DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 11 and 19, Applicant argues: “However, Sui does not disclose the two cases in amended claim 1: (1) the detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches to the second state; (2) the power receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power supply terminal. Particularly, case (2) is not disclosed. Moreover, Sui does not disclose or teach that when both case (1) and case (2) are satisfied, re-detecting whether the detection signal of the magnetic sensor remains in the second state. Therefore, Sui does not disclose, inter alia, "in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state" recited in amended claim 1”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sui teaches that the wireless earphone is in a turned-off state after being placed in the charging base which is considered to the second state. Sui also discloses that charging takes place after being placed in the chagrining base and also discloses a finishing of the charging characterized by a signal in which a switching chip disconnects a power supply line. The disconnection of the power supply line is considered to meet the limitation of case (2) as the power supply is disconnected once charging is finished. The determination of whether the detection signal remains in the second state can be determined when the charging is finished and an earphone is out of the base. The detecting element with the control unit 22 will have to make a determination of whether the earphone is in or out of the case since the signal to the detecting element would change when the earphone is taken out. It is noted that the claims do not disclose any limitations of the location of the earphones at the time of determination of the detection signal remaining in the second state. Therefore, any determination made by the control unit or switching chip at any time after the charging is finished would meet the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, 12, 14, 16, 18-20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2022/0286768 in view of Sui, US 2022/0182748
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for detecting a state of a wireless earphone and a state of a charging case (Abstract), wherein the charging case is provided with a magnet and the wireless earphone is provided with a magnetic sensor (Fig. 8-9; magnetic unit 119, earphone 120 having hall sensing unit 129), the method comprising: detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state (Fig. 12; step 520, first identification period when the hall sensing unit senses the magnetic field); and detecting whether a power-receiving terminal of the wireless earphone is electrically connected to a power-supply terminal of the charging case (Fig. 12, step 520, charging box transmits power to earphone; Fig.5, charging box 110 uses switch module 116 to transmit power which is detected by core module 122).
Chen is silent in further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state. Sui teaches in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state (¶[0060]-[0061]; Fig. 3; switching chip 21 connection to power supply line when detecting an earphone location being in or out of charging box via detection element 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, generating an in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is in the charging case (Fig. 12; power to earphone based on detection in charging box).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Sui discloses all the limitation of claim 3. Sui further teaches further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is not in the charging case (¶[0053], [0057]; turn-on signal generated when earphone is removed from the charging base). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 6, Chen is silent in wherein the detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state includes: detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state. Sui teaches detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state (¶[0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the earphone is in the charger.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor (Fig. 9; hall 129).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a system for detecting a state of a wireless earphone and a state of a charging case (Abstract), wherein the charging case is provided with a magnet and the wireless earphone is provided with a magnetic sensor (Fig. 8-9; magnetic unit 119, earphone 120 having hall sensing unit 129), the system comprising: at least one storage medium storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to communicate with the at least one storage medium, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the at least one processor is directed to cause the system to perform operations including: detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state (Fig. 12; step 520, first identification period when the hall sensing unit senses the magnetic field); and detecting whether a power-receiving terminal of the wireless earphone is electrically connected to a power-supply terminal of the charging case (Fig. 12, step 520, charging box transmits power to earphone; Fig.5, charging box 110 uses switch module 116 to transmit power which is detected by core module 122).
Chen is silent in further comprising wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state. Sui teaches in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state (¶[0060]-[0061]; Fig. 3; switching chip 21 connection to power supply line when detecting an earphone location being in or out of charging box via detection element 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, generating an in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is in the charging case (Fig. 12; power to earphone based on detection in charging box).
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Sui discloses all the limitation of claim 13. Sui further teaches further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case (¶[0053], [0057]; turn-on signal generated when earphone is removed from the charging base). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 16, Chen is silent in wherein the detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state includes: detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state. Sui teaches wherein the detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state includes: detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state (¶[0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the earphone is in the charger.
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses wherein the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor (hall 129).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising at least one set of instructions, wherein when executed by at least one processor of a computer device, the at least one set of instructions directs the at least one processor to perform operations including: detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state (Fig. 12; step 520, first identification period when the hall sensing unit senses the magnetic field); and detecting whether a power-receiving terminal of the wireless earphone is electrically connected to a power-supply terminal of the charging case (Fig. 12, step 520, charging box transmits power to earphone; Fig.5, charging box 110 uses switch module 116 to transmit power which is detected by core module 122).
Chen is silent in further comprising wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state. Sui teaches in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state (¶[0060]-[0061]; Fig. 3; switching chip 21 connection to power supply line when detecting an earphone location being in or out of charging box via detection element 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, generating an in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is in the charging case (Fig. 12; power to earphone based on detection in charging box).
Regarding claim 22, Chen is silent in further comprising wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case; or in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal. Sui further teaches further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case or in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal (¶[0053], [0057]; turn-on signal generated when earphone is removed from the charging base). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2022/0286768 in view of Sui, US 2022/0182748 in view of Tao, WO 2021068712
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified is silent in further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal, wherein the first fault indication signal indicates that a metal contact between the wireless earphone and the charging case is poor. Tao teaches a detection signal remaining in a second state (fig. 6; module 2 detecting an inserted or unplugged earpiece based on current being 0 or less than 1mA) and generating a first fault indication signal, wherein the first fault indication signal indicates that a metal contact between the wireless earphone and the charging case is poor (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact is short circuited or has abnormal contact). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tao into Chen as modified for the benefit of detecting poor metal contacts of the earphones.
Regarding claim 15, Chen as modified is silent in wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal, wherein the first fault indication signal indicates that a metal contact between the wireless earphone and the charging case is poor. Tao teaches a detection signal remaining in a second state (Background; Hall sensor detecting an inserted or unplugged earpiece) and generating a first fault indication signal, wherein the first fault indication signal indicates that a metal contact between the wireless earphone and the charging case is poor (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact is short circuited). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tao into Chen as modified for the benefit of detecting poor metal contacts of the earphones.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 17, 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858