DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0129657 (hereinafter Lim) in view of Mathieu et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0215220 (hereinafter Mathieu) and further in view of Atsumi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,736,781 (hereinafter Atsumi).
Consider claim 1, Lim teaches a fingerprint sensor package (abstract) comprising: a substrate (Figure 10, 109, 112) including a plurality of first sensing patterns spaced apart from each other in a first direction and extending in a second direction, intersecting the first direction, and a plurality of second sensing patterns spaced apart from each other in the second direction and extending in the first direction (Figure 10 and figure 2a, 116, 127T, 125R); a controller chip electrically connected to the substrate and disposed below the substrate (Figure 10, 210, contact region CR1-CR3); an encapsulant covering the controller chip and disposed below the substrate (Figure 10, 240); and a plurality of electrical connection structures disposed below the substrate and contacting the encapsulant (Figure 10, 129P and 129S), wherein at least one of the plurality of electrical connection structures is exposed from the encapsulant in a direction from a direction in which the plurality of electrical connection structures and the substrate face each other (Figure 10, 129P and 129S).
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures includes a pad disposed on a lower surface of the substrate, and a solder disposed on a lower surface of the pad, a side surface of the substrate, a side surface of the pad, and a side surface of the solder form a coplanar surface with each other.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Mathieu teaches a smart card (abstract) and further teaches solder material on the connection pads in [0059]. In addition, Mathieu teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures includes a pad disposed on a lower surface of the substrate (Figure 4, pad 7, substrate 101), and a solder disposed on a lower surface of the pad (Figure 4 and [0059-0060], elements 6 and 10), a side surface of the substrate, a side surface of the pad, and a side surface of the solder form a coplanar surface with each other (Figure 4, elements 6-7, 10 and 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solder material as taught by Mathieu use solder materials with a low melting temperature makes it possible to use a thermode 400 with a smaller carrier surface, thereby possibly helping to better control creep and to limit risks of deformation of the card 1 and/or of the module 4 as suggested in [0072]. Further, one would have been motivated to select a shape of a solder or a connection pad in order to be compatible to each other as suggested in [0059].
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose a direction different and a lower surface of the solder and a lowest surface of the encapsulant form a coplanar surface with each other.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Atsumi teaches an IC module and IC chip (abstract) and further teaches a direction different (Figures 1-2 and 5, column 3, lines 21-25: a plurality of side surface contact terminals 111 to 116, which are extended from a plurality of surface contact terminals 101 to 106, are formed on the frame member 12 forming the confronted side surfaces of the insulator) since the terminals 111-116 are located on the side surface. In addition, the combination of Mathieu and Atsumi teaches a lower surface of the solder and a lowest surface of the encapsulant form a coplanar surface with each other (Atsumi teaches contact terminal 112/102 and lowest surface of encapsulant 10 form a coplanar surface in figures 1-2; Mathieu teaches solder 6 and 10 for connection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a module with side contacts in addition to surface contacts as taught by Atsumi in figure 1 with the benefit that this IC module is used by an IC card prescribed by a standard of an international organization for standardization as suggested in column 2, lines 65-67. In addition, data is input to the control portion 31 from the surface contact terminals 101 to 106 or contact terminals 111 to 116 as suggested in column 3, lines 50-52. Furthermore, since the anisotropic conductive film 200 is interposed between the IC module 1 and card substrate 40, the adhesion of the IC module 1 to the card substrate 40 is improved as suggested in column 6, lines 1-5.
Consider claim 2, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lim teaches wherein one side portion and another side portion of the at least one of the plurality of electrical connection structures are asymmetrical to each other (Figure 10, 129P and 129S).
Consider claim 4, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose an anisotropic conductive film disposed on at least a portion of the coplanar surface.
However, Atsumi teaches an anisotropic conductive film disposed on at least a portion of the coplanar surface (Figures 6-8, column 5, lines 40-46, anisotropic conductive film 200, contact terminals 111-116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an anisotropic film as taught by Atsumi with the benefit that the adhesion of the IC module 1 to the card substrate 40 is improved as suggested in column 6, lines 1-5.
Consider claim 5, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lim teaches the at least one of the plurality of electrical connection structures that is exposed from the encapsulant (Figure 10, 129P and 240).
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose an anisotropic conductive film contacting a surface of the at least one of the plurality of electrical connection structures.
Consider claim 6, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of electrical connection structures has a melting point lower than a melting point of each of the plurality of first and second sensing patterns.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Mathieu teaches a smart card (abstract) and further teaches solder material on the connection pads in [0059]. Thus, the combination teaches wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of electrical connection structures has a melting point lower than a melting point of each of the plurality of first and second sensing patterns (Mathieu: [0057], [0072], the solder material 6 is a tin-bismuth or tin-bismuth-silver alloy. Lim: [0051], 125R and 127T (e.g. copper)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a solder material as taught by Mathieu use solder materials 6, 206 with a low melting temperature makes it possible to use a thermode 400 with a smaller carrier surface, thereby possibly helping to better control creep and to limit risks of deformation of the card 1 and/or of the module 4 as suggested in [0072]).
Consider claim 7, Lim, Atsumi and Mathieu teach all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, Mathieu teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures comprises: a pad disposed on the substrate (Figure 4, pad 7); and a solder disposed on the pad and having a melting point lower than a melting point of the pad (Figure 4 and [0071], solder material 6 with a low melting point. Lim teaches in [0051], conductive patterns made of copper, aluminum), see motivation to combine in claim 6.
Consider claim 8, Lim, Atsumi and Mathieu teach all the limitations of claim 7.
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures further comprises: a conductive post extending from one surface of the pad in a direction away from the substrate and connected between the pad and the solder.
However, Mathieu teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures further comprises: a conductive post extending from one surface of the pad (Figure 4 and 6, post 10 and pad 7) in a direction away from the substrate and connected between the pad and the solder (Figure 4, solder 6, 206; substrate 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide conductive post in order to allow better adhesion of the paste or better performance in terms of electrical conductivity of the anisotropic conductive film 6′ on the connection pads 7 as suggested in [0059].
Consider claim 10, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a height of the at least one of the plurality of electrical connection structures is larger than a thickness of the controller chip.
However, Atsumi teaches wherein a height of the at least one of the plurality of electrical connection structures is larger than a thickness of the controller chip (Figure 2, 112 and 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a module with side contacts as shown in figure 2 with the benefit that this IC module is used by an IC card prescribed by a standard of an international organization for standardization as suggested in column 2, lines 65-67.
Consider claim 11, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lim teaches wherein the plurality of electrical connection structures are arranged to at least partially surround the controller chip (Figure 10, 129P, 129S and 210).
Consider claim 12, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Lim teaches wherein the substrate comprises: an upper insulating layer disposed between the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing patterns (Figure 10, 127T, 125R and 116); a base layer disposed between the upper insulating layer and the controller chip (Figure 10, 114, 116 and 210); a lower insulating layer disposed between the base layer and the controller chip (Figure 10, 112, 114 and 210); a ground pattern disposed between the lower insulating layer and the base layer and overlapping the controller chip vertically (Figure 10 and [0038]; 123G, 112 and 114); and conductive vias spaced apart from the ground pattern and electrically connecting the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing patterns to the controller chip (Figure 10, vias located in CR1).
Consider claim 13, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lim teaches an edge substrate spaced apart from the substrate (Figure 11E, 500); and a plurality of conductive wires electrically connecting the edge substrate and the substrate to each other (Figure 11E, the connection area 530 for electrically connecting the fingerprint sensor package 10 to other components in the card main body 500 may be arranged in the card substrate 520).
Consider claim 14, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lim teaches wherein at least one portion of the plurality of electrical connection structures extends along a surface of the encapsulant (Figure 10, 129P and 240).
Consider claim 21, Lim, Mathieu and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Lim teaches wherein the substrate further includes a ground pattern disposed adjacent to the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing patterns in the first direction (Figure 10, 127G, 127T and 125R), covered in a protective layer (Figure 10, 119), and configured to provide a reference potential for a fingerprint sensing [0038], and wherein entire upper surfaces of the plurality of second sensing patterns (Figure 10, surfaces of 127T and 119) and the ground pattern are in direct contact with the protective layer (Figure 10, surface of 127G and 119. Note that claim does not recite the “entire upper surface of the ground pattern”).
Claim(s) 15-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Atsumi.
Consider claim 15, Lim teaches a fingerprint sensor package (abstract) comprising: a substrate (Figure 10, substrate includes 109, 112) including a plurality of first sensing patterns spaced apart from each other in a first direction and extending in a second direction, intersecting the first direction, and a plurality of second sensing patterns spaced apart from each other in the second direction and extending in the first direction (Figure 10 and figure 2a, 116, 127T, 125R); a controller chip electrically connected to the substrate and disposed below the substrate (Figure 10, 210, contact region CR1-CR3); an encapsulant covering the controller chip and disposed below the substrate (Figure 10, 240); and a plurality of electrical connection structures disposed below the substrate and contacting the encapsulant (Figure 10, 129P and 129S), wherein at least one portion of the plurality of electrical connection structures extends along a surface of the encapsulant from a portion, of the plurality of electrical connection structures, that is exposed from the encapsulant (Figure 10, 129P and 129S).
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures includes a portion disposed on a lower surface of the encapsulant, and wherein the portion of the each of the plurality of electrical connection structures contacts with the lower surface of the encapsulant.
However, Atsumi teaches wherein each of the plurality of electrical connection structures includes a portion disposed on a lower surface of the encapsulant (Figures 1-2, contact terminal 112/102 and encapsulant 10), and wherein the portion of the each of the plurality of electrical connection structures contacts with the lower surface of the encapsulant (Figures 1-2, contact terminal 112/102 and encapsulant 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a module with side contacts in addition to surface contacts as taught by Atsumi in figure 1 with the benefit that this IC module is used by an IC card prescribed by a standard of an international organization for standardization as suggested in column 2, lines 65-67. In addition, data is input to the control portion 31 from the surface contact terminals 101 to 106 or contact terminals 111 to 116 as suggested in column 3, lines 50-52. Furthermore, since the anisotropic conductive film 200 is interposed between the IC module 1 and card substrate 40, the adhesion of the IC module 1 to the card substrate 40 is improved as suggested in column 6, lines 1-5.
Consider claim 16, Lim teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose an anisotropic conductive film disposed on the at least one portion, of the plurality of electrical connection structures, and extending along a surface of the encapsulant.
However, Atsumi teaches an anisotropic conductive film disposed on the at least one portion, of the plurality of electrical connection structures, and extending along a surface of the encapsulant (Figures 5-7 and column 5, lines 41-47, anisotropic conductive film 200, connection structures 111-116, encapsulant includes area around 14-15 (see also, column 5, lines 27-31, the anisotropic conductive film 200 has hole portions 208 and 204 at positions corresponding to the convex portion 14 and concave portion 15 of the IC module 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an anisotropic film as taught by Atsumi with the benefit that the adhesion of the IC module 1 to the card substrate 40 is improved as suggested in column 6, lines 1-5.
Consider claim 17, Lim teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the least one portion of the plurality of electrical connection structures covers a portion of a lower surface of the encapsulant.
However, Atsumi teaches wherein at the least one portion of the plurality of electrical connection structures covers a portion of a lower surface of the encapsulant (Figure 1, 111 and 101 and area below 101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a module with side contacts in addition to surface contacts as taught by Atsumi in figure 1 with the benefit that this IC module is used by an IC card prescribed by a standard of an international organization for standardization as suggested in column 2, lines 65-67. In addition, data is input to the control portion 31 from the surface contact terminals 101 to 106 or contact terminals 111 to 116 as suggested in column 3, lines 50-52.
Consider claim 18, Lim teaches a device comprising: a device body including a recessed region (Figure 11e, 510); a plurality of terminals arranged in the recessed region (Figure 11e, 530); and a fingerprint sensor package disposed in the recessed region (Figure 11E, 10), wherein the fingerprint sensor package comprises: a substrate (Figure 10, 109, 112) including a plurality of first sensing patterns spaced apart from each other in a first direction and extending in a second direction, intersecting the first direction, and a plurality of second sensing patterns spaced apart from each other in the second direction and extending in the first direction (Figure 10 and figure 2a, 116, 127T, 125R); a controller chip electrically connected to the substrate (Figure 10, 210, contact region CR1-CR3); and a plurality of electrical connection structures electrically connected to the plurality of terminals and the substrate (Figure 10, 129P and 129S (see also 121S, 121P in figure 11E)), and wherein the substrate further includes a ground pattern disposed adjacent to the plurality of first sensing patterns and the plurality of second sensing patterns in the first direction (Figure 10, 127G, 127T and 125R), covered in a protective layer (Figure 10, 119), and configured to provide a reference potential for a fingerprint sensing [0038], and wherein entire upper surfaces of the plurality of second sensing patterns (Figure 10, surfaces of 127T and 119) and the ground pattern are in direct contact with the protective layer (Figure 10, surface of 127G and 119. Note that claim does not recite the “entire upper surface of the ground pattern”).
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a direction in which the plurality of electrical connection structures and the plurality of terminals face is different from a recess direction of the recessed region.
However, Atsumi teaches wherein a direction in which the plurality of electrical connection structures and the plurality of terminals face is different from a recess direction of the recessed region (Figures 1-5, a plurality of side surface contact terminals 111 to 116, conductive patterns 51-53, hole portion 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a module with side contacts in addition to surface contacts as taught by Atsumi in figure 1 with the benefit that this IC module is used by an IC card prescribed by a standard of an international organization for standardization as suggested in column 2, lines 65-67. In addition, data is input to the control portion 31 from the surface contact terminals 101 to 106 or contact terminals 111 to 116 as suggested in column 3, lines 50-52. Furthermore, since the anisotropic conductive film 200 is interposed between the IC module 1 and card substrate 40, the adhesion of the IC module 1 to the card substrate 40 is improved as suggested in column 6, lines 1-5.
Consider claim 19, Lim and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 18. In addition, Atsumi teaches wherein the recessed region is formed in a shape of a hexahedron (Figure 4, 41), see motivation to combine in claim 18 (e.g. IC module is used by an IC card prescribed by a standard of an international organization for standardization).
Consider claim 20, Lim and Atsumi teach all the limitations of claim 18. In addition, Lim teaches an encapsulant covering the controller chip and contacting the plurality of electrical connection structures (Figure 10, 129P, 129S and 240).
Lim does not appear to specifically disclose an anisotropic conductive film in contact with the plurality of electrical connection structures and the plurality of terminals.
However, Atsumi teaches an anisotropic conductive film in contact with the plurality of electrical connection structures and the plurality of terminals (Figures 6-8, column 5, lines 40-46, anisotropic conductive film 200, contact terminals 111-116, conductive pattern portions 51-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an anisotropic film as taught by Atsumi with the benefit that the adhesion of the IC module 1 to the card substrate 40 is improved as suggested in column 6, lines 1-5.
Consider claim 22, it includes the limitations of claim 21 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10, Applicant argues that “None of Lim, Atsumi, or Mathieu discloses a configuration where the electrical connection structure 130 is disposed on and contacts the bottom surface of the encapsulant 350”. The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Atsumi teaches in electrical connection structures 112/102 includes a portion disposed on a lower surface of the encapsulant 10 in figures 1-2.
On page 13, Applicant argues that “In Atsumi, the connection terminals 105 and 115 neither contact the encapsulant 13 and are not disposed below the substrate 11. While the connection terminals 105 and 115 are coplanar with the top surface of the substrate 11 at the upper portion thereof, Atsumi fails to disclose a structure where the connection terminals 105 and 115 contact the encapsulant 13 to form a coplanar bottom surface, nor a structure where the side surfaces of the connection terminals 105 and 115 and the substrate 11 are coplanar with each other.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Atsumi teaches a structure where the connection terminals 105 and 115 contact the encapsulant 10 to form a coplanar bottom surface as shown in figure 1. In addition, Mathew teaches in figure 4, solder 10 and 6, pad 7 and substrate 101 are coplanar with each other.
On page 14, Applicant argues that “Lim not only fails to disclose the above-mentioned feature, but also leads away from the ground pattern being covered by the protective layer.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Figure 10, a portion of 127G is covered by layer 119. Note that claim does not recite the “entire upper surface of the ground pattern” is covered by a protective layer. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621