DETAILED ACTION
for
PRESSING APPARATUS OF BATTERY CELL
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 06/17/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Pressing Apparatus for Battery Cell Has Pressure Indicator for Changing Color Based on Pressure Change and Formed Between Plates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee et at. [herein after Lee] (US 20230045364) in view of Rothkopf et al. [herein after Rothkopf] (US 2012/0133521).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a pressing apparatus for a battery cell having a first plate (220) and a third plate (230) spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (Fig. 3); a second plate (225) movably disposed between the first plate (220) and the third plate (230); and disposed between the second plate (225) and the third plate (230) and the battery cell (210) is disposed between
the pressure indicator and the third plate (230) and a pressure indicator (270).
Lee fails to explicitly discloses changing color based on a pressure change in the battery cell and the color change of the pressure indicator is visually determined from above the first plate.
Rothkopf discloses a pressure indicator ["on the other hand, sensor mechanism 606 may be placed within the enclosure for the battery pack. For example, sensor mechanism 606 may include a pressure sensor that detects swelling in the battery pack as an increase in pressure inside the battery pack”; (¶0036, lines 1-5)] changing color based on a pressure change in the battery cell (100) and the color change of the pressure indicator is visually determined from above the first plate (¶0020, lines 1-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of a pressing apparatus for a battery cell, to modify Lee, to include a pressure indicator changing color based on a pressure change, as taught by Rothkopf, for the benefit of providing a device which can distinguish the fault, the fault-monitoring mechanism may utilize a color-changing mechanism and/or a sensor mechanism to detect penetration of the battery pack from open circuits and/or changes in resistance in individual conductive traces, as well as short circuits between pairs of conductive traces.
Regarding claim 2, Lee further discloses the first plate (220) and the second plate (225).
Lee fails to explicitly discloses the plates being at least partially formed of a transparent material.
The use of the particular material, i.e., transparent material, as stated in claim 2, for the plate, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” material that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made using routine experimentation would have found obvious to provide for the probe element disclosed by Prior Art since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses a plurality of fastening members (240) respectively having one ends fixed and fastened to the third plate (230), and the other end protruding above the first plate (220); and a stopper (250) coupled to a portion of the fastening member (240) protruding above the first plate (220), wherein the second plate (225) being movable in a longitudinal direction of the plurality of fastening members (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Lee further discloses an elastic member (226) disposed between the first plate (220) and the second plate (225), and pressing the second plate (225) to the battery cell (210) using an elastic restoring force (226; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further discloses the second plate (225) having an insertion groove formed in its lower surface, and the pressure indicator (270) is inserted into the insertion groove.
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses a pressure distribution member (172) disposed between the pressure indicator (270) and the battery cell (210) to distribute a pressure applied to the pressure indicator (Fig.2 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses the pressure distribution member (172) having a flat pad shape (Fig. 2).
Lee fails to explicitly discloses one of rubber, polyurethane, and silicone.
The use of the particular material, i.e., rubber, polyurethane, and silicone, as stated in claim 7, for the pressure distribution member, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” material that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made using routine experimentation would have found obvious to provide for the probe element disclosed by Prior Art since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses a pressing apparatus for a battery cell, the apparatus comprising: a first plate (220) and a third plate (230) spaced apart from each other in a first direction (Fig. 3); a second plate (225) movable between the first plate (220) and the third plate (230) in the first direction (Fig. 3); and a pressure indicator (270) visually displaying an amount of pressure applied to the battery cell (210) disposed between the second plate (225) and the third plate (230).
Lee fails to explicitly discloses changes its displayed color based on the amount of pressure applied to the battery cell.
Rothkopf discloses a pressure indicator changes its displayed color based on the amount of pressure applied to the battery cell [100; (¶0020, lines 1-12); "To detect the fault, the fault-monitoring mechanism may utilize a conductive mechanism, a color-changing mechanism, and/or a sensor mechanism in the battery pack.”; (¶0036, lines 1-5)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of a pressing apparatus for a battery cell, to modify Lee, to include a pressure indicator changing color based on a pressure change, as taught by Rothkopf, for the benefit of providing a device which can distinguish the fault, the fault-monitoring mechanism may utilize a color-changing mechanism and/or a sensor mechanism to detect penetration of the battery pack from open circuits and/or changes in resistance in individual conductive traces, as well as short circuits between pairs of conductive traces.
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses the pressure indicator (270) being disposed between the second plate (225) and the battery cell (100), and visually determined through the first plate (220).
9. Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Lee et at. [herein after Lee] (US 20230045364) in view of Rothkopf et al. [herein after Rothkopf] (US 2012/0133521) in further view of IWAMOTO [herein after Iwamoto] (US 2017/0309975).
Regarding claims 8-10, Lee in view of Rothkopf discloses battery cell (210) and the third plate (230).
Lee in view of Rothkopf fails to explicitly disclose a hydrogen sulfide detection unit disposed between the battery cell and the third plate to detect hydrogen sulfide.
Iwamoto discloses a hydrogen sulfide detection unit (510), a battery cell (3000) to detect hydrogen sulfide (¶0193).
Iwamoto further discloses a body part (100) formed in a flat sheet shape (Fig. 10), and a discoloration portion “generates a first detection signal” coupled to the body part (100) and including an organometallic compound discolored by reacting with hydrogen sulfide (Fig. 10).
Lee in view of Rothkopf fails in further view of Iwamoto fails to explicitly discloses being made of a porous material and includes polydimethyl siloxane.
The use of the particular material, i.e., porous material and includes polydimethyl siloxane, as stated in claim 10, for the body part, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” material that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made using routine experimentation would have found obvious to provide for the probe element disclosed by Prior Art since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of a pressing apparatus for a battery cell, to modify Lee in view of Rothkopf, to include hydrogen sulfide detection unit including a body part, as taught by Iwamoto, for the benefit of providing a device which detects hydrogen sulfide r to generates a detection signal thus hydrogen sulfide can be efficiently eliminated.
Regarding claims 11-12, Lee discloses a pressing apparatus for a battery cell (210) having a pressure indicator stacked above the battery cell (210).
Rothkopf discloses changing color based on a pressure applied from the battery cell [100; (¶0020, lines 1-12); "To detect the fault, the fault-monitoring mechanism may utilize a conductive mechanism, a color-changing mechanism, and/or a sensor mechanism in the battery pack.”].
Lee in view of Rothkopf fails to explicitly disclose a hydrogen sulfide detection unit stacked below the battery cell and detecting hydrogen sulfide leaking from the battery cell; and wherein the hydrogen sulfide detection unit includes an organometallic compound discolored by reacting with hydrogen sulfide.
Iwamoto discloses a hydrogen sulfide detection unit (510) stacked below the battery cell (3000) and detecting hydrogen sulfide leaking from the battery cell (3000; ¶0190-¶0194); and wherein the hydrogen sulfide detection unit (510) includes an organometallic compound discolored by reacting with hydrogen sulfide (¶0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field of a pressing apparatus for a battery cell, to modify Lee in view of Rothkopf, to include hydrogen sulfide detection unit including a body part, as taught by Iwamoto, for the benefit of providing a device which detects hydrogen sulfide r to generates a detection signal thus hydrogen sulfide can be efficiently eliminated.
Lee in view of Rothkopf in further view of Iwamoto fails to explicitly disclose a porous transparent polydimethyl siloxane pad impregnated with the organometallic compound.
The use of the particular material, i.e., transparent material, as stated in claim 12, for the plate, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” material that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made using routine experimentation would have found obvious to provide for the probe element disclosed by Prior Art since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a plate stacked above the pressure indicator (270; Fig. 3) and moved up and down in response to a volume change in the battery cell (210).
Lee in view of Rothkopf in further view of Iwamoto fails to explicitly discloses the flat plate is at least partially formed of a transparent material.
The use of the particular material, i.e., transparent material, as stated in claim 13, for the plate, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” material that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made using routine experimentation would have found obvious to provide for the probe element disclosed by Prior Art since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855