DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/22/24, 3/31/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the generation of the third and fourth fault signal recited in claims 7 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Steps s21-s42. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 11, 12, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., US 2022/0286768
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method for detecting a state of a wireless earphone and a state of a charging case (Abstract), wherein the charging case is provided with a magnet and the wireless earphone is provided with a magnetic sensor (Fig. 8-9; magnetic unit 119, earphone 120 having hall sensing unit 129), the method comprising: detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state (Fig. 12; step 520, first identification period when the hall sensing unit senses the magnetic field); and detecting whether a power-receiving terminal of the wireless earphone is electrically connected to a power-supply terminal of the charging case (Fig. 12, step 520, charging box transmits power to earphone; Fig.5, charging box 110 uses switch module 116 to transmit power which is detected by core module 122).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, generating an in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is in the charging case (Fig. 12; power to earphone based on detection in charging box).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor (Fig. 9; hall 129)
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a system for detecting a state of a wireless earphone and a state of a charging case (Abstract), wherein the charging case is provided with a magnet and the wireless earphone is provided with a magnetic sensor (Fig. 8-9; magnetic unit 119, earphone 120 having hall sensing unit 129), the system comprising: at least one storage medium storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to communicate with the at least one storage medium, wherein when executing the set of instructions, the at least one processor is directed to cause the system to perform operations including: detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state (Fig. 12; step 520, first identification period when the hall sensing unit senses the magnetic field); and detecting whether a power-receiving terminal of the wireless earphone is electrically connected to a power-supply terminal of the charging case (Fig. 12, step 520, charging box transmits power to earphone; Fig.5, charging box 110 uses switch module 116 to transmit power which is detected by core module 122).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, generating an in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is in the charging case (Fig. 12; power to earphone based on detection in charging box).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses wherein the magnetic sensor is a Hall sensor (hall 129).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising at least one set of instructions, wherein when executed by at least one processor of a computer device, the at least one set of instructions directs the at least one processor to perform operations including: detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state (Fig. 12; step 520, first identification period when the hall sensing unit senses the magnetic field); and detecting whether a power-receiving terminal of the wireless earphone is electrically connected to a power-supply terminal of the charging case (Fig. 12, step 520, charging box transmits power to earphone; Fig.5, charging box 110 uses switch module 116 to transmit power which is detected by core module 122).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, generating an in-case indication signal indicating that the wireless earphone is in the charging case (Fig. 12; power to earphone based on detection in charging box).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 4, 6, 13, 14, 16, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2022/0286768 in view of Sui, US 2022/0182748
Regarding claim 3, Chen is silent in further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state. Sui teaches in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state (¶[0060]-[0061]; Fig. 3; switching chip 21 connection to power supply line when detecting an earphone location being in or out of charging box via detection element 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Sui discloses all the limitation of claim 3. Sui further teaches further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case (¶[0053], [0057]; turn-on signal generated when earphone is removed from the charging base). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 6, Chen is silent in wherein the detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state includes: detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state. Sui teaches detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state (¶[0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the earphone is in the charger.
Regarding claim 13, Chen is silent in further comprising wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state. Sui teaches in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state (¶[0060]-[0061]; Fig. 3; switching chip 21 connection to power supply line when detecting an earphone location being in or out of charging box via detection element 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Sui discloses all the limitation of claim 13. Sui further teaches further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case (¶[0053], [0057]; turn-on signal generated when earphone is removed from the charging base). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 16, Chen is silent in wherein the detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state includes: detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state. Sui teaches wherein the detecting whether a detection signal of the magnetic sensor switches from a first state to a second state includes: detecting whether a signal strength of the detection signal is greater than or equal to a preset strength threshold; and in response to the signal strength being greater than or equal to the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the second state, and in response to the signal strength being less than the strength threshold, determining the detection signal is in the first state (¶[0072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the earphone is in the charger.
Regarding claim 21, Chen is silent in further comprising wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state. Sui teaches in response to a determination that the detection signal switches to the second state and the power-receiving terminal is not electrically connected to the power-supply terminal, detecting whether the detection signal remains in the second state (¶[0060]-[0061]; Fig. 3; switching chip 21 connection to power supply line when detecting an earphone location being in or out of charging box via detection element 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Regarding claim 22, Chen is silent in further comprising wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case; or in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal. Sui further teaches further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal doesn't remain in the second state, generating a not-in-case indication signal indicating that the charging case is not in the charging case or in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal (¶[0053], [0057]; turn-on signal generated when earphone is removed from the charging base). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Sui into Chen for the benefit of monitoring whether the charging for the wireless earphone is finished thereby providing improved power management.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2022/0286768 in view of Sui, US 2022/0182748 in view of Tao, WO 2021068712
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified is silent in further comprising: in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal. Tao teaches a detection signal remaining in a second state (fig. 6; module 2 detecting an inserted or unplugged earpiece based on current being 0 or less than 1mA) and generating a first fault indication signal (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact is short circuited or has abnormal contact). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tao into Chen as modified for the benefit of detecting poor metal contacts of the earphones.
Regarding claim 7, Chen as modified teaches the method of claim 5. Tao further teaches in response to the first fault indication signal, detecting whether a wireless connection is established between the wireless earphone and the charging case (fig. 6; inserted or unplugged earpiece based on current being 0 or less than 1mA ); in response to the wireless connection being established between the wireless earphone and the charging case, generating a third fault indication signal (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact is short circuited); and in response to the wireless connection being not established between the wireless earphone and the charging case, generating a fourth fault indication signal (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact has abnormal contact). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tao into Chen as modified for the benefit of detecting poor metal contacts of the earphones.
Regarding claim 15, Chen as modified is silent in wherein the operations further include: in response to a determination that the detection signal remains in the second state, generating a first fault indication signal. Tao teaches a detection signal remaining in a second state (Background; Hall sensor detecting an inserted or unplugged earpiece) and generating a first fault indication signal (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact is short circuited). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tao into Chen as modified for the benefit of detecting poor metal contacts of the earphones.
Regarding claim 17, Chen as modified teaches the system of claim 15. Tao further teaches in response to the first fault indication signal, detecting whether a wireless connection is established between the wireless earphone and the charging case (fig. 6; inserted or unplugged earpiece based on current being 0 or less than 1mA ); in response to the wireless connection being established between the wireless earphone and the charging case, generating a third fault indication signal (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact is short circuited); and in response to the wireless connection being not established between the wireless earphone and the charging case, generating a fourth fault indication signal (Fig. 6; logic module 2 determines whether an earphone contact has abnormal contact). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Tao into Chen as modified for the benefit of detecting poor metal contacts of the earphones.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858