DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to Applicant’s Reply filed on 1/21/2026. Claims 1-16 are pending. THIS ACTION HAS BEEN MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent App. No. 2016/0312943 to Yang (Yang).
Regarding Claim 1: Yang discloses a bracket structure, comprising: a body (See Annotated Fig. A); two retaining walls (See Annotated Fig. A) respectively connected to two ends of the body and respectively forming an accommodating groove (See Annotated Fig. A) with the body, and a virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B) being extended between the two accommodating grooves; at least one first stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) disposed on the body and protruding from the body towards the virtual connection line; and at least one second stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) disposed on at least one of the two retaining walls, and protruding from the at least one of the two retaining walls towards the virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B), and the at least one first stop part and the at least one second stop part separated by a clamping space (See Annotated Fig. B) in a direction; wherein the direction is perpendicular to the virtual connection line, where the at least one first stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) and the at least one second stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) exert forces from opposite directions on a plate extending along the virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B).
Regarding Claim 6: Yang discloses a bracket structure according to claim 1, further comprising: a piece (See Annotated Fig. B) connected to the at least one first stop part (See Annotated Fig. B), and protruding from the at least one first stop part towards the virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B).
Regarding Claim 8: Yang discloses an antenna fixing device, comprising: an antenna module (See Annotated Fig. A) comprising a substrate (See Annotated Fig. A) having a plate shape (See Annotated Fig. A) and extending along a virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B); and a bracket structure (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to fix the antenna module, comprising: a body (See Annotated Fig. A); two retaining walls (See Annotated Fig. A) respectively connected to two ends of the body and respectively forming an accommodating groove (See Annotated Fig. A) with the body to accommodate the antenna module, and the virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B) being extended between the two accommodating grooves; at least one first stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) disposed on the body and protruding from the body towards the virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B); and at least one second stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) disposed on at least one of the two retaining walls (See Annotated Fig. B) and protruding from the at least one of the two retaining walls towards the virtual connection line, and the at least one first stop part and the at least one second stop part separated by a clamping space (See Annotated Fig. B) in a direction; wherein the direction is perpendicular to the virtual connection line (See Annotated Fig. B), and the at least one first stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) and the at least one second stop part (See Annotated Fig. B) clamp the substrate (See Annotated Fig. A) from opposite directions towards the clamping space to tighten the antenna module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding Claim 7: Yang discloses the piece and the retaining walls as both having different heights (See Annotated Fig. B) and therefore Yang discloses some unspecified height to height ratio. However, Yang is silent regarding the specific height to height ratio being between 0.2 and 0.8. Nonetheless, the specifically claimed ratio is not patentably distinct over the prior art and is an obvious matter of design choice. Here’s why.
First, Courts have held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.”1 Here, Yang discloses a bracket that has some undefined height to height ratio. Applicant has not disclosed that having a specific ratio would perform differently than other ratios. Rather, many ratios would all perform essentially the same function.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yang by using a piece height to retaining wall height ratio between 0.2 and 0.8. Such modifications would not cause any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would enable a user to easily mount and dismount an antenna module to the support.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches a bracket structure that includes at least one hook disposed on the top of the body, a hooking portion and an elastic arm connected to the hooking portion and the body. Nor does any of the prior art teach or disclose the antenna module having a notch and a connection cable connected to the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 2025/0079684.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632
1 See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).