792DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
1. Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026, as well as Applicant’s subject matter eligibility declaration filed 07/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pgs. 7-9 of the Remarks and in the subject matter eligibility declaration that the amended claims are subject matter eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 as they do not recite abstract ideas in the form of mental processes. Applicant argues that the process in the independent claims of generating a sequence of symbols using a generative language model constrained by the grammar, the grammar preventing selection of symbols that are not compliant with the valid sequence of symbols defined by the grammar, is not a mental process, and that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been able to practically perform the above process in the human mind. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments. The claim language at the level of specificity that is currently being recited can be performed as mental processes and amounts to abstract ideas. The step of “generating” a sequence of symbols can be performed by a person writing down a text response related to categorization. Furthermore, a person can write down a response corresponding to a particular grammar/syntax by following the rules of the grammar/syntax to make sure that the response they write down does not include any non-compliant selections of symbols/words. In other words, a person can write down a response classifying an input by following a grammar specifying how the response should be structured. The recitation of this step being performed by the generative language model amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer.
Applicant further argues on pgs. 8-9 that the claims integrate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application as the claims recite a technical improvement to machine learning classification and large language models. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. When considering subject matter eligibility under Step 2A Prong 2, additional elements are considered in view with the claims as a whole to determine if the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. The only additional limitations in the independent claims are “generating, using the generative language model” (claims 1, 12, and 20), “a memory to store a grammar; and at least one processor to” (claim 12), and “One or more non-transitory computer readable media…” (claim 20). These additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas. The additional limitations amount to merely performing the process performable by a human using generic computer components instead.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pgs. 8-9 regarding Step 2B, the Examiner disagrees for similar reasoning as presented above. The only additional limitations amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer and thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as they do not provide an inventive concept.
Hence, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
2. Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, “A computer-implemented method” is recited, which is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (process) (Step 1: YES). However, the claims limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite mental processes which fall into the category of abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1: YES).
The following limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite mental processes:
receiving a prompt that instructs a generative language model to classify an input to the generative language model: a person writes down a prompt that can be input to a generative LM
obtaining a grammar responsive to the prompt, the grammar defining valid sequences of symbols corresponding to a plurality of categories, wherein the input can be classified into one or more of the plurality of categories: a person reads the prompt, and finds a grammar to use (e.g. set of rules for the structure of an output), where the output relates to a category of an input (e.g. type of item)
generating … a sequence of symbols identifying the one or more categories, the generation of the sequence based on the input and constrained by the grammar, wherein, during the generation of the sequence, the grammar prevents selection of symbols that are not compliant with the valid sequences of symbols defined by the grammar: a person writes down a sequence of symbols conforming to the grammar (structure) and relating to the classification of the input into a category (e.g. if the grammar is in form of “item = {category}”, a person observes input and writes down symbols which correspond to text, for example “item = shoe”), and makes sure not to select symbols which contradict the grammar
Claim 1 does not contain any additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2: NO). The only additional limitation is “generating, using the generative language model”. This limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 1 does not contain any additional elements which amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B: NO). The only additional limitations as discussed above amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as it does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 2-11, “The computer-implemented method” is recited, which is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (process) (Step 1: YES). However, the claims limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite further mental processes or mathematical concepts which fall into the category of abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1: YES).
The following limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite mental processes or mathematical concepts:
Claim 2:
outputting an indication of the one or more categories into which the input has been classified based on the sequence of symbols: a person writes down the categories the input has been classified into (e.g. input = clothing, shoe, mens)
No additional limitations.
Claim 3:
wherein the symbols comprise tokens, and wherein generating the sequence of symbols includes: generating a plurality of values using the generative language model, each of the values indicative of a probability of a respective token being a next token of the sequence; applying a mask to the plurality of values, the mask operating on each value that corresponds to a token not compliant with the grammar to reduce or zero the probability of the token being the next token; and determining the next token based on the plurality of values after the mask is applied: generating a plurality of values of next token probabilities, applying a mask to reduce or zero probabilities of tokens not compliant, and to determine next token based on the application of the mask amounts to a mathematical concept.
No additional limitations.
Claim 4:
wherein the sequence of symbols, when mapped to text, provides a written indication of the one or more categories: a person writes the symbols (e.g. numbers) which map to text and express the category (e.g. ‘120’ corresponds to ‘men’s clothing’ category)
No additional limitations.
Claim 5:
wherein the prompt further comprises an instruction, and wherein obtaining the grammar responsive to the prompt further comprises obtaining the grammar based on the instruction: a person writes a prompt including an instruction, and obtains the grammar based on the instruction (e.g. person writes a prompt “What kind of clothing item is this?”, and selects a grammar related to apparel)
No additional limitations.
Claim 6:
wherein the instruction comprises information associated with the plurality of categories; and wherein obtaining the grammar based on the instruction further comprises: encoding the information associated with the plurality of categories within the grammar, wherein the encoding is in a format for parsing: and person writes down information about the categories within the grammar which can later be parsed (read and interpreted)
No additional limitations.
Claim 7:
wherein the grammar further comprises a label representative of the plurality of categories to which the grammar relates; and wherein obtaining the grammar based on the instruction further comprises: determining that the instruction is associated with the label; and selecting the grammar from a set of one or more grammars: a person determines the instruction relates to a label for a plurality of categories (e.g. label = clothing), and in response selects a grammar relating to ‘clothing’
No additional limitations.
Claim 8:
… comprises information associated with the plurality of categories; and wherein obtaining the grammar based on the instruction further comprises: retrieving the information associated with the plurality of categories …; and encoding the information associated with the plurality of categories within the grammar, wherein the encoding is in a format for parsing: a person obtains the grammar by obtaining information of the plurality of categories, and encodes the information in the grammar in a form which can be parsed
Claim 8 contains the additional limitation “a memory” and “retrieving…from the memory”, which amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer.
Claim 9:
receiving an update to the plurality of categories, the update including at least one of an addition of a new category to the plurality of categories, a removal of a category from the plurality categories, or a modification of a category within the plurality of categories; and modifying the valid sequences of symbols in the grammar based on the update to the plurality of categories: a person adds, removes, or modifies a category, and reflect the change in the grammar (for example, adding a new valid category ‘shirt’ to a clothing grammar)
No additional limitations.
Claim 10:
Claim 10 contains the additional limitation “wherein the generative language model is a large language model”, which amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using generic computer components.
Claim 11:
wherein the grammar further constrains the valid sequences of symbols to a syntax of a programming language; and wherein outputting an indication of the one or more categories into which the input has been classified based on the sequence of symbols comprises outputting code of the programming language: a person writes down a classification which conforms to a programming language syntax (for example, writes down a JSON format reflecting the categories)
No additional limitations
Claims 2-11 do not contain any additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2: NO). The only additional limitations amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which even when viewed in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 2-11 are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 2-11 do not contain any additional elements which amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B: NO). The only additional limitations as discussed above amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which even when viewed in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as it does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claims 2-11 are not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 12, “A system” is recited, which is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (machine) (Step 1: YES). However, the claims limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite limitations similar to those recited in method claim 1, and thus also mental processes which fall into the category of abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1: YES) (see claim 1 analysis).
Claim 12 does not contain any additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2: NO). The only additional limitations are “a memory to store a grammar”, “at least one processor to” and “generate, using the generative language model”. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 12 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 12 does not contain any additional elements which amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B: NO). The only additional limitations as discussed above amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as it does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claim 12 is not patent eligible.
Regarding claims 13-19, “The system” is recited, which is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (machine) (Step 1: YES). However, the claims limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite limitations similar to those recited in dependent claims 2, 3, 5-8, and 10, and thus also recite further mental processes or mathematical concepts which fall into the category of abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1: YES) (see above analysis).
Claims 13-19 do not contain any additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2: NO). The only additional limitations amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which even when viewed in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 13-19 are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 13-19 do not contain any additional elements which amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B: NO). The only additional limitations as discussed above amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which even when viewed in combination do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as it does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claims 13-19 are not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 20, “One or more non-transitory computer readable media” is recited, which is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (article of manufacture) (Step 1: YES). However, the claims limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite limitations similar to those recited in method claim 1, and thus also mental processes which fall into the category of abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1: YES) (see claim 1 analysis).
Claim 20 does not contain any additional elements which integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2: NO). The only additional limitations are “One or more non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one computer, cause the at least one computer to perform a method comprising” and “generating, using the generative language model”. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 20 is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 20 does not contain any additional elements which amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B: NO). The only additional limitations as discussed above amount to mere instructions to implement the judicial exception using a generic computer, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as it does not provide an inventive concept. Therefore, claim 20 is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherle (US 2025/0173550 A1) in view of Willard & Louf (NPL “Efficient Guided Generation for Large Language Models”, hereinafter Willard).
Regarding claim 1, Scherle discloses A computer-implemented method (Abstract) comprising: receiving a prompt that instructs a generative language model to classify an input to the generative language model (para. 0053 “The LLM 118 may provide natural language processing capabilities that enable it to respond to various queries. Specifically, the LLM 118 may process a prompt provided by the data classification system 128 and automatically classify attributes included in the prompt.”); obtaining a grammar responsive to the prompt (para. 0031 “The request included in the prompt data may include a predetermined message (e.g., a static system message) that instructs the machine learning model with respect to its task.”; para. 0032 “Accordingly, the instruction included in the prompt data may identify a data structure for returning the classification results, with the output automatically being structured according to the identified data structure.”), the grammar defining valid sequences of symbols corresponding to a plurality of categories, wherein the input can be classified into one or more of the plurality of categories (para. 0032 “Accordingly, the instruction included in the prompt data may identify a data structure for returning the classification results, with the output automatically being structured according to the identified data structure.”; para. 0022 “The classification scheme may be used to guide or indicate to a machine learning model how to classify the process metadata. For example, the classification scheme may indicate that each attribute should be classified as either being a personal data attribute or not being a personal data attribute. Alternatively or additionally, the classification scheme may indicate that each attribute should be classified into one of a set of predetermined categories (e.g., “text,” “numerical,” “categorical,” or “date”). The classification scheme may provide a standardized taxonomy to categorize items using consistent labels across different automated processes (e.g., within an organization). The instruction may thus include or reference the predetermined classification scheme.”); and generating, using the generative language model, a sequence of symbols identifying the one or more categories (para. 0023 “The method may include providing or transmitting the prompt data to the machine learning model to obtain output comprising, for each of the plurality of attributes, a classification result. The classification result may include a personal data indicator that indicates whether the attribute is a personal data attribute. The classification result may include a category of the attribute as identified by the machine learning model (e.g., from among a plurality of data candidate categories included in the prompt data).”), the generation of the sequence based on the input (para. 0060 “In some examples, the prompt generating component 206 adds an instruction to classify the process metadata according to a predetermined classification scheme.”; para. 0032 “Accordingly, the instruction included in the prompt data may identify a data structure for returning the classification results, with the output automatically being structured according to the identified data structure.”; para. 0060 “The classification scheme (or another part of the instruction in the prompt data) may also specify a desired output format or structure for responses from the LLM 118.”)…
Scherle does not specifically disclose the generation of the sequence constrained by the grammar, wherein, during the generation of the sequence, the grammar prevents selection of symbols that are not compliant with the valid sequences of symbols defined by the grammar.
Willard teaches the generation of the sequence constrained by the grammar, wherein, during the generation of the sequence, the grammar prevents selection of symbols that are not compliant with the valid sequences of symbols defined by the grammar (constrained generation for large language models, see pg. 2, section 2 “We define the next token st+1 as the following random variable: α = LLM (St, θ) st+1 ~ Categorical (α)”; pg. 4, section 2.2 “Since we are dealing with a finite, discrete distribution, we can compute an un-normalized conditional distribution by applying a Boolean mask m: P(V) → {0,1}N that restricts the support of the original distribution…”; pg. 4, section 2.2 “The resulting conditional distribution implied by st+1 encodes constraints on the support of s t+1. For instance, the masks m could be designed so that the generated sequences…represent digit samples, strings that match the regular expression [a-zA-Z], and strings that parse according to a specified grammar (e.g. Python, SQL, etc.)”).
Scherle and Willard are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as
they both are in the same field of large language model generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scherle to incorporate the teachings of Willard in order to generate the sequence constrained by the grammar, wherein, during the generation of the sequence, the grammar prevents selection of symbols that are not compliant with the valid sequences of symbols defined by the grammar. Doing so would be beneficial, as this would enable LLMs to be used for tasks requiring rigid formatting requirements that are either hard or costly to capture through fine-tuning alone (pg. 1, section 1).
Regarding claim 2, Scherle in view of Willard discloses further comprising outputting an indication of the one or more categories into which the input has been classified based on the sequence of symbols (Scherle, para. 0023 “The method may include providing or transmitting the prompt data to the machine learning model to obtain output comprising, for each of the plurality of attributes, a classification result. The classification result may include a personal data indicator that indicates whether the attribute is a personal data attribute. The classification result may include a category of the attribute as identified by the machine learning model (e.g., from among a plurality of data candidate categories included in the prompt data).”).
Regarding claim 3, Scherle in view of Willard discloses generating a plurality of values using the generative language model, each of the values indicative of a probability of a respective token being a next token of the sequence (Willard, pg. 2, section 2 “We define the next token st+1 as the following random variable: α = LLM (St, θ) st+1 ~ Categorical (α)”); applying a mask to the plurality of values, the mask operating on each value that corresponds to a token not compliant with the grammar to reduce or zero the probability of the token being the next token (Willard, pg. 4, section 2.2 “Since we are dealing with a finite, discrete distribution, we can compute an un-normalized conditional distribution by applying a Boolean mask m: P(V) → {0,1}N that restricts the support of the original distribution…”); and determining the next token based on the plurality of values after the mask is applied (Willard, pg. 4, section 2.2 “The resulting conditional distribution implied by st+1 encodes constraints on the support of s t+1. For instance, the masks m could be designed so that the generated sequences…represent digit samples, strings that match the regular expression [a-zA-Z], and strings that parse according to a specified grammar (e.g. Python, SQL, etc.)”).
Scherle and Willard are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as
they both are in the same field of large language model generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scherle to incorporate the teachings of Willard in order to generate a plurality of values indicative of a probability of a respective token being a next token, applying a mask to the plurality of values to a token not compliant with the grammar to reduce or zero the probabilities of the token being the next token, and to determine the next token based on the plurality of values after the mask is applied. Doing so would be beneficial, as this would enable LLMs to be used for tasks requiring rigid formatting requirements that are either hard or costly to capture through fine-tuning alone (pg. 1, section 1).
Regarding claim 4, Scherle in view of Willard discloses wherein the sequence of symbols, when mapped to text, provides a written indication of the one or more categories a step of provides a written indication of the one or more categories (Scherle, para. 0023 “The method may include providing or transmitting the prompt data to the machine learning model to obtain output comprising, for each of the plurality of attributes, a classification result. The classification result may include a personal data indicator that indicates whether the attribute is a personal data attribute. The classification result may include a category of the attribute as identified by the machine learning model (e.g., from among a plurality of data candidate categories included in the prompt data).”; Willard teaches mapping sequence of symbols to text: pg. 2, section 2, sequence of symbols St corresponds to a vocabulary V composed of strings from a fixed alphabet
Scherle and Willard are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as
they both are in the same field of large language model generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scherle to incorporate the teachings of Willard in order to have the sequence of symbols conforming to the grammar map to text to provide a written description. Doing so would be beneficial, as this would enable LLMs to be used for tasks requiring rigid formatting requirements that are either hard or costly to capture through fine-tuning alone (pg. 1, section 1).
Regarding claim 5, Scherle in view of Willard discloses wherein the prompt further comprises an instruction (Scherle, para. 0031 “The request included in the prompt data may include a predetermined message (e.g., a static system message) that instructs the machine learning model with respect to its task.”), and wherein obtaining the grammar responsive to the prompt further comprises obtaining the grammar based on the instruction (Scherle, para. 0032 “Accordingly, the instruction included in the prompt data may identify a data structure for returning the classification results, with the output automatically being structured according to the identified data structure.”; para. 0060 “In some examples, the prompt generating component 206 adds an instruction to classify the process metadata according to a predetermined classification scheme.”).
Regarding claim 6, Scherle in view of Willard discloses wherein the instruction comprises information associated with the plurality of categories (Scherle, para. 0032 “Accordingly, the instruction included in the prompt data may identify a data structure for returning the classification results, with the output automatically being structured according to the identified data structure.”; para. 0060 “In some examples, the prompt generating component 206 adds an instruction to classify the process metadata according to a predetermined classification scheme.”; para. 0022 “Alternatively or additionally, the classification scheme may indicate that each attribute should be classified into one of a set of predetermined categories (e.g., “text,” “numerical,” “categorical,” or “date”). The classification scheme may provide a standardized taxonomy to categorize items using consistent labels across different automated processes (e.g., within an organization). The instruction may thus include or reference the predetermined classification scheme.”); and wherein obtaining the grammar based on the instruction further comprises: encoding the information associated with the plurality of categories within the grammar, wherein the encoding is in a format for parsing (information associated with categories encoded within the grammar (JSON format): para. 0068-0078 “The process design application 126 may store the attributes in the database 132. For example, a scheme file containing the attributes may include attribute names and attribute data types, as shown below for an exemplary loan application process. The example below is simplified, and it will be appreciated that the scheme file may include many more attributes, as well as other metadata. [0069] Loan classification [0070] { [0071] “name”: “STRING”, [0072] “lastName”: “STRING”, [0073] “age”: “INT”, [0074] “amount”: “DOUBLE”, [0075] “address”: “STRING”, [0076] “marriageState”: “STRING” [0077] . . . [0078] }”).
Regarding claim 7, Scherle in view of Willard discloses wherein the grammar further comprises a label representative of the plurality of categories to which the grammar relates (Scherle, instruction includes reference to a particular scheme composed of category: para. 0022 “The classification scheme may provide a standardized taxonomy to categorize items using consistent labels across different automated processes (e.g., within an organization). The instruction may thus include or reference the predetermined classification scheme.”); and wherein obtaining the grammar based on the instruction further comprises: determining that the instruction is associated with the label (the reference is included in the instruction added to prompt: para. 0022 “The classification scheme may provide a standardized taxonomy to categorize items using consistent labels across different automated processes (e.g., within an organization). The instruction may thus include or reference the predetermined classification scheme.”); and selecting the grammar from a set of one or more grammars (uses specified classification scheme as the grammar for output: para. 0060 “The classification scheme may thus provide a common “vocabulary” for the machine learning model to use when classifying the attributes. The results are output using categories and labels as defined in the classification scheme.”).
Regarding claim 8, Scherle in view of Willard wherein a memory comprises information associated with the plurality of categories (Scherle, para. 0068 “The process design application 126 may store the attributes in the database 132. For example, a scheme file containing the attributes may include attribute names and attribute data types, as shown below for an exemplary loan application process. The example below is simplified, and it will be appreciated that the scheme file may include many more attributes, as well as other metadata. [0069] Loan classification [0070] { [0071] “name”: “STRING”, [0072] “lastName”: “STRING”, [0073] “age”: “INT”, [0074] “amount”: “DOUBLE”, [0075] “address”: “STRING”, [0076] “marriageState”: “STRING” [0077] . . . [0078] }”); and wherein obtaining the grammar based on the instruction further comprises: retrieving the information associated with the plurality of categories from the memory (para. 0068 “The process design application 126 may store the attributes in the database 132. For example, a scheme file containing the attributes may include attribute names and attribute data types, as shown below for an exemplary loan application process. The example below is simplified, and it will be appreciated that the scheme file may include many more attributes, as well as other metadata. [0069] Loan classification [0070] { [0071] “name”: “STRING”, [0072] “lastName”: “STRING”, [0073] “age”: “INT”, [0074] “amount”: “DOUBLE”, [0075] “address”: “STRING”, [0076] “marriageState”: “STRING” [0077] . . . [0078] }”; para. 0057 “The metadata access component 202 accesses or retrieves process metadata to be analyzed by the LLM 118. For example, the metadata access component 202 may access a scheme file that contains the process metadata (e.g., select a scheme file that is stored in association with an identifier of a particular automated process)...The metadata access component 202 may retrieve the process metadata from a storage location, such as the database 132 of FIG. 1.”); and encoding the information associated with the plurality of categories within the grammar, wherein the encoding is in a format for parsing (information associated with categories encoded in a grammar (JSON format): para. 0068 “The process design application 126 may store the attributes in the database 132. For example, a scheme file containing the attributes may include attribute names and attribute data types, as shown below for an exemplary loan application process. The example below is simplified, and it will be appreciated that the scheme file may include many more attributes, as well as other metadata. [0069] Loan classification [0070] { [0071] “name”: “STRING”, [0072] “lastName”: “STRING”, [0073] “age”: “INT”, [0074] “amount”: “DOUBLE”, [0075] “address”: “STRING”, [0076] “marriageState”: “STRING” [0077] . . . [0078] }”).
Regarding claim 10, Scherle in view of Willard discloses wherein the generative language model is a large language model (LLM) (Scherle, para. 0053 “The LLM 118 may provide natural language processing capabilities that enable it to respond to various queries. Specifically, the LLM 118 may process a prompt provided by the data classification system 128 and automatically classify attributes included in the prompt.”).
Regarding claim 11, Scherle in view of Willard discloses wherein the grammar further constrains the valid sequences of symbols to a syntax of a programming language; and wherein outputting an indication of the one or more categories into which the input has been classified based on the sequence of symbols comprises outputting code of the programming language (Willard teaches constraining valid sequences of symbols to a syntax of a programming language and generating code of the programming language: Willard pg. 4, section 2.2 “The resulting conditional distribution implied by st+1 encodes constraints on the support of s t+1. For instance, the masks m could be designed so that the generated sequences…represent digit samples, strings that match the regular expression [a-zA-Z], and strings that parse according to a specified grammar (e.g. Python, SQL, etc.)”; Scherle, para. 0032 “Accordingly, the instruction included in the prompt data may identify a data structure for returning the classification results, with the output automatically being structured according to the identified data structure. The method may include providing the process design application with programmatic access to the output to integrate the classification results into the automated process (e.g., to allow the personal data indicators to be automatically applied when the automated process runs). The data structure may, for example, be a JSON object structure.”).
Scherle and Willard are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as
they both are in the same field of large language model generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scherle to incorporate the teachings of Willard in order to have the grammar further constrain the valid sequences of symbols to a syntax of a programming language. Doing so would be beneficial, as this would enable LLMs to be used for tasks requiring rigid formatting requirements that are either hard or costly to capture through fine-tuning alone (pg. 1, section 1).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is a system claim with limitations similar to method claim 1, and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Additionally, Scherle discloses A system (Fig. 8) comprising: a memory to store a grammar (Fig. 8, 804, para. 0059 “For example, the prompt generating component 206 may add a natural language instruction stored in the database 132 to the process metadata to provide a task, a role, constraints, or additional context to the LLM 118.”); and at least one processor to (Fig. 8, 802).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected for analogous reasons to claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is a non-transitory computer media claim with limitations similar to method claim 1, and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Additionally, Scherle discloses One or more non-transitory computer readable media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one computer, cause the at least one computer to perform a method comprising (para. 0134 “Example 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising…”).
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scherle and Willard, and further in view of Arcadihno et al. (US 2023/0325154 A1, hereinafter Arcadihno).
Regarding claim 9, Scherle in view of Willard does not specifically disclose receiving an update to the plurality of categories, the update including at least one of an addition of a new category to the plurality of categories, a removal of a category from the plurality categories, or a modification of a category within the plurality of categories; and modifying the valid sequences of symbols in the grammar based on the update to the plurality of categories.
Arcadihno teaches receiving an update to the plurality of categories, the update including at least one of an addition of a new category to the plurality of categories, a removal of a category from the plurality categories, or a modification of a category within the plurality of categories (para. 0048 “For a given query and data model schema pair, the grammar shown previously can be augmented with one or more additional rules. For example, two additional rules specifying the valid tables and the valid columns can be added. The following production rules may be added: {table-name} |= user | account {column-name} |= user.id | user.name | user.birth-date | user.name | user.country | account.userID | account.country”); and modifying the valid sequences of symbols in the grammar based on the update to the plurality of categories (para. 0043 “The constrained decoder 220 is configured to determine valid tokens based on one or more tokens that have been generated by the generator. The constrained decoder limits eligible options for a token to include in the output in the computer language based on a specified grammar for the computer language.”).
Scherle, Willard, and Arcadihno are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of generating grammar-constrained outputs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scherle in view of Willard to incorporate the teachings of Arcadihno in order to receive an update to the plurality of categories, and to modify the valid sequences of symbols in the grammar based on the update to the plurality of categories. Doing so would allow for a more flexible generation of outputs dependent on the queries received (Arcadihno, para. 0048).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sun et al. (US 12,554,709 B2): LLM generated SQL code (Fig. 4)
/CODY DOUGLAS HUTCHESON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659