20 and in response to the identifying, translating the system- bus transactions comprising the MSI-X into one or more RDMA Extended Reliable Connection (XRC) messages (See Claim 42).
For claim 43, Patent Application disclose translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises translating a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction matches a predefined criterion (See Claim 43).
For claim 44, Patent Application disclose translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units 30 comprises translating a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction is not exchanged with a local system-bus address (See Claim 44).
For claim 45, Patent Application disclose at least one of the local devices comprises a physical device served by the system bus (See Claim 45).
For claim 46, Patent Application disclose one or more of the local devices comprise virtualized devices assigned in the physical device (See Claim 46).
For claim 47, Patent Application disclose translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions comprises translating between network addresses appearing in the data units and corresponding device addresses appearing in the system-bus transactions (See Claim 47).
For claim 48, Patent Application disclose a cross-network bridging method, comprising: operating a local processor that is coupled to a system bus and served by the system bus; and using bridging circuitry translating between (i) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between the 20 local processor and one or more remote devices located across a network, and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote devices(See Claim 48).
For claim 49, Patent Application disclose the data units are formatted as the network packets, and comprising transmitting and receiving the network packets to and from a network adapter (See Claim 49).
For claim 50, Patent Application disclose and comprising writing outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and reading from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets (See Claim 50).
For claim 51, Patent Application disclose a remote system bus analysis method, comprising using a Cross-Network Bridge (CNB), translating system-bus transactions that are exchanged over a system bus of a first computer into network packets, and transmitting the network packets over a network; and in a second computer, receiving the network packets 10 from the CNB over the network, extracting the system-bus transactions, exchanged over the system bus of the first computer, from the received network packets, and analyzing the system-bus transactions(See Claim 51).
For claim 52, Patent Application disclose the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus (See Claim 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-30, and 33-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkelmann et al. (US 20200356485, Nov. 12, 2020) in view of Botev et al. (US 20190171650, Jun. 6, 2019).
.
Regarding Claim 1, Winkelmann discloses bridging circuitry(page 3, par (0038), line 1-5, the execution unit include a logic circuitry to execute instructions specified in the ISA of the processor core), configured to translate between (i) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between one or more local devices that are coupled to the system bus and served by the system bus and one or more remote processors located across a network from the apparatus(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores, wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core), and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote processors(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a cross-network bridging apparatus, comprising a bus interface for connecting to a system bus.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches a cross-network bridging apparatus, comprising a bus interface for connecting to a system bus (page 6, par (0126), line 1-5, consumer application that has to implement certain interfaces to integrate with the bus).
Winkelmann and Botev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Winkelmann to include the teaching of Botev l because it is providing isolated power and networking which provide a high-level of isolation from the other AZ in the same region.
Regarding Claim 2, Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except one or more of the local devices comprises a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU).
Botev is the same field of invention teaches one or more of the local devices comprises a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) (page 13, par (0210), line 1-10, Geographic chaining allow consumer application to access the relay in the cloud of same region and improve latency).
Regarding Claim 3, Winkelmann discloses one or more of the local devices comprises a storage device, and wherein one or more of the network packets comprises an NVMe-over-fabrics (NVMe-F) command (page 5, par (0059), line 1-10, communications interface include a Software and data transferred via communications interface are in the form of signals which optical signals capable of being received by communications interface).
Regarding Claim 4, Winkelmann discloses the data units are formatted as the network packets, and wherein the bridging circuitry is configured to transmit and receive the network packets to and from a network adapter (page 8, par (0087), line 1-10, a network adapter card computing device receives instructions from the network and forwards the instructions for storage in a computer within the respective computing device).
Regarding Claim 7, Winkelmann discloses the bridging circuitry is configured to produce a data unit by coalescing two or more of the system-bus transactions in a Single work-queue element (page 2, par (0017), line 1-10, a communications path between two elements imply a direct connection between the elements).
Regarding Claim 8, Winkelmann discloses the bridging circuitry is configured to write outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and to read from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets(page 4, par (0041), line 1-10, Execution unit include logic circuitry to execute instructions to process data items retrieved by data fetch unit, write unit output and store the results in registers can be constructed from one or more instructions defined in the processor core include a read instruction executed by the processor core).
Regarding Claim 9, Winkelmann discloses in translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions, the bridging circuitry is configured to modify one or more attributes one or more of the system-bus transactions(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores).
Regarding Claim 10, Winkelmann discloses the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 11, Winkelmann discloses the system-bus transactions comprise PCIe Transaction Layer Packets (TLPs) (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 12, Winkelmann discloses the system bus comprises a compute express link (CXL) bus or an Nvlink bus (page 4, par (0045), line 1-10, By monitoring the bus system, the cache controller may receive the request of the second processor core. The request sent by the second core may be triggered by the execution of the TELT instruction by the second core).
Regarding Claim 13, Winkelmann discloses the data units comprise layer-3 network packets (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 14, Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the system bus transactions comprise PCTe transactions, and wherein the data units comprise Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) packets.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches the system bus transactions comprise PCTe transactions, and wherein the data units comprise Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) packets (page 17, par (0297), line 1-5, particularly useful for alleviating latencies associated with writing to remote data stores).
Regarding Claim 15, Winkelmann discloses system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units are to be transmitted as SEND message packets (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 16, Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the bridging circuitry is configured to identify that one of more of the system-bus transactions comprise Message- Signaled-Interrupts (MST-X), and in response to the identifying, to translate the system-bus transactions cornprising the MSI-X into one or more RDMA Extended Reliable Connection (XRC) messages.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches the bridging circuitry is configured to identify that one of more of the system-bus transactions comprise Message- Signaled-Interrupts (MST-X), and in response to the identifying, to translate the system-bus transactions cornprising the MSI-X into one or more RDMA Extended Reliable Connection (KRC) messages (page 7, par (0140), line 1-5, Some protocols allow specifying to get the changed data to translate on for accounts table).
Regarding Claim 17, Winkelmann discloses the bridging circuitry is configured to translate a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction matches a predefined criterion(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Regarding Claim 18, Winkelmann discloses the bridging circuitry is configured to translate a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction is not exchanged with a local system-bus address (page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Regarding Claim 19, Winkelmann discloses at least one of the local devices comprises a physical device served by the system bus (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 20, Winkelmann discloses one or more of the local devices comprise virtualized devices assigned in the physical device (page 8, par (0087), line 1-10, a network adapter card computing device receives instructions from the network and forwards the instructions for storage in a computer within the respective computing device).
Regarding Claim 21, Winkelmann discloses in translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions, the bridging circuitry is configured to translate between network addresses appearing in the data units and corresponding device addresses appearing in the system-bus transactions(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Regarding Claim 22, Winkelmann discloses a cross-network bridging apparatus, comprising: a bus interface for connecting to a system bus(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores);
configured to translate between (1) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between a local processor that is coupled to the system bus and served by the system bus and one or more remote devices located across a network from the apparatus(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores, wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core), and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote devices(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except bridging circuitry.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches bridging circuitry (page 6, par (0126), line 1-5, consumer application that has to implement certain interfaces to integrate with the bus).
Winkelmann and Botev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Winkelmann to include the teaching of Botev l because it is providing isolated power and networking which provide a high-level of isolation from the other AZ in the same region.
Regarding Claim 23, Winkelmann discloses data units are formatted as the network packets, and wherein the bridging circuitry is configured to transmit and receive the network packets to and from a network adapter(page 7, par (0082), line 1-10, a network adapter card in each processing device receives computer readable program instructions from the network and forwards the computer readable program instructions for storage in a computer readable storage medium within the respective processing device).
Regarding Claim 24, Winkelmann discloses the bridging circuitry is configured to write outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and to read from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets(page 7, par (0082), line 1-10, a network adapter card in each computing device receives computer readable program instructions from the network and forwards the computer readable program instructions for storage in a computer readable storage medium within the respective computing device).
Regarding Claim 25, Winkelmann discloses remote system bus analysis apparatus, comprising a first computer comprising a system bus(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores);
configured to translate system-bus transactions that are exchanged over the system bus into network packets, and to transmit the network packets over a network(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores, wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core);
and a second computer, configured to receive the network packets from the CNB over the network, to extract the system-bus transactions, exchanged over the system bus of the first computer, from the received network packets, and to analyze the system-bus transactions(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a Cross-Network Bridge (CNB).
Botev is the same field of invention teaches a Cross-Network Bridge (CNB) (page 6, par (0126), line 1-5, consumer application that has to implement certain interfaces to integrate with the bus),
Winkelmann and Botev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Winkelmann to include the teaching of Botev l because it is providing isolated power and networking which provide a high-level of isolation from the other AZ in the same region.
Regarding Claim 26, Winkelmann discloses the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 27, Winkelmann discloses a cross-network bridging method, comprising operating one or more local devices that are coupled to a system bus and served by the system bus(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores); translating between (1) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between the one or more local devices and one or more remote processors located across a network(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores, wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core), and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote processors(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except using bridging circuitry.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches using bridging circuitry (page 6, par (0126), line 1-5, consumer application that has to implement certain interfaces to integrate with the bus).
Winkelmann and Botev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Winkelmann to include the teaching of Botev l because it is providing isolated power and networking which provide a high-level of isolation from the other AZ in the same region.
Regarding Claim 28, Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein one or more of the local devices comprises a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU).
Botev is the same field of invention teaches wherein one or more of the local devices comprises a Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) (page 13, par (0210), line 1-10, Geographic chaining allow consumer application to access the relay in the cloud of same region and improve latency).
Regarding Claim 29, Winkelmann discloses one or more of the local devices comprises a storage device, and wherein one or more of the network packets comprises an NVMe-over-fabrics (NVMe-F) command (page 5, par (0059), line 1-10, communications interface include a Software and data transferred via communications interface are in the form of signals which optical signals capable of being received by communications interface).
Regarding Claim 30, Winkelmann discloses the data units are formatted as the network packets, and comprising transmitting and receiving the network packets to and from a network adapter (page 8, par (0087), line 1-10, a network adapter card computing device receives instructions from the network and forwards the instructions for storage in a computer within the respective computing device).
Regarding Claim 33, Winkelmann discloses translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises producing a data unit by coalescing two or more of the system-bus transactions in a single work-queue element (page 2, par (0017), line 1-10, a communications path between two elements imply a direct connection between the elements).
Regarding Claim 34, Winkelmann discloses comprising writing outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and reading from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets(page 4, par (0041), line 1-10, Execution unit include logic circuitry to execute instructions to process data items retrieved by data fetch unit, write unit output and store the results in registers can be constructed from one or more instructions defined in the processor core include a read instruction executed by the processor core).
Regarding Claim 35, Winkelmann discloses translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions comprises modifying one or more attributes of one or more of the system-bus transactions(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores).
Regarding Claim 36, Winkelmann discloses the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus(page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 37, Winkelmann discloses the system- bus transactions comprise PCIe Transaction Layer Packets (TLPs) (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 38, Winkelmann discloses the system 5 bus comprises a compute express link (CXL) bus or an Nvlink bus (page 4, par (0045), line 1-10, By monitoring the bus system, the cache controller may receive the request of the second processor core. The request sent by the second core may be triggered by the execution of the TELT instruction by the second core).
Regarding Claim 39, Winkelmann discloses the data units comprise layer-3 network packets (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 40, Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units comprise Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) packets.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches the system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units comprise Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA) packets (page 17, par (0297), line 1-5, particularly useful for alleviating latencies associated with writing to remote data stores).
Regarding Claim 41, Winkelmann discloses system-bus transactions comprise PCIe transactions, and wherein the data units are to be transmitted as SEND message packets (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 42, Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises identifying that one or more of the system-bus transactions comprise Message-Signaled-Interrupts (MSI-X), and in response to the identifying, translating the system- bus transactions comprising the MSI-X into one or more RDMA Extended Reliable Connection (XRC) messages.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises identifying that one or more of the system-bus transactions comprise Message-Signaled-Interrupts (MSI-X), and in response to the identifying, translating the system- bus transactions comprising the MSI-X into one or more RDMA Extended Reliable Connection (XRC) messages (page 7, par (0140), line 1-5, Some protocols allow specifying to get the changed data to translate on for accounts table).
Regarding Claim 43, Winkelmann discloses translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units comprises translating a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction matches a predefined criterion(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Regarding Claim 44, Winkelmann discloses translating between the system-bus transactions and the data units 30 comprises translating a given system-bus transaction only in response to identifying that the given system-bus transaction is not exchanged with a local system-bus address(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Regarding Claim 45, Winkelmann discloses at least one of the local devices comprises a physical device served by the system bus (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Regarding Claim 46, Winkelmann discloses one or more of the local devices comprise virtualized devices assigned in the physical device (page 8, par (0087), line 1-10, a network adapter card computing device receives instructions from the network and forwards the instructions for storage in a computer within the respective computing device).
Regarding Claim 47, Winkelmann discloses translating between the data units and the system-bus transactions comprises translating between network addresses appearing in the data units and corresponding device addresses appearing in the system-bus transactions(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Regarding Claim 48, Winkelmann discloses a cross-network bridging method, comprising operating a local processor that is coupled to a system bus and served by the system bus(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores); translating between (1) system-bus transactions that are exchanged between the local processor and one or more remote devices located across a network(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores, wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core), and (ii) data units that convey the system-bus transactions, for transmitting and receiving as network packets over the network to and from the remote devices(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except using bridging circuitry.
Botev is the same field of invention teaches using bridging circuitry (page 6, par (0126), line 1-5, consumer application that has to implement certain interfaces to integrate with the bus).
Winkelmann and Botev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Winkelmann to include the teaching of Botev l because it is providing isolated power and networking which provide a high-level of isolation from the other AZ in the same region.
Regarding Claim 49, Winkelmann discloses the data units are formatted as the network packets, and comprising transmitting and receiving the network packets to and from a network adapter (page 7, par (0082), line 1-10, a network adapter card in each processing device receives computer readable program instructions from the network and forwards the computer readable program instructions for storage in a computer readable storage medium within the respective processing device).
Regarding Claim 50, Winkelmann discloses and comprising writing outbound data units to a memory for transmission as network packets over the network, and reading from the memory inbound data units that were received over the network as network packets(page 7, par (0082), line 1-10, a network adapter card in each computing device receives computer readable program instructions from the network and forwards the computer readable program instructions for storage in a computer readable storage medium within the respective computing device).
Regarding Claim 51, Winkelmann discloses remote system bus analysis method(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores), translating system-bus transactions that are exchanged over a system bus of a first computer into network packets, and transmitting the network packets over a network; and in a second computer, receiving the network packets from the CNB over the network(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores, wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core), extracting the system-bus transactions, exchanged over the system bus of the first computer, from the received network packets, and analyzing the system-bus transactions(page 6, par (0070-0073), line 1-20, the receiving of the request monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the message comprises generating a system-bus transaction indicative of the message(network packets) the execution of the accessing data shared between the first and second cores,(network packets between the remote cores) wherein the received request is a request for enabling access to the shared data by the second core).
Winkelmann discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except using a Cross-Network Bridge (CNB).
Botev is the same field of invention teaches using a Cross-Network Bridge (CNB) (page 6, par (0126), line 1-5, consumer application that has to implement certain interfaces to integrate with the bus).
Winkelmann and Botev are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the teaching of Winkelmann to include the teaching of Botev l because it is providing isolated power and networking which provide a high-level of isolation from the other AZ in the same region.
Regarding Claim 52, Winkelmann discloses the system bus comprises a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus (page 6, par (0070), line 1-20, the receiving of the request comprises monitoring a bus system connecting the cache controller and the processor cores, wherein the returning of the rejection message comprises generating a system bus transaction indicative of the rejection message).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) both claims 7 and 8 or 5 is incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 22 would be allowable if (i) both claims 23 and 24 is incorporated into the independent claim 22.
Claim 25 would be allowable if (i) both claims 23 and 24 or 5 is incorporated into the independent claim 25.
Claim 27 would be allowable if (i) claim 31 is incorporated into the independent claim 27.
Claim 48 would be allowable if (i) both claim 21 and 22, or both 7 and 8, or 5 or 31 is incorporated into the independent claim 48.
Claim 51 would be allowable if (i) both claim 21 and 22 or both 7 and 8, or 5 or 31 is incorporated into the independent claim 51.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
Umbargeret al. (US 20200364313, Nov. 19, 2020) teaches Generating and adding additional control information to logic under test to facilitate debugging and comprehension of a simulation.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464