DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2023-184923, filed on October 27, 2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 4 objected to because of the following informalities: the description of. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2023/0187792 A1 (Hereafter referred to as "Kim").
Regarding Claim 1: Kim teaches a laminate type battery (Abstract) comprising: an electrode body (120, [0031]); and a laminate film that covers and encloses the electrode body (140, [0037]), wherein the laminate film includes a film body that covers four surfaces of the electrode body (140, Fig. 2) having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (140, Fig. 2), and two lid members that cover two remaining side surfaces of the electrode body respectively (170 & 180, [0044]), and each of the lid members has a concave shape that is constituted by one bottom plane and four wall planes (Figs. 2 or 5), an inside surface of the concave shape at the bottom plane facing the side surface of the electrode body (Figs. 2 or 5), and outside surfaces of the concave shape at the wall planes are fused with the film body (190, [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2023-0187792 A1 in view of Kobayashi et al. US 2022-0216548 A1 (Hereafter referred to as "Kobayashi").
Regarding Claim 2: Kim teaches multiple lid members with a parallelepiped shape ([0044]; Figs. 2 or 5).
Kim does not teach having the outside surface of the bottom plane of the lid members face the side of the electrode body.
Kobayashi teaches a lid member with a bottom plane and four wall planes, where the outside surface of the lid member’s bottom plane is facing the side of the electrode body (Fig. 1; Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the orientation of the lid coverings of Kim to the orientation of the lid covering of Kobayashi, by rotating the lid members 180 degrees, with the expected outcome of making the cell smaller and more mountable (Kobayashi: [0022]).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2023-0187792 A1 in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2022-0216548 A1) and further in view of Tsukuda et al. US 9147870 B2 (Hereafter referred to as Tsukuda).
Regarding Claim 3: Kim in view of Kobayashi teaches the laminated battery of claim 2.
Kim and Kobayashi do not teach folding the fusion members to the inside of the concave lid members.
Tsukuda does teach a lid member with one bottom plane and four wall planes, where the wall plane fusion members are folded to the inside of the concave lid members (Figs. 15A & 15B; Col. 5, Lines 1-4; Col. 16, Lines 30-45).
It would be obvious to one having obvious skill in the art to modify the properly oriented lid members of Kim in view of Kobayashi with the folding of Tsukuda for the purpose of better battery sealing (Tsukuda: Col. 2, Lines 26-30).
Regarding Claim 4: Kim in view of Kobayashi teaches the laminated battery of claim 2.
Kim and Kobayashi do not teach the wrapping of the film body around the walls of the lid members such that fusion portions are also inside the walls of the lid members.
Tsukuda does teach the wrapping of the film body around the walls of the lid members such that fusion portions are also inside the walls of the lid members (Figs. 15A & 15B; Col. 5, Lines 1-4; Col. 16, Lines 30-45).
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the properly oriented lid members of Kim in view of Kobayashi with the film wrapping and fusing to the inside of the walls of the lid members of Tsukuda for the purpose of better sealing (Tsukuda: Col. 2, Lines 26-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Suzawa et al. JP 2016-134199 A: Suzawa teaches two lid members in figure 3B, where items 107 are the lid members whose base surfaces are facing toward the electrode body (105-106 & 101-102)
/J.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721