DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 12, and 15-20 were pending. Claims 1, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 12, and 15-20 remains pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUREHASHI et al. (US 20220406179 A1, hereinafter “KUREHASHI”) in view of Miyamoto et al. (US 20100002908 A1, hereinafter “Miyamoto”)
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) KUREHASHI discloses an information processing device provided in a moving body, the information processing device comprising:
an acquiring unit which acquires information detected by an image-capturing device provided in a moving body (0015-0018, 0023 and 0049; Figures 1-3 and 5; wherein the control apparatus 64 of vehicle 60 determined the risk area using the sensor 69 that includes camera);
a predicting unit which predicts at least one of a movement or a moving direction of a moving object which is external to the moving body and exists in a vicinity of the moving body based on the information acquired by the acquiring unit (0016-0019; Figures 1-2);
a warning control unit which performs control to output a warning based on at least one of the movement or the moving direction of the moving object predicted by the predicting unit (0023; Figure 2); and
a transmission control unit which performs control to transmit information indicating at least one of the movement or the moving direction of the moving object predicted by the predicting unit to another moving body around the moving body, the another moving body being different from the moving body and the moving object (0018-0023; Figure 2; wherein the moving body is vehicle 90, the another body is vehicle 20, and the moving object is pedestrian 80, “[0023] … the control apparatus 24 can receive and store the position information of the risk area from the other vehicle 60 or the server 52 in advance, and can transmit the risk area information when the vehicle 20 reaches a position close to the risk area. With this configuration, even when the control apparatus 24 does not have a function of recognizing the risk area by sensing means such as a camera, the control apparatus 24 can output the warning to the terminal 82 or perform the travelling assistance of the vehicle 20 ...”), wherein
the moving object is a pedestrian (Figures 1-2; ‘pedestrian 80’),
the acquiring unit acquires an image of the pedestrian captured by the image-capturing device (0015, 0023 and 0049; Figures 1-2 and 5; “[0015] The vehicle 20 and the vehicle 60 are one example of a movable object. The vehicle 20 includes a control apparatus 24. ... The vehicle 60 includes a sensor 69 and a control apparatus 64. The sensor 69 … including a camera. ...”).
KUREHASHI failed to disclose a predicting unit analyzes the image of the pedestrian to determine an attitude of the pedestrian by extracting a skeletal frame of the pedestrian and predicts at least one of the movement or the moving direction of the pedestrian based on the attitude or a change in the attitude of the pedestrian that is determined.
Miyamoto, however, in the same field of endeavor, shows an information processing device provided in a moving body, the information processing device comprising:
the predicting unit analyzes the image of the pedestrian to determine an attitude of the pedestrian by extracting a skeletal frame of the pedestrian and predicts at least one of the movement or the moving direction of the pedestrian based on the attitude or a change in the attitude of the pedestrian that is determined (0044, 0073, 0103 and 0110; Figures 1-5 and 12A-12B; Claims 1, 5 and 11-12).
It would have been obvious to the person of having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the risk calculation for potential accident or collision between the vehicle and external moving body (another vehicle or pedestrian) as taught by Miyamoto in the risk analysis for moving objects of KUREHASHI in order to accurately and effectively predict possible accidents to pedestrians or collision with other vehicles and yield any predictable result.
Regarding claim 3. (Currently Amended) KUREHASHI discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein
the acquiring unit acquires the image captured by the image-capturing device (0015, 0023 and 0049; Figures 1-2 and 5; “[0015] The vehicle 20 and the vehicle 60 are one example of a movable object. The vehicle 20 includes a control apparatus 24. The control apparatus 24 includes a communication function. The vehicle 60 includes a sensor 69 and a control apparatus 64. The sensor 69 is configured by including a camera. The control apparatus 64 includes a processing function of information obtained by the sensor 69, and a communication function.”),
the predicting unit determines an attitude of the moving object based on the image acquired by the acquiring unit and predicts as the movement of the moving object whether the moving object will move toward a path of the moving body based on the attitude of the moving object that is determined (0034 and 0039-0040; Figures 2-3; Claims 3-4, 9 and 11-13; “[0034] When the determination unit 230 determines that the vehicle 20 is in the vicinity of the risk area, the transmission control unit 250 performs the control to transmit information related to the presence of the vehicle 20. ...”).
Regarding claim 4. (Original) KUREHASHI discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein
the predicting unit predicts a movement velocity of the moving object based on the information acquired by the acquiring unit (0026, 0033-0034 and 0039-0040; Figure 3; “[0026] The sensor 29 includes a GNSS reception unit 25 and a vehicle speed sensor 26. ...”).
Regarding claim 5. (Original) KUREHASHI discloses the information processing device according to claim 4,
wherein the warning control unit performs control to output the warning to an occupant of the moving body when it is determined, based on the movement velocity of the moving object predicted by the predicting unit, that the moving object will get into a path of the moving body before the moving body reaches a location of the moving object in a direction of travel of the moving body (0037, 0052 and 0063-0066; Figures 2 and 4-6; “[0037] The control unit 208 … of the vehicle 20 or an alert for an occupant of the vehicle 20 …, the control unit 208 may cause the head-up display of the vehicle 20 to output light for forming a mark as warning information indicating that a pedestrian is present in the risk area. ...”).
Regarding claim 6. (Original) KUREHASHI discloses the information processing device according to claim 5,
wherein the transmission control unit performs control to transmit to surroundings of the moving body information indicating at least one of the movement or the moving direction of the moving object predicted by the predicting unit, even when the warning control unit determines that the moving object will not get into the path of the moving body before the moving body reaches the location of the moving object in the direction of travel of the moving body (0055 and 0063-0066; Figures 5-6; “[0055] … the terminal 82 determines whether the current position of the terminal 82 is in the risk area represented by the coordinates included in the risk area information (S426). When the current position of the terminal 82 is in the risk area, …”).
Regarding claim 9. (Original) Claim 9 has similar limitations as to claim 4 treated in the rejection above, and is met by the references as discussed above, and has been rejected for the same reason of obviousness as used in the rejection to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 12. (Original) Claim 12 has similar limitations as to claim 5 treated in the rejection above, and are met by the references as discussed above, and has been rejected for the same reason of obviousness as used in the rejection to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 15. (Original) Claim 15 has similar limitations as to claim 6 treated in the rejection above, and is met by the references as discussed above, and has been rejected for the same reason of obviousness as used in the rejection to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 16. (Original) KUREHASHI discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the moving body is a vehicle (0015; Figure 1; ‘vehicle 20’ or ‘vehicle 60’).
Regarding claims 17-18. (Original) KUREHASHI discloses a moving body comprising the information processing device according to claims 1 or 16 (0017-0028; Figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 19. (Currently Amended) An information processing method is drawn to the method of using the corresponding information processing device claimed in claim 1. Therefore the information processing method claim 19 corresponds to information processing device claim 1 is rejected for same reason of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 20 is drawn to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of using the corresponding to the device of using the same as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 20 corresponds to the device claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of obviousness as used above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-6, 9, 12, and 15-20 have been considered but are moot based on new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/ASMAMAW G TARKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482