DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For 103 and double patenting rejections:
PCT/RU2019/000444 in page 49 paragraph 1-2 discloses that the bitstream comprises indicator indicating whether mapping function is signalled for both Cb and Cr component. PCT/RU2019/000444 also discloses in pages 17-18 that the variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, which are equivalent to three mapping tables. Therefore, it is obvious to use the indicator for all the three mapping functions instead of one or two.
For 103 rejection:
PCT/RU2019/000444 discloses the four syntax elements. It is obvious that the bitstream should include the information about the number of quantization parameters in order to correctly implement dequantization at the decoder side. It is also obvious to choose to include all the syntax elements in the same parameter set. In addition, “a parameter set” can be interpreted as a set that includes all the parameters.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/865,275, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
No support can be found in the paragraph [0061] of the specification of U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/865,275 for:
a j-th value for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table is derived by using the j-th pivot point,
a (j+1)-th value for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table is derived by using the j-th value and the delta quantization parameter syntax element,
the (j+1)-th pivot point and the (j+1)-th value are derived for the value j in a range from zero to a value of the number of points syntax element,
the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table, which is defined by using the j-th pivot point, is derived based on the (j+1)-th value and the delta quantization parameter minus one syntax element (the last four limitations of the independent claims).
Please indicate where in [0061] teaches the above limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IKONIN’462 et al. (US 20220070462 A1) in view of IKONIN’460 et al. (US 20220070460 A1).
Foreign Application Priority document PCT/RU2019/000444 is cited here.
Regarding claims 1-2. PCT/RU2019/000444 discloses A method of decoding video data (abstract, A method of obtaining a chrominance quantization parameter (QP) for chrominance components based on a luminance QP for luminance component; page 34 paragraph 2, In the current VVC specification, only one mapping table for mapping luma to chroma quantization parameter specified (Table 1). The table was inherited from HEVC and designed only for SDR content. This document proposes to add chroma mapping table(s) specific for HDR content), the method comprising:
decoding a 1-bit syntax element in a parameter set having a value specifying that 3 chroma quantization parameter mapping tables are signaled in the parameter set (page 39 paragraph 2, chroma_qp_mapping_flag equal to 1 specifies that chroma Qp mapping table is signalled and overrides Table 2; page 34 paragraph 2, In the current VVC specification, only one mapping table for mapping luma to chroma quantization parameter specified (Table 1). The table was inherited from HEVC and designed only for SDR content. This document proposes to add chroma mapping table(s) specific for HDR content; page 49 paragraph 1-2, for HDR content, …to have different mapping functions for Cb and Cr components, …bitstream comprises information to obtain mapping function for both Cb and Cr components; the bitstream comprises indicator indicating whether mapping function is signalled for both Cb and Cr component, if indicator is positive (TRUE) then decoder obtains two mapping functions from bitstream corresponding to Cb and Cr component and uses it during reconstruction process; pages 17-18 The variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr; The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived by equations (8-929), (8-930) and (8-931); page 18 next to last paragraph, Qp'cbcr is introduced besides of Qp'cb and Qp'cr to derive quantization parameters for blocks where Cb and Cr color components are jointly quantized; claim 26, the information for obtaining mapping function comprises an indicator indicating whether mapping function is signaled for Cb and Cr components separately or jointly);
for each of i equal to 0, 1, and 2:
decoding (i) a number of points syntax element (page 37 paragraph 3, maxQP is the maximum QP value supported by the decoder), (ii) a quantization parameter mapping table syntax element (page 38 paragraphs 1-3, cqp_delta_fp0 specifies the delta value between fist element of set of points where mapping function is nonincreasing and starting_point_value, where starting_point_value equals to 21 (in another possible implementation starting_point_value maybe e.g. 0, or 26, or 32, or defined based on supported QP range e.g. as maxQP/2). cQpFlat[0]=cqp_delta_fp0+starting_point_value), (iii) a delta quantization parameter minus one syntax element (page 46 paragraph 3, the differences between corresponding x and y coordinates of current (e.g. B 95) and previous (e.g. A 94) pivot points are signalled in the bitstream), and (iv) a delta quantization parameter syntax element (pages 17-18, pps_cb_qp_offset + slice_cb_qp_offset, pps_cr_qp_offset + slice_cr_qp_offset, pps_joint_cbcr_qp_offset + slice_joint_cbcr_qp_offset in equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928); page 40, pps_cb_qp_offset + slice_cb_qp_offset, pps_cr_qp_offset + slice_cr_qp_offset, pps_joint_cbcr_qp_offset + slice_joint_cbcr_qp_offset in equations (8-928), (8-929) and (8-930)), in the parameter set, wherein the number of points syntax element, the quantization parameter mapping table syntax element, the delta quantization parameter minus one syntax element, and the delta quantization parameter syntax element are used for mapping a luma quantization parameter to chroma quantization parameters (pages 17-18 The variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr; The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived by equations (8-929), (8-930) and (8-931); page 38 paragraph 4, The chroma QP mapping table cqpMappingTable[] is derived as follows: …), and
deriving an i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table by using the number of points syntax element, the quantization parameter mapping table syntax element, the delta quantization parameter minus one syntax element, and the delta quantization parameter syntax element (pages 17-18 The variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr; The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived by equations (8-929), (8-930) and (8-931); page 38 paragraph 4, The chroma QP mapping table cqpMappingTable[] is derived as follows: …);
deriving a first chroma quantization parameter for Cb component residual samples based on to a 0-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table (page 17 lines 4-5, The variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in a mapping table (e.g. Table 1) based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb or qPiCr, respectively; page 17 lower middle part and Equation 5, The Chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components (Qp’b and Qp’r) are derived as follows Equation 5. The variables qPcb and qPcr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in Table 1 based on the index qPi equal to qPicb and qPicr, respectively (The indexes qPiCb and qPiCr correspond to Cb and Cr, respectively, therefore, the variables qPCb and qPCr are individually derived. qPiCb and qPiCr are different, equivalent to different tables));
deriving a second chroma quantization parameter for Cr component residual samples based on to a 1-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table (page 17 lines 4-5, The variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in a mapping table (e.g. Table 1) based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb or qPiCr, respectively; page 17 lower middle part and Equation 5, The Chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components (Qp’b and Qp’r) are derived as follows Equation 5. The variables qPcb and qPcr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in Table 1 based on the index qPi equal to qPicb and qPicr, respectively (The indexes qPiCb and qPiCr correspond to Cb and Cr, respectively, therefore, the variables qPCb and qPCr are individually derived. qPiCb and qPiCr are different, equivalent to different tables)); and
deriving a third chroma quantization parameter for joint Cb-Cr coding residual samples based on a 2-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table (page 17 next to last line to page 18 middle part, the variables qPcb, qPcr and qPcbcr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in Table 2 based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively. The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived as follows: …), wherein:
a j-th pivot point for an i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table is set equal to a value of the quantization parameter mapping table syntax element plus some starting_point, if a value j is equal to zero (page 46 paragraph 3, For first point the difference from some starting_point is signalled. The starting_point is either some predefined point or signalled in the bitstream),
a (j+1)-th pivot point for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table is set equal to a sum of a value of the j-th pivot point and a value of the delta quantization parameter minus one syntax element and one (page 46 paragraph 3, the differences between corresponding x and y coordinates of current (e.g. B 95) and previous (e.g. A 94) pivot points are signalled in the bitstream),
a j-th value for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table is derived by using the j-th pivot point (figure 9, page 4 next to last paragraph, an example of piecewise linear representation 93 of mapping function 92 using two pivot points D (94) and E (95); page 45 last two paragraphs, amount of pivot points and its x and y coordinates are signalled in the bitstream as information for obtaining mapping function),
a (j+1)-th value for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table is derived by using the j-th value and the delta quantization parameter syntax element (pages 17-18 The variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr; The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived by equations (8-929), (8-930) and (8-931); page 38 paragraph 4, The chroma QP mapping table cqpMappingTable[] is derived as follows: …),
the (j+1)-th pivot point and the (j+1)-th value are derived for the value j in a range from zero to a value of the number of points syntax element (page 38 paragraph 4, The chroma QP mapping table cqpMappingTable[] is derived as follows: … for( i = 1; i <= maxQP; i++) { … cqpMappingTable [ i ] = …} ), and
the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table, which is defined by using the j-th pivot point, is derived based on the (j+1)-th value and the delta quantization parameter minus one syntax element (page 46 paragraph 3, the differences between corresponding x and y coordinates of current (e.g. B 95) and previous (e.g. A 94) pivot points are signalled in the bitstream; figure 9, page 4 next to last paragraph, an example of piecewise linear representation 93 of mapping function 92 using two pivot points D (94) and E (95); page 45 last two paragraphs, amount of pivot points and its x and y coordinates are signalled in the bitstream as information for obtaining mapping function; page 38 paragraph 4, The chroma QP mapping table cqpMappingTable[] is derived as follows: …).
PCT/RU2019/000444 doesn’t explicitly disclose the some starting_point is 26.
However, PCT/RU2019/000444 discloses another starting_point may be predefined as 26 (page 38 paragraphs 1-3, starting_point_value equals to 21 (in another possible implementation starting_point_value maybe e.g. 0, or 26, or 32, or defined based on supported QP range e.g. as maxQP/2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of PCT/RU2019/000444, to predefine the some starting_point as 26, in order to more efficiently code the video data.
Regarding claim 3, the same analysis has been stated in claims 1-2.
Furthermore, PCT/RU2019/000444 discloses
values for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table are derived by using pivot points for j in a range from zero to a value of the number of points syntax element (figure 9, page 4 next to last paragraph, an example of piecewise linear representation 93 of mapping function 92 using two pivot points D (94) and E (95); page 45 last two paragraphs, amount of pivot points and its x and y coordinates are signalled in the bitstream as information for obtaining mapping function; page 38 paragraph 4, The chroma QP mapping table cqpMappingTable[] is derived as follows: … for( i = 1; i <= maxQP; i++) { … cqpMappingTable [ i ] = …} ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear how the value j is related to values for the i-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table and pivot points.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12058325 B2 in view of IKONIN’462 et al. (US 20220070462 A1).
Foreign Application Priority document PCT/RU2019/000444 is cited here.
PCT/RU2019/000444 discloses
decoding a 1-bit syntax element in a parameter set having a value specifying that 3 chroma quantization parameter mapping tables are signaled in the parameter set (page 39 paragraph 2, chroma_qp_mapping_flag equal to 1 specifies that chroma Qp mapping table is signalled and overrides Table 2; page 34 paragraph 2, In the current VVC specification, only one mapping table for mapping luma to chroma quantization parameter specified (Table 1). The table was inherited from HEVC and designed only for SDR content. This document proposes to add chroma mapping table(s) specific for HDR content; page 49 paragraph 1-2, for HDR content, …to have different mapping functions for Cb and Cr components, …bitstream comprises information to obtain mapping function for both Cb and Cr components; the bitstream comprises indicator indicating whether mapping function is signalled for both Cb and Cr component, if indicator is positive (TRUE) then decoder obtains two mapping functions from bitstream corresponding to Cb and Cr component and uses it during reconstruction process; pages 17-18 The variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr; The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived by equations (8-929), (8-930) and (8-931); page 18 next to last paragraph, Qp'cbcr is introduced besides of Qp'cb and Qp'cr to derive quantization parameters for blocks where Cb and Cr color components are jointly quantized; claim 26, the information for obtaining mapping function comprises an indicator indicating whether mapping function is signaled for Cb and Cr components separately or jointly);
deriving a first chroma quantization parameter for Cb component residual samples based on to a 0-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table (page 17 lines 4-5, The variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in a mapping table (e.g. Table 1) based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb or qPiCr, respectively; page 17 lower middle part and Equation 5, The Chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components (Qp’b and Qp’r) are derived as follows Equation 5. The variables qPcb and qPcr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in Table 1 based on the index qPi equal to qPicb and qPicr, respectively (The indexes qPiCb and qPiCr correspond to Cb and Cr, respectively, therefore, the variables qPCb and qPCr are individually derived. qPiCb and qPiCr are different, equivalent to different tables));
deriving a second chroma quantization parameter for Cr component residual samples based on to a 1-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table (page 17 lines 4-5, The variables qPCb and qPCr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in a mapping table (e.g. Table 1) based on the index qPi equal to qPiCb or qPiCr, respectively; page 17 lower middle part and Equation 5, The Chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components (Qp’b and Qp’r) are derived as follows Equation 5. The variables qPcb and qPcr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in Table 1 based on the index qPi equal to qPicb and qPicr, respectively (The indexes qPiCb and qPiCr correspond to Cb and Cr, respectively, therefore, the variables qPCb and qPCr are individually derived. qPiCb and qPiCr are different, equivalent to different tables)); and
deriving a third chroma quantization parameter for joint Cb-Cr coding residual samples based on a 2-th chroma quantization parameter mapping table (page 17 next to last line to page 18 middle part, the variables qPcb, qPcr and qPcbcr are set equal to the value of Qpc as specified in Table 2 based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively. The chroma quantization parameters for the Cb and Cr components, Qp'cb and Qp'cr, and joint Cb-Cr coding Qp'cbcr are derived as follows: …).
PCT/RU2019/000444 in page 49 paragraph 1-2 discloses that the bitstream comprises indicator indicating whether mapping function is signalled for both Cb and Cr component. PCT/RU2019/000444 also discloses in pages 17-18 that the variables qPcb, qPcr, and qPcbcr are derived based on the index qPi equal to qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, respectively; equations (8-926), (8-927) and (8-928)(three mappings) obtain qPicb, qPicr and qPicbcr, which are equivalent to three mapping tables. Therefore, it is obvious to use the indicator for all the three mapping functions instead of one or two.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sullivan et al. (US 20140003497 A1), PU et al. (US 20200029078 A1).
/XIAOLAN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488