Detailed Action
Overview
This final Office action is in response to amendments filed by the Applicant on 09 May 2026. Claims 1-18 and 23-24 are pending. Applicant has canceled claims 19-22 and added new claims 23 and 24. Claims 1, 11 and 14 are independent and claims 2-10, 12-13, 15-18 and 23-24 are dependent.
Applicant’s amendments to claims, drawings and specification and drawing are carefully considered and found to be persuasive with regards to non-final Office action dated 09 February 2026. Therefore, all rejections and objection raised in that Office action is being withdrawn herewith.
However, claim amendments forced/necessitated new prior art search which resulted in locating a new prior art reference1 that, at least, clearly renders independent claim 1 unpatentable, for which application cannot be allowed at this stage of prosecution.
Applicant has added new drawing sheet for a new Fig. 1B. Content of new Fig. 1B reflects description provided in the original specification and therefore, it is not being treated as a new matter.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “shimming structure”, in line 4 of the claim, is not positively described2 in the claim; therefore, it remains open to interpretation. For applying prior art, any part of the shimming device should be used to meet the claimed shimming structure which is disposed in the mounting cavity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is further objected to because of the following informalities: The claim lacks a well-defined preamble, a transitional phrase and main body. Even though the claim-scope can be understood in its present form, its scope becomes clearer when the claim structure being divided into preamble, a transitional phrase and main body. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 11 and 14 are further objected to because of the following informalities: The claim lacks a well-defined preamble, a transitional phrase and main body. Even though the claim-scope can be understood in its present form, its scope becomes clearer when the claim structure being divided into preamble, a transitional phrase and main body. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the the” spanning over lines 1-2 of the claim should be replaced with - -the- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 14-15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurome (US-2007/0001675-A1).
Claim No.
Claim feature
Prior art
Kurome (US-2007/0001675-A1)
1
A shimming device for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field and a gradient coil, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, the shimming device includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity, and the shimming structure is not mounted on or within the gradient coil.
Kurome discloses a shimming device (22) for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet (2) for generating a main magnetic field and a gradient coil (9), wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity (103), the shimming device (22) includes a shimming structure disposed within3the mounting cavity (103), and the shimming structure (103) is not mounted on or within the gradient coil (9), see Fig. 2 and 4 in Kurome.
In Kurome, the gradient coil (9) and the shimming device (22) are independently and separately supported from the main magnet 24, see para [0012] and also see other places in Kurome.
14
A magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field, a gradient coil, and a shimming device, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity, and the shimming device is not mounted on or within the gradient coil.
Kurome discloses a magnetic resonance imaging system (see Fig. 1 and 2 in Kurome which a an MRI system) including a magnet (2) for generating a main magnetic field, a gradient coil (9), and a shimming device, wherein the magnet (2) is provided with a mounting cavity (103), the shimming device (22) is disposed within the mounting cavity (1030), and the shimming device (22) is not mounted on or within the gradient coil.
See treatment of claim 1 for further clarification how Kurome meets features of the instant claims.
15
The magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 14, wherein the shimming device is disposed between the magnet and the gradient coil, and there is a gap between the shimming device and the gradient coil.
Kurome discloses the magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 14, wherein the shimming device (22) is disposed between the magnet (2a, 2b) and the gradient coil (9), and there is a gap5 between the shimming device (22) and the gradient coil.
24
The shimming device of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to accommodate the gradient coil and the shimming structure; and the shimming device is disposed between the magnet and the gradient coil.
Kurome discloses the shimming device (22) of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity (103) is configured to accommodate the gradient coil (9) and the shimming structure (22); and the shimming device (22) is disposed between the magnet (2a, 2b) and the gradient coil (9).
Claims 1-5, 14-15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson (US-2017/0276748-A1).
Claim No.
Claim feature
Prior art
Thompson (US-2017/0276748-A1)
1
A shimming device for a magnetic resonance imaging system, the magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field and a gradient coil, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, the shimming device includes a shimming structure disposed within the mounting cavity, and the shimming structure is not mounted on or within the gradient coil.
Thompson discloses a shimming device (28, 30) for a magnetic resonance imaging system (100), the magnetic resonance imaging system (100) including a magnet (10) for generating a main magnetic field and a gradient coil (280), wherein the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity6, the shimming device (28, 30) includes a shimming structure7 disposed within the mounting cavity, and the shimming structure is not mounted on or within the gradient coil (280).
2
The shimming device of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to mount the_gradient coil, an outer wall of the gradient coil forms an annular mounting gap with an inner wall of the magnet, and the shimming structure is disposed within the annular mounting gap.
Thompson meets claim 2, see Fig. 2 in Thompson, annular mounting gap between gradient coil (280) and the shimming device (28, 30) is evident.
3
The shimming device of claim 2, wherein the shimming structure includes a plurality of shimming units extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, the plurality of shimming units being distributed along a circumferential direction of an inner wall of the mounting cavity.
Thompson meets claim 3, see Fig. 1.
Plurality of shimming units (30) are distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner wall of the mounting cavity.
Each of the shimming units (30) extends in an axial direction. In Fig. 1, the axial direction is indicated by the central axis 102.
4
The shimming device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of shimming units are provided with a plurality of placement slots distributed along the axial direction of the mounting cavity, openings of the plurality of placement slots being oriented towards a side away from the magnet, and the placement slots being configured to mount shimming sheets.
Thompson meets claim 4, see Fig. 1.
The placement slots are shown to be slots cut into the magnet 10 where the shim drawer 32 are inserted.
The placement slots, as shown in Fig. 1, are facing away from the magnet 10.
5
The shimming device of claim 4, wherein the plurality of the placement slots are distributed in a middle portion of a lengthwise direction of the plurality of shimming units.
Thompson meets claim 5, see Fig. 1.
The distributed placement slots cover whole length of the inner wall of the cavity including the length-wise middle portion.
14
A magnetic resonance imaging system including a magnet for generating a main magnetic field, a gradient coil, and a shimming device, wherein the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity, the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity, and the shimming device is not mounted on or within the gradient coil.
Thompson discloses a magnetic resonance imaging system (see Fig.2) including a magnet (10) for generating a main magnetic field, a gradient coil (280), and a shimming device (28, 30), wherein the magnet (10) is provided with a mounting cavity8, the shimming device is disposed within the mounting cavity, and the shimming device (28, 30) is not mounted on or within the gradient coil (280).
15
The magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 14, wherein the shimming device is disposed between the magnet and the gradient coil, and there is a gap between the shimming device and the gradient coil.
Thompson meets claim 1. As shown in Fig. 1, the shim structure is already installed in the magnet 10 and if the gradient coil unit is to be inserted within the shim structure there must be gap between the gradient coil unit and the shim structure or the gradient coil unit cannot be practically inserted in the shim structure all the way.
24
The shimming device of claim 1, wherein the mounting cavity is configured to accommodate the gradient coil and the shimming structure; and the shimming device is disposed between the magnet and the gradient coil.
Thompson meets claim 24.
The shimming device (28, 30) is disposed between the magnet (10) and the gradient coil 280.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are allowed.
Claims 6-10, 16-18 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to independent claim 11, the claim is being allowed because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests a magnetic field assembly for a magnetic resonance imaging system, wherein
the magnetic field assembly includes a magnet, a gradient coil, and a limit structure for mounting a plurality of shimming units,
the magnet is provided with a mounting cavity,
the limit structure includes a plurality of limit strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the mounting cavity,
the plurality of limit strips are connected to an inner wall of the magnet,
at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and
the first limit slot is configured to mount at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units, and the plurality of shimming units are not mounted on or within the gradient coil.
As to dependent claims 12 and 13, these claims are being allowed because each of these claims, either directly or indirectly, depends from the allowed independent claim 11.
As to claim 6, the claim would allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the shimming device of claim 3, wherein each shimming unit of the plurality of shimming units includes a main shimming strip extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity; at least a portion of the plurality of the shimming units include an auxiliary shimming strip extending along the axial direction of the mounting cavity; and the auxiliary shimming strip is assembled on a side of the main shimming strip along a circumference of the mounting cavity; wherein the auxiliary shimming strip is in a L-shaped as a whole, and/or the main shimming strip is T-shaped.
As to claims 7-8 and 23, each of these claims depends from claim 6, and these claims would allowable if claim 6 is written in independent form.
As to claim 9, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the shimming device of claim 3, wherein the magnet is connected with a plurality of limit strips distributed along a circumferential direction of the inner wall of the magnet, at least a portion of adjacent limit strips and the inner wall of the magnet enclose and form a first limit slot extending along an axial direction of the mounting cavity, and at least a portion of the plurality of shimming units are disposed within the first limit slot.
As claim 10, the claim depends from claim 9, therefore, this claim would be allowable if claim 9 is written in independent form.
As to claim 16, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the magnetic resonance imaging system of claim 15, wherein the magnet is further connected to at least two support strips, the at least two support strips are distributed along a circumferential direction of an inner wall of the magnet, and the at least two support strips abuts against the gradient coil.
As to claims 17 and 18, each of these claims depends from claim 16, and these claims would allowable if claim 16 is written in independent form.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims, drawings and specification and drawing are carefully considered and found to be persuasive with regards to rejections and objections included in the non-final Office action dated 09 February 2026. Therefore, all rejections and objection raised in that Office action is being withdrawn herewith.
However, claim amendments forced/necessitated new prior art search which resulted in locating a new prior art reference9 that clearly renders independent claim 1 unpatentable, for which application cannot be allowed at this stage of prosecution.
Office Action Made Final
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1 Kurome (US-2007/0001675-A1), Thompson (US-2017/0276748-A1).
2Examiner comment: To positively describe the “shimming structure” the applicant may consider to provide further functional or structural detail of the shimming structure so that its scope can be reasonably clearly understood in the context of the scope of the claim. Without a positive description, the claim feature remains open to interpretation of an imaginative mind or in other words claim scope remains indefinite under 35 USC §112(b).
3 Examiner comment: In Fig. 2, the shimming device (22) is shown to be not within the gradient coil (9), but on an outer side of the gradient coil (9).
4[0012] In this case, the above-mentioned shim tray and the gradient magnetic field generating unit can be configured so that each of them are independently supported by the static magnetic field generating unit.
5 Examiner comment: A gap is formed between the magnet (2a, 2b) and the shimming device (22) as the support member 29 is inserted therebetween.
6 Examiner comment: The claimed mounting cavity is equated to a large opening in magnet 10 in which shimming units (28,30), and gradient coils are located.
7 Examiner comment: The shimming structure is not positively described in the claim. Therefore, it remains open to interpretation as to what part of the shimming device is the claimed shimming structure. Since whole shimming device (28, 30) is disposed within the mounting cavity, in Thompson, the shimming structure being part of the shimming device is also disposed within the mounting cavity and so the claimed feature is met by Thompson. The drawings in Thompson further show the shimming device (28, 30) is not mounted on the gradient coil assembly 280, it is mounted on an inner wall of the magnet as shown in Fig. 1. The shim slots are cut into the magnet 10 for the drawers 32 to be pulled out of the shim slots or pushed into the shim slots. Further, the drawing shows the gradient coil assembly 280, in Thompson, is located within the shimming device and not the other way around. Therefore, claim 1 is fully met by Thompson.
8Examiner comment: See the Examiner comment on mounting cavity of claim 1, above, and see there how Thompson meets the claim feature.
9Kurome (US-2007/0001675-A1), Thompson (US-2017/0276748-A1).