Detailed Action
Overview
This is a first action on the merits (FAOM) to this instant application in which claims 1-18 and 21-22 are pending. Claims 1, 11 and 14 are independent and claims 2-10, 12-13 and 15-18 and 21-22 are dependent.
Applicant has canceled claims 19 and 20 and has added claims 21 and 22 by a preliminary amendment.
Instant claims suffers from clarity issues, see drawing objections, claim objections and claim rejections under 35 USC §112(b) below. There are also prior art references that easily meet each of the independent claims 1, 11 and 14. Therefore, the application is being rejected in this FAOM.
Drawing
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a).
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims:
a) Therefore, “the shimming device includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity”1 of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
b) Therefore, the “annular mounting gap”2 of claim 2, between the magnet and the gradient coil, and the shimming structure is disposed within the annular gap, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
c) Therefore, “the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity”3 of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
d) Therefore, the “gap”4, of claim 15, between shimming device and the gradient coil 300, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objection
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is unclear if the claimed mounting gap is different from the cavity of claim 1 in which the shimming device is disposed. Applicant’s drawing do not provide sufficient support for claim 2. Further, in the base claim 1, the shimming device is said to be disposed in the “mounting cavity”, while in claim 2 which depends from claim 1, the same shimming device is said to be disposed in a different and unrelated space called “annular mounting gap”. Perhaps, the Applicant may should consider amending claims to indicate that “annular mounting gap” and the “mounting cavity” are related such that one being a part of another. This conflict must be addressed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “first limit slot” of claim 9 conflicts with “mounting cavity” of claim 1 and “annular mounting gap” of claim 2 as each of these claim elements are described to hold shimming device/shimming unit/shimming structure. Applicant should resolve this conflict. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is unclear if the “gap” between the shimming device and the gradient coil is a different item than the “mounting cavity” set forth in the base claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is unclear if the “gap” of claim 21 is same as the cavity of the base claim 14. Scope of claim 21 appears to be same as that of claim 14. It appears that claim 21 fails to further limit scope of claim 14 as required by 35 USC §112(d). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejection under 35 USC §112
Claims 1-10, 14-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. §112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to independent claim 1, it is unclear what the Applicant regards his/her invention. Applicant’s claim language is unclear because the claim language is not properly supported by the drawings, see drawing objections elsewhere in this Office action. None of the drawings appears to show a mounting cavity into which a shimming device is disposed. This begs the question, if Applicant’s true invention is captured by the use of the present claim language.
As to dependent claims 2-10, these claims are defective as each of these claims depends from the defective base claim 1.
As to independent claim 14, like claim 1, this claim also fails to be supported by the drawings. None of the drawings appears to show a “mounting cavity” into which a “shimming device” is disposed. This begs the question, if Applicant’s true invention is captured by the use of the present claim language.
As to dependent claims 15-18 and 21-22, these claims are defective as each of these claims depends from the defective base claim 14.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 1-3, 9-14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Srivastava (US-5,635,839).
Item matchings between Claim feature and Srivastava are shown in the table below.
Claim No.
Claim feature
Prior art
Srivastava (US-5,635,839)
1
A shimming device for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, and the shimming device includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity.
Srivastava discloses a shimming device (445) for a magnetic resonance imaging system (“magnetic resonance imaging apparatus”), the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet (106) for generating a main magnetic field, wherein the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity (407), and the shimming device (44) includes a shimming structure (508, 62) disposed within the mounting cavity (40).
Srivastava meets all feature of the independent claim 1.
2
The shimming device of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to mount a gradient coil, an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and the shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
Srivastava discloses meets claims 2.
Cavity 40 in Srivastav forms an annular mounting gap between magnet (10) and gradient coil (32), see Fig. 3.
3
The shimming device of claim 2, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along a circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
Srivastav meets claim 3.
Shimming units (44) in Srivastava extends in an axial direction, see Fig. 1-4.
Plurality of shimming units (44) are distributed in a circumferential direction, see Fig. 3.
9
The shimming device of claim 3, wherein the magnet is connected with a plurality of limit strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner wall of the magnet, at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units are disposed within the first limit slot.
Srivastava meets claim 9 as it discloses multiple limit strips (42) which divides the annular gap into multiple individual slots (40) in the annular cavity (40).
10
The shimming device of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of limit strips has a T-shaped cross-section and the plurality of limit strips are connected to the inner wall of the magnet.
Srivastava can be understood to meet claim 10 because the limit strips (42) must be attached to the inner wall of the magnet (10) and/or outer wall of the gradient coil assembly (32) and a T-shaped section would allow fastening it to one of the magnet and gradient coil.
11
A magnetic field assembly for a magnetic resonance imaging system, wherein
Srivastava discloses a magnetic field assembly (items 10, 14, 16, 18, 30, 42, 40, etc. taken together can be equated to the claimed magnetic field assembly) for an MRI system.
the magnetic field assembly includes
a magnet and a limit structure for mounting a plurality of shimming units,
the magnetic field assembly includes a magnet (10) and a limit structure (42, 40) for mounting a plurality of shimming units (44),
the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity,
the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity (409),
the limit structure includes a plurality of limit strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the mounting cavity,
the limit structure (42, 40) includes a plurality of limit strips (42) distributed along a circumferential direction of the mounting cavity (40),
the plurality of limit strips are connected to an inner wall of the magnet,
the plurality of limit strips (42) are connected to an inner wall of the magnet (10),
at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and
at least a portion of adjacent limit strips (42) and the inner wall of the magnet (10) enclose and form a first limit slot (40) extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity (40),
the first limit slot is configured to mount at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units.
the first limit slot is configured to mount at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units (44).
12
The magnetic field assembly of claim 11, wherein the limit structure further includes at least two support strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner wall of the magnet on both sides of a symmetry axis of the inner wall of the magnet, the symmetry axis is along a direction of gravity, and the at least two support strips are connected to the inner wall.
Srivastava meets claim 12 as it discloses a support strips (42) distributed in the circumferential direction.
In Srivastava the support strips (42) are attached to inner wall of the magnet (10).
13
The magnetic field assembly of claim 12, wherein the support strip is provided adjacent to at least one of the, plurality of, limit strips, the support strip, an adjacent limit strip, and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a second limit slot extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, and at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units are disposed within the second limit slot.
Srivastava meets claim 13, see Figs. 1-4.
Applicant should explain in response to this Office action why Srivastava cannot meet claim 14.
14
A magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet and a shimming device wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, and the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity.
Srivastava discloses a magnetic resonance imaging system (“magnetic resonance imaging apparatus”) including a magnet (10) and a shimming device (44) wherein the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity (40), and the shimming device (44) is disposed within the mounting cavity (40).
21
The magnetic field assembly of claim 15, wherein an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and a shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
Srivastava meets claim 21 because it discloses a gap between gradient coil (32) and the magnet (10) and a shimming structure (50, 62) is disposed in the gap (40).
22
The magnetic field assembly of claim 21, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along the circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
Srivastava meets claim 21, see Fig. 1-4 in Srivastava.
In Srivastava, the shimming units (44) are distributed in a circumferential direction within the various slots in the annular cavity 40.
The shimming units (44) extend in the axial direction of the mounting cavity 40.
Claims 1-8, 14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao (CN-215678731-U).
A machine translation of Gao is being provided, as an attachment, herewith.
Item matchings between Claim feature and Gao are shown in the table below.
Claim No.
Claim feature
Prior art
Gao (CN-215678731-U)
1
A shimming device for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, and the shimming device includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity.
Gao discloses a shimming device (3) for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system (“magnetic resonance imaging system”) including a magnet (1) for generating a main magnetic field, wherein the magnet (1) is provided with a mounting cavity (4), and the shimming device (3) includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity (4).
2
The shimming device of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to mount a gradient coil, an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and the shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
Gao discloses the shimming device (3) of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to mount a gradient coil (5), an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap (4) with an inner wall of the magnet, and the shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
3
The shimming device of claim 2, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along a circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
Gao meets claim 3.
Shimming units (3) in Gao extends in an axial direction, see Fig. 1-7 in Gao.
Plurality of shimming units (3) are distributed in a circumferential direction, see Fig. 5 in Gao.
4
The shimming device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of shimming units are provided with a plurality of placement slots distributed along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, openings of the plurality of placement slots being oriented towards a side away from the magnet, and the placement slots being configured to mount shimming sheets.
Gao meets claim 4.
See Fig. 7 in Gao which shows placement slots distributed along the axial direction of the main field bar 3110.
Shimming sheets (“shimming sheet”11).
5
The shimming device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of the placement slots are distributed in a middle portion of a lengthwise direction of the plurality of shimming units.
Gao meets claim 5 as it discloses the placements slots are distributed along the axial direction including the lengthwise middle section, see Fig. 7 in Gao.
6
The shimming device of claim 3, wherein each shimming unit of the plurality of shimming units includes a main shimming strip extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity;
at least a portion of the plurality of the shimming units include an auxiliary shimming strip extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity; and
the auxiliary shimming strip is assembled on a side of the main shimming strip along a circumference of the mounting cavity.
Gao meets claim 6.
Main shimming strip (31), see Figs. 5-7, in Gao.
Auxiliary shimming strips (32), see Figs 5-7, in Gao.
The shimming units (3) extends in an axial direction of the magnet (1).
An auxiliary shimming strip (32) is assembled on side to the main shimming strip (31), see Fig. 6.
7
The shimming device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of shimming units include two auxiliary shimming strips assembled on both sides of the main shimming strip along the circumferential direction of the mounting cavity; and/or the plurality of shimming units include an auxiliary shimming strip assembled on one side of the main shimming strip along the circumferential direction of the mounting cavity.
Gao meets claim 7, see Fig. 6 which shows auxiliary shimming strips (32) are assembled on both sides the main shimming strip (31) in a circumferential direction as claimed.
8
The shimming device of claim 6, wherein the shimming structure further includes a fixing ring, one end of the main shimming strip is detachably mounted on the fixing ring, and the other end of the main shimming strip is connected to the auxiliary shimming strip.
Gao meets claim 8 as it discloses a fixing ring (6), see Fig. 6.
14
A magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet and a shimming device wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, and the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity.
Gao meets claim 14.
Magnet (1)
Shimming device (3).
Cavity (4).
See Fig. 3 and 5 which discloses the shimming device (3) is disposed in cavity (4)
21
The magnetic field assembly of claim 15, wherein an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and a shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
Gao meets claim 21.
Shimming device (3) in Gao is disposed in the annular gap between gradient coil (5) and magnet )1)
22
The magnetic field assembly of claim 21, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along the circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
Gao meets claim 22.
The shimming units (3) extend in the axial direction of the mounting cavity (4).
A plurality of shimming units (3) are arranged along the circumferential direction, see Fig. 5 in Gao.
Claims 1-5, 9-18, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeMeester (US-5,349,297).
Item matchings between Claim feature and DeMeester are shown in the table below.
Claim No.
Claim feature
Prior art
DeMeester (US-5,349,297)
1
A shimming device for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, and the shimming device includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity.
DeMeester discloses a shimming device (60) for a magnetic resonance imaging system (“magnetic resonance imaging device”), the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet (10) for generating a main magnetic field, wherein the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity (), and the shimming device (60) includes a shimming structure (60) disposed within the mounting cavity (58), see Figs. 1-3 in DeMeester.
DeMeester meets all feature of the independent claim 1.
2
The shimming device of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to mount a gradient coil, an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and the shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
DeMeester discloses meets claims 2.
Cavity (58) in DeMeester forms an annular mounting gap between magnet (10) and gradient coil (42), see Fig. 2 and 3.
3
The shimming device of claim 2, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along a circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
DeMeester meets claim 3.
Shimming units (60) in DeMeester extends in an axial direction, see Fig. 1-3.
Plurality of shimming units (60) are distributed in a circumferential direction, see Fig. 3.
4
The shimming device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of shimming units are provided with a plurality of placement slots distributed along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, openings of the plurality of placement slots being oriented towards a side away from the magnet, and the placement slots being configured to mount shimming sheets.
DeMeester meets claim 4.
Placement slots (64) distributed along the axial direction on a dielectric former (62) of the shimset 60, see Fig. 2
Shimming sheets (66).
The shimming sheets (66) are disposed away from the magnet (10), see Figs. 2 and 3.
5
The shimming device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of the placement slots are distributed in a middle portion of a lengthwise direction of the plurality of shimming units.
DeMeester can be understood to meet claim 5 as the middle portion in a lengthwise direction of the shimming unit (60) is to have at least some of the pockets 64.
9
The shimming device of claim 3, wherein the magnet is connected with a plurality of limit strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner wall of the magnet, at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units are disposed within the first limit slot.
DeMeester meets claim 9.
Plurality of limit strips (56) provided between the inner wall (26) of the magnet (10) and the outer wall of the gradient coil (42), see Fig. 3.
The limit strips (56) extends in an axial direction.
Claimed limit slots are formed between two nearest limit strip (56) and the shimset 60 is placed in the limit slot, see Fig. 3.
10
The shimming device of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of limit strips has a T-shaped cross-section and the plurality of limit strips are connected to the inner wall of the magnet.
DeMeester meets claim 10.
DeMeester states the limit strips (56) can be so-called I-beams, which has at least one end that forms a T-shaped structure.
11
A magnetic field assembly for a magnetic resonance imaging system, wherein
DeMeester meets claim 11.
DeMeester discloses a magnetic field assembly (10, 16, 18, 20, etc.) for an MRI system as claimed.
the magnetic field assembly includes
a magnet and a limit structure for mounting a plurality of shimming units,
the magnetic field assembly includes a magnet (10) and a limit structure (56) for mounting a plurality of shimming units,
the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity,
the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity (5812),
the limit structure includes a plurality of limit strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the mounting cavity,
the limit structure (56) includes a plurality of limit strips (56) distributed along a circumferential direction of the mounting cavity (58)
the plurality of limit strips are connected to an inner wall of the magnet,
the plurality of limit strips (56) are connected to an inner wall (26) of the magnet (10),
at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and
at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot (58) extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity (58), and
the first limit slot is configured to mount at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units.
the first limit slot (58) is configured to mount at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units.
12
The magnetic field assembly of claim 11, wherein the limit structure further includes at least two support strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner wall of the magnet on both sides of a symmetry axis of the inner wall of the magnet, the symmetry axis is along a direction of gravity, and the at least two support strips are connected to the inner wall.
DeMeester meets claim 12.
The multiple limit structures (5613) are arranged in the circumferential direction, see Fig. 3 in DeMeester.
13
The magnetic field assembly of claim 12, wherein the support strip is provided adjacent to at least one of the, plurality of, limit strips, the support strip, an adjacent limit strip, and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a second limit slot extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, and at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units are disposed within the second limit slot.
DeMeester meets claim 13.
In Fig. 3, the items 56 are shown to be arranged symmetrically on both sides of the item 56 at the top position.
Individual mounting slots 58 extends in the axial direction.
14
A magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet and a shimming device wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, and the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity.
DeMeester meets claim 14.
Shimset 60 are placed in the mounting cavity (58).
15
The magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 14, wherein the magnetic resonance imaging system further includes a gradient coil, the shimming device is disposed between the magnet and the gradient coil, and there is a gap between the shimming device and the gradient coil.
DeMeester meets claim 15.
Shimming device (60) is disposed in a gap between gradient coil (42) and the magnet (10), see Fig. 3
Fig. 3 further discloses gap formed between the gradient coil (42) and the shimming device (60).
16
The magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 15, wherein the magnet is further connected to at least two support strips, the at least two support strips are distributed along a circumferential direction of an inner wall of the magnet, and the at least two support strips abuts against the gradient coil.
DeMeester meets claim 16.
Multiple individual support strips (56) are arranged along the circumferential direction of the inner wall (26) of the magnet (10), see Fig. 3.
17
The magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 16, wherein the at least two support strips are distributed on both sides of a symmetry axis of the inner wall of the magnet along a direction of gravity.
See treatment of claim 13 features of which are like that of claim 17.
DeMeester has been shown to meet claim 13.
18
The magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 16, wherein a support strip of the at least two support strips is provided adjacent to at least one of a plurality of limit strips, the support strip, an adjacent limit strip, and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a second limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and at least a portion of a plurality of shimming units are disposed within the second limit slot.
DeMeester meets claim 18.
Multiple limits slots (58) are formed by the inner wall (26) of the magnet, an outer wall of the gradient (42) and the multiple limit strips (56).
The shimming units (60) are disposed in the limit slots (58).
21
The magnetic field assembly of claim 15, wherein an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and a shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
DeMeester meets claim 21.
See treatment claim 15 as shown being anticipated by DeMeester.
22
The magnetic field assembly of claim 21, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along the circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
DeMeester meets claim 22.
See treatment claim 16 as shown being anticipated by DeMeester.
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1 Examiner comment: None of the instant drawings show the claimed feature. Instant Fig. 2 shows a mounting cavity 201 in the central axial region within magnet 200 and Fig. 1 shows another embodiment in which the central region is shown to be occupied by a gradient coil 300. However, none of these drawings shows the shimming device to be disposed in the cavity (201).
2 Examiner comment: Fig. 1 shows an annular gap 400 between gradient coil 300 and the magnet 200; however, no shimming structure is shown to be disposed therein.
3 Examiner comment: None of the instant drawings show the claimed feature. Instant Fig. 2 shows a mounting cavity 201 in the central axial region within magnet 200 and Fig. 1 shows another embodiment in which the central region is shown to be occupied by a gradient coil 300. However, none of these drawings shows the shimming device to be disposed in the cavity (201).
4 Examiner comment: In instant Fig. 1, the Applicant has shown an annular gap 400 between gradient coil 300 and magnet 200. However, Fig.1 does not include a shimming device. Therefore, Fig. 1 cannot be used as a support for the feature, “gap” of claim 15.
5Examiner comment: Item 44, in Srivastava, represents a shim tray, see details in Fig. 4.
6Examiner comment: Item 10 in Srivastav represents a magnet of an MRI system. The magnet 10 is described to be superconducting magnet.
7 Content of col 3, lines 39-48 is copied here from Srivastava for convenience: “The primary and secondary gradient coil assemblies are mounted in a spaced relationship to define an annular shim receiving cavity 40 therebetween. Mechanical supports 42 extend through the shim receiving cavity 40 to support the primary gradient coil assembly. The supports have a minimum width in a circumferential direction to enable a plurality of shim trays 44 to be positioned substantially side by side. In the illustrated embodiment, 36 shim trays are mounted to an outer surface of the primary gradient coil assembly cylindrical former 34.”
8 Examiner comment: Item 50, in Srivastava, represents a dielectric member which forms the structure of the shim tray 44. The sim tray 44 comprises a multiple of pockets 58 into which ferrous shims 62 are placed.
9 Examiner comment regarding slots: The cavity 40 in Srivastava is divided into multiple separate limit slots by the mechanical support 42. A shim tray 44 is inserted into each of these slots.
10 Examiner comment: In Fig. 7, as many as 25 rectangular slots are shown in a ladder-like arrangement. Each of these slots can be equated to a claimed placement slot of instant claim 4.
11 Examiner comment: In the area of the text where Gao discusses Fig. 7, it discloses “shimming sheet” which can be placed in the slots of the “main shimming bar” 31.
12 Examiner comment: The item 58 in DeMeester represents claimed items mounting slot, mounting cavity, annular mounting gap etc.
13 Examiner Comment: The item 56 in DeMeester can be equated to the claimed limit strips, limit structures etc.