DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment filed 16 June 2024 has been received and considered.
Claims 6-10 are pending.
This Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 June 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because the 3rd limitation references “the original email” when no such email was previously recited; this limitation will be interpreted as “an original email”.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the last limitation "SMA" should be "SMS". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Triola (US 20120072837), in view of Soderlind et al. (US 20020069123), in view of Anguiano Jimenez (US 9412139) and further in view of Pavlicic (US 20070208944).
As per claims 6, 8, and 9, Triola discloses a certification platform for certifying an electronic notice by a single telecommunications operator without a need for additional network entities external to the single telecommunications operator, the electronic notice originating from a client and to be shown to a recipient in order to be signed when an identity of the recipient is verified, the platform comprising (see paragraph [0072] where all the certification and client devices are connected via one network):
a notice server for implementing a plurality of electronic notice email systems, the notice server of the single telecommunications operator configured for uploading the notice to be signed (see paragraphs [0072] and [0086] where the recipients are notified);
an identity server for generating identifying evidence associated with the electronic notice; an email management server for collecting the identifying evidence, the email management server storing a content of the original email and any attachments (see paragraphs [0080]-[0086] where the entities involved are identified and evidence is gathered, where email servers store emails and their attachments);
a database server for storing a content of the electronic notice (see paragraphs [0083]-[0085] receiving the documents and, for example, paragraph [0120] where the document/contract is stored);
a time stamp server (see paragraph [0101] where a time stamp is applied);
a validation server for ensuring the identity of the recipient using a digital certificate contained of the recipient (see paragraph [0082] digital certificate authentication);
a certified message server for sending certified messages, and a generated documents server for storing the digital certificates generated by the validation server (see paragraphs [0081]-[0085]);
wherein the notice server shows the content of the electronic notice to be signed by the recipient only when data contained in the digital certificate verifies the identity of the recipient (see paragraphs [0082]-[0088] and FIG 2 where all entities are authenticated in step 216 prior to showing the documents in step 222; note paragraph [0086] where the document is shown on a website or able to be downloaded);
wherein the validation server excluded a need for additional network entities external to the single telecommunications operator (see paragraph [0072]);
wherein the notice is a certified SMS or a certified email that comprises at least one URL linking a server of a CA (certification authority) server through which communication is carried out (see paragraphs [0080]-[0088] and [0103]).
While Triola teaches the use of a digital certificate for verifying the identities or the recipients, there lacks an explicit teaching that the certificate is stored in the browser.
However, Soderlind et al. teaches the use of a digital certificate in a browser as part of identity verification (see paragraph [0029]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a digital certificate contained in a browser to perform the identity verification of the Triola system.
Motivation to do so would have been restrict access to devices with the stored certificate (see Soderlind et al. paragraph [0029]).
While the modified Triola and Soderlind et al. system discloses sending a URL, there lacks an explicit recitation that the URL is linking to a proxy server of a CA server.
However, Anguiano Jimenez teaches a system for certifying notices where a URL links to a proxy of a CA server (see column 3 lines 25-47 where the link points to a web portal or the emitter which acts as a proxy to the server since the traffic must first go to this web portal for authentication before being redirected to the server for access).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to include the URL to a proxy of Anguiano Jimenez in the modified Triola and Soderlind et al. system.
Motivation to do so would have been to allow for delegated authentication (see Anguiano Jimenez column 3 lines 25-47) which allows for offloading of the authentication.
The modified Triola, Soderlind et al., and Anguiano Jimenez system fails to explicitly disclose the timing of the application of the timestamp, i.e. applying time stamps to the transaction certificate once the transaction certificate has been signed
However, Pavlicic teaches applying time stamps to the transaction certificate once the transaction certificate has been signed (see paragraphs [0031]-[0035]).
At a time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the specific time stamping of Pavlicic in the modified Triola, Soderlind et al., and Anguiano Jimenez system.
Motivation to do so would have been to allow for determining the earliest time at which the electronic signature was valid in association with the document (see Pavlicic paragraph [0035)).
As per claims 7 and 10, the modified Triola, Soderlind et al., Anguiano Jimenez, and Pavlicic system discloses the certified message server sends a first copy of the signed and stamped transaction certificate and all generated evidence to the transmitter and sends a second copy of the signed and stamped transaction certificate and all generated evidence to the recipient to be collected by their respective users (see Triola paragraphs [0087]-[0090] and [0101]).
Double Patenting
Claims 6-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,750,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘802 claims anticipate the currently pending claims.
More specifically, claim 1 of the present application corresponds to a platform for implementing the method as described in claim 1 of ‘592. Additionally, claim 1 of ‘592 performs the same steps as the components of currently pending claims 6-10 and there are no additional structural details of the components and therefore claims 6-10 of the current application is not patently distinct from the claims presenting in the ‘592 patent.
Claims 6-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,938,802. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘802 claims anticipate the currently pending claims.
More specifically, claims 6-10 of the present application correspond to a platform for implementing the method as described in claim 1 of ‘802. Additionally, claim 1 of ‘802 performs the same steps as the components of currently pending claims 6-10 and there are no additional structural details of the components and therefore claims 6-10 of the current application is not patently distinct from the claims presenting in the ‘802 patent.
Claims 6-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/216,559 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘599 claims anticipate the currently pending claims.
More specifically, claims 6-10 of the present application correspond to a platform for implementing the method as described in claim 6 of ‘599. Additionally, claim 6 of ‘599 performs the same steps as the components of currently pending claims 6-10 and there are no additional structural details of the components and therefore claims 6-10 of the current application is not patently distinct from the claims presenting in the ‘599 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed to certificate of documents/notices.
/Michael Pyzocha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409